Google Chrome

Google Chrome User Reviews



5 stars16% 4
4 stars33% 8
3 stars16% 4
2 stars29% 7
1 star4% 1
Based on 24 reviews
Avg. user rating: 3 Based on 24 user reviews
Post your own review

Best of all the rest. 5 stars by labman24620 Aug 20, 2015 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I have used Chrome, Version 44, for about 2 months now. Have searched the web for some tweaks, and tips, from different sites, on how to make it even faster. Firefox is still my Default Browser, but Chrome is getting closer! I only use the Video Speed Control, as an extension, and can view ANY video anywhere, at true speed.....no more of this "slow, slow" stuff. I also use the Bookmarks Star (gold star) which I can now click on, and it shows my bookmarks right away.....just one click. Don't have to go through the menu bars anymore. These 2 add-ons are from the apps web site, found through Google search. Ccleaner clears all the stuff I want to clear, such as History, Cache, Sessions, (I haven't signed in to Google to have it cover all my places, don't intend to), cookies, etc. It is somewhat faster than Firefox. It took me some time to find the tips to use in changing some of the chrome:flags experiments....made it ever faster. show Review details
It's a utility for google apps 4 stars by EmpressTrudy Aug 27, 2014 (Read all my 16 reviews)
As a heavy user of Google apps and Google cloud printing you NEED Chrome. Fair enough. It works well, isn't too bloated and runs fairly elegantly. My only two quibbles is that font rendering is weak AND, 'running in the background' doesn't always work nor do Google Now Alerts. show Review details
All i know is... 4 stars by PogMoHon Mar 08, 2014 (Read all my 22 reviews)
... I do most of my browsing with it these days (also on Android). Printing webpages (also a selected webpage part) to pdf is one of those very good features about the Chrome browser. show Review details
Good rendering 4 stars by patf41132 Mar 02, 2012
After upgrading to Windows 7, I discovered that my HP computer didn't have video drivers for it. In FF, IE, and Avant, websites were being rendered badly. Tried Opera, and things looked better, but web applications would hang. Chrome gets things done and looking good. Most people probably are tired of it being foisted on them with program installations though. I miss the tools, frills, and baubles of FF addons, but nothing seems to get the basics done like Chrome. Now I don't feel a big rush to get a new video card,.. yeah :) show Review details
Clean interface, lightning fast 5 stars by sazhazman Jan 09, 2012 (Read all my 26 reviews)
I thought I would never leave Firefox, but over the last few weeks I have been using Chrome almost exclusively. It's been months since I last had a problem with a website failing to load, pages load in half the time as FF or IE and the assortment of addons (not as many as FF, but more than adequate) are perfect for anyone's everyday needs. What got me away from FireFox? It's getting slower with every release. It crashes and/or hangs almost daily. Why not IE? It is getting better with each version, but it's still the slowest browser available. Try Chrome and give it a few days to get use to the spartan interface. It will suit your everyday needs...and then some. show Review details
Not a bad secondary browser 4 stars by WebmasterTeen Jul 08, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Google Chrome is a REALLY good browser. It doesn't have everything I need, but it had enough that I survived for the day. There were a few addons I wish it had, as well as an account manager, an easier way to manage bookmarks and history, and the themes really sucked, to be honest. However, it was a good alternate browser for me, unfortunately until those things are fixed (and assuming Firefox gets worse with each update), I'll be sticking to Firefox. Speed: 9/10. Most of the time it was wonderfully fast. However, once in a while a tab would take a few extra seconds to load. Performance: 9/10. Most of the time it kept up to its promises. However, once it had frozen on me, and me thinking that I could just switch tabs, attempted to. It didn't freeze as in the window turned light (what it does on Vista7), but it took several seconds before it responded. Customizability: 7/10. Mostly impressed. Could use a few addons, plus the themes mostly sucked, but all in all I was impressed. Comfort: 8/10. Very comfortable to use, however it just lacked enough features that Firefox had, that I wasn't completely comfortable with it. Overall: 8/10. Google Chrome has improved since last year (with the few million version updates every month I SWEAR!!!). It has almost everything I need, and if I absolutely HAD to, I could use it instead of Firefox. However, as I said a few times now, it lacked enough stuff (Features, addons, themes mostly) that I will rate it 8/10. show Review details
Tried, but problems again 2 stars by jono7777 Feb 18, 2011 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I tried Chrome again in the hope that the freeze-up issues had been sorted, but alas they haven't. I had to score it down because I simply can't recommend it going on my personal experience. It's fast at first, which is great, then someway along the line things get sticky and the pages freeze. I'd love to keep it, but until this problem is sorted I am out of here. Pity, because it has all the simplicity I like but the hitches are unacceptable. show Review details
Inadequate 1 stars by SoSuMe Feb 05, 2011
Still no popup blocker, very annoying. show Review details
Good but needs lots of improvement 3 stars by AllReviewer Sep 15, 2010 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Good price for value. Simple interface. However this automatic updating is very annoying. The latest update screwed up my display settings. As a power user I want to use the software once it is running the way I need. Why should I waste time in correcting mistakes of others? Furthermore, where is Google Chrome installed? How shall I find the previous versions? The Giant company should do a better job. show Review details
No, no, no... 2 stars by wildgoosespeeder Jul 14, 2010 (Read all my 52 reviews)
Where to begin... The first thing about this program is its installation. The first time installing this it installed it on my account in the "Documents and Settings" folder (Windows XP) or "Users" folder (Windows Vista/7). I had to go Google for an installer (ironic) that would place it in the "Program Files" folder where it should be. Next it puts all these Google Update things in the Services, Startup, and Tasks ("C:Windows asks"). Just delete or disable them. Thank you CCleaner! I will update when I feel like it, not when Google feels like it. When I finally open Google Chrome the one thing that all other browsers have is a menu bar and Google Chrome doesn't have one. Google in general tries to do everything but does almost everything poorly. The only really good thing they do is being a search engine. Google Chrome is overhyped and needs way more work in my opinion for me to recommend this to others. show Review details
For all it's faults.. 4 stars by JamJar Apr 20, 2010 (Read all my 27 reviews)
I really like Google Chrome. It isn't the best on features but I like that it's clean and simple. My wife thinks it's a load of rubbish but I continue to go back to it more than any other browser I have. One thing I really like about it, is that it has favourite sites at the top which is so easy to see. It sometimes doesn't pick emails up on web based email clients like it should but apart from that it's fine and looks class too. Someone wrote a review saying that he/she didn't like the colour, well it's very easy to change it to an array of themes. show Review details
A fast and reliable browser. 4 stars by jtania73 Apr 05, 2010 (Read all my 8 reviews)
The main advantages of Chrome are its speed on page rendering and its safeness. Generally I think it can be considered safer than IE and Firefox, also because it is still a less diffused browser. Other than that, another good thing is that you can find it also in a portable version, very very useful! Finally, it is completely free. The only one thing I don't like is the color of the program's window (a sort of electric blu) I really would like to change it into a better color. show Review details
Good, and getting better 4 stars by Wastrel Jan 26, 2010 (Read all my 17 reviews)
It's still new and has a ways to go. Version 4 is now "stable" and brings a lot of useful enhancements (extensions support!). It's a particularly good browser for accessing the Google apps sites. I'm not going to stop using Firefox for most everything (yet--I'm not sure I like some of Mozilla's recent decisions about what to integrate into the base Firefox code [Personas for instance]), but Chrome is definitely worth using, and getting better with every new release. show Review details
It's ok 2 stars by EricPost Aug 07, 2009 (Read all my 10 reviews)
You cannot install it anywhere but on your "C-Drive" where Chrome chooses. This is a huge issue on small drives and is just an attempt by Google to get around system admins who block what workers can put on their computer. This way more people can use Google's Chrome. Don't waste your time, till Google fixes this and gives YOU the ability to install it anywhere you want show Review details
Still too basic 2 stars by madmik Jul 16, 2009 (Read all my 32 reviews)
Has great security features and is fast to load and browse,but really is too basic for extended use. Makes sense if intended for use with the projected Google OS as a hybrid system. show Review details
Good and simple 5 stars by TerryP Nov 30, 2008 (Read all my 87 reviews)
This is a very fast browser with an exceptionally clean interface. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles, but if you need a clean, fast, and simple web browser, then this should fit the bill. show Review details
Lean and mean 5 stars by Scabies Oct 21, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Ok it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of IE or Firefox half of which I never use, but it's lightning fast which is what I want from a browser show Review details
Tried it buts needs improvement 3 stars by zzmel7 Sep 20, 2008
The browser is unique in itself. However, it does lack some features such as a menu bar. I do like the idea of the web thumbprints and once you access a web site, it is shown on the browser. How do you you remove the thumbprints if you no longer require it? That I could not find. I'm certain that there well be improvements but I will just have to wait and see. show Review details
What the ? 2 stars by gimpguy Sep 09, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
Well, just used this browser for a few days and i'm not impressed. I will say it's very fast loading, etc... but the interface is like a PRE-ALPHA IE7. Or a half working Firefox. I am also having major Java issues with it which I've not had with any browser before. Felt like I was back in Ubuntu trying to load Java. If this was from some unknown startup source, I would understand but this is Google for Pete's sake, MS's rival! Get it together Google.... Yuck on the browser.... If they can do some work on it, it could very well be a top notch browser, easily but until then... give the team some coffee, I think they need it. show Review details
Easy to use but lacks features 3 stars by ianmacm Sep 04, 2008 (Read all my 174 reviews)
After all the hype, how does Google Chrome measure up? It is easy to use and loads pages quickly. In many ways it looks and feels like Internet Explorer 7, but is leaner on resources than its Microsoft counterpart. People who are used to the wide range of features and add-ons that are available for Firefox and Opera are likely to be disappointed, but the current version of Chrome is a beta and things may change. Google has kept it simple for the time being, and some people may like this approach. show Review details
Not in the running yet 2 stars by pcs800 Sep 04, 2008 (Read all my 222 reviews)
I would expect a company like Google to really put some work into anything they release. This browser is basic and function limited. Definitely a far cry from my default (avant). No mouse gestures, clutsy tab open/close, missing menu items, no favs import, no online storage. The only thing this browser does have is that it starts very quickly and has a very clean interface. show Review details
Very nice 4 stars by hrwasp Sep 03, 2008 (Read all my 48 reviews)
Not bad for a brand new browser. Though I like the recently view sites when you first open it, but having a porn site pop up on that page is not a good thing. Maybe there should be a way to have feature to stop displaying various pages (adult content). Overall, not a bad little browser and I have to give a little while longer to see when the new beta comes out. MS was not built in a day! show Review details
Has a long way to go 2 stars by ldjennin Sep 03, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Google Chrome web browser has a long way to go to compete on the desktop along with the other well established browsers. Hopefully, this will push the other browsers to improve web application performance which is what I believe Google is really after. show Review details
Why Google, why? 3 stars by master Sep 03, 2008
Did you really need to make a browser? FF is the champion in that category (although the next FF version needs an incognito mode). Do other cool stuff like Google Earth. Leave the browser domain alone. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring