Freemake Video Converter

Freemake Video Converter User Reviews



5 stars71% 20
4 stars21% 6
3 stars7% 2
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 28 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 28 user reviews
Post your own review

Just great 5 stars by JamJar Dec 14, 2014 (Read all my 27 reviews)
This is a great bit of software that I've used for ages off and on, it's better than other paid one's. The paste URL feature, is just fantastic and good time saver. As long as you can get past the silly third party installation, this is a keeper. show Review details
A very good program 4 stars by ivan.pfeifer544 Feb 22, 2013 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Very good but not excellent. It's quite a memory hog and runs, I think, slowly. I would also like better control over the quality of DVD output. show Review details
Excellent free video converter 5 stars by twotimer Feb 01, 2013
But the small problem is, it doesn't convert video to GIF. show Review details
Very very nice 4 stars by ninjaru70 Nov 01, 2012 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Very very nice I have used just about everyone and 9 times out of 10 it gets the job done very easily however it needs a easier bit rate calculator and it would be handy if it had something to help sinc audio because you may have to replace audio in a movie. show Review details
The best one ever! better than paid software! 5 stars by grabacontroller649 Aug 12, 2012 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have tried quite a bit of paid software. Even freeware. This one is the best hands down! I Love it! It works perfectly! It's fast in the conversion process as well! show Review details
Nice but.. 5 stars by prbis460 Apr 17, 2012
Very easy to use. As indicated by others not designed to give you a lot of input on the output. I converted a file of fairly good quality to dvd and found the result disappointing as it was not as sharp as I had expected. The DVD menu feature is nice though. show Review details
Very good converter, but.. 5 stars by mxchen100745 Feb 05, 2012
I use this software many times, the 2.3, 2.4 version are very good. Recently it update to 3.0. few days ago, I converted rmvb files to DVD. the DVD quality is terrible! I hope I can get the old version now show Review details
Video and audio in sync 5 stars by Airbourne Jan 30, 2012 (Read all my 9 reviews)
I tried at least 6 other video editing programs and none would sync the audio and video on for SOME videos' recorded as avi or mpg. Some I could edit OK with most programs. I found that with FVConveter if I first (without any editing) saved the whole video as a AVI, then went back to FV Converter and then edited the video .... It was like magic ... Audio and Video were in sync even after many edits. This never worked with any other video editor 1000's of thanks again to Snapfiles and the produce team who gave the free program I only give FV converter ease of use 4star as you also needs the .NET framework to make the program work but who cares it works like a charm. I have seen many people searching on this subject of sync for video and audio. One comment said it doesn't seem to be able to convert a file to Divx avi so it will play in a DVD player. (I assume meaning a domestic DVD) 'Computer recorded video' as far as I know ONLY if converted to VOB FORMAT will a video play in a domestic DVD player. Mine does Editor: Many DVD players can play DivX files directly. show Review details
Excellent program 5 stars by bigivor950 Jan 05, 2012
Lovely bit of stuff. Does exactly what I wanted it to and very friendly to use. show Review details
Super easy and works 5 stars by mdelpouy844 Dec 12, 2011
I was so surprised to see it work! I can't believe it's free. It's worked better than 30 paid products. show Review details
Even easier to use than stated 5 stars by mragjr Sep 21, 2011 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Look at the ratings and also look at the file size-this version is like 17MB, the closest competitor is 70MB?! I have only tried this one video program though but, I could do everything I wanted without even reading an instruction. I have an older point and shoot camera that makes (big) avi files. I was able to take 6-7 avi clips, press "join," choose a 5 MB output FLV file (from a total 40MB avi)and with one more click, I was ready to put it on a website. I am open to trying something else, but can't imagine anything being easier to use. Well worth considering. show Review details
Won't convert to DIVX avi 4 stars by christoffenson Jul 02, 2011
I don't like it because it doesn't seem to be able to convert a file to divx avi so it will play on the dvd player, it will only convert to xvid avi. If I'm wrong, please correct me... If it would convert to divx avi, I'd probably like it...The speed and quality is very good though. show Review details
This is freeware at its best 5 stars by bobfromhull May 23, 2011 (Read all my 4 reviews)
After trying several freeware and shareware converters I found most were flakey and unstable. This one ticks all the boxes. It may not give extensive configuration possibilities as some reviewers are saying but it works straight out of the box, does what it claims and is stable and reliable. Most output formats are catered for that 99 of people will need. Its not fast, but its quick enough. It does provide a direct link to your output file so you can view it using your default media player (or in case you forgot where it saved it). It looks like updates are available fairly frequently and its a freeware project that is still very active in development and support so we should in theory expect it to get even better. If you're a bit miffed when your compact camera kicks out a 250mb AVI file for 1 minuite of video that you want to share on the web or email then this is your free answer. show Review details
Converted me 4 stars by gimpguy Apr 21, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I picked up on FVC recently and I have to say, it's a tad slower than Format Factory (which I do use extensively), but it's quality is still good, (better than Format Factory?)I'm still testing that but I think it may even be a tad better than FF. FVC has numerous options, or enough for what most need at least. Format Factory still has far more options than FVC does, minus the clipper. I do seem to have a problem when converting to mpeg from other formats with it, the mpeg will play the sound but get stuck on the video, this did not happen with other converters so I'm not sure what's going on there. I tried the sound settings, etc... it will simply freeze the video, in VLC, WMP or any other. Format Factory didn't do this so it has to be some hiccup with FVC. All in all, you can't lose out using this. For freeware, this is especially great and has a lot (plus some) to offer and by no means should a person pass this by if in need of a converter. show Review details
Cannot get any easier 5 stars by hrwasp Apr 19, 2011 (Read all my 48 reviews)
You cannot get any easier than this product. I was looking for a good quality video converter for my Archos 101 and my Evo. This product foot the bill and did exactly what it promoted. Love it and will recommend to all my clients. Thank you! show Review details
One word ... 5 stars by Irritated Apr 16, 2011 (Read all my 12 reviews)
Awesome! show Review details
Fantastic program 5 stars by Bidaar Mar 28, 2011 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Works great and looks great. show Review details
Amazing 5 stars by rejetto Feb 05, 2011 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I wish there were more programs like this one show Review details
Best i ever spent! 5 stars by CroMag Jan 09, 2011
And it didn't cost me a dime. Every conversion I ever did for every different device or format was flawless. The speed's a bit slow, but it generates quality which is MUCH more important to me. Beats out any other free or pay converter I've tried, and I've tried a lot of them. show Review details
This is one nice piece of freeware! 5 stars by gusimio Jan 08, 2011 (Read all my 31 reviews)
Simple and effective! I use it primarily for converting movie files and making DVDs. The resulting picture quality is excellent. Now, some say it is a bit slow; I say the extra time is well worth the wait. However, you can speed up the processing time by either adjusting the codec (not recommended) or creating a DVD menu "without motion" (there is a box you can tic during the process). For simple conversion and burning of movie files to DVD, this is the best software I have ever used. show Review details
Easy for simple jobs 3 stars by Atagong Jan 06, 2011 (Read all my 7 reviews)
If you are looking for a one click solution this is the application for you and I mainly use it to turn DVDs into iTouch movies. It will work with most 'modern' releases. However when trying to convert a particular Sixties TV show (official DVD release), Freemake Video Converter insists to convert most episodes to 16:9 instead of 4:3. And there is no menu to adjust this. show Review details
Simplicity but not configurability. 4 stars by Rustyboy Dec 02, 2010 (Read all my 33 reviews)
Freemake is a brilliantly simple piece of software that does what it says it will do. The tradeoff for this simplicity, however, is the lack of control the user has over adjustments and settings (which is not necessarily a bad thing depending upon the targeted users); Freemake is also not the quickest at what it does. If you want a simple way of converting then Freemake is for you. If you are a constant fiddler and tweaker who is always trying to find the perfect settings for your output then look elsewhere. One thing that did annoy me though, was not being able to choose "burn again" once I had converted to DVD as I wanted a second copy. I couldn't even find the converted files on my hard drive. Overall though, Freemake is worth having and using. show Review details
Great video file converter 5 stars by Braverlady Nov 29, 2010
Freemake Video Converter is super easy to use, works quickly, and does a fabulous job. I have tried several video file converters that were very techy and confusing, failed to work properly, or were said to be free but turned out to be free trials only without saying so up front. show Review details
Great video converter 5 stars by jcharth Nov 10, 2010 (Read all my 16 reviews)
The good, it free, burns DVD from videos, allows edit videos, supports many formats and quality types. The bad, it is slow and it uses a lot of CPU. Cutting out multiple parts in edit mode sometimes does not work. Overall a great app. show Review details
Easy and effective 5 stars by Headcase Oct 16, 2010
I am a dough brain and have had a lot of difficulty and frustration with video converters. I have tried a lot of other well known applications that have failed to work, but this was simple and worked first time. show Review details
This is it! 5 stars by applicationsfreak Aug 26, 2010
This program is the best freeware for Video Converting I have ever found, the interface and ease of use is from such great simplicity that everyone, even I :), can use it. It can even convert videos downloaded with Real Player to any format you want. My compliments to Ellora Essets, this is really great stuff. show Review details
Sorry, but 3 stars by Hellraiser Jul 28, 2010 (Read all my 27 reviews)
Not enough possibilities to configure the program! But I hope that`s only a question of time ... show Review details
Smooth MTS conversions 4 stars by JonJon Jul 10, 2010
Freemake, unlike many other free video converters, creates nice smooth video files from HD MTS files. It can convert in full HD quality but this will take a little while. You can convert more quickly by dropping down to the DVD settings. It has rudimentary editing features too. You will require .net 4 installing but this is packed with the program. This program is far superior to the AVCHD program that Panasonic provide with their HD Video Cameras and the Lumix range of digital cameras. Absolutely essential piece of kit. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

CardRecovery

CardRecovery recover images from memory cards