Q-Dir User Reviews

5 stars58% 7
4 stars8% 1
3 stars8% 1
2 stars8% 1
1 star16% 2
Based on 12 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 12 user reviews
Post your own review

My favorite file manager in windows 5 stars by hreeus Sep 23, 2016 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I've tried quite a few file managers in the past years but I keep coming back to Q-dir. I've had no issues running both portable and installation versions on Win xp, Win 7, Win 8 and now on Win 10. Program settings can be a little awkward but for a free program I can't complain. show Review details
Slow performance 1 stars by cartel.del.oso726 Jul 07, 2016
I've use Qdir for a while, but now I've a very slow performance, the program sometimes just get freezed and it's necesary to kill the process, the load of the files in a dir, the basic operations (mv, cp, ren, mkdir, etc.), I've installed in others pc's with different OS version and is just the same behaviour, It's a sheme 'cause the program by itself was very superior to the native windows file explorer. And one last just small thing, please change the icon. show Review details
Keeps jamming up! 2 stars by mymonaro2003370 Jun 25, 2016 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I had been using this program for some years up until two months ago. On Windows 10 and Vista the program kept freezing. Also, when one would attempt to copy from one pane to another it would not work, also deletion of files would not work. Disappointing, as I did like the program. I have now moved to a competitor's product. show Review details
Disappointing 1 stars by bawldiggle May 25, 2016 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I have tried Q-Dir twice in last 5 months. Two major let-downs are the amateurish GUI and accessing "Settings" Q-Dir desperately needs a table-style Settings "pagewindow". The mammoth menu on menubar is not convenient for initial setup, nor for ongoing tweaks. (If not a settings window, then sub-meus on on the menu would be an improvement) GUI is amateurish, all components are cramped in. Active panel "tab" is not easily identified at a glance. Tab captions need some white space to facilitate easy (eye) "scanning". Drive links are way too small for convenient drive changes. (Its time the developer removed the failed "Warning" on the home page, which is supposed to be funny, but will put a lot of newbies off.) This app could be a real winner for those of us who work on laptops (small monitors). I prefer 2 panel setup -- Folder + Files pane with tabs for multiple file-panes. Presently I am using CubicExplorer (developers web-site has vanished in past 3 months) and is vastly superior to Q-Dir. I think CubicExplorer is available here on SnapFiles.com show Review details
Good but could be so much better 3 stars by plasticpig72701 Jan 01, 2015 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have used this for a number of years. I find it strange that it is the one file manager that I keep uninstalling and reinstalling. Whereas others I have just stayed with. I like the 4 pane layout, it is neat and simple, but it is the lack of configuration options that frustrates me. I would like to suggest that anyone who likes this tries Justmanager which you can configure to have as many panes as you want. I find 3 columns works well. It has been in alpha stage for ages, but has never failed me. I just wish that Q-Dir would evolve a little more, then perhaps I would not feel the need to keep uninstalling it. show Review details
Excellent: small, fast, portable 5 stars by Harlan Oct 08, 2012 (Read all my 56 reviews)
It does what you would expect from a multi-pane file manager. It's not as comprehensive as MultiCommander, or as pretty as NexusFile, but it has a ton of features in a small package that is constantly updated. Its only deficiency is the complex command structure, which is an inherent problem for all of the highly-capable file managers. Being able to work with up to 4 panes at once is usually more than I need, but occasionally it has been very handy. The portable version is identical to the installed version, and is the one I use. I highly recommend it. show Review details
Great views! 5 stars by busybusy Nov 29, 2010 (Read all my 156 reviews)
This is a great program. You can have multiple views of directories or drives. Easy to use and install! Two-Thumbs Up!!! show Review details
Great program 5 stars by agillbb Nov 09, 2010 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Definitely my file explorer of choice, and I have tried about 6 multi-pane viewers - I find it the most enjoyable of all to use. show Review details
Good product 5 stars by AllReviewer Sep 26, 2009 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This is a small standalone program which does not need installation and this is a great advantage. I love the customizable color usage. The program is quite robust It quickly replaced my Windows explorer. Great software. show Review details
I think I`ll be keeping this one. 5 stars by gimpguy May 16, 2009 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I too as other used Power Desk, etc... but I like this one better. When I work with plugins, folders, Gimp, images all at the same time, this is perfect! I don't have to open numerous windows, yet I have enough in one window and it works great. I think I'll be keeping this one. It's fast, has an easy to use interface, free, can't say enough about it. show Review details
Excellent program 5 stars by enrestoch May 15, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Great FM, multipane, fast, flexible, stable. Second only to UltraExplorer. show Review details
Versatile and looking good 4 stars by Nicholas May 11, 2009 (Read all my 61 reviews)
After PowerDesk, FreeCommander and many other file managers I like Q-dir best. It is versatile and user friendly. And it is looking good. Fun to work with. A great help to fight chaos in an ever growing and complex file system. Recommended! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


CintaNotes take and manage notes

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


CDRoller recover data from damaged CD/DVD/BD

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility