The CONTACTS feature invites the user to move the fields in any way preferred, implying that one can change the order of FNAME, LNAME, STREET, CITY, Home Phone, etc.
Do not take the risk.
It might be safe if done before entering any data; however, when I made changes in the order of fields after entering many contacts, the database was corrupted by the action, and I've found no way to restore or recover. Luckily, the data can still be brought up (with error messages), but PRINT is disabled.
I assumed that my changes would affect only onscreen view.
The "MOVE" option of the CONTACTS feature should be disabled after the first entry. it may be "common sense" to keep the default order of the fields. But it is also "common sense" to use features offered in the application, assuming that the developer would not include "MOVE" options in the GUI if using the options presents high risks to the users' databases.
The software developer responded to this review on Sep 11, 2005:
Thank you for posting!
This is a known bug in a 1.5.3 version, which will be fixed in the upcoming 1.6 version. Moreover, we are fixing any data files for our users (both free and paid), at first request, free of charge.