Photoscape User Reviews

5 stars83% 15
4 stars5% 1
3 stars11% 2
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 18 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 18 user reviews
Post your own review

Best photo program I have ever used 5 stars by mwdarcy Nov 20, 2014 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I have used a lot of free photo programs and this one beats them all. Their are some viewer features that it may lack so I still use other photo viewer programs but for editing it is great. I can not say enough about this program. Even it's printing features are exceptional. I have never owned Adobe's Photoshop for I will not pay that much for a photo program. The only feature Adobe's Photoshop may have, as I understand it, is connected with Raw format but I never shoot in Raw for it is a waste of time. JPG is so good now that it wins the format competition, in my view. To show you how impressed I am with this program I have even donated money to them and that for me says a great deal for I have been big with "free" for a long time. show Review details
Excellent results 5 stars by gwestbound Dec 22, 2013 (Read all my 19 reviews)
Though the Photoscape interface is unconventional, the learning curve is acceptable and the results are excellent. show Review details
Has a lot of nice features, but... 3 stars by brothergabriel Oct 09, 2012 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Wanting an alternative to Photoshop (something smaller and faster, with more convenient tools), I tried Photoscape. Although it has a lot of nice features, I won't stick with it. The interface is the problem. It is not so intuitive, IMHO, and lacks many common interface features. For example, it has no File Menu bar! I hate that. Second, there are very few user-manageable settings (such as startup directory for the viewer, default save path, etc.). If you open a picture in the editor, there isn't any way to "close" it. There is no way to find the open file in the viewer window. You get no context menu when you right-click on the picture in the editor. However, I will say I was surprised at how fast the viewer displays thumbnails of a directory. This is nice. It is also nice to have all those tools handy in one package. I wish XnView had the editor! All in all, I find the interface clumsy and lacking. I probably won't use this program. show Review details
One of the greats 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 19, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
As I was looking for some new things in Snapfiles, I ran across Photoscape and cannot believe I didn't rate this, been using it so long I simply forgot? At least that's my excuse. After all this time, I still can't say enough about it and will try to sum up what this is... Advanced, harder to use graphics editor? no. Very simple, basic filter and image editor and handler? no. What it is... An all around excellent application that handles screenshots, photo albums, has numerous cool filters for effects, image enhancement, batch edit, viewer, the list goes on and on. For all the things this boasts, it's not hard to use whatsoever and takes little time to get used to. Quite honestly, I could fill two pages trying to say what this does. Sure, you may still have some favorites, like I use PicPick for capture and not Photoscape's capture tool but it's there if you need it. I do use the color picker quite often. I began using another manager with watermarking capability but it doesn't hurt to have more than one option with most softwares. ( I have numerous) but most of them come and go eventually and I move on to something else if no longer handy. Either way, Photoscape will never leave my desktop, I use it all the time It's one of those softwares that after a while, feels like it's simply part of the operating system and not a separate entity. show Review details
Great bit of software! 5 stars by JamJar Mar 28, 2010 (Read all my 27 reviews)
I've been using Photoscape for about 6 months and it's a brilliant bit of kit. Not only do I feel that it's a great image editor but I do web graphics and it fills that need to. An all round graphics program. It has great features like reflection and perspective tools. I've used many image editors but most don't have these benefits. show Review details
Simple, intuitive, no-guessing - a dream 5 stars by JURYCOM Apr 17, 2009 (Read all my 33 reviews)
This software is a dream to operate; flawless. Solves 99% of the typical web design image problems. show Review details
Missing a few features 3 stars by Compulink Apr 04, 2009 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Looks good however it is missing a few features. It does not have the ability to fill an area. Nor does it have the ability to create Transparent gifs. show Review details
Must have software 5 stars by bigsmile Nov 08, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Although I use Paint Shop Pro X2, I find that Photoscape does a few of the task better (such as backlight). And some of the task are easier to use such as resizing and cropping. The one thing that would make this software outstanding is a Leveling or Straightening Tool. I highly recommend Photoscape to all my friends. As a FREE software, I will give Photoscape a 5 star rating. show Review details
Good graphics toolbox item 4 stars by thefreewaredream Jun 15, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Photoscape is a very handy addition to your graphics 'toolkit'. Easy to use, very user friendly. show Review details
One of the two best freebies 5 stars by gusimio Apr 21, 2008 (Read all my 31 reviews)
Photoscape and Photofiltre are in a virtual tie for best free photo editors; however, each program does offer slightly different options in the area of "effects", so I have installed both and "use one or the other" as needed. You really can't beat this combination so get both! show Review details
Wow, almost there 5 stars by miskairal Jan 22, 2008 (Read all my 29 reviews)
I'm still waiting for the perfect program that will do all I want it to but this is the closest yet. There are so many things you can do with it. I found it after searching for a freebie that would allow me to quickly and easily add a speech balloon to a pic. This also does screenshots (MWSnap allows you to add a cursor though), framing, combining of several pics into one, create boxes from your pics, make your photos look very old, print thumbnails or multiple pics on a page amongst all the standard things that most graphics programs do. I really like the way you get the explorer type window for quick navigation The only cons I have found so far.... Can't add a cursor to a screenshot Can't choose the level for some of the filters show Review details
Amazing! 5 stars by pteh88 Jan 03, 2008
Highly recommended. Great features and superb for quick fixes. It makes photo editing FUN. I hope it continues to be developed. It is an impressive piece of software, so much so that I just had to register as a reviewer to convey my appreciation to the developers for providing such a great tool. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by karisata Jan 02, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
A great program...and it's free! It's easy to use, and has great, fun features. Kudos to the creators of this product... show Review details
Highly recommended 5 stars by luc0815 Nov 19, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This is a very amazing tool for all the image editing power it packs into an easy to use user interface. Not for super precise editing but perfect for all quick fixes. Especially useful are the clever photo -montage options. However, these are the first authors that, after receiving a donation from me, never replied with an acknowledging email. show Review details
One of the best ever used! 5 stars by CrescentScapes Oct 24, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Before downloading this software based on the reviews it sounded pretty good, however once I tried it out for a while it has become my favorite free photo software for image editing. It takes a few minutes to figure out how to use the program, but once you figure it out you're free sailing. I highly recommend this program to beginners and advanced users alike. show Review details
A delightful program 5 stars by Sam_the_Man Jun 29, 2007 (Read all my 54 reviews)
This well thought out tool is a delight to use. Very intuitive with a multitude of extra features assembled into one program. This is a definite "keeper". The ability to easily edit and be creative with photos and animations make this program a real joy to use. I'm grateful that the author(s) released this as freeware. It could have easily been justifiably sold at a nice price. Highly recommended. show Review details
A new gem! 5 stars by zeeLaz Jun 28, 2007 (Read all my 20 reviews)
It is definitely a new player in the growing area of image editors. It's freshly different from others. Very neat printing combinations feature. Other features I didn't explore yet, but looks very very promising. show Review details
Must have 5 stars by pcs800 Jun 28, 2007 (Read all my 222 reviews)
I am by no means a graphic artist, but I do all the artwork for my web sites, cd covers, etc. I have always used a combination of a few programs to accomplish what I needed. There is a VERY old app called iPphoto plus that I have kept around since the windows 95 days because it has a couple simple functions that are much harder to do in todays higher end apps. But this Photoscape fills that gap. So many useful functions and so easy to use. this a must have for those of us out here who do not want to pay for expensive editing software, but can get what we need done with combinations of apps like this one. Excellent graphics app here, donwload and keep this one. One thing is ironic though, it is a graphics editor (among other things) yet the buttons are large, gray, square and cumbersome...looks like a win98 app. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


CintaNotes take and manage notes

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility