Macrium Reflect (Free Edition)

Macrium Reflect (Free Edition) User Reviews



5 stars72% 8
4 stars9% 1
3 stars0% 0
2 stars9% 1
1 star9% 1
Based on 11 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 11 user reviews
Post your own review

Don't depend on it 2 stars by neilhmurphy983 Mar 27, 2016
Several things: I was using TDK DL DVDs. On a Win 7 Pro x64 Lenovo 400. The first time I tried to back up my system in preparation for Win X the second disk got an error. I think, this may have been due to my jumping the gun. In an effort to save time I pre-loaded the disk rather than clicking "OK". As I recall the formatting never occurred. I tried to review the log but I could find no error. The log lacked time stamps, so I couldn't tell the stat from the end. The second time I got all the way to disk six of six when an error occurred. It looked like the backup process was all but complete. Given the time that is consumed in this process one would think that there would be some sort of error recovery. For instance instead of just scrapping everything the program could have called for a new disk and carried on. One other nuisance is being prompted to format each disk. If I'm backing up my system and Reflect requires formatting the disk, just do it. You have my tacit permission. The free version doesn't back up files and when I used the paid version I found that I still need Reflect to view/restore them. show Review details
Excellent and free.... anything else? 5 stars by melen1717 Mar 21, 2016 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I was surprised when I discovered this software. It's does just about everything you would want for a back-up and it's really quite simple to set up. Automatic back-ups is a plus. And to think that it's FREE and is outrageous..... Give it a try. You won't regret it. Enjoy... show Review details
Great imaging and backup utility 5 stars by busybusy Mar 07, 2016 (Read all my 157 reviews)
This program was the only utility that I could back up a GPT partition a number of years back for a job. I tried over a dozen programs before finding this one and it worked perfectly. Since then they have improved upon it both from a file backup but for me imaging a whole drive for backup purposes and being able to restore that image quickly and easily. It has worked for my Win8 system and up without issue. Many Thanks! I give it Two-Thumbs Up! Get it, Use it, Rate it! show Review details
This is the best cloning and copying program! 5 stars by ltgargaz367 Aug 07, 2015 (Read all my 4 reviews)
If you want to clone or make images (incremental or differential) of your HD -- or simply make copies of folders -- I highly recommend Macrium Reflect. I liked the freeware version so much, I purchased the program with additional features. The support from Macrium is the very best. If you have any questions they will respond PDQ. If you don't make frequent clones of our primary HD, you should. The user interface could be updated and simplified, but once you get over the small learning curve, you will appreciate all of the information Macrium provides the user. show Review details
Macrium reflect free v5.37299 5 stars by Donald1 Apr 17, 2015 (Read all my 4 reviews)
While some say AcronisTrueImage appears to have much praise on the planet for a backup program, it does have it's detractors -- I AM ONE. I had used Acronis 10 Home for some time, but got errors during backup and restores because the scheduler and other parts clogged up my PC, causing it to hang, or wreck the image file I was trying to make or restore. Macrium does not have these faults and works THE FASTEST I have seen in comparison to Acronis WD or Seagate products. Some differences:
Macrium Reflect Image size is slightly bigger.
Macrium Reflect has Image File verify The only real difference, besides the price of course, between Macrium and Acronis is that Acronis has a startup recovery manager (Macrium can make a Recovery Disk and is so a it's Revery Manager). I found that the Macrium recovery disk provided a more than adequate environment to perform the task required and was actually much better than Acronis's startup recovery manager. show Review details
Passed with flying colors 5 stars by raptozilla Oct 28, 2013 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Like some of the other folks who frequent Snapfiles, I also have used Acronis (10 & 11) for a long time. I started looking for something new since Acronis 1011 do not support Win 8, and the newer versions I wasn't comfortable with in that regard. After reading some of the reviews for this software, I decided to give it a try. The first test occurred tonight when someone's computer I installed it on couldn't get past WINDOWS STARTUP REPAIR. I loaded up the Macrium WinPE recovery disk,and rescued the computer with a recent backup. The only real difference, besides the price of course, between Macrium and Acronis is that Acronis has a startup recovery manager while Macrium does not. I found that the Macrium recovery disk provided a more than adequate environment to perform the task required and was actually much better than Acronis's startup recovery manager. show Review details
Reliable backup-restore 5 stars by marlene_jobelle637 Feb 24, 2013
I have been using the program for 2 years now and it never failed on me It keep getting better too. Now cloning drive partitions is very easy. It seems to handle windows Vista7/8 disk ids by itself. There may be some problems with the linux based bootable cd sometime but they are getting ironed out by now. I think it is quite up to the level of Acronis. Very good, professional grade and free ! show Review details
Best of the three I tried 4 stars by Hoppy6 Oct 03, 2010
This does a great job. I was able to create a clone of my old ailing hard disk so I am ready to continue when it finally dies saving me a few days of pain installing the O/S and about a hundred program folders. Can not complain too much because it is free and although the instructions are good, they don't cover all (common) situations so had to fly blind some of the time. show Review details
Inadequate 1 stars by rpesq1 Aug 22, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
With other FREE drive imaging software available, free is irrelevant to 'value'. You either stack up or you don't. This is junk. Any IT professional requires disk images to be created outside the OS -- from a boot disk -- to ensure maximum integrity of the image, and to not pollute the OS with installing disk imaging software when there is ZERO rationale for ~installing~ it. The Macrium Reflect Free Edition book disk only allows you to RESTORE an image, not CREATE one. That is lame and makes the product worthless to anyone who is not clueless. Of course, the paid version HAS a boot disk that will ~create~ images. This free version is bait to hook a knowledgeable user into buying pay version. No thanks. show Review details
No excuses now! Backup your system 5 stars by Summer67 Aug 16, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
It's great when a product does what it says and does it well. There is no excuse now not to have a backup image of your system. Save your image to pretty much wherever you want and the program even has a way to make a bootable disk to assist in the recovery. Free,easy and reliable. I love it! show Review details
I'm surprised 5 stars by Hellraiser Aug 15, 2009 (Read all my 27 reviews)
It's not a 100% like Acronis True Image (the very best), but it does a great job and it's Freeware ! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring