Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Free

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Free User Reviews



5 stars80% 20
4 stars12% 3
3 stars4% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star4% 1
Based on 25 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 25 user reviews
Post your own review

Run without this? vizzini: inconceivable&quo 5 stars by henerey773 Sep 05, 2016 (Read all my 15 reviews)
The only downside to MWB is the amount of memory the mbam stuff eats up after it's been on a while. Just Exit from the tray, then restart it right away. show Review details
The best anti-virus software I have ever used 5 stars by tandlyoung659 Jan 07, 2016
I started using this software years ago and can only say that it has become better over the years. Simple to use but most importantly, highly effective. I am now using it on Windows 10 and up to now it seems to work perfectly. The full scan taking about 45 to 50 minutes on my laptop system. The latest version perhaps doesn't have as easy or simple an interface as previous versions however, this is evened up by the interface being more self explaining which in my opinion makes it better to understand for the novice and more informative for the intermediate user. I have upgraded to the premium version which gives great real time protection. It should be mentioned here that the premium version is not free. As for the free version, get it downloaded and used, you cannot possibly ever regret it. The software also has a feature called Chameleon, which attempts to get round viruses that tries to block or disable anti virus software programs. Finally, Malwarebytes doesn't seem to take up much processor percentage or RAM when on startup or running. show Review details
The best anti-maleware app! 5 stars by mohamed.almudhafar294 Jun 20, 2015
I've been with malware analysis for about 10 years and i do know that Malwarbytes malware detection engine is solid and it quarantined each & every malware i studied,i would give it a 5 starts because of its high dependability and lightness on the PC OS. show Review details
Saved my life. twice. 4 stars by kathy025 Feb 18, 2015 (Read all my 17 reviews)
I remember having a nasty malware infection in my laptop on two different occasions and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware killed it where other popular free contenders failed. Saved me from a reformat twice. show Review details
Functional and competent 5 stars by captaintodger725 May 20, 2014
From my experience this is the best anti-malware software currently available. It has kept my computer clean of malware and viruses for over a year now. I have been saved a lot of hassle and frustration by using malwarebytes. I was so impressed with the software that I upgraded to the premium version almost immediately after testing it out. The free version is more competent than most paid antivirus systems. It never makes you feel like your antvirius is malware istelf. I sound like I'm advertising for these guys lol but I just really dig the software a lot, It is not often I am this satisfied with a digital product. If you get the paid version it is money well spent and extremely fair in terms of the use you get. Do it, support good and honest software developers. show Review details
It works where others don't 5 stars by SilverFox May 08, 2014 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I had a problem crop up out of the blue with random words on a page of text being underlined, forming hyperlinks. When the mouse was hovered over the underlined words, a small advertising box would pop up. Clicking on the boxes redirected the browser to gambling and porn sites and the like. Not nice. Suspecting a malware infection I scanned the computer using a freeware malware detector I had installed. Nothing. I tried Windows Defender - Nothing. I then scanned with my antivirus. It picked up a couple of infected files, sent them to the "chest", and called for a computer restart and boot scan of all the files on the computer. A lengthy process. During the boot scan, several more infected files were detected and again (on prompting) sent to the Ches. I went online and the problem was still there. Reading the recommendations of SnapFiles users I decided to try Malware Bytes Anti Malware. It picked up 74 infected files and recommended they be quarantined. One click carried out the quarantine. A couple of seconds later the computer was clean. No reboot was asked for as with the antivirus, and repeated scans turned up nothing. I'm glad to report that the problem has not returned. The program prompts for an update of definitions when started - easy to do. The interface is clean and easy to understand. Scanning is quicker than the other freeware malware detector I have installed. Quick and thorough, I'm very impressed with this program. show Review details
This app beats 'em all 5 stars by sheldon.messervey715 Mar 22, 2014
My browsers were hijacked - IE, Chrome and FF - with malware "PUP.xxxx." Complete nightmare - I turned to firstly Norton 360, secondly, McaFee and finally, AdAware and Spybot Search & Destroy; none of theses applications found the Malware - Malwarebytes located the issue with a Quick Scan and cleaned out the malware - numerous "PUP.Optional.xxx" registry entries, corrupt files etc. - leaving my macjine spotless. I am an advanced user, usually able to locate problems as such pretty quickly, but this one had me baffled and Malwarebytes solved the problem. Highly recommend. show Review details
Very good 5 stars by nobull2 Apr 22, 2013 (Read all my 25 reviews)
Program to keep the Malware off the PC. I am back and will keep this this time. It just keeps getting better. show Review details
Mbam is awesome!!! 5 stars by Stepan238 Mar 14, 2013 (Read all my 11 reviews)
We all absolutely love Mbam and have got to have this Magnificent Bug-Hunter on our Decks. Mbam Rocks!!! show Review details
Best post-infection killer 5 stars by rkd108428 Oct 22, 2012 (Read all my 17 reviews)
I've had at least a couple malware incidents that no other program or method was able to resolve. Naturally this depends largely on how often and well the signatures are updated, but Malwarebytes has supported this product admirably and its reputation for eliminating tough infections is well deserved. show Review details
Best of the best 5 stars by gene.ferrier358 Oct 15, 2012
I download A LOT of stuff from the web. Almost daily. I use Avast, AntiSpyware App, Comodo and other programs but this is the best one by far. It has caught most if not ALL of the spywareadware and trojans I've gotten from various downloads. Best of all its free. I would highly recommend this app!! show Review details
The greatest 5 stars by Rodger Sep 12, 2012 (Read all my 99 reviews)
Keeps getting better,version 165 installs and works fine. show Review details
Has served me well... 5 stars by compuable Feb 04, 2012 (Read all my 11 reviews)
I have used the Malwarebytes "Pro version" very successfully (but the freeware version is sufficient). The program works really wonderfully and has served me well for a while now. I actually test freeware programs as a hobby on the side; and I probably download and install around a dozen or so of new full applications andor utility programs to test out each month so I have to be careful. I first tried using Malwarebytes freeware version and afterwards I upgraded to Malwarebytes Anti-Malware pro. It consequently caught about 10-15 or so 'baddies' while I was trying to test the new freeware programs onto my computer as well as immediately warning me while I was in the process of downloading the installation .exe files for the new programs. Another nice thing is that it detects many remote and 'seemingly innocuous' Adware programs that many other anti-malware programs miss. It then lists them and offers a 'right-click' link option which leads to a more thorough explanation of what they are, what they do as well as describing how dangerous or docile they are and then offers the option to remove them (or not to). I believe the upgrade only ran me around 25 dollars (US) but it was well worth it. Although I'm always looking for freeware alternatives to shareware programs; in this case I didn't really mind ponying up "Pro version" version, in order to support the programs development (and the updates and support offered are 'perpetual' which is always a good thing!) show Review details
Excellent tool for complete protection 5 stars by razzss Oct 14, 2011
With no doubt Malwarebytes is a no.1 tool.It can even beat other powerful antivirus program. Simple gui,less resource, minimum interference with other program, frequent and fast updates download makes it to top. Must+ have tool.55 simply awesome. No drawbacks, use it to believe it.Free version also available. Download it now. show Review details
One of the best 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 30, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
MBAM has to be one of the best tools in the fight against malware. (and I don't say it just because I made the icon for it, many accuse me of this, sorry, made icons for software I don't like as well) It's not often I see a machine that doesn't have it on there. You still need an antivirus, firewall and other things but when it comes to most of the malware that's not detected or blocked, MBAM will typically target and remove others. I see the typical responses elsewhere from those who may get one or two items that MBAM couldn't remove or detect so they shrug off MBAM. 1. MBAM is not 100 percent (NO security software is)and there are going to be things it can't remove or detect, just like any other security software. 2. MBAM, will remove more infections in one scan than any other software I've used in 14 years. So for those who would shrug off MBAM over X amount of infections that get by, obviously don't realize how much MBAM really does get rid of as a percentage compared to some attack specific security scanners. Either way, it's why we need more than one security tool, nothing is 100 percent but some stand above others, MBAM is one that does. show Review details
Superb protection againts viruses. 5 stars by jjz1172 May 29, 2011 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Quick detection, didn't expect to detect trojan, adware, malware, hacktool, and riseware from my pc that other antivirus did not. There is a hidden virus roaming around my PC for a year. Good thing that there is Malwarebytes that can depend on. show Review details
Simple, fast, neat and complete! 5 stars by magnetic56 Dec 10, 2010 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I am involved in the I.T. Industry and definitely recommend this free version of the Program, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, to my customers for removing Malware from their computer/laptops. As previous posters have said, it removes Malware that other Programs can`t. But, always use a second anti-malware program to make sure that your machine is thoroughly clean. If you wish for the extras, up grade to the paid for version. show Review details
Too many better programs 1 stars by danricha Oct 31, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Even many of the other free anti-malware are better than this program. You need to be careful that it does not remove system files, or major commands. Malware is not a major issue for this program, your OS is, and it is good at screwing it up. show Review details
Works, but... 3 stars by drfung Sep 18, 2010 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Will miss some of the more sophisticated exploits, rootkits and keyloggers. I stopped using it because a 2nd or 3rd scan with alternatives (always a good idea no matter what product is selected) picked up exploits that this missed. show Review details
Best in class 5 stars by sazhazman Mar 07, 2010 (Read all my 26 reviews)
The free version was the only program that was able to successfully (and completely) remove Antivirus 2009. I bought the regular version the following day for all 5 of my PC's so I could get real time protection. No need to use anything else, this one is perfect. show Review details
A must for todays baddies 5 stars by pcs800 Mar 03, 2010 (Read all my 222 reviews)
There are a couple of malware infections running around pretending to be anti virus these days, this app is the only one I have been able to remove the rogues with. I use it all the time on customers PCs for cleaning and purchased it for real time protection along with Avast for my wife`s pc (she's not as savvy as I am :-) show Review details
Great malware program! 5 stars by humungus Aug 15, 2009
Pros: Catches what other anti-virus software doesn't. Although, I still use ComboFix for some things that this and other programs can't clean. Easy to use and update. Free version does not have real-time protection, but the freeware version still cleans and updates. Cons: As one reviewer put it, program is targeted by viruses and with some, it either will not load or execute. Typically, all you have to do is rename the installation file or exectuatble file to something like "yourname.exe" and run it. Seems to work. Once the nasties are removed, you can rename the executable to its original name. show Review details
Nice program 4 stars by drkshdw4u Jul 31, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I just bought this. I think its a very nice program that does what it says and even found few things that others didnt find. Scans fast, very smooth. Only thing I found that it is a bit slow on startup as in rebooting other then that I think its well worth the money, easy to use with no troubles, and yes I would recommend this for protection show Review details
Amazingly thorough and fast 5 stars by TerryP Apr 30, 2009 (Read all my 87 reviews)
This program updates fast, scans fast, and finds stuff that other Malware scanners miss or take forever to find. This is especially useful if your PC performance is currently affected by Malware or you just need to do a quick check without bogging down performance. show Review details
Catches what others do not 4 stars by PaleRider Apr 28, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Great piece of anti-malware. It is about the only thing that will totally clean up the slew of nasties out there today. ie: antivirus 2009 and the others of it's breed. They need to find a way to keep these nasties from blocking the install procedure for this program and any other security software. If they could do that then this would be an absolutely perfect piece of software. Too many time in the past couple of months I have run into this problem on an infected system and it is a real pain to deal with. Maybe a pre-scanner that will unload the blocking service before the install? show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats