SearchMyFiles

SearchMyFiles User Reviews



5 stars44% 4
4 stars22% 2
3 stars11% 1
2 stars22% 2
1 star0% 0
Based on 9 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 9 user reviews
Post your own review

Excellent search portable freeware 5 stars by ricohflex77 Oct 23, 2016 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This is how you can achieve being able to navigate to a folder, and let NirSoft SearchMyFiles search that particular folder. It is faster and much better than Windows search. You simply go into main menu, click on Options. Click to enable "Explorer Context Menu". That is it. The next time you are in Windows Explorer or Total Commander; place your cursor on any folder, then simply right click on mouse and choose SearchMyFiles from CVontext Menu. Nirsoft SearchMyFiles will open with that folder already input into the "Base Folders" of the Search Options window. You can input whatever search criteria you wish. The two window pane system is in fact superior. It lets you control search criteria in window 1 and the search results in the other window 2. You can press F9 to open any search result file; or choose in Options to Open File On Double Click. The software remembers your last Base folder and the next time you run the software, it defaults to your last used base folder. If you have many base folders; it remembers them too. Just select from a scroll list. Overall an excellent search software. Portable and FREE. show Review details
Excellent results 5 stars by busybusy Apr 27, 2015 (Read all my 157 reviews)
The biggest thing is to find a search too which will scan network drives. Most only look at local attached media but SearchMyFiles works without question on any drive or remote media. The interface seems busy at first but once you examine the layout it all makes sense. I was able to find what I needed and also to verify that if a file did not exist. Either way the results were produces quick. Thanks again to NirSoft's tools!!! Two-Thumbs Up! show Review details
Great utility! 5 stars by sangro407957 Jul 27, 2014
Found a string of text inside a folder in seconds, which neither the Windows search function nor Google Desktop did. Definitely a keeper. show Review details
No cigar 2 stars by MrJaw69 Sep 16, 2013 (Read all my 34 reviews)
Though it has many features, SearchMyFiles is surprisingly clunky. When invoked it opens two windows: a list window, and a search window with lots of options. SearchMyFiles requires the use of wildcards for all searches, which is straight out of 1989. Choosing the search folder was cumbersome. I'd grown accustomed to Windows' search of being able to navigate to a folder, hit F3, and then having the software search, albeit slowly, the folder for my criteria. I'd hoped for something as intuitive as Windows' search, but faster. I'll keep looking. show Review details
Didn't find as much as hoped 3 stars by gimpguy Sep 18, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I gave this a run and tried to find some simple files but this barely found anything I'd search for. I searched for Gimp, Ashampoo, and other common files on my system, mpeg, jpeg, etc... but barely found anything. I thought this would be a very good search tool considering how in depth the settings are so was a bit disappointed when I actually used it. Not saying it isn't GOOD but not what I would use, maybe to carry around on a USB? Not sure I would even go that far. show Review details
Great little tool 4 stars by HZetzer Mar 18, 2010 (Read all my 23 reviews)
Searches for files extremely fast and is a keeper. show Review details
Needed a replacement for vista search 5 stars by drfung May 09, 2009 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Downloaded this program (v1.15), and found it did what the native Vista search couldn't do - provide a simple interface to find files quickly with minimum end-user input. The references in an earlier review regarding cpu utilization may either have been addressed or the machine I use Vista on is sufficiently powerful for it not be affected. Definitely worth trying (works in XP also). show Review details
Expect no expenses 4 stars by gmonk003 Apr 21, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Could find anything quickly and at no expense to install a thing. Like using a disk to boot but easier. Wish there where more effective programs like this one. A sweet gem here like a plunger.? Missing a option to extract or scoop a selection files found to move all at once. I like the new Box check feature some are starting to use. show Review details
Nickname turtle 2 stars by Henry8 Mar 07, 2009 (Read all my 37 reviews)
I was thrilled to see the size of this program (it was like a breeze from 1980's), and when it had a quite normal outlook and all necessary options, my hopes were high. My enthusiasm didn't fall when I noticed this program used more processor capacity than other search programs tend to do - it "should" mean high speed processing... but no; SMF turned out to be slow, slow and slow. XP`s own search function did the work in 32 seconds, while SearchMyFiles took 3 minutes 40 seconds. Considering the unbelievably small size of the program, the maker must be something of a genius and thus, I stand in awe waiting what he / she may produce by adding some mass to this product. It found everything, yes, but it just did the work incredibly slow. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats