Classic Shell

Classic Shell User Reviews

5 stars93% 15
4 stars6% 1
3 stars0% 0
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 16 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 16 user reviews
Post your own review

All desktop users must have this! 5 stars by mikesantana Dec 09, 2015 (Read all my 25 reviews)
Started using this with Win7, via Win88.1 now Win 10. Lets you choose menu styles from Classic (I still prefer this), 2 column and Win 7 styles. Also allows selection of what is on the menu (and in what order), submenus, links, jump-lists, hot-keys, etc, etc, etc. Everything I always wanted! Can auto-bypass the horrible "new style" Windows Start page, but you can still get to it easily enough when(if?) you need to. Since the menu can include the "apps" list if you choose, who needs the Start page! Transparency and "glass" effects are available for menus, taskbar, etc (I use glass for the taskbar). Can customize the Explorer and IE look and feel - I like this. NOTE: most of the more detailed options are not displayed unless you click the "show all settings" box - well worth a look. FINALLY: can't live without it, don't know how anyone else manages to! show Review details
Made win 8.1 usable again 5 stars by EmpressTrudy Nov 15, 2015 (Read all my 16 reviews)
It's a great option, particularly if you were stuck with Lenovo's awful Pokki shell before. Classic shell is a great add on that makes Win 8.x operate just like Win 7. If anything it has too MANY features. It's lightweight and fast. show Review details
It works great 5 stars by ivan.pfeifer544 Jun 27, 2014 (Read all my 5 reviews)
It effortlessly gets rid of of Windows 8.1 Start screen and delivers a nearly standard Win7 Start Menu. Thank you. show Review details
Simple & useful... 4 stars by lawgiifyed614 May 06, 2014 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Installs without hassle & works like a breeze. I would love if it had options to personalise the taskbar (colour etc) but overall it is a download worth having. show Review details
A must have... 5 stars by PogMoHon Mar 08, 2014 (Read all my 22 reviews)
... on Windows 8 and on Windows 8.1 (Microsoft promised a decent Start Menu in that update but it's not what one would expect). show Review details
Great for XP or other 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 11, 2013 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
While I found that in Windows 7, liking the start menu the way it is, this isn't something I would use. However, I would definitely use this in Vista or XP and ESPECIALLY Win 8, the next monstrosity of Microsoft. That said, it's a great addition to get the look and feel a user enjoys on their OS and does have other options as well. I use it on my VMs and will continue to do so. show Review details
Excellent free shell to bypass metro 5 stars by snap844 Jun 01, 2013 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Allows one to boot to the desktop and completely bypass the idiotic Win8 Metro interface and all the stupidified APPs. show Review details
Still the best for windows usability 5 stars by vanzilla2010635 Jan 27, 2013
I have been using this since Windows 7 more than 3-ish years. I was so happy it was updated for usability on Windows 8. The developer is still active! I had to get a new laptop and was a little worried, but it works perfect and even faster on Windows 8. I have NEVER had any issues with it crashing in all the time using it. It seems to take up nearly zero RAM. I tried to give Apps and Metro a go, but on a typical laptop it slows down my efficiency, especially in large multitasking modes. This has so many options not just in the shell but in Win Explorer as well, bringing back options from Win XP - which often is more intuitive for me. Highly recommend it before trying anything else!! And it's free. show Review details
A must-have OpenSource app 5 stars by miyaza Jan 03, 2013 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I guess newer Windows really can't beat Windows XP practical GUI. This Classic Shell gives us the options (lots of it!) to tweak the menu looks and function. It conveniently has a Backup button for restoring previous settings, good work! show Review details
Classic shell is an answer for Windows 8 5 stars by iwillneverstop Dec 19, 2012 (Read all my 24 reviews)
I know that Metro UI is great for touching but the way Microsoft forces me to use the Metro Start Screen is unfriendly. I was hoping that Microsoft would change their mind to bring back Start menu but now I don't need anymore. Classic Shell brings the things we're familiar with and up to now, I'm totally satisfied. show Review details
Fantastic!!! 5 stars by mdlazko May 19, 2012
My PC now operates (and looks) like it did when I was running WinXP. Love this program! Thank you!! show Review details
Classic shell 3.5 restores start menu on W8 5 stars by cwillis1952845 Apr 03, 2012
Classic Shell is an awesome program. I much prefer it to the Vista and Windows 7 Start Menus. It's tremendously customizable and you can export and import all the settings so that they can be applied to other computers and login ids. It also provides a great replacement for XP-style function buttons on Windows Explorer. Again, customizable and one can export and import settings. I use its Classic Explorer function to hook to a good third party filesystem search program to replace the execrable VistaW7W8 filesystem search. But the best thing is that Classic Shell 3.5 puts its beautiful Start Menu on Windows 8 Consumer Preview, turning a sow's ear into a silk purse! Settings from W7 will even import into W8, providing instant customization. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by Klatuu Nov 19, 2011 (Read all my 16 reviews)
If your computer use is about getting things done rather than glitz, Windows 7 can disappoint. But by turning off the Aero and other effects and installing Classic Shell, Windows will be faster and more responsive, and you will once again have a Menu that allows you to organize things they way you want. Program works great - highly recommended for serious computing. show Review details
Essential core software 5 stars by JohnTesla Sep 20, 2011 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Of all the software, what is more essential and "core" than the Windows explorer interface and the start menu, and task bar controls? Classic Shell allows you far more control and options for this than any product I've seen; it is free and runs without problem on more than 10 computers (family, friends etc), and lets me/other users make the Windows interface the way I want, not as Microsoft would force on me. Fabulous! If you hate the Win7 setup and want to revert back to XP - or any other custom setup - this is what you need. Crucial when upgrading or installing a new system. I can't praise it enough. show Review details
Good news for Win 7 users 5 stars by jhc1115 Oct 10, 2010
This quick download will put you right in the driver's seat on screen.You soon realize the quick responsive choice menu of familiar XP is at hand."Classic Shell" provides an escape from the bloated menu Win 7 offers even in it's most basic personalization. A good mix of past control but new OS dynamic. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by pcs800 Jun 28, 2010 (Read all my 222 reviews)
When windows 7 came out I was beside myself at the fact that MS omitted the classic menu style. The way I arrange my menu simply cannot be accommodated with the overly compact new style. Being unable to get classic buttons like delete, etc. Onto the explorer toolbar was annoying too. This program took care of everything. If you've got vista or 7, you need this. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


CintaNotes take and manage notes


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards