icon

Orbit Downloader user reviews

5 stars50% 6
4 stars41% 5
3 stars0% 0
2 stars8% 1
1 star0% 0
Based on 12 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 12 user reviews Post your own review

Not what it used to be 4 stars by yassertariq Jan 09, 2011 (Read all my 87 reviews)
After using it as my default download manager for 3 years, I'm forced to say that it is not what it used to be. So find something else if you intend to download files greater than 400 MB. showShow review details
Good download manager 4 stars by Chet07 Oct 07, 2010 (Read all my 7 reviews)
This tool works well. I have turned off the update feature, so the product will remain stable. The only feature I do not like is the Grab-IT feature. However other people may find it useful for getting You-tube videos. It integrates well with IE and other browsers and saves time when downloading files. I would recommend the tool. showShow review details
Too many issues 2 stars by TerryP Sep 10, 2010 (Read all my 80 reviews)
I did recommended this in the past, but no longer. Like other software, installation requires extra steps to opt-out of web browser tool bars and such, which is aggravating enough. Also this software is updated frequently, but recently these updates have added features that didn't necessarily enhance usability. However, what really changed my mind is the software updater feature that runs in the background, even when turned off in options, and tended to freeze the computer for extended periods of time while it scanned the hard drive and accessed the Web to find updates for installed software. While doing this, the PC became almost unusable. I'm now evaluating freeware alternatives that don't keep adding unneeded features that cause problems, have a more basic installation, and are updated less frequently. showShow review details
Why pay if you can get the best for free! 5 stars by pepoluan Nov 28, 2008 (Read all my 23 reviews)
Orbit is wonderful, it is right up there as the fastest downloader alongside IDM, which is not free. I have been using DTA previously, but hate keeping Firefox open. Then I used FDM, but it's resource hungry + slow. Then I stumbled upon Orbit Downloader, and the rest, as they say, is history. Only one quibble: The latest version I have (2.7.8) can't easily re-order the download list; I must use a tiring click+rightclick+select maneuver every time. If they can fix this, then this would be the ideal download manager. showShow review details
Outstanding downloader! 5 stars by Griffin Feb 29, 2008 (Read all my 11 reviews)
It has (most of) the features and functions I wanted, runs smoothly and nice integration with IE, and SlimBrowser. Best downloader I have found and only one I have kept for the IE platform. It is a bit rude in that it tries to put itself in the startup menu on every run (regardless of options setting), as far as I can tell. Not terrible, but not necessary either (I use the right click menu in IE/SlimBrowser to invoke, so I don't need a tray icon. showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by jackofhack Jan 16, 2008 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This program dose what it says, and works very well... I'm very pleased with this one it's a keeper. Could not be easier too use. Thank you to the creator. showShow review details
Best app for me 4 stars by JaJoa69 Jan 10, 2008 (Read all my 16 reviews)
I've been using/trying it for a couple of weeks now,because FDM, which I've been using for over a year.too often, tells me "Issuer does not support Resume of downloads" after I might have downloaded a good portion of an application. They just about never tell you in advance,that this might be so! I'm on Dialup, and this got to be very frustrating. Orbit,on the other hand has not done this,in 3 of the 4 apps I tried downloading with FDM, it worked flawlessly. So far, I'm very happy with Orbit. Recommended. showShow review details
Lacks one critical feature 4 stars by megabob6666 Jan 03, 2008 (Read all my 19 reviews)
It's fast, and the interface is user friendly, but if I want a downloaded file to be renamed, I want to rename it myself rather than letting the app choose the name it wants. This would download manager be perfect if it would allow you to choose what you want to rename a file to. Is anybody listening? If you don't mind the extra hassle and extra steps required to rename the file after it is downloaded, then this is the download manager for you; it's better than the rest. But if you want more control over where the file is downloaded to and what name you want to give it should a file of the same name exist in the download location, then it's not. I have used Fresh Download for years because it offers this option whereas most other download managers do not. showShow review details
The best video downloader for all sites 5 stars by Chazzz Nov 10, 2007 (Read all my 9 reviews)
None of this 'This site not supported' nonsense with Orbit. Does a great job of downloading all flash and swf and any kind of media on a web page. THANKS! Nothing more frustrating than a half-a-s program that doesn't delver. Orbit delivers showShow review details
Downloads faster 5 stars by leucippus Aug 03, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I don't know how it does it, but my wireless downloads are definitely faster {alot}. If your using wireless, it's definitely worth a try. showShow review details
Best for me 5 stars by Birdie1927 Jul 23, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Easy to use.Downloads fast. Scans for viruses. Easy to find and open downloaded files. showShow review details
Small and powerful 4 stars by xbeta_cn Jun 21, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
It's quite great. so small, can do a lot. Supports firefox. showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download Orbit Downloader

Check out these featured downloads...

VisualCron

VisualCron advanced task scheduling engine

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

PicPick

PicPick capture and edit screen captures

TeamViewer

TeamViewer remote control and desktop sharing

ShareX

ShareX screen capture tool with image sharing