Microsoft Security Essentials

Microsoft Security Essentials User Reviews



5 stars60% 14
4 stars26% 6
3 stars8% 2
2 stars4% 1
1 star0% 0
Based on 23 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 23 user reviews
Post your own review

Nothing faster or better 5 stars by jfheff7 Nov 30, 2016 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Have been using Security Essentials as primary source for anti virus and malware prevention since Window XP, works just fine. Just use Malwarebytes free anti malware program every once in a while and all will be fine on a Windows PC. show Review details
Is it doing anything at all? 3 stars by Montag May 16, 2016 (Read all my 2 reviews)
To be quite honest, I don't even think this does a thing for security. I've been running it for quite a while and scanning with it and it found nothing. HitmanPRO found 42 malware and spyware programs on my computer, fixed them all, and MSE found nothing. show Review details
Have changed MSE for avast antivirus 2 stars by Stepan238 Oct 31, 2014 (Read all my 11 reviews)
MSE never seemed to do anything, it never found any nasties (while the free versions of SuperAntispyware and MalwareBytes Anti-Malware frequently do, albeit they are adware/spyware utilities)and so decided to have a look at Avast, and am keeping it. show Review details
Essential security for my pc 4 stars by Smeagal1965 Sep 20, 2013 (Read all my 13 reviews)
Like most reviewers I find this very light on resources, unobtrusive in behavior, very effective & easy to use. I really like Roboscan but decided after a lot of self debate to use MSE instead. Why? Because I can't help but feel that Microsoft has a vested interest in keeping thier own systems clean and the knowledge to do so. After all Microsoft invented Windows. Who would know how to protect it better? Another reason is that Microsoft products seem to just get better and better with age. Internet Explorer 10 is a great example of this. I just seems wise to me to use a security product by the same company who made my OS. Just my 2 cents. :o) show Review details
The family buick 5 stars by nightpath207585 Jun 08, 2013
I think the human mind mistakes noise and color for effectiveness, and antivirus software designers know it. Microsoft has gone the other way, and provides what I call the family Buick. Its a basic black sedan which starts and runs every time, doesn't sound like a sports car, and won't weigh you down with repair bills. In other words, it just plain works. If you can get past your need for a fancy red sports car, You'll find that MSE does the job well, and hands you no pain in the process. I use Superantispyware Free every now and then to clear the adware clutter, and MSE for basic security, and never a problem. show Review details
Excellent free product 4 stars by Nicholas Mar 24, 2013 (Read all my 61 reviews)
I could not use the paid version of Avast because the built-in firewall conflicted with my PrivateFirewall V.7 which is so good that I never want to uninstall it. So I looked for an alternative and found MS Essentials. It is a good and reliable product. I use it with pleasure. show Review details
Small download - highly rated 5 stars by dvdshonna96 Nov 22, 2012 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Don't know how MSE stays so small. Less than 11MB program download. Currently the total size of virus and spyware definitions is 66MB. Total: 77MB for program and definitions, and MSE rates as well as the most bloated antivirus programs for detection and removal of virusesspyware. Avast 95MB+ 72MB definitions (Total: 167MB). I've used MSE and Avast extensively. Minor problems with Avast. MSE has been foolproof. The only negative with MSE is the slow "full scan" (40 min on my current PC setup). show Review details
Simple and very good product 4 stars by bowiser Mar 03, 2012 (Read all my 2 reviews)
When I had a problem with upgrade of my previous AV program from version 6 to version 7 (every time I rebooted my computer it was asking for finishing already done upgrade), I gave a chance to MSE and I don't regret it. It's much easier on my Windows XP and everything now works much faster then before. If somebody experiencing slower start of programs after installation of MSE, then select real-time protection drop down window to: "monitor only incoming files". To make MSE perfect, I would recommend Microsoft to include web shield. show Review details
Excellent AntiVirus and AntiMalware 5 stars by dirty_s Nov 21, 2011 (Read all my 4 reviews)
IMHO the best free all-around security suite. The GUI is quite minimal, but works fine and seems lighter than most of its counterparts. show Review details
Very good software 5 stars by franciscolaranjeira Nov 07, 2011 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Security Essentials is a very good software. I prefer Microsoft products, so I think this product is a good solution, a free solution and a trusted product. show Review details
Have been using this for some time now 5 stars by Fuzzy54 Oct 26, 2011 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Have been using this for some time now, very low on system resources and is very highly rated in the Free Antivirus class. In fact in many as good as some you would purchase. Easy to install, just to see how good this was keeping my system clean, I uninstalled and downloaded Vipre Trial Antivirus and all came up clean. Then a few weeks later Bitdefender Trial... and all clean. Also Nod online scan shows my system clean. I have also noticed that My Free SuperAntispyware and Malwarebytes pick up much less since Microsoft Security Essentials has been installed. So for me this tells me all I need. I have used Avast Free and AVG and rate this higher, I have no idea why a previous reviewer had the problems on XP with downloads of updates for 2 hours, perhaps he meant the scan time and as far as re-directs, I think that would have more to do with AOL than Microsoft Security Essentials. I have never had a problem with updates. The full scan time is slow but for free and with the protection this offers... well? show Review details
Good job, Microsoft 5 stars by iwillneverstop Oct 17, 2011 (Read all my 24 reviews)
I started using Microsoft Security Essential mostly because of the ads in avast! free. Although the installation and the first update take a lot of time, the first scan runs fast and the system performance is not affected. Up to now, MSE is still good at protecting my stuffs from being infected by malware. Keep it up Microsoft. show Review details
Disappointed 3 stars by desertjon Oct 11, 2011 (Read all my 18 reviews)
After reading all the positive reviews here for MS Security Essentials, I thought I would give it a try and was disappointed..It performs weak on an XP system. It doesn't clean up after itself, leaving many scraps behind. It changed my browser settings and doesn't play well with AOL. It also disabled my System Restore...so needless to say I had to reinstall Windows to correct these problems.The scan is fast but updates are very slow at times up to 2 hours. I have always trusted Microsoft in the past but this program is not for me. If you feel comfortable with Microsoft then install it. It is very light on system resources but be prepared for problems ahead. show Review details
Microsoft gets it right 5 stars by ianmacm Jul 04, 2011 (Read all my 174 reviews)
This is a well thought out piece of software. It is easy to use, light on system resources and is not prone to false positives. Many of the big name antivirus programs have become bloated, and slow down the computer by trying to do too much in a real time shield. Microsoft Security Essentials sticks to the basics, and is enough for most users. show Review details
Quite nice product 5 stars by Bulasikci Jun 27, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I run MSE with Kaspersky internet security and I have had no problems. I have MSE installed on 3 computers and on my labtop it found 2 trojans. MSE is a lightweight program which is known for its good on demand scans. However it's realtime protection is not as good so I would recommend using this program as backup just checking if your main security program missed something. If you don't want to spend money use avast with it but if you have cash to spare get a Kaspersky license.(Both programs don't hog memory.) show Review details
Gave up paid solutions - I never looked back. 4 stars by SNUSA1 Dec 19, 2010 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I've been running MSE for nearly a year now without any incidences on several systems. (both Windows-7 Business & Windows-XP) For the past 4 months I've been running it on this 64 bit Windows-7 Business system too. It's fast, unlike all the other solutions I've tried over the years! (Even the update signature files seem to update fast and transparently.) BOTTOM LINE:NO PROBLEMS! I've tried many others, and recently gave up a subscription to Eset. (At present, I have no intentions of even trying anything else.) FYI: It's worth noting that I just installed version 2x, and it seems just as quick. I can't say it's infallible, but so far I've never had anything "slip through." Either this is either really good, or "Ignorance is Bliss." I feel quite protected, combining this with "Windows 7 Firewall Control" (which provides additional control and monitoring of the built in MS Windows-7 firewall) and WinPatrol.
IMHO, a fast set and forget combination solution like this that doesn't get "in your face" is worth every penny. show Review details
Excellent anti-virus! 5 stars by Shaggy Dec 08, 2010 (Read all my 15 reviews)
I used avast! for years, always loved it. Then, about a year ago, I gave Microsoft Security Essentials a try. No regrets!! No futzing with registering the software, not a resource hog, has a scheduled nightly scan, automatic updates, easy to use, attractive interface, highly effective. It`s not in-your-face annoying like most security programs, it does its job pretty quietly for the most part. Easily the best anti-virus software I`ve ever used, and it`s free. show Review details
Problem with folders with lots of thumbnails 4 stars by Leopolean Jan 05, 2010
Had to disable checking of jpg and gif files. Otherwise the computer would lock up with folders containing lots of graphics. show Review details
Excellent free virus scan utility 5 stars by SithTracy Nov 30, 2009 (Read all my 19 reviews)
Microsoft is starting to take some initiative in protecting Windows users and providing a decent free application to do it. I am running Ubuntu and have Windows XP installed in a VirtualBox session. I did not want to pay for protection, and since I have a valid XP license, I was able to install this. For the little use I have it for in VirtualBox, it works out great. show Review details
Very good prog 5 stars by webguy39 Nov 23, 2009 (Read all my 10 reviews)
This is a very good and easy to use program to take and scan and detect for malware and other spyware etc. Highly recommended, have not had any problems running this program and it has protected my laptop as well as my desktop from any crap being installed on it. Another nice feature is that you can take and schedule scans on your PC and set the day and time etc. Been using this program for a few months now on all my machines and have not had ONE piece of spyware nor malware on my computers, this is a really nice program. No complaints or cons at this time. show Review details
Mostly good 4 stars by Rustyboy Oct 17, 2009 (Read all my 33 reviews)
I am running this on my Win 7 RC box and it performs very well, using few resources and remaining unobtrusive. I installed it on my wife's XP laptop and it must have conflicted with something as it just made the laptop completely freeze as soon as it booted. Upon removal of MSE from the laptop and the return of AntiVir, all was back to normal. It is well worth a try though. show Review details
Good one from MS 5 stars by garyganu Oct 13, 2009 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Unlike the last reviewer, I find this prog to be very fast on the several computers that I have installed it on. Easy to use, no registration required. Good basic protection, especially for not-so-savvy users. show Review details
From a beta tester 5 stars by mrtrout Oct 01, 2009
I used this software when it was in came out in beta back in June 30, 2009 and tested it for a few months. It ran and performed great, easy to use updates a few times a day, found viruses like Trojan downloaders that tried to get into my computer and stopped them from getting in! Keeps out viruses, spyware, malware. People have reviewed it on Youtube for several months now and PC magazine and it does do a excellent job at keeping viruses, spyware, malware, out of your computer. Its an anti-malware product that works great at keeping your computer virus spyware free. My advice to all computer users, use this security product! Unlike other free products, it has anti- rootkit technology built in for better protection! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders