Sumatra PDF

Sumatra PDF User Reviews

5 stars66% 6
4 stars22% 2
3 stars0% 0
2 stars11% 1
1 star0% 0
Based on 9 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 9 user reviews
Post your own review

Great pdf reader and epub and mobi and djvu 5 stars by wtalderson242 Jan 11, 2016
Sumatra PDF not only quickly reads pdf's, it reads epub, mobi, djvu and probably more. Unique in the PC world on a windows computer. It not only reads all these well, it remembers where you left off so you can return to reading at the right place. I am pleased to read epub, mobi without a Barnes & Noble or an Amazon reader. 5 stars for sure. show Review details
My favorite pdf viewer 5 stars by LowStrung May 23, 2015 (Read all my 13 reviews)
The simplicity and speed of Sumatra PDF has already been acknowledged here; I like that too, but I just want to point out a few other things: 1) This must be the cleanest looking PDF reader around. The latest version has added tab support, but the tab bar is superimposed on the titlebar, which frees up some vertical space. The conventional menu bar has been replaced by a button at the top left corner which brings up a cascading main menu. 2) As the SnapFiles editor mentioned, the app also supports the CHM format, which is used for help files. Opening a help file in Sumatra makes it much easier to read, because you can zoom it to a comfortable reading size. Also, the indexes in most of those help files will show up in the left-hand sidebar as bookmarks once you enable them. 3) I've tried several other PDF readers. All of them surpass the bloated reader from Adobe. STDU Viewer, which I've reviewed here as well, is good, but I've just discovered that its rendering of PDFs is inferior to that of Sumatra, especially in music scores. Curved lines appear jagged in STDU but are much smoother in Sumatra. In addition, STDU sometimes misaligns notes on the staff, which makes the score hard to read. show Review details
Great pdf viewer 4 stars by realbull2009250 Mar 29, 2015 (Read all my 60 reviews)
When I want to view a PDF I'd like the viewer to display pages properly. Some of the free PDF viewers have some problems doing this. For example, if there are a mix of horizontal and vertical pages some viewers display the horizontal page with part of the next page which is vertical. Sometimes full page view is not possible. Sumatra PDF seems to have no problem with displaying the images the way I want it to...and that's the most important thing. Also its other strong point is the speed at which it can load and turn to each page. Some other free PDF viewers tend to be slow at displaying large images and freeze for awhile. In addition Sumatra PDF has all of the options you'd expect from a PDF viewer. You can custom view pages the way you want, zoom and set bookmarks. The interface is clean and easy to use, and the speed-dial page is really a great unique feature in Sumatra PDF viewer. Lastly, it is a great simple ecomic and ebook reader(other free PDF viewers can't do that). The only thing that Sumatra PDF lacks are extract, conversion, add notes and digital signing tools(and other features) that other free PDF viewers have. I'd love to see these features added in the future because it would make Sumatra PDF the perfect PDF viewer to have. But, if viewing is all you want to do then it is a 5-star PDF viewer for you. show Review details
Simple & eligant viewer 5 stars by busybusy Feb 03, 2015 (Read all my 156 reviews)
I looked at a lot of PDF utilities and this one fits the bill because it is fast, has the feature I'm looking for, has a small memory foot print, and guess what show you a PDF. It is a purposeful reader with out the traditional "software bloat" issues. Adobe PDF is nearly 80MB where this program is 2.8MB. Your choice should be based on what you do with a PDF. If you are just reading, printing, etc. this will work for you everytime. Two-Thumbs Up! Get it, use it, rate it! Juat wanted to shout out to Krzysztof Kowalczyk for a great program. show Review details
A little too simple 2 stars by hostile177729 Feb 22, 2014 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Is a "find" feature a "bell and whistle"? I would have categorized it as a basic perhaps essential function. If you plan to actually just read something front to back this is fine and it renders images nicely as well. If you need to search a document though, like I did, pass on this one. show Review details
Excellent- loads up in a jiffy 5 stars by spica4x16 Jan 13, 2013 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Love this software. It opens PDF's with "lightning speed" and it opens up the PDF at the last spot you were at- so you were reading and left off at page 100, then closed it- it will open back up at page 100. show Review details
Ok, but most users should look elsewhere 4 stars by Harlan Feb 10, 2011 (Read all my 56 reviews)
I've tried Sumatra several times. I like the idea of a lightweight PDF viewer that starts up and renders quickly, and I am willing to give up a lot of extra features in exchange for speed. But Sumatra is not much faster than others that DO come with extensive features, AND provide more flexible printing and file-handling, AND include conveniences such as remembering previous file save locations. I have gone back to PDF-XViewer (available on Snapfiles). show Review details
Absolutely no nonsense 5 stars by JMMannion Aug 13, 2010 (Read all my 25 reviews)
The Sumatra PDF Reader is quick, no nonsense and although it lacks the features of the big guys it gets the job done nicely. In this day and age where everything has to be big and awkward to please people, these little program is very basis and very good. I'll give it an Excellent. J Mannion show Review details
Very basic and fast , no nonsense 5 stars by AjayVerma May 28, 2009
A no nonsense pdf reader that reads PDF. Pros - 1. no need to install 2. lighting start up 3. super easy to use 4. free - may not offer features but good for moderate users , no search is a let-down show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


CintaNotes take and manage notes

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring