MyDefrag

MyDefrag User Reviews



5 stars43% 7
4 stars37% 6
3 stars6% 1
2 stars6% 1
1 star6% 1
Based on 16 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 16 user reviews
Post your own review

Good for 32bit, not for 64bit 3 stars by realbull2009250 Jul 07, 2015 (Read all my 60 reviews)
This is my 2nd review after using it for Win7 64bit. I've used this for 32bit OS and it worked very well. It utilizes the Windows API for moving files while defragmenting which is why it is slower than other defragmenters. The options(scripts) are easy to use. You can defrag, optimize and weekly to monthly defrags. To get more options you will have to use the command-line version or create scripts for it. Recently I used MyDefrag 64bit version on 64bit OS and noticed that my restore points were severely defragmented, up to 16,000+ fragments! Also many other files where not defragmented, but even more defragmented. In the end I had less HD space. I checked my restore points and they where all gone except for the last one. MyDefrag and some other defragmenters used on 64bit will break up restore point files causing them to be not deleted, but unrecognized and unusable on Windows. Also MyDefrag ceased development, so there will be no fix for this issue. MyDefrag is great on 32bit systems. It runs well, easy to use and safe to use. But, because of the issue it has on 64bit OS I cannot recommend it for 64bit systems. For 64bit systems it is best to use another defragmenter that will actively release updates to resolve bugs and will not destroy restore points. show Review details
The best just got better 4 stars by thosthos Oct 21, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I've used the most popular commercial and freeware defragmenters over the years and kept coming back to JKDefrag, because it was safe, effective, and free. MyDefrag is better; it is faster, mainly because of improved optimization based on 5 zones rather than 3. The scripting gives any user the level of sophistication they need. I only use the supplied weekly and monthly scripts. They make my disk very fast. There are a few issues with this software, but bugs (not critical) are being fixed at a furious pace. I am using 4.2.3 and consider it excellent and stable. show Review details
Same problem ! 1 stars by Shodan816 Aug 27, 2008 (Read all my 41 reviews)
I reviewed this product over 9 months ago and gave it a poor rating because it totally wiped out all of my Vista restore points. Now here we are 9 months later and V3.35 does exactly the same thing ! Great... If you are a Vista user, you have been warned! show Review details
Seems to work well. 4 stars by DARRENTAGGART Jan 12, 2008 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This software seems to do a good job quickly. Without needless bells and whistles. show Review details
Fit and that it 5 stars by hotdoge3 Jan 11, 2008 (Read all my 7 reviews)
As I say fit it in C:Programs and it will do it for you wen screen saver come on dose my 2drives in 10 minutes show Review details
Proven to produce to largest benefit. 5 stars by Wolfmight Dec 21, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Works wonderful. Extremely simple interface, a child could use it. Does a thorough job of defragmention along with free space consolidation and then a fast optimization process. Popular blog "Insights and Rants" reports this program to produce the most performance benefit than most of the defragmentation programs out there right now. It's also much better than Diskeeper, and I can second that notion from my own hard drive benchmark tests. JkDefrag is a must. Make sure you also use the Screensaver mode, that's a very nice feature. Once it's finished, it switches back to any screensaver you'd like to have run again. All of this and it's still free. show Review details
Works well on Vista 4 stars by Peter84 Dec 03, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I use jkDefrag with a GUI on my VISTA PC and I have not experienced any problems. It's fast, efficient and free. show Review details
Multiple w2k servers stopt responding 2 stars by GhostRico Oct 24, 2007
We tried 3 months ago this defrag software on several Windows 2000 servers. It seems to running fine until the one bij one the servers went unreachable (not all in the same week). Not even on the console it was possible to login, the server was doing something... Only solution: a power cycle. Because of the time we scheduled defrag we discovered the cause and removed the task. It seems that it is causing these problems when there is a problem on the file system. In our case NTFS, witch can be detected with chkdsk. Maybe we will try it again with a newer version, but for now this tool is causing more problems than it solves. show Review details
Thorough deframentation tool 5 stars by NickElliott Oct 16, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
As has been mentioned by others JkDefrag comes with a range of options you only find on some of the best commercial defrag tools. What's more it does an excellent job, noticeably better than others I have used. It can also defragment disks which are VERY full, a neat trick, and has a screensaver option which is a really good idea. However unless you like getting your hands dirty I'd recommend using this with one of the excellent 3rd party GUIs which are available. Do read the instructions and visit the forum. Can't praise this one enough. show Review details
Impresssive 5 stars by ArturN Sep 18, 2007 (Read all my 19 reviews)
I am impressed about this defragmenter. It has functions and defrag methods we can only find in much expensive software - I own one of those - and it does the job really well. Besides we can also download and use one of the various GUI made for this little gem. Excellent show Review details
It does the job that others won't do 4 stars by gusimio Sep 06, 2007 (Read all my 31 reviews)
This little gem moves all of your programs to the front of the disk (which the XP default defrag program can't/won't do) for faster access and it also uses an optimization strategy when doing so. It also offers many command line parameters but I've found it works great just by clicking the executable and letting it run. Also, please read the associated documentation for a better understanding of the total process... and finally, it doesn't have to be installed to work. Highly recommended! show Review details
Great! 5 stars by darkocean Sep 05, 2007 (Read all my 34 reviews)
Wow is this ever easy to use! You just download it, extract click the first exe file and BOOM it defrags. :D 2 thumbs up! I got this program because A techie put in Defrag pro for me, but I had to take it out sucked up to much ram. *sigh* show Review details
Defrag that defrags 5 stars by g246020 Jun 26, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Minimalist interface defragmenter that does what it's supposed to (only shows image of disk being processed). Easy to include into Windows scheduler. Configurable via command line (see included help file). Excellent! show Review details
Fast 4 stars by alnjk01 Jun 25, 2007 (Read all my 124 reviews)
I started using this on my Vista machine after I read an independent test report that pitted this against most of the other free defrag applications but also the major shareware ones. To the testers surprise this application proved to be better than most of all the other applications! Aside from this the application is not very pretty but needs no installation,works very well on vista and xp and is extremely fast. show Review details
Quality defragmentation for everyone! 5 stars by skidoodad Jun 25, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Read the documentation. You'll learn a lot about defragmentation in a short period of time. It's apparent that the author takes the subject seriously but wants to make the process easy and (relatively) fast as opposed to using the rubbish shipped with Windows. Lots of options for command-line usage too! show Review details
There are front-ends too 4 stars by Holmes Jun 23, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
This is a very powerful defragmenter and I use it regularly about a year. Author of this utility stick with the command line interface but users should know that on the author's site are links to several excellent 3rd party GUIs for JkDefrag. With a GUI almost all advanced settings can be used with ease. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring