ClamWin User Reviews

5 stars12% 1
4 stars37% 3
3 stars25% 2
2 stars0% 0
1 star25% 2
Based on 8 reviews
Avg. user rating: 3 Based on 8 user reviews
Post your own review

Perfect usb anti virus!!! 4 stars by Smeagal1965 Oct 08, 2013 (Read all my 13 reviews)
Pros: Very easy and quick install. Easily set-up and configured. Works right out of the box for most people. Works on everything from Windows 98 up to Windows 7 (x32 and x64 editions). I haven't tried it with Windows 8 yet. Completely freeware so there are no ads, nag screens or pop-ups asking you to upgrade to a pro edition. Clam Sentinel gives the much loved anti virus ClamWin real time protection! It's effective and it's free. Cons: The user interface is extremely utilitarian and somewhat ugly. Summary: I already have real time protection on my computer but wanted something dedicated to USB storage devices. I tried all of the anti virus software made for this purpose but none of them did the job for me. Then I got an epiphany! lol. I simply installed ClamWin and set it to update it's virus database once a day. Then I installed Clam Sentinel and under advanced settings I excluded my hard drives from being scanned. Now it just sits quietly waiting for me to plug a storage device into an USB port. When I do, it automatically recognizes it and ask if I want to scan the drive for viruses. Regardless if I choose to scan or not, it monitors and protects those devices (flash drives, external HD's, etc...) in real time until I unplug them. With this method it never uses resources it doesn't need or conflicts with other security software. Perfect USB anti virus! show Review details
Overrated - painfully slow 1 stars by dvdshonna96 Jul 02, 2013 (Read all my 11 reviews)
No quick scan And the full scan takes many hours. Scanning speed isn't everything, but there is no real-time protection and I doubt many users will make much use of a program that takes so long to do a scan. I can reload my operating system and virtually eliminate any chance of having any viruses on my computer ..And do it in less time than it would take to do a scan with Clamwin. I would recommend any of the more popular free anti-virus programs over Clamwin. (Including the programs with no real-time protection). You're more likely to actually use them if they have faster scans. show Review details
Ok, I guess 3 stars by XboxDaddy Apr 19, 2012 (Read all my 7 reviews)
It's OK, I guess. With so many free anti-virus apps today, not sure why one would resort this one, unless the Open Source aspect is a compelling reason for you. For me it's not. show Review details
Like a car with no engine 1 stars by desertjon Apr 09, 2012 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I installed ClamWin as a second opinion av but had to uninstall it after the first scan. It scanned over 200,000 files and said "Can't Read" and on all of my aol files, it said "Permission Denied". All the major av's scan everything with no problem. I really don't see why ClamWin is even offered to the public. It's totally useless show Review details
A good free and open source antivirus 4 stars by qwxy00 Apr 07, 2012
ClamWin is a free and Open Source Antivirus. It is currently under development and its latest version is 0.97.4. It is based on ClamAV engine. It is being used by over 600.000 users on a daily basis according to the official website. It does not include a real-time scanner, but there is an additional program called Clam Sentinel which uses ClamWin's virus definitions and which enables real-time scanning and can notify you about any changes made to your computer including system registry modifications, new files discovered, modified files, etc. I don't really like its interface too much. It just seems too minimalistic to me, because I like many advanced options to be available to the end user. Aside from that, it is not too bad and it is very simple for an average PC user. Although I am disappointed for not having a real-time scanning included, it does its job pretty well. It is not a resource hog and it can run pretty fast on average Pentium III. One of its major downsides is that it is possible to delete its virus definitions in a few very simple steps. Without its virus definitions, ClamWin is pretty much useless and you have to download them trough the Internet. It is very easy to use and its interface is very simple. It is a free Antivirus solution and completely Open Source and that is one of the things that I like. Overall this is a good Antivirus. It is worth to try it. I would like to see that this Antivirus becomes more advanced in the future. show Review details
A good alternative 4 stars by gimpguy Sep 28, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
ClamWin is alright. I don't mind the manual scanning and such but the auto can come in handy. The Outlook integration is a plus. Mainly, I keep this around for quick fixes for scanning, portability and size. It's excellent in those regards. Sort of an emergency kit if you will. show Review details
Resident scanner not included. 5 stars by Calavera Sep 27, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This does not have a resident scanner and a knowledgeable user should know what file is suspect and what file is not. Able to adjust scanner priority level in preferences to normal or low when scanning. Schedule, scan individual files, folders, drives. Also scans programs loaded into memory. Filter scanning of files based on extension, include or exclude. CPU cycles are null since it has no resident scanner. About 19mb memory footprint in tray. Updated database daily. Try it. show Review details
Fine program 3 stars by BCREDDING Nov 18, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Works well as a second helper. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


CintaNotes take and manage notes

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders