SearchMyFiles User Reviews

5 stars37% 3
4 stars25% 2
3 stars12% 1
2 stars25% 2
1 star0% 0
Based on 8 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 8 user reviews
Post your own review

Excellent results 5 stars by busybusy Apr 27, 2015 (Read all my 156 reviews)
The biggest thing is to find a search too which will scan network drives. Most only look at local attached media but SearchMyFiles works without question on any drive or remote media. The interface seems busy at first but once you examine the layout it all makes sense. I was able to find what I needed and also to verify that if a file did not exist. Either way the results were produces quick. Thanks again to NirSoft's tools!!! Two-Thumbs Up! show Review details
Great utility! 5 stars by sangro407957 Jul 27, 2014
Found a string of text inside a folder in seconds, which neither the Windows search function nor Google Desktop did. Definitely a keeper. show Review details
No cigar 2 stars by MrJaw69 Sep 16, 2013 (Read all my 34 reviews)
Though it has many features, SearchMyFiles is surprisingly clunky. When invoked it opens two windows: a list window, and a search window with lots of options. SearchMyFiles requires the use of wildcards for all searches, which is straight out of 1989. Choosing the search folder was cumbersome. I'd grown accustomed to Windows' search of being able to navigate to a folder, hit F3, and then having the software search, albeit slowly, the folder for my criteria. I'd hoped for something as intuitive as Windows' search, but faster. I'll keep looking. show Review details
Didn't find as much as hoped 3 stars by gimpguy Sep 18, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I gave this a run and tried to find some simple files but this barely found anything I'd search for. I searched for Gimp, Ashampoo, and other common files on my system, mpeg, jpeg, etc... but barely found anything. I thought this would be a very good search tool considering how in depth the settings are so was a bit disappointed when I actually used it. Not saying it isn't GOOD but not what I would use, maybe to carry around on a USB? Not sure I would even go that far. show Review details
Great little tool 4 stars by HZetzer Mar 18, 2010 (Read all my 23 reviews)
Searches for files extremely fast and is a keeper. show Review details
Needed a replacement for vista search 5 stars by drfung May 09, 2009 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Downloaded this program (v1.15), and found it did what the native Vista search couldn't do - provide a simple interface to find files quickly with minimum end-user input. The references in an earlier review regarding cpu utilization may either have been addressed or the machine I use Vista on is sufficiently powerful for it not be affected. Definitely worth trying (works in XP also). show Review details
Expect no expenses 4 stars by gmonk003 Apr 21, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Could find anything quickly and at no expense to install a thing. Like using a disk to boot but easier. Wish there where more effective programs like this one. A sweet gem here like a plunger.? Missing a option to extract or scoop a selection files found to move all at once. I like the new Box check feature some are starting to use. show Review details
Nickname turtle 2 stars by Henry8 Mar 07, 2009 (Read all my 37 reviews)
I was thrilled to see the size of this program (it was like a breeze from 1980's), and when it had a quite normal outlook and all necessary options, my hopes were high. My enthusiasm didn't fall when I noticed this program used more processor capacity than other search programs tend to do - it "should" mean high speed processing... but no; SMF turned out to be slow, slow and slow. XP`s own search function did the work in 32 seconds, while SearchMyFiles took 3 minutes 40 seconds. Considering the unbelievably small size of the program, the maker must be something of a genius and thus, I stand in awe waiting what he / she may produce by adding some mass to this product. It found everything, yes, but it just did the work incredibly slow. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes


CintaNotes take and manage notes

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring