FreeFileSync

FreeFileSync User Reviews



5 stars90% 9
4 stars0% 0
3 stars0% 0
2 stars10% 1
1 star0% 0
Based on 10 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 10 user reviews
Post your own review

Great for large jobs 5 stars by shawndarichuk607 Jun 03, 2016 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I use FreeFileSync for all of my backups. It's very fast and simple. show Review details
One major option still missing... 2 stars by Shodan816 Oct 02, 2012 (Read all my 41 reviews)
This would and should be one of the best folder synchronization utilities available with one exception: There is no way to set a 'default' set of folders for the application to open up to. Instead, it opens to whatever two folders were last used. It stands to reason that a Sync Utility would either allow the user to choose the default folders, or at the very least open to the top level of folders on the two drives - e.g., C: and D:. In past versions at least the user could set the GlobalSettings,xml file to Read Only to get around this issue, but that is no longer possible. show Review details
So quick 5 stars by Airbourne Dec 07, 2011 (Read all my 9 reviews)
Backing up a hard drive to another hard drive is so quick and you can just look at the SAME FOLDER on the 2 drives so you don't have to look through all the files that are different on the whole drive. One point to remember after the 1st Backup if you delete (or move) any files from the Main Hard Drive these files will come up in the Backup drive. So you can quickly delete them so this saves a lot of time and if they are just moved they will be backed up in the new position when you do a Mirror image back up. Just make sure all your work is done in the Main drive and you didn't by mistake use the Backup drive to Save, Copy Move any files or you will have problems But you can save from the Backup drive to the Main drive as well Big greatful thanks to the publisher. What a great program all 5 stars I wish I had this years ago. show Review details
Must-have 5 stars by SeSorrow Apr 30, 2011 (Read all my 29 reviews)
A must-have if you have folders that you keep copied on an external HD. Clean, simple, and easy to use. Performs precisely and quickly. I have never had data corruption with this one, and it doesn't takes half a day to do a sync either. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by Tech_1 Apr 22, 2011 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Works well. I use this to backup my hard drives. It copies long file names and everything else with NO ERRORS. Really good software that can be used as a portable application also. show Review details
Top-notch freeware 5 stars by LouieChuckyMerry Apr 22, 2011
After using the free edition of SyncBack for a couple of years to keep several sets of entire external hard drives--as well as some folder combinations--syncronized, I recently bumped into FreeFileSync. Within a day SyncBack was uninstalled and FreeFileSync was put into the folder where I keep all my stand alone applications and a desktop shortcut was created to fill the void left by SyncBack's recently departed icon. When I first went looking for a freeware sync program, I settled on SyncBack after hours of searching and reading reviews. At first I found SyncBack quite intimidating: so many buttons, so many options, even more advanced options. Eventually I became comfortable with its use but also discovered that the free edition doesn't have Unicode support (a problem for files with odd or foreign names). The first time I used FreeFileSync I was amazed at its combination of ease of use and functionality. The program is remarkably intuitive, as the interface is very clean and hovering the cursor over any button or area of importance opens a tool tip. Also, drag-and-drop for source and destination files-folders-drives and automatic ignoring of RECYCLE.BIN, RECYCLER, etc makes things simpler. Another plus is that you must "Compare" the source-destination before you can " Syncronize", and this preview is very easy to understand (and includes clear visual aids) as to what will be copied and-or deleted. Running out of characters, but I can't recommend FFS highly enough. show Review details
Simple no fuss sync 5 stars by JohnofTaunton Nov 25, 2010 (Read all my 13 reviews)
This program is simple to use (I did not even need to read instructions). It does what it says on the tin. I use it to sync on a One Way basis with my Laptop/external HDD and a two way sync between two HDDs. show Review details
Very fast and easy! 5 stars by _Dave_ Aug 04, 2010 (Read all my 7 reviews)
For years I've used another app that has a very similar name (not freeware either, but a *very* similar name), and this is one terrific free program we`ve got here. Unlike many programs like this, you don't get a "Remaining time: -5 minutes" that keeps counting up (when the program incorrectly estimated your process would be done). While this program isn't perfect at estimating completion time (I blame Windows for that), at least it doesn't go negative on me. The data transfer rate is very high, which makes me think the author wrote this in some high(er) level language to pull this off. Great job! There are still features I haven't even tested yet (that the "pay" software doesn't even offer), but for simplistic mirroring of multi-terabyte drives, this software works extremely well. Two thumbs up! Try it...you'll like it! show Review details
Synchronization made easy 5 stars by TerryP May 27, 2010 (Read all my 87 reviews)
I have used this as my default file synchronization program for over two years. Many file synchronization programs are often either too complex or too simplistic to be useful. This program can perform many complex tasks, but it also has a user-friendly interface with clear and concise buttons and options. The program is very fast, stable, and clean. It also can be executed from the command-line or using scripting languages such as batch files. During installation, it can be installed either either as a regular program or in portable mode. show Review details
Excellent alternative to Windows briefcase 5 stars by ianmacm Aug 26, 2009 (Read all my 174 reviews)
Let's face it, the Windows Briefcase is rubbish and has not changed for years. This is a full featured alternative with a range of options. It is also no install, so it can be run from a USB pen drive. Definitely worth a look. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders