PDF-XChange Viewer

PDF-XChange Viewer User Reviews



5 stars86% 40
4 stars10% 5
3 stars0% 0
2 stars0% 0
1 star2% 1
Based on 46 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 46 user reviews
Post your own review

8 years later, still an excellent pdf tool 5 stars by bawldiggle Aug 01, 2016 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Free "Editor" (out of the same stables as "Viewer") is a little too aggressive with watermarks when re-accessing comments. "Viewer" is more forgiving, as long as you don't "flatten" (integrate) the comments/shapes into the original pdf document. Watermarks are not subtle visually. Accidental access can be minimized with a setting in "Preferences" Edit -> Preferences -> Categories: Commenting - enable two check boxes to " block mouse access to comments unless SHIFT key is used" Shortcut keys for tools can be customized via ... Customize Toolbars (RClick in empty toolbars area)-> Commands (tab) ... select a command -> Properties (button)... My shortcut for "Hand Tool" is Escape show Review details
The awesome pdf viewer! 5 stars by olivi78305 May 20, 2016 (Read all my 2 reviews)
PDF-XChange Viewer and it's new version - Editor - are the very helpful softwares in my work. The are excellent alternatives to Adobe. Now I have Editor on my computer and I can say - I love it. show Review details
Just bad when it comes to printing 1 stars by Hollinski Jul 08, 2015 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It just doesnt print all the things of a PDF you see on the screen. Other PDF-Apps doesnt have this problem, it seems like a big bug to me. You can change printing options like "Print Document and Markups" or "Print Notes and Popups" but there are still some things missing after printing the document on paper which is absolutely unacceptable. show Review details
Free OCR! 5 stars by kathy025 Feb 18, 2015 (Read all my 17 reviews)
While other PDF software require payment for OCR as it is considered a "pro" feature, PDF-XChange viewer offers OCR for the affordable price of FREE! Now, scanned non-retail eBooks can be searched with ease. Beats Adobe's bloatware and Foxit Reader. show Review details
Yesssss 5 stars by bassaniobroke Feb 07, 2015 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I recommend this because it allows to annotate and comment on the pdf file in various ways,allows to insert text on file as well. The opening speed is also fine. No other problems encountered such as infiltrating the computer with viruses worms etc. Thanks to company for keeping it free. show Review details
At long last, a top-shelf pdf viewer 5 stars by Stepan238 May 04, 2014 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Spent an entire year hours every night on the Web trying to find a good, free pdf viewer, but could not find one; there are not many around, and what there was, was not impressive at all. Bad quality, full of bugs and catches. Used to hang around CNET a lot. Until discovering Snapfiles and "PDF-XChange Viewer. When you install this Program you have everything you could possibly need in a pdf Reader, it is extremely sophisticated but is very user-friendly so that novices can straight away read their pdf files on it easily. With PDF XChange Viewer you have got the "King" of all PDF Readers. Rating 105 (for sheer excellence, and for also the Makers, with such incredible generosity, making their awesome Program freely available to everyone out here in Computerdom). show Review details
Very good OCR 5 stars by R2-D2_ Feb 20, 2014 (Read all my 14 reviews)
It does offer a wide range of languagues for OCR, takes some time converting but the result is very good. Some features such as crop-pdf pages are PRO version only, however you can run and see how it looks. show Review details
Fantastic program 5 stars by mymonaro2003370 Sep 07, 2012 (Read all my 7 reviews)
A fantastic program. I have been using it for some time now. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by kazseki53 Aug 29, 2012
Best of all others! Fast and the text render is very good. Do not waste your time in other PDF viewers. The OCR function and the customization options is nice too. show Review details
Jaw dropping, no need to look anywhere else 5 stars by NewKreation Apr 05, 2012
I have been content with using Foxit Reader for years. However, when I came across this software, I found it does everything Foxit does and is much easier to use. What's more, it is portableusb drive friendly, has OCR, and a hyperlink tool! I won't be able to sleep tonight as it has got me thinking of all kinds of PDF projects. I know I will end up buying the upgrade as it is much more affordable than even Foxit's upgrade. show Review details
Wonderful free OCR 5 stars by valeryp31802 Jan 13, 2012
The latest version of PDF-Xchange viewer has an unbelievably good OCR function for Free! Now I can check and get text from scanned PDF file and have PDFs fully searchable. show Review details
Better than Adobe and Foxit 5 stars by dswebertec283 Dec 06, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I stopped using adobe years ago and started using Foxit. Lately; Foxit has become difficult for me to edit forms, causing me to waste hours of time trying to get it to work. I gave PDF-xchange a try, and am really satisfied with it's performance. I will be sticking with it. Highly recommended. show Review details
Nice PDF viewer 5 stars by MouseChaser Oct 27, 2011 (Read all my 27 reviews)
This is a really nice viewer for PDF files. Much nicer than Foxit Reader and Adobe Reader. Will recommend this to friends. show Review details
Whats not to like? 5 stars by spelingchampeon Aug 23, 2011 (Read all my 6 reviews)
This is THE best PDF program I have come across. It takes just a few looks around to figure out what you want to do. After that, the program practically runs itself. Seriously, this is better than Foxit, and we all know Adobe Reader sucks. Highly recommended! show Review details
Very helpful tool 5 stars by jean_writer May 16, 2011
I could not find any similar tool that has such nice PDF features ... The Free version just did what i need to do ... Really good job. show Review details
Great Adobe replacement 5 stars by SeSorrow Apr 30, 2011 (Read all my 29 reviews)
As I often work on computers that are not quite as modern and powerful as some of the software we need to use, I am always looking for a lighter alternative. For PDF viewing, PDFX is a must. Starts faster, smoother operation, allows some minor editing, and hosts a few special tools. Works great with older computers with less RAM or older video chipsets. show Review details
Ok, impressive 5 stars by gimpguy Apr 13, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I started up Adobe and PDFXCV, both opened quickly. Adobe would skip when trying to quickly scroll through pages as it always has. PDFXCV did not, it was smooth, quick scrolling, no skipping or jerky movement. I didn't like the old look of PDFXCV, found out I could change it. I was more comfortable with the darker background as Adobe has, well, I now have that too. I liked the thumbnail pane in Adobe, well, I changed that to fit as well. I liked the fact you could have active PDF links in Adobe, so does PDFXCV. I could print to PDF with Nova PDF from a browser and it would open up with Adobe, PDFXCV did this as well. These are just the things that equal Adobe, add on all the others and yessir, I think we have a winner here. Now, I have used Adobe PDF for years without a problem, however, this viewer is much faster when going through pages and definitely what I need. I do a lot of PDF stuff and yep, speed helps a lot. I didn't see an option for the Ask Toolbar, it states that it installs it, I didn't even get asked so not sure what that's about. The only thing it installs, and there is no opt out for it, is the Ask search bar along with every other one but only for searching from the PDF viewer itself and you can disable all search engines. I in no way saw it ad supported unless they removed it and Snapfiles hasn't had a chance to update yet. Anyway, it's a heckuva catch, and a keeper. show Review details
A great product from an excellent software co 5 stars by o_stasuk Dec 13, 2010
The best pdf viewer I`ve ever used. The free version is excellent and far easier to use (and faster) than Adobe Reader. The new version has some new nice futures (as you can change colour, fonts or main background according to your style and mood, you can even close a single opened tab without closing the Viewer itself, you can also open/close popups (grouping them by colour, XFAforms...). The pro version is a pleasure and provides all of the pdf page manipulation tools. I just love it. show Review details
I feel freer 5 stars by wildgoosespeeder Nov 10, 2010 (Read all my 52 reviews)
Seeing this is the highest rated by users and SnapFiles staff, I strongly agree with all of them! All problems I mentioned in my Adobe Reader review are fixed with this 3rd party PDF reader. The startup is fast, no unnecessary startup entries, disable web browser plug-in installation, and having a moderately sized installation executable. Drop Adobe Reader and get PDF-XChange Viewer! show Review details
Faster than others 5 stars by Ashwin Oct 16, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Its much faster than Foxit and better too. My top priority for reading PDFs. Just be sure to un-check the option to install the Ask toolbar. show Review details
Simply the best! 5 stars by rocknman Oct 08, 2010 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I used the free version for about a month and decided to spend the $34.50 for the Pro version. Almost all of my software is freeware but I am very pleased to have made the decision to buy this. If you are a person who utilizes PDF's constantly like me, you'll be extremely pleased with the Pro version. Of course, you don't have to buy it. The free version here does a lot! However, I wanted to do more like adding pages, deleting pages, etc. that weren't available in the free version. No other program I've tried comes close to this one for working with PDFs...period! show Review details
Excellent alternative to Adobe Reader 5 stars by Harlan Sep 18, 2010 (Read all my 56 reviews)
Displays and prints properly, plus has lots of tools to edit and annotate PDFs. The more sophisticated features are only in the Pro version. A minor negative is that it is no faster than Adobe Reader, especially if you use Reader's default installation with auto-starting speed-up routines (which then consume resources at all times). Keeping PDF-XChange Viewer open but minimized or "trayed" makes it operate even more quickly than the sped-up Reader (again at the cost of consumed resources). show Review details
Very handy extra to the default Adobe Reader 4 stars by PogMoHon Nov 06, 2009 (Read all my 22 reviews)
PDF-XChange Viewer adds stuff to pdf-reading/editing that should be built into the Adobe Reader by default. For free! E.g. highlighting portions/words in big chunks of text and saving that to the pdf-file immediately. Students and others who want to mark the essentials will be very satisfied with that feature! + lots of other possibilities (haven't tried out all of them yet) show Review details
I like it, it has a cool look 4 stars by cephastan Apr 02, 2009
It would be great to add more features. Example Convert PDF to DOC show Review details
Just excellent 5 stars by paul1149 Jan 14, 2009 (Read all my 13 reviews)
Here is my thanks to Tracker for a really excellent job. Besides being a very attractive, well-designed, and full-featured program, it beats the one problem I have had with pdf documents - namely, the sea of white background hurt my eyes. PDF-XChange Viewer allows the user to spec his own colors, so I've gone back to the old WordPerfect for DOS aqua-on-navy pattern. One small niggle - oddly, the spacebar does not function as PgDwn. Otherwise a perfect 10. show Review details
Does what Foxit achieved initially 5 stars by drfung Dec 28, 2008 (Read all my 18 reviews)
AcroReader had become bloatware/security nightmare many years ago, and I had been using Foxit as a replacement, without complaint, until the latest v3.0 came along. Performance was down, and the license agreement coming up on installation is geared to the TOOLBARS, not the reader - they lost me right there - reminded me of RealPlayer (ouch). How about optionalize this more clearly guys? I went looking for alternatives and found PDF-XChange. Wow - back to what I want in a pdf reader, I'm impressed. I don't need any bells and whistles, I installed the "portable" version. I recommend you give it a try even if you are set on product x,y or z already, I think this product will impress, both in features and performance. show Review details
A nice surprise 5 stars by Henry8 Jul 03, 2008 (Read all my 37 reviews)
It's funny how you get grabbed by habits and presumptions about how things are. Pdf was always Adobe to me, and I didn't even think it could be otherwise. There was no way to edit a pdf, but by buying Adobes program... this marvelous freeware changes that. It works like a drawing program, you can change and edit, and perhaps the best is: when you reopen the file, you can select and remake your former changes. Amazing, really. Besides, it's fast in opening files - faster than Adobe 8 speeded up with AR Speedup; for one file, Adobe ~4.5 sec, this one ~3 sec. Of course, 1.5 secs... don't know how existential that is, but anyway: I definitely switched camp. I suggest you at least give it a try! show Review details
Love the tabs 5 stars by RobertaS Jun 21, 2008
Tried lots of other Adobe replacements, I chose this one because its fast, and I do love the tabs. Plus they have a portable version I use on my USB. I guess it also lets you edit, honestly I just wanted a smaller faster pdf viewer, that did not add any extra text to stuff you print and no nag screens. show Review details
Tried it and i like it! 5 stars by gusimio Apr 09, 2008 (Read all my 31 reviews)
This is now my PDF reader of choice and, in my opinion, v1.00 (initial release) is the best because later versions progressively find a way to remind you about upgrades. show Review details
Just an awesome pdf viewer 5 stars by rkoyle Apr 07, 2008 (Read all my 12 reviews)
I originally gave this a low rating because of the memory leak. This appears to have been corrected. This is just an awesome program. Nice interface, awesome advanced search capabilities. My only fear is loosing the freeware status and seeing this go commercial only. Hang onto a freeware version. show Review details
Just gets better with every release. 5 stars by stoufville Dec 21, 2007
Tried it - loved it. Have installed the updates as they arrived and now all the issues I have noticed and extra features promised have arrived - like localised languages, some small memory issues and IE integration and its just keeps getting better :) Highly reccomended ! show Review details
Finally a free decent pdf editor 5 stars by Anyone2u Dec 07, 2007
I have been looking for a PDF editor for quite a while but nothing has met my expectations more than this software. In addition to loading PDF files faster, the ability to manipulate the PDF files with text (all system fonts available), resizable objects like arrows, popup notes, highlighted text, etc is excellent. In addition you can highlight text and objects and copy them into notepad for pasting in other applications. I really can't say enough good things about this software, especially considering the fact that it is FREE!!! show Review details
Noticeable 4 stars by Fadasoft Oct 09, 2007
I was surprised when I found it. It is a very good PDF viewer but a very poor PDF editor. I use that in my flash as portable PDF viewer and it works good. It simply needs to improved. For example advanced search option is disabled. Quality of page rendering is a bit weak rather than Adobe one, certainly on full-page mode. Some commenting tools' feature such as node editing feature for polygons should be developed. Finally It is recommended for many advantageous that I mentioned above especially it is portable and free. show Review details
Good, but could easily be better 4 stars by mtroy1 Oct 05, 2007
Definitely superior to Acrobat Reader in many ways. However, it does not integrate with IE, so if this is important to you, it cannot replace Acrobat Reader. I had also hoped it would allow you to merge PDF files and delete pages. There is a menu option for deleting pages, but it is disabled. Online help says it has been disabled but should be working by summer 2007. Sept. 2007 version upgrade still does not work. You can buy a separate Tools program to work manipulate pages, but the interface is unwieldy. You cannot view the pages you are deleting or adding while you are doing those functions. This makes mistakes much easier. But as far as reviewing documents, marking up documents, or filling out PDF forms, the program works just great. show Review details
Completely fullfils my needs 5 stars by FroggyDew Sep 08, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I just love it! Everybody generally recommends Foxit Reader as a replacement of Adobe but I found it frustrating, especially when copying pieces of text. Foxit generally gets the layout wrong by copying the text over 2 different columns, the spaces disappear... PDF-XChange Viewer is almost as fast to load and gets the layout right. Tab browsing is also great as it allows to keep the search terms across documents. Adobe keeps crashing, Foxit is too approximate, XChange Viewer is just great. Highly recommended. show Review details
Better than acrobat 5 stars by Nostradamus Aug 11, 2007
I had to fill some PDF forms in Cyrillic on English Windows and it was impossible to do it with any Version of Acrobat Reader. This Program not only allowed me to do it, but also to save filled forms. There are also very many useful tools that make working with pdf files extremely easy. Great! show Review details
Dump acrobat..this is the one to have 5 stars by ruthless Aug 04, 2007 (Read all my 39 reviews)
How I have put up with acrobat freezing..and messing up my system for so long i dont know when there are great programmes like this one to replace it...Make it the default reader..and yipee it automatically opens pdf files on the internet (or anywhere)in the blink of an eye..no fuss it just does the job...a must have..and free!!...Thank you developer you have made my life easier...xx show Review details
Better than adobe reader 5 stars by billspaced Jul 10, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I have to admit it: I grew frustrated with Reader so I started looking for alternatives. I needed something that opened .pdfs without hesitation and with minimal tweaking. PDF-XChange Viewer simply works! It offers many, if not all, of the features of Reader and it doesn't bog down my system. I love it. show Review details
Far better than Acrobat 5 stars by zahnc1 Jul 09, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Excellent - fast and easy. show Review details
Fantastic! 4 stars by Geejay Jun 30, 2007 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I have dumped my "other" pdf reader software for this. Even though I do have a couple of suggestions. 1) The highlighted thumbnails in the pages tab does not show where you are when you scroll through the main document area. They do not sync with your actual location unless you click them. 2) Integration into IE so I do not have to save to file all the time. show Review details
Better than acrobat reader 5 stars by ysying Jun 28, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This program is one of the best PDF viewer. From the first day I see this program, Acrobat reader is dumped. Try it, you'll love it. show Review details
This program `kicks butt` 5 stars by caballo1614 Jun 07, 2007
I was always annoyed with the PDF protection related to overwrite of to use already created forms. With this application, I just have to create a rectangular box with the background color and write over with my text. This is fantastic. Good work, you may keep me posted of other ingenious applications that came from the same mind. show Review details
The definitive pdf viewer 5 stars by GiWeDa May 26, 2007 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Simply excellent, not all better than the original Acrobat Reader but even better than Foxit PDF that is anyway a good program as well. The only lacking feature is the possibility to have multi language version but the authors are already at work to add it. show Review details
Nice app! 5 stars by caboing Apr 22, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Really nice! I just love the "export to image" feature! Not to mention: Files opened in tabs. Fast! Great interface! Damn this one is fast! A very well done application indeed! show Review details
Excellent pdf viewer 5 stars by BrianLarson Apr 20, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Very professional viewer, especially for a v1.0 release. At the lower right corner is a 'Launch Alternative Viewer' button that will call another viewer. I liked it so much, I purchased the PDF-XChange PDF printer. show Review details
Great pdf viewer 5 stars by xbeta_cn Apr 19, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
It has more features comparing with foxit reader, which is also an excellent pdf reader with only 2MB size. The comment and mark tools is good, but lack of highlight tool. But it cannot support double byte characters well, such as Chinese. In term of this, foxit reader is better. The setup file is 12MB, but in fact, without the help files, just the core files can zipped to a 3MB package. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook