VLC Media Player

VLC Media Player User Reviews



5 stars88% 16
4 stars0% 0
3 stars0% 0
2 stars5% 1
1 star5% 1
Based on 18 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 18 user reviews
Post your own review

Great! 5 stars by Raverx Nov 17, 2016 (Read all my 13 reviews)
VLC probably will play anything you throw at it. As simple or at technical as you want it to be. Great player! show Review details
The only one i use - music and video 5 stars by mikesantana Nov 24, 2015 (Read all my 25 reviews)
Haven't experienced any problems with saving settings myself. This software plays everything I've thrown at it, and it's worth spending a little time setting up the look & feel to your liking. By default it works fine. Very technical options are available if you are geeky enough, so it's a lot more than just a player. If you don't need these, you don't need to bother - it just "does what you want". show Review details
Only one needed for almost any kind of media 5 stars by TerryP Apr 22, 2015 (Read all my 87 reviews)
If limited to only one Multimedia Player, this is it. So commonly used across platforms that it's almost a standard. That's how good it is. show Review details
One of the better media players 2 stars by asrs2007 Jan 09, 2015 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I have been using VLC media player and some others for some time, but after my last update I noticed all my settings were gone. I have two acoustic dips and a peak in my room and in an old version I set up correct settings after considerable effort, then saved them. Old method of saving these won't work anymore. so I just gave it up as there are many more alternatives with better interfaces, features and use less resources while not forgetting user adjustments. VLC forgets graphical and parametric equalizer settings at each exit among other things. I wouldn't recommend it over the others. show Review details
Works well 5 stars by johnandnicky585 Jan 26, 2014
Have an old laptop with Win 8 1.43 cel 2gb ram .Trying to play DVD other players struggled with playing and sound. GOM Media Player had picture with no sound and KMPlayer had both but video was pixilated. VLC works perfectly. show Review details
Vlc media player will not play many dvds 1 stars by brett.peake399 Jul 24, 2013
Despite all the hype. The reality is that many dvds purchased from stores simply do not play in the VLC Media Player. I found the player to be extremely disappointing and useless. It's also extremely difficult to register or find help on their forum! show Review details
Plays everything 5 stars by JohnofTaunton Jun 22, 2013 (Read all my 13 reviews)
VLC seems to play pretty much every format (at least I have not found a video or audio format it wont play). It's simple to use and best of all it's Free! What more could you ask for. show Review details
Great for playback of security footage 5 stars by goshtac419 Mar 17, 2013 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I had just set up ContraCam on my PC turning my computer into a DVR for my home security cameras. Program worked great with my USB Video Grabber, but was not really impressed with the playback feature so I tried to use Windows Media Player but ran into some issues when trying to play back the AVI footage. So, I decided to check out the VLC Media Player and found it well worth the download. The video capture software I had installed and the VLC Player are a great match together. I love the fact that the VLC program allows me to play back just one file from my security footage or select a folder so it plays all of the recordings back in sequential order. Combined, these two software programs solved a major issue for me on creating a reliable security DVR on my PC and being that both programs were free, well, you just can't beat the price. KUDOS to both software programmers and to Snapfiles for continuing to bring great freeware to the masses. show Review details
Great player and converter 5 stars by oteotd Jul 21, 2011 (Read all my 49 reviews)
I downloaded and installed the zipped version of this program. It runs well and easy to uninstall. I got this program to convert wmv videos to mp4 videos. I had a lot of issues making my video look good when running on the website in a web player. I was disappointed. Thought my issue was with the converters I was using (VLC Lan and others). Had nothing to do with them. VLC Lan did a great job in the conversion. I found my issue to be the streaming video player it self. Never though that the issue could be there but out of frustration I checked it out. I had downloaded a streaming program and the video played was not as good quality as expected. That is why I thought the converters was causing issues. Anyway I decided to download a different streamer and it looked 10 times better. At this point I was not sure if the streamer it self changed the video some how when bringing it into the program. Next test I manually extracted the video that looked bad in one streamer and injected it into the other streamer manually and lo and behold the video that looked bad now looked good as expected. Bottom line, if you think VLC Lan is not doing a good conversion be sure to check the video in different players first. VLC Lan is great as it will play many codecs not native to Windows. This program is in my tool box for a long time to come. show Review details
The go-to media player 5 stars by SeSorrow Apr 10, 2011 (Read all my 29 reviews)
VLC plays so many differing types of media, with quality and ease. I install this on all my computers, both Windows and Linux. I have only two complaints: it crashes on me occasionally when playing DVDs, and the interface is terrible unless you are just simply playing media. As a side note, this software supports network streaming and skins, and has some advanced features. show Review details
This is a great media player 5 stars by wildgoosespeeder Jun 28, 2010 (Read all my 52 reviews)
This is a great media player. I originally got this because the CyberLink PowerDVD software was getting more and more bloated with each new version and it keeps messing with the audio driver's volume control. VLC Media Player doesn't do that. One handy feature is the volume control on the window. It can amplify soft media. Great for DVDs. Why are DVDs so soft anyway? The only problem with this is pausing the media. The sound has this delay before it pauses. Then when you resume, the sound picks up with the same delay time. It's very noticeable with videos. This should be fixed somehow. All media players I used before don't do that. This minor problem is tolerable however. show Review details
Who needs WMP! 5 stars by JamJar Apr 04, 2010 (Read all my 27 reviews)
VLC media player is great. Me and my wife were on holiday recently and we took a few DVDs to watch at night. I put them on and Windows MP just wasn't having any of it, then I remembered about this little program and straight away everything worked brilliant. show Review details
The best video player 5 stars by Diablorama Feb 27, 2009 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I've been faithful to VideoLAN for years, at the behest of a friend who was sick of me complaining about Windows Media Player and Quicktime, they suggested VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) and I have been much happier ever since. It's lightweight, it does every format imaginable (with the right codecs installed mind you), and it rarely crashes. The downside, yes it does crash occasionally, far less than WMP does for me, but other than the occasional crash it's great. show Review details
Excellent ! 5 stars by lat_n_1 Nov 29, 2007
Highly recommended. One of the best, if not the best, (free) FLV player(s) out there. Easy to use, plays most video files. I tried others (downloaded from snapfiles.com) and uninstalled them because I realized that their interface and their video format capability/compatibility were inefficient. VideoLAN its simple, yet highly efficient. Try it. show Review details
Wow a player that works 5 stars by Blueman Sep 30, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Like the other reviewers Windows media player is a waste of time for playing all files and the same with Dell MediaDirect. This program does it all, yes it looks basic but for a free product it can't be beaten especially for copied DVD playback. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by paraggoswami Jun 26, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It is the most excellent multimedia player that i have use because it can also increase the sharpness of the sound that u cannot imagine show Review details
Really rocks! 5 stars by JURYCOM Jun 08, 2007 (Read all my 33 reviews)
I needed a quick viewer to help with vob to avi conversions I am doing and WinAmp wasn't cuttin' it and I've given up on Windows Media Player years ago. VideoLAN is very, very light and as fully-featured as anyone could want for a video file viewer. It got me through the vob work very quickly and allowed me to easily flit from one file to another. Screen resize is a breeze and, well, you couldn't ask for more. Now VideoLAN has completely replaced WinAmp and I've never figured out how to uninstall Windows Media Player so I'm just stuck with Bill's monstrously pendulous monstrosity. :-) show Review details
An excellent video player 5 stars by TommYNandA Mar 10, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is an excellent video player, that can play almost any format. Available for almost all Operating Systems. Very light, not a resource hogger. Very helpful keyboard shortcuts. Best of all, its free!!! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders