Secunia PSI

Secunia PSI User Reviews



5 stars70% 7
4 stars20% 2
3 stars10% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 10 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 10 user reviews
Post your own review

Quite clever, I'd say 5 stars by Henry8 Dec 30, 2011 (Read all my 37 reviews)
The problem with various update programs I have used has been that they either alarm for nothing, or leave crying "Wolf!" when it would be needed. Or, then you have to go deep water fishing for those updates... The updates aren't easily found, making one wonder "Why don't I go to the pages of manufacturers and makers myself?" I was highly skeptic when I tried Secunia PSI, but it certainly surprised me, and did it in a good, good way. 1. No false alarms, really. 2. The interface is extremely clear, nothing unnecessary, nothing needed is left out - at least for a layman. 3. Updates were found immediately, and it even gave me Microsoft security updates in .NET Framework, ones MS never offered. 3. Whilst looking for updates, the program followed all the way and, like an Adobe update turned finally out to be unnecessary, it knew it before I did. It seemed to pick up the info from Adobe page faster than I could "Google Chrome will automatically update this..." So the urge disappeared from the list before I could say "Coffee". If I ever recommended something, this may be the BINGO! show Review details
Updated with issues 4 stars by gimpguy Apr 17, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I just used Secunia on my Windows 7 X64, and I had posted a while back on this app and it has gotten better even since then. It found all old software, ran through, showed me what needed updating. For most of my programs I use all the time, updating is not an issue but many I don't even think to do so this comes in very handy. I did have an issue with Secunia running, would not display programs or anything. After digging into the system and finding a registry fix, it was due to the ActiveX blocking it, I assume through some Flash update. Either way, I posted the fix I found on technet on Secunia forums for good measure. So if you can't get Secunia running, it may be this same issue. Now that it is running, it's working very fast, stable and more accurate than ever. I will still always suggest manually looking over anything before a software decides it should be updated or not. Secunia does a very good job though. show Review details
Ver 2.0 is a serious upgrade 5 stars by netcert Dec 31, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This WAS an excellent tool for advanced users to keep vulnerability patching for the OS and any installed software on a computer, and is free for personal use. NOW, it is fairly well automated to boot, which makes it much easier for "regular" users to use. Memory issues seem to be non-existent unless you are using a machine with less than 64 MB of RAM. show Review details
Stay up to date on software 5 stars by calvin455 Apr 15, 2010 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I Have used P.S.I For awhile. Easy to use.and as soon as a update is out you know !and it offers a quick download link. I now have zero outdated software! Great Free Tool ! show Review details
Looks awesome - keeps crashing 5 stars by pcs800 May 28, 2008 (Read all my 222 reviews)
I agree with the above (below?) post, it does use a lot of ram when running, but i would not leave it running constantly anyway, I would like to use it every so often. Unfortunately, on my particular computer, it keeps crashing during the initial scan. show Review details
Good program but uses too much RAM. 4 stars by Tweetson2 May 28, 2008 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Uses a lot of memory. Good program for checking for updates and security patches. If your not sure of the accuracy of the scan results, check where you downloaded or bought the software before updating. show Review details
Use it with caution! 3 stars by KEAndersson May 03, 2008 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Updating show Review details
Personal safety 5 stars by noHarm Mar 15, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is an amazing program.I thought my computer programs were up to date .The program found 2 items which should be updated! Easy to use. Easy to configure. Saves a lot of time. Nothing to complain? Maybe the fact that it (still)does not recognize all your computer programs. Give it a try and you will be in love... show Review details
Nothing too say except works to the tee 5 stars by freeclick Mar 13, 2008 (Read all my 32 reviews)
Thanks for this great piece of software. Checked 68 apps and found three that needed updating and set up the updates so all I had to do was click my way out of there. Updates installed done deal. show Review details
Excellent software. 5 stars by jlhns40 Mar 12, 2008 (Read all my 10 reviews)
This is a must have program to help keep all your software up to date and prevent possible security vulnerabilities. Check it out! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility