Puran Defrag

Puran Defrag User Reviews

Advertisement
5 stars83% 10
4 stars8% 1
3 stars8% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 12 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 12 user reviews
Post your own review

Easy, light, fast 5 stars by dezeeuw1986735 Mar 09, 2014
Does the job, of what you want it to do, nothing more & nothin less show Review details
Set and forget? oh yes! 5 stars by mikesantana Dec 31, 2012 (Read all my 17 reviews)
Excellent features for a free defrag. Don't know what else you might want that it doesn't do. For most users, an occaisional boot-time defrag (it recommends this first time), otherwise the automatic defrag will keep things very tidy without noticeable interference with your activities. No real need to mess with the default settings unless you are a bit of a geek! I'm using it with XP and Win8. I did take the time to turn off the Win8 built-in auto-scheduled defrag (not essential, but Puran does it better...). show Review details
Always been decent 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 05, 2012 (Read all my 1158 reviews)
I've switched between this and Auslogics disk defrag a few times, depending on version but yes, Puran has always been great. There are times where it's left some fragmentation as where others didn't but as stated by others, it's slight. Lately it's been right on with no leftovers and regardless, it's not something you can lose out on trying. Free, works great. show Review details
A great piece of software 5 stars by Henry8 Dec 17, 2011 (Read all my 37 reviews)
As far as I understand, defrag is not the biggest problem when it comes to software. I've tried several programs, and they all worked more or less well. Speed is one thing, sure, but if you use the program once or twice a month, what does 10 or 15 minutes really mean? The thing I like about Puran is, it gives you the option of automatic defrag, with almost endless settings. If you're a wild installer uninstaller, you might want to defrag more often, but if you're a more common user, you might choose to save your disk, and not defrag that much. I have my settings at "every 6 days", and checking things with two other programs I've always received the comment "no need to defrag" --- meaning this one does the job. It really works in the background, even with optimization. Never noticed any CPU usage peaks, or anything. Shortly: recommendable. show Review details
Capable, but not great 3 stars by MrJaw69 May 21, 2011 (Read all my 34 reviews)
Puran Defrag Free Edition is fast, has boot time defrag (an option that is rare among PDFE's freeware peers), and can defrag volumes that Windows XP can't touch. However, I've used Puran Defrag Free Edition on three computers, and found it to be less than stellar. PDFE's Intelligent Optimizer (which is switched off by default) had a negative effect on the performance of each computer (all were Dells running XP.) Also, there's an apparent trade off for PDFE's speed: when I've double checked after a defrag, Windows' defragmentation utility shows a few fragmented sections remaining, though they are small. While PDFE does have options that XP doesn't, I didn't notice a significant performance boost over Windows' defrag util, after defragmenting. But if you have a very full, very fragmented drive, PDFE is a great option to have. show Review details
This software is hard to beat. 5 stars by JohnDoe Mar 29, 2011 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Boot time defrag. Quick, clean and free. Was able to defrag my XP home drive, when the default couldn't. This is a fantastic disk utility folks. Have used it, will keep using it. All around quality freeware in every regard. show Review details
There is no other, is there? 5 stars by SNUSA1 Dec 21, 2010 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Two words: "Use It" (Even on a 64 bit Win-7 system with a fast Momentus HHD!) show Review details
Highly recommended 5 stars by AndrewK May 11, 2010
A great defrag program it does everything and a little more show Review details
Well thought-out defragmenter/optimizer 5 stars by Kyuzo124 Apr 01, 2010
Puran Free Disk Defrag is an excellent defragmentation tool with well thought-out features like boot time defrag (itself with several options), optimization (consolidates files to the faster areas of the disk for speedy access), and easy-to-grasp interface and automatic shutdown after the operation is done. On my machine, Puran defragged files left by several other defragmenters. Its optimization actually seemed to improve my computer's performance as well. Overall it is an impressive piece of software, and free to boot (no pun intended!). Nice job, Puran. show Review details
Finally a free defrag program that works well 5 stars by nobull2 Mar 05, 2010 (Read all my 25 reviews)
Finally a defrag program that does the job. This caught me off guard, as I did not expect much. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by SeSorrow Feb 18, 2010 (Read all my 29 reviews)
Excellent program. Has plenty of features, including an attractive, well-designed GUI; the ability to schedule defrags that will only occur when system is idle, not interrupting your work; auto restart when done; selective optimization; and command line tools. The defrag itself seems to work pretty fast, unlike some other freeware apps that seem to take forever. show Review details
Liked this 4 stars by ianmacm Feb 03, 2010 (Read all my 173 reviews)
A good range of features to play with here, and more versatile than the default Windows defrag tool. Don't expect huge improvements in performance after using a defrag tool, because this is hype. Puran Defrag Free Edition is definitely worth a look. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

HitmanPro

HitmanPro Second Opinion Malware Scanner

Plex Media Server

Plex Media Server streaming media server

Calibre

Calibre e-book manager and reader

Oxynger KeyShield

Oxynger KeyShield secure on-screen keyboard

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Advanced Host Monitor E

Advanced Host Monitor E Monitor servers and network devices

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring