uTorrent

uTorrent User Reviews



5 stars69% 9
4 stars0% 0
3 stars7% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star23% 3
Based on 13 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 13 user reviews
Post your own review

Older version was superior 1 stars by Klatuu Feb 08, 2015 (Read all my 16 reviews)
I originally had a 5 star review for this program. If you still have a far older version of it - keep it! The original was a stand alone single file that was fast and simple. Now it installs, has ads, is slower, and even the interface has become too cluttered. show Review details
Works, but more ads than before 5 stars by contact862 Feb 11, 2013 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Have been using this tool a while, a bit annoying they have more ads. I don't know is it just me or does it seem to cause my system to be a little more slugish than with previous versions. show Review details
Not your father's utorrent 1 stars by raptozilla Dec 15, 2012 (Read all my 14 reviews)
This used to be a good program before Bit Torrent bought them out. Since then it has gone way downhill and has become nothing more than a Bit Torrent clone; it's more bloated and buggier than the old uTorrent client. It's bearable on Windows 7, but really bites on XP. I have an older computer that I use to share torrents that has XP, and I use version 2.21 on that, but even that is still a bit inconsistent and buggy. If you're still using XP, it's best to go with their pre-buyout version, 2.12. At one point, I was sent a survey question through the program interface that asked me what I would do if they discontinued uTorrent. I told them that I would use something else or switch to an earlier version, which I had already done on my other computer. So, since uTorrent is really no different than their Bit Torrent client, and the fact that they are asking such a question seems to indicate that they will eventually drop uTorrent rather than return it to its roots. show Review details
More and more ads.. and uploads always lack 1 stars by thetechfirm Nov 19, 2012 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I got banned from a site that tracks my uploads and despite seeding and leaving utorrent up for days the upload rate was still low. I'm looking for something else, this has gone downhill for the past few years show Review details
Great for downloading horrible on uploading 3 stars by EricPost Mar 16, 2009 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I found a huge bug in uTorrent. You can create a torrent using uTorrent and it does't always seed correctly. Once you upload a certain amount, if you hit stop - force -> recheck, uTorrent no longer recognizes your hash on the file YOU create. This leaves everyone of the people trying to download the file from you with an incomplete file, and you can't fix it. The uTorrent people have told me it's the fault of Windows Media Player tagging mp3 or WMA or whatever files you use. This is a MAJOR flaw, that you now have corrupt files you're transfering all over the place. While it works well if you just download, make sure you constantly do a force -> recheck for any torrents you start. This explains a lot of why people have torrents that for no reason suddenly get stuck show Review details
This might be the best 5 stars by Henry8 Feb 09, 2009 (Read all my 37 reviews)
I'm not a heavy user / provider of torrents, but now and then I find myself there. I've been using Azureus, but when I got wild about downloading Battlestar Galactica, I started to wonder if it all had to be that heavy and slow. Azureus gave me 10-50, 150kb/s, at most, but with uTorrent I got up to 400 or, momentarily, even 800kb/s... it was unbelievable for an older program with quite few seeders - and it just kept the speed! This is a highly recommendable program; the only problem I've had is some stalling with my firewall, a thing they admit in uTorrent's FAQ. It caused some slowdown in other Internet activity but then, I was getting down some 30 files, and you can't expect to get everything done in all circumstances, can you? All in all, an awesome product. And to consider: it's free. Having tried this and that, I'd claim this might be the best. show Review details
The very best p2p program 5 stars by BillPfeifer Jan 31, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This tiny program is my very favorite for peer-to-peer file sharing. It is outstanding in all aspects. show Review details
Cannot disagree with anyone here 5 stars by megabob6666 Jan 27, 2009 (Read all my 19 reviews)
It's just the lightest, lowest resource using, easiest to use, best torrent software there is, no if's, and's, or but's. The hardest part of using this software is getting your port forwarded on your modem, but portforward.com is a big help since they have begun offering detailed instructions on how to port forward a wide variety of modems. show Review details
Works perfectly 5 stars by ruthless Jan 01, 2009 (Read all my 39 reviews)
I downloaded this software for my first experience with torrent files...so far it has been excellent - very lightweight.(I am running it on an external hard drive as it is standalone.)A very simple interface and a changeable port option gets you going straight away.I use the copy and paste option to link it to the file but there are also other options to do this ..it does miss out on excellent ..just because it doesnt have a search facility .. torrent sites can be a bit of a minefield! I highly recommend this for use with SiteAdvisor(on snapfiles). Thank you for a great bit of kit that is free, marvelous!! show Review details
Freakin great torrenter 5 stars by Chazzz Nov 11, 2007 (Read all my 9 reviews)
This tiny Program acts like a Giant. All the features of the resource gobblers. How the heck did they make it so small. Smart Dudes or Dudettes. Very easy to setup. Firewalls are happy with it. I have had great speeds with this little dude. GET IT and dump your other one....;o) show Review details
Best torrent program out there! 5 stars by zoso1231 Mar 26, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Best torrent program out there! I have tried 3 different torrent programs and for whatever reason, uTorrent downloaded torrents faster then any other program I have ever used. I used to only get around 20-30kbs-download speed, but for some reason uTorrent gives me around 30-60kbs. Lose your old torrent program and get this, trust me. show Review details
Perfect bittorrent client 5 stars by Dreamer888 Nov 25, 2006 (Read all my 9 reviews)
All features, intuitive, easy to use, low CPU/memory usage, no install, even lots of skins (if you need) - just perfect! show Review details
Best torrent client ever was or will be 5 stars by pepoluan Oct 16, 2006 (Read all my 23 reviews)
It's small, it's free, it's blazingly fast, it's thrifty on resources, it's amazingly configurable... what else? You can even make it portable: move the three .dat files from Application DatauTorrent into the utorrent.exe folder, and it becomes user-insensitive. Copy all of them (and the torrent download directories) onto a flash drive... and you can download your torrent anywhere! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook