DriveImage XML (Private Edition)

DriveImage XML (Private Edition) User Reviews

5 stars62% 10
4 stars25% 4
3 stars0% 0
2 stars12% 2
1 star0% 0
Based on 16 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 16 user reviews
Post your own review

Awesome back-up software 5 stars by realbull2009250 Apr 17, 2015 (Read all my 60 reviews)
This is one of the simplest HD/File back-up software to have. You can back-up HD to an image & then browse it, restore an HD to the same one or another, copy HD to HD and schedule it with Windows Task Scheduler. I wish more software would use Windows utilities with their own. It is a good way to create a light program. Also you can use it on a boot CD like BartPE, but you will need to download the plugin from their(DriveImageXML) website. It is very easy to use. I usually use this when I back-up my HD and migrate to a new HD. My only complaint is that since this process takes time, it would be great if they had an option to "shut down" the computer when it finishes the back-up job. Then I can just set it and go to sleep. It doesn't have some other features that other similar software have, but I love how simple it is and when I back-up files it doesn't interfere with anything else that I'm doing on the PC. Just use it! show Review details
Image restoration 4 stars by HZetzer May 01, 2009 (Read all my 23 reviews)
If you are looking for a free backup image software than look no further. I was able to restore my hard-drive with DriveImage XML without any problems. show Review details
Amazing - but ! 4 stars by cazulp Mar 09, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I deleted my previous review so that I could post a new one with more info. I tried various other pieces of Software and then saw DriveImageXML recommended in a review for something else. 'Thing of beauty' as they say in the classics. I copied the XPsp3 hard drive from my T42P to a spare hard drive in a USB external enclosure. Took about an hour and a half or so to do a 40 gb drive. When I booted up, checkdisk had to correct a few things and then it booted up perfectly. The next day I tried Vista Home Premium and when I booted up I had to insert the original media to do a minor repair and then it too booted up perfectly. Unfortunately Windows 7 is not supported yet. show Review details
Simple and clear for all 5 stars by miskairal Nov 07, 2008 (Read all my 29 reviews)
I've done heaps of backups with this now and I find it extremely easy to use. I've not had reason so far to have to use it's Restore feature but have used the Browse quite ok. It only takes 10-15 minutes to backup each of my drives without compression. show Review details
Too slow 2 stars by ex-programmer Nov 05, 2008 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Tried it, then uninstalled it after it wanted over 3 hours to create an Image. Been using program A...... for a long time and it is a Pay Program, but only takes 5 minutes to Image my drive and has never caused any problem. show Review details
Difference between 1.2x and 1.3 5 stars by Holmes Jul 20, 2008 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Users of this excellent program should know that images produced with the newest version of this program (1.3) aren't compatible with previous versions (and vice versa) at all. So, if someone isn't aware about this change it is possible that try to restore a new backup using a wrong program on a BartPE disk. A bit more experienced users can integrate both versions (1.21 and 1.3) on the same BartPE and use the appropriate one (for this job you must have an old "", edit INF and XML files inside and repack the CAB archive in order to make different versions in different folders and with different names). show Review details
Requires NTFS hd 2 stars by RogertheDodger May 14, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Can`t backup a partition unless one of your drives is an NTFS. show Review details
Saved my computer! 4 stars by jpotts0007 May 06, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Just a wonderful all-around product. It has worked great for me without any flaws. Easy to use, fast and effective...the interface could use a serious makeover, but hey, who cares what a (free) product looks like when it performs better than expensive retail/commercial ones. show Review details
Works perfect - no worries! 5 stars by techqi Mar 25, 2008 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I've used a lot of backup/restore apps over the years. This is one up there in the Top 1 or 2. Works flawlessly, with no hassles and few pre-backup tweaks needed. A solid performer. show Review details
Works! 4 stars by Merry07 Mar 23, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
DriveImage XML does require some knowledge about computers, but Novices can pick it up quite fast by studying the tutorial at the DriveImage site. If you have a dual boot system on two hard disks on the same computer, you can install it to both systems and back each OS from the other, to avoid any system files getting left out. I've had to use this application twice being a beta software tester and it has restored my OS completely, without any hiccups at all. show Review details
Very reliable 5 stars by Nicholas Aug 09, 2007 (Read all my 61 reviews)
I installed and used it to backup (clone) my valuable C-drive to DVD RW. A big job well done! The program is very robust, transparent, reliable and efficient. It clones entire logical drives sector by sector. Then it lets you restore not only the entire drive but separate directories or files as well. Highly recommended. show Review details
The best of its kind, free or shareware. 5 stars by alnjk01 Jul 17, 2007 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Have been using this off and on for awhile now. It is very stable,small footprint and resource friendly. This program really shines when coupled with a live cd application. If your only running one operating system on your hard drive you can format your partition and restore your entire exact system from the live disk! Otherwise you would do the same thing without a live disk if your running multiple operating systems. Of course like any other program that performs complex operations you should read the help files first. show Review details
Best free software i've ever used 5 stars by jimdog Jun 29, 2007
I had been searching for a free utility that would let me copy an image of one hard drive to another, and this is the best piece of software I found. It's very easy to use, it worked perfectly the first time, and best of all, it's totally free! show Review details
Awesome. right on. saved my bacon. 5 stars by kermidge Mar 18, 2007
Yesterday I backed up my C drive prior to installing a new OS. Took about 3 hours to backup ~55GB to another drive. After deciding the new OS I installed was a no-go, I ran dixml from the backup drive (after booting into another OS on that backup drive - dix apparently won't restore the partition you're working from); restore took less than an hour, Win did a diskchk, moved a few things, and on reboot, _everything_ was precisely as it had been. Bravo! I've paid big bucks for backup/restore/imagine apps (and they are good) _but_ Drive Image XML puts most of 'em to shame for simplicity, speed, and efficacy. I'm sold. Caveat: as needed, please take the time to read the relevant helps and messages, and slow down enough to reason through what you want to do, paying attention to which drive is what. show Review details
Best free backup software i've ever found 5 stars by BrianB Feb 28, 2007
This is an awesome tool, you can backup your system such that you can restore a single file, directory, or the entire bootable partition! You can even break up your backup so it can span multiple DVD's or CD's for more permanent archival. Great idea! I would highly recommend checking this one out. show Review details
Better than ghost 5 stars by martytoo Jan 31, 2007
This program is the most amazing bit of freeware I have found in the past year. It works great, has no bugs as far as I know and helped me resucitate a dead PC. It can copy a partition and write it in a bootable manner to the same or a different HD. Super program. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


CintaNotes take and manage notes


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring