icon

Avidemux user reviews

5 stars70% 7
4 stars10% 1
3 stars0% 0
2 stars20% 2
1 star0% 0
Based on 10 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 10 user reviews Post your own review

Appearances are deceiving 2 stars by teddwest983 Jan 05, 2012
Avidemux appears to be the ultimate editor, but... The problems begin immediately, because it's the only editor whose audio and video are almost always out of synch (when they weren't in to raw video), and often wildly so. You can easily adjust synchronization by typing in the milliseconds of difference, but it can be very tedious to find the exact amount, and you'd better do it before you edit anything (you'll see why in a moment). The editing itself is precise, and different button sets make it easy to move back and forth - better than all other free editors. But once you've finished, the easy part ends. "Copy" to the same format is very fast if you've done everything right, but for conversion, you'd better know exactly what format and codec go together or you'll get an error message until you find the right combination. And when you do, you may then get the worst error message of all - one that tells you you haven't started on a "key frame." In that case, you have no choice but to start over. In fact, if you want to change any edit you can't undo it - you have to undo ALL of them - and start over. Little quirks involve having to name the new file yourself, and there's no button to delete a scene, you have to right click and select "delete" from the menu. And if you want to do something like cropping the video, processing then can become amazingly slow. So while this is the most full-featured editor out there, I've given up on it until it becomes more user friendly. showShow review details
Excellent 5 stars by anonss Sep 13, 2011
Excellent free program to edit video format H 264 and MP4. showShow review details
Best of the best 5 stars by Airbourne May 23, 2011 (Read all my 9 reviews)
My SDV.MP4 from a Samsung digital camera opens in all programs with the height too high. This is the only program that I have found that will edit SDV.MP4 video in height and width so that it appears normal and it can do a faultless. It can also open HDV.mp4 (Click preview) Then WOW I can edit one part of the video and also CUT OUT part of the Top/Bottom/Left/Right of the video (Any numbers must multiply by 8) Can edit and save the video in another format if required. Bit of a STEEP learning curve to do all this and much more but keep at it it is worth it. showShow review details
Great as always 5 stars by gimpguy Apr 23, 2011 (Read all my 1158 reviews)
If you want a FREE video editor that with a small learning curve, can do some great splicing, joining, converting and using numerous filters, some decent visual editing. It definitely has options. The default when main window is opened is set to COPY, but this can be changed to whatever codec is listed and there are quite a few. The same goes for the audio, and the format can very easily be changed the same way. If you are willing to learn a bit, taking 20 minutes to read the NUMEROUS tutorials on the web on how to use Avidemux, it isn't all that bad and you get to learn about video and audio formats which comes in very handy. If you prefer it the easy way, it doesn't get any simpler than clicking the "Auto" (which I call the "no brainer function") to do the work for you, choose an output, save. That's all there is. There are also advanced options when doing so for the more enthusiastic users. Cutting parts from video is very easy and handy. Select point A and point B, cut, save, that's all that's to it. I have been using an older version, perfectly happy with it but I now have the latest which I'm very pleased with. It has been the most stable editor and it's manual enough that if something goes wrong, it's likely due to my error. I have bought and tried others and I can never get the specific results I want, so, Avidemux is what I will continue to use. Free awesome editor! showShow review details
Hard to use! 2 stars by Mr.Deeds Jan 20, 2011
There is no help file to get you started and it would not save or edit my video. I strongly don't recommend this software. It's more trouble than its worth. showShow review details
Great video processor and encoder 5 stars by Philipgrey Apr 26, 2010 (Read all my 12 reviews)
Have found this program to be extremely useful. Once you spend some time learning it you can produce some very good video footage which rivals some very well known and expensive video packages. For what it does this has to be one of the best freeware packages I have used, and I have used a few. Well done to all the people who worked hard to put this program together. showShow review details
Fundamental 5 stars by ingcgp Apr 09, 2010
Powerful, intuitive, functionally complete and easy to use. Extremely useful the audio shifting capability. And, surprisingly, free. What else ? showShow review details
Good on the basics 4 stars by sholleran Dec 30, 2009 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Easy to mark edit in/out points, very fast, but in removing commercials from an mpeg file the result was out of sync sound for the video. I used Build VBR Time Map as recommended, output to MPEG-PS (A+V) as recommended, but result unusable. showShow review details
Excellent video editor 5 stars by TerryP Sep 25, 2009 (Read all my 80 reviews)
This is a great tool for editing videos. I tried a good many editors and most were complicated, but I found this one the most intuitive. showShow review details
Excellent 5 stars by cpaulro Jan 04, 2009
For free is a very good tool for simple editing, quick cuts and joins!! Good job guys! showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download Avidemux

Check out these featured downloads...

PhoXo

PhoXo image editing and effects

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Emsisoft Emergency Kit

Emsisoft Emergency Kit portable malware removal kit

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring