Comodo Internet Security

Comodo Internet Security User Reviews

5 stars73% 54
4 stars13% 10
3 stars8% 6
2 stars2% 2
1 star1% 1
Based on 73 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 73 user reviews
Post your own review

Most complete protection out there - and free 5 stars by mikesantana Nov 18, 2015 (Read all my 25 reviews)
Been using this for many years, and the latest version is very complete, and now very easy to use. Very few people will need to vary from the default settings, and the "help" is good if you really want to know. Comodo runs a very active forum, and it is clear that they do respond to it, and have taken on board the comments in the version improvements. On an old slow PC, it will impact performance at times, but (unless very old) shouldn't discourage you from giving it a try. You can certainly live without the paid upgrade features (mentioned by another reviewer) but this year I chose to do it because it's not a lot of cash, and I felt I owed Comodo! Actually did use the interactive "Geek Buddy" help that comes with that, and it certainly saved some time - upgrading to Win10 had left a few problems lying around - not just with Comodo though... show Review details
5 star product 5 stars by rkowensiv178 Sep 04, 2014
Works great on win xp.... vista... 7... and 8... best freeware protection... I have used Comodo Internet Security for more than 4 years now never a problem. show Review details
Works ok, but is a resource hog 3 stars by ianmacm Oct 10, 2013 (Read all my 174 reviews)
Like many modern security suites, Comodo Internet Security attempts to do a lot of things at the same time, and as a result it produces a noticeable slowing down in the performance of the PC. This means that it is hard to recommend for older and slower PCs, or for applications where maximum performance is required. Comodo Internet Security has a gaming mode which is supposed to reduce this problem, but I did not notice a great difference while using it. The program is easy to set up and the default settings should be enough for most users. Recommended, but only for computers connected to the Internet that require a high degree of protection. show Review details
Excellent! 5 stars by slipnot1972483 Jan 19, 2013 (Read all my 2 reviews)
The new version is greatly improved. For most novices the default settings offer a lot of protection without a lot of pop ups,etc. This program offers about the best protection available free or paid for suites. I also recommend the paid version includes live remote virus removal and a 500.00 dollar virus free guarantee. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by SuperDool Dec 26, 2012 (Read all my 4 reviews)
An excellent free anti virus and firewall option. Since having Comodo a few years ago, I never had to worry anymore, specially when combined with Spybot. show Review details
Very good all round 5 stars by jono7777 Jul 26, 2012 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I have been using Comodo for some time now. Intermittently, I've loaded one of the other main rival free AVs, but have settled back here again. Once configured, it is unobtrusive and works without fuss. Occasionally, a flag will appear, asking whether to allowblock certain actions, which just needs a little attention and is not a problem. Most of these flags are just procedure and don't indicate anything malicious. Virus detection, etc: I have found Comodo to be the most vigilant and thorough solution to the prevention and deletion of malicious items. I ran a few tests against its main rivals, using AV testing downloads. Whilst Avira and Avast eventually spotted the fake malicious file ( after I'd opened it, or when attempting to open it ), Comodo spotted it significantly quicker, before I'd gone near it, and immediately flagged a warning. This superior vigilance was impressive and made the others look sleepy. Getting rid of Trojans, viruses etc is very simple, a couple of clicks and it's gone. There are no half-hearted messages saying ' cannot entirely delete the file cannot be deleted '. It's very irritating to have located a virus or trojan only to find your AV can't dispose of it. This problem doesn't happen with Comodo, or at least hasn't happened to me. I would wholly recommend this security suite. I could buy a big-name AV again, but what for? This software, oddly, doesn't get rated by some reviews/AV tests. There is no substitute for personal experience. show Review details
The best protection for free 5 stars by tbb505555 May 10, 2012 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is the best protection that you can get for free. Comodo Internet Security Premium comes with tons of features (AntiVirus, AntiSpyware, Firewall, Sandboxing)all at no cost to the user. This is my primary means of protection, and I absolutely enjoy having it on my computers. Comodo Internet Security will definitely keep you safe, but I do want to suggest that only intermediate to advanced users use this, because it does involve a lot of the users attention and interaction at times. Overall, this is one stellar product. Recommended!! show Review details
Fantastic program, more interactive than most 5 stars by dswebertec283 Dec 06, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I've tried AVG and ANTIVIR as freeware protection. This program seems to give you a higher degree of protection, but involves a little more interaction with the extra protection. For example, on occasion a program install will not work properly, and I have become accustomed to immediately going to Comodo to see if it is blocking the install. The difference is Comodo will tend to disallow things by default, where other programs allow by default. If you want the extra default protection, a fantastic freeware choice. show Review details
Highly effective, for experts only 3 stars by Cavehomme Sep 16, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Highly capable suite but unless you are very experienced with your processes and connections and for example know exactly what to allow svchost.exe to connect to or which other processes to interact with, then stay well away from this suite because you may inadvertently block good traffic and processes and allow malicious traffic and processes to attack your PC. Comodo and many users say that inexperienced users should simply use the default deny mode, which is true up to a point. But in my experience because the Comodo white list is not as comprehensive as Norton or Kaspersky, a user may find some legitimate software blocked or denied too many rights to run properly. An experienced user can deal with this, but an inexperienced one can completely mess things up and open up their system to attack. On the good side, but for a fee of 50 per year, there is online support available to help set up and support any configuration or other PC problems, so if you can benefit pro this then Comodo is good for you. Another common problem with Comodo is their very mixed level of quality. Often they release upgrades which are not adequately tested and then can cause major problems for some users, so be aware of this and use system restore before an upgrade. In conclusion, Comodo is superb for some users, potentially far better than most other tools out there, but a potential disaster or just plain inappropriate for most other users, in my view. show Review details
Protect your machine 5 stars by Greytata Jan 19, 2011 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Since 2006, this is a great piece of software. Excellent firewall, good antivirus, - sometimes too much false positives - excellent malware blocker - not so good on removing malware - and even if it is full of tabs and "buttons" their help documentation and instructions are so good that I really do not understand some of the comments below. Never had any problem, never had a major issue, it keeps my two machines nice and clean show Review details
Simply the best! and free! 5 stars by Proffesor Dec 31, 2010
I've noticed an alarming trend on most all of the bad reviews here for Comodo Internet Security. It appears as though the bad reviewers complain, but yet they give no mention of taking the time to read the documentation on how to use this software and it's requirements. Nor do they mention what type of computer they are using, my guess is probably one that's outdated or old, or doesn't quite meet the requirements to run this program. That makes a huge difference when trying to use new software. I have used several commercial, and tried all of the well known freeware virus, firewall programs and this one is by far the best. Don't get me wrong, I can see where this program could be a bit intimidating for someone who isn't familiar with the terminology or usage of the program. The bottom line is this does what it says it does. Excellent software! show Review details
Avoid this horrible soft-mare! 1 stars by gottleib1885 Dec 21, 2010 (Read all my 6 reviews)
That's right, I said "soft-mare", because this software is a nightmare! It is, by far, one of the worst applications I have ever made the mistake of trying to use. Forget about the frequently-required restarts, forget about the ridiculously complicated and un-intuitive interface, forget about the maddeningly vague descriptions of most processes... forget about all that stuff, because the real coup de grce comes when you try to remove this unbelievable piece of bloatware from your computer! Forget about it! If you happen to use a third-party uninstaller (such as CCleaner) because you've long-ago stopped using the glacially-paced one included with Windows, you'll end up with a 'broken' uninstallation which will require you to, in the very best of circumstances, reinstall the exact version you're removing - just so you can uninstall it using its uninstall link in the start menu. That may work if you happened to save the old version of the install file. If not, you're pretty much screwed. Comodo makes a removal tool, but it is unreliable. No amount of intuitive registry combing, either by hand, or with a 3rd-party app will get rid of this beast. There is, however, a 17-part (with dozens of sub-parts) registry-editing project you can perform to supposedly remove all traces, if you happen to have several hours free... show Review details
Loved it... then hated it 5 stars by smoozdog Aug 05, 2010 (Read all my 14 reviews)
As you can see, I rated this firewall high in all criterion. However, it has major network issue with my computer after a "wake". It would lose the LAN connection with the router every time and it could not be rectified through a software setting or changing connection type (DHCP or static). Had to restart to restore my internet connection. It's a bummer because it really is a well written application otherwise. show Review details
All in one security 5 stars by calvin455 Apr 12, 2010 (Read all my 7 reviews)
For Free its got more than the paid versions do and the sandbox is great too. Comodo also has a few other free security tools. Dragon Browser is Nice too. I like the packet filter for firewall also. Great Security. show Review details
An old favorite 5 stars by SeSorrow Feb 18, 2010 (Read all my 29 reviews)
Been using this one for years. Rock solid. Has a nice application monitoring feature that works well with my AV of choice and Threatfire. In this suite however, I wouldn't install the AV, it's not a mature product in my mind just yet. show Review details
Excellent ! 5 stars by SUPERToBy Dec 14, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Comodo detected things that could not even Avira detect, and the firewall is the best. Is much more improved than it was when it first appeared, and I am sure it will improve with much more over time. show Review details
Simply the best 5 stars by Mike132 Nov 15, 2009 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I have used many firewalls on many different systems. I have found Comodo the most secure you can get paid or otherwise. I only use the Firewall and Hips portion as I think their AV leaves a lot to be desired. It may not be the easiest to use but certainly is the most secure you can get. show Review details
My top security suit recommendation 5 stars by Valkovic Sep 23, 2009
I show Review details
It does all, may be more than you want, thoug 5 stars by WeissThon Sep 03, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Firewall plus Antimalware plus Antivirus. The antimalware is sort like Vista's UAC. The firewall has worked perfect for me. The antivirus part seems right, but I have a bad gut feeling. I saw some complaints over the EULA, but as I see it it's not bad. What I read as "if you get in legal action they can get lawyers and make you pay" is more like in arbitration system the arbiter may decide one part pays all costs. The control of traffic is that they offer, in pro version I guess, a DNS service, it would be in using that and this won't change your settings. And as sharing of e-mails and so, is the one you gave. However, something about COMODO certificates being available for free and used in some viruses is what made me think of uninstalling their CIS. However, I've not found any firewall up to this. show Review details
Very good package 4 stars by stefanbg Jul 18, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
After problems with Avira (viruses on USB), Bitdefender (problem while game mode is turned on) and Kaspersky (computer slows down and than I see BSOD), I tried this package. Anti-virus doesn't have many options, I have 6-7 false positives like some *.ddl file from Subtitle Workshop, Diskdigger... I have this for few weeks and HijackThis log is clean, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware haven't found anything yet, except one file that is quarantined by Comodo!!! This is first time for me to see that, maybe they have bad quarantine or... Scanning isn't too slow. We all know that Firewall is very good, it has many options... And it's getting better, only for 1 application it asked me if I wanted to allow it to connect to Internet! Defense+ is still boring but very important part and good part, it still haven't done anything for me but that might be changed in future. I don't see Anti-Spyware but that isn't too bad thing. show Review details
Best free firewall around at the moment 5 stars by pantherman Apr 26, 2009 (Read all my 14 reviews)
This is a 1st class free firewall. At one time there was another I would have rated higher, but that has gone downhill, so if you want safety on line for free, this is the best! Only item I have marked "Very Good" rather than "Excellent" (Which I have put on all the rest) is "Ease of use", as you do need to get used to it. But it is well worth the effort. show Review details
The best firewall 5 stars by cool_iceman99 Feb 07, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is the best firewall, i have been using. But there is a catch. You have to know how a firewall is working, it's not for persons in the beginner stadium of computers and internet. The firewall keep bad things out of your computer and the Defense+ keep everything in order inside your computer. I was loading a web side in my browser and something was trying to start up "", but defense+ came with a popup and asked: is that okay. That's giving you a chance to block it, before you lose your data on your harddrive. If you know what your are doing, Comodo Firewall is the best... show Review details
Excellence 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 02, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I have been with Comodo Firewall for a long time, from some of the first versions, there was a slight downfall of the firewall but since 2.4 it's picked back up and become the top notch free firewall it was prior. A great interface, more security, more options, and once again, free. Runs great on my system, no conflicts, except when Rising states to uninstall it if you use their product but I feel Rising should work on this, not Comodo. An overall best firewall and once again, FREE. This will be my firewall of choice as long as it remains available. All I can say is, excellent! show Review details
Comodo firewall is all finesse and ease 5 stars by Alfredo Jan 31, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Comodo Firewall is a personal firewall which filters ingoing and outgoing traffic on your computer, just like the most expensive ones. It alerts you of any applications that attempts to connect to the Internet and allows you to permanently or temporarily allow or block the connection. Advanced users can customize the application easily but is not required unless you have a reason to. Have tested and used COMODO Firewall for two years now and it works excellent and tops many other very expensive software in this category and once it has learned your way of working on your computer, it's like not having any Firewall to worry about, as it's making your life easy. All in all no Cons but all Pros for this Firewall freeware.. Keep up the good work guys. show Review details
Exellent! 5 stars by tnttnt Jan 13, 2008
Very good piece of work! One must learn at the beginning how it works, but then one gets very well working security tool. show Review details
The best one 4 stars by elcoz007 Jan 06, 2008
This firewall is the best that i saw since "Seagate Personal Firewall". The thing that important is easy to use. I replace the "Windows Firewall" (not a reference ;) ) by this one because after many firewall that i tried this one gave me everything that i looked for. show Review details
Staying with the old version ! 2 stars by User07 Dec 22, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
After checking out the new and fancy 3.0 version, I uninstalled it and went back to an older version I was/am very happy with "Comodo Firewall Pro_2.4.16.174". The 3.0 is just too complex for a normal person to understand ! Conclusion : I will recommend the 2.xx version of this program, not the 3.0 version :-) show Review details
Best firewall for your money 5 stars by Tao2005 Dec 08, 2007 (Read all my 30 reviews)
Zonelabs, Webroot, Outpost, and many others. Do not provide you what this one does, and it's free. UI looks very good, features are excellent, so easy a caveman can use it, and free is a very good price. Those of you, who uses Microsofts fire wall, This upgrade is for you. I have heard lots of problems about using Comodo with Avast. Well those are the two key programs I use, and I haven't had an ounce of problems. I'm XP and not Vista. The problems might arise in vista. show Review details
The best firewall out there bar none 5 stars by gusimio Nov 24, 2007 (Read all my 31 reviews)
This firewall package does it all when installed with the associated defense software (also included in the download); however, it comes with a fairly steep learning curve. This program has an auto-learning cycle, where it asks you a bunch of questions (over time) and you have to answer them correctly. So, if you are not technically inclined, I would just install the firewall (and skip the defense software). However, if you are looking for maximum protection, you must install the complete package. Once done (w/auto-learning completed), your PC will be fully protected against incoming intrusions and outgoing exploits (e.g. leaks). Of course, you must also have a good antivirus program installed as well. However, if you don't have one yet, my recommendation would be to download the free Avast AV software which I personally have been using for over two years without instance. Right now, I would stay away from the Comodo AV because it is still in Beta. show Review details
The best! 5 stars by Hellraiser Nov 21, 2007 (Read all my 27 reviews)
The best firewall and costs NO MONEY! show Review details
Resource-intensive, but comprehensive 4 stars by tarquinbiscuitbarrel Jul 16, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Comodo Firewall works very well. It's one of the better firewalls out there, and it's free to boot. I found it easy to use. However, it uses more memory than some other firewalls and occasionally it used a lot of CPU time, slowing down my computer (it would use 60% of the CPU at times for unknown reasons). This recurring problem led me to remove it eventually and reluctantly. :-( If you have a newer machine, this might not be an issue. Nonetheless, I recommend it, and hopefully you won't run into the same problem that I did. show Review details
Good firewall 4 stars by Duglacias Jul 15, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
This is a nice firewall. Definitely worth a try. show Review details
The best free firewall. 5 stars by moparmac Jul 02, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Comodo Firewall Pro is the best firewall that I have found so far. It has earned a "stealth" rating at Shields Up and has been easy to use. It has an Application Monitor,Network Monitor,Component Monitor,and Application Behavior Analysis. The early versions of Comodo were heavy on resource usage. Comodo listened to the complaints and made subsequent upgrades lighter on resources.Very responsive developers for freeware! This is version firewall has always been rock solid with no conflicts of any kind. Version 3.0 is in beta and sounds promising too. I have tried LookNStop,Kerio,Bit Defender,Sygate,Zone Alarm,Filsec,and a few others and I would take Comodo over any of them! show Review details
User friendly 5 stars by Edugeek Jun 19, 2007
I am very impressed with Comodo. I found that ZoneAlarm had too many ways to customize itself. I am not that knowledgeable and found that I had too many choices. ZoneAlarm is great but over my head. Comodo has done very well and I recommend it very strongly. show Review details
The very best freeware firewall 5 stars by bluehorizon Jun 17, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
For me the very best freeware firewall. Rock solid and user friendly. Passes ALL the tests. This firewall and the other programs from the Comodo group is in constant development and they really do LISTEN to the views and opinions of their users. Check the forums ! show Review details
Best freeware firewall 5 stars by jextuens Jun 12, 2007 (Read all my 38 reviews)
Probably the best freeware firewall to date. GUI is a bit weird, but other then that really nice protection. show Review details
Really impressive product 5 stars by CharlesK Jun 08, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
This is a REALLY impressive piece of work. I saw it got top honors in on the the best PC Magazines, but even so I wasn't thinking it would be this good. Particularly impressive is the fact you can switch Comodo Firewall to start up as part of the boot process, thereby preventing any other program beating it to the internet. Before using Comodo, I was using a very popular commercial firewall, but I know that it didn't work fully until a user logged in. Comodo's feature to do this was icing on the cake. Well done! show Review details
The best firewall not just the best free 5 stars by FastEddie May 15, 2007
Ive been using this firewall for several months now and love it I think its the best and check the leak test great thanks Comodo. show Review details
A very good firewall 4 stars by peter123 Apr 16, 2007
Installed on my Windows XP home SP2 with all patches, Comodo is working real fine. A few days ago I installed Kaspersky 6.0 and both applications had no conflict what so ever and they were working fine. The speed of my internet connection was a little bit slower, but that is normal in these cases. The Firewall protects against flooding and rules could be added. show Review details
Look out zonealarm, here comes comodo! 5 stars by vigilant Apr 07, 2007
I downloaded Comodo Pro firewall after ZoneAlarm wanted me to download a 35mb download! I'm on dial-up in the country, and the large size download (security suite has been bundled in, ala Windows/Microsoft products), and I can't imagine spending over 2hrs online every time an update is required. ZoneAlarm has been great for 5 years, but this bloated software isn't for me. Comodo appears to be all I look for in a firewall, and could be the ultimate sleeper application as far as ease of use, interface and price (It's Free!)is concerned. I'll be back to report on it's effectiveness at a later date, but they've got everything else right, so I think ZoneAlarm is history on my computer. show Review details
Comodo firewall 4 stars by scotty Apr 05, 2007
I find the program easy and intuitive to use, with all the features I need. show Review details
Break away from za 5 stars by citizen_kane Apr 03, 2007
I've been an avid user of ZA for many a year. Since I needed a break from this I tried Comodo, after PCTOOLS. It outperforms PCtools and ZA both. Why? All my internet related apps are greatly speeded up! even PCtools could not do this to the extend Comodo does. I KNEW I was missing some speed but finally I found out where is was; in my firewall. even XP is starting up much faster, because Comodo doesn't hog resourses and doesn't take the time to start up like ZA does! I'm anxiuosly looking toward their final release of their free antivirus program. If it's as good as their firewall, I'm hooked! show Review details
Needs work 3 stars by Mindflux Mar 26, 2007
It started out looking great. Then I realized I couldn't get to my remote desktop because it sets up with a default rule that blocks almost everything. I removed the rule and everything started working great. Then it started asking for access from programs I had already given access and checked the box to remember my answer. Then the next time the program needed access it would ask again. I never remembers which programs are supposed to be granted access. It drove me nuts so I had to uninstall it. show Review details
The best among all free and not-free 5 stars by Paracelsus Mar 01, 2007
I found this firewall as the best for personal use (the only use I give to it). Major Strengths: - It show Review details
A powerful firewall 4 stars by prettyface Feb 24, 2007 (Read all my 9 reviews)
This is a firewall which could be said to be ahead in many respects of even the best bought varieties. Highly impressive and a first class firewall, providing you can configure it satisfactorily. Unfortunately, it clashed with my standalone F-Secure Antivirus, e-mail client, Spyware Terminator and operating aspects of IE 7. I checked all the settings of my chosen programmes with a fine tooth comb and all were set at Allow for the applications mentioned. I checked log and error files etc, and went back over the enabling procedure manually, but to no avail. I was disappointed at having to uninstall this fine application, as I felt defeated. show Review details
A nuisance 3 stars by Ericks Feb 14, 2007 (Read all my 10 reviews)
After seeing the Snapfiles rating and reading the comments I decided to install Comodo firewall. I had been using the Sygate firewall but thought I needed something more modern. Comodo installs easily and the interface is OK (although for many maybe a bit too cluttered). One has to authorize programs to connect to the internet, so far so good, but it somehow doesn't seem to remember that authorization. Even when I click the "remember" field. It keeps asking and asking, again and again. This became such a nuisance that I decided to uninstall this program. I'm sure it does a decent job but it probably needs some working over. So I'm back to good old Sygate (I know, politically not correct) which although not supported anymore does a great job. It withstood all firewall tests I had done on it. show Review details
Uninstall problems 2 stars by mattcn81 Feb 08, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Comodo has various uninstall problems. If you enjoy searching and modifying the registry then whatever. Once you uninstall it still shows up as your firewall in Windows Security Center. Which can cause some problems. When you uninstall something, you want it gone right? So why did I uninstall it? Well when it asks you if you want to allow Firefox to connect to port 80 at 40 times in a row even when you click remember this program, that becomes a problem. Support is sub par. The program needs a lot of work before I'll give it a try again. It looks like it's trying to be zone alarm, which works great so I can see why they would want something so similar. I've been working with every version of Windows since 3.x, so yes I believe I know what I'm talking about. show Review details
Wonderfully detailed but..... 4 stars by davyjones Jan 30, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
A wonderfully detailed and relatively easy to understand firewall. Nice to see the evaluation by Comodo link for all files not recognized by the program. Quite heavy on resource usage and noticeably slows up one's computer even at 1 Ghz of memory. show Review details
Good security and flexibility 5 stars by whwmdw Jan 21, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I have used ZA for a number of years as my firewall, but finally gave up due to the sluggishness of the program. With Comodo, my computer and internet responses are faster and I feel that I have more flexibility in tailoring Comodo for my needs. A word of advice for new users of Comodo. During install select the Automatic rules setup instead of Custom. Then use the program for a while to allow or block applications for each occurrence before manually tinkering with the settings yourself. This program has lots of flexibility and you can mess it up big time if you don't know what you are doing. show Review details
Right price, the best i have found. 5 stars by ralphn Dec 17, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is a very good Firewall, don`t be afraid to try it out. Install and forget. When installed it can scan for known applications so that you dont get so many pop ups to start with the first day of use. show Review details
Looks good, but is it? 3 stars by fred_f Dec 05, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I installed it on two computers and i was exited. I thought it was what i looked for. But after two days one computer couldn't connect to the Internet. I had to make rules to get there. A day later the other computer had problems connecting. So I de-installed it again. show Review details
The best free firewall 5 stars by BJ_Ge0rgE Nov 28, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I have used ZA free,ZA pro,Sygate and now i'm using comodo and i'm very very's the most effective free firewall!!i had my pc infected by a trojan(zlob BU) and the firewall not only asked me if i wanted the trojan to have access to the internet but also informed me that the file was suspicious and it's either a trojan or a spyware so i blocked the operation(to have access to the internet) and i blocked any action of this file(its a feature of comodo)..that means that i prevent the trojan from doing its job(downloading other trojans of its family and harm my pc)in the first place..after that the antispyware takes action..that's what i call effective firewall..not only protects me from dangerous inbound connections but also protects me from sending personal info to others..its the first shield of my pc against malwares..I recommend it to everyone..TRY IT!!! show Review details
Great firewall 5 stars by firegate Nov 24, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I used Norton, ZA, Sygate, Kaspersky and some other software. There were some in each like installing/uninstalling issues, high system resource needs. This firewall seem to be the best alternative with its features. Interface is clean and handy. Plus warnings and messages are much better. You can make a search for known programs and Comodo can set the rules automatically for those programs. If you did not pay for another use this one.. show Review details
Was complicated - getting much easier now. 4 stars by jbseventyone Nov 21, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
This firewall and I got off to a rough start. For the past 3 months (give or take) I have been trying to master this firewall by making my own custom rules for it, and when it wouldn't work, I would uninstall it. Well, I kept reinstalling because I know a good firewall when I see one, and eventually I got the hang of creating personalized rules for it, thanks to members of the comodo forum. Anyways, I have it set up the way I want it to be, and I have to say that now I am pleased with this firewall, and even more so now that it is taylored for my surfing habits. This firewall really is an exceptional firewall, and it has more features than any other firewall I have ever tried. True, it has a huge learning curve, when it comes to creating custom rules, but patience and a little help from the good people at Comodo, that learning curve just gets smaller and smaller. Try it out for yourself, it works great right out off the box, and it's very secure too. show Review details
One word, impressive 5 stars by SithTracy Nov 18, 2006 (Read all my 19 reviews)
Been a user of ZA and KPF, and both are great firewalls when you pay for the product... they both also have issues (not going to get into them now). I downloaded the latest Comodo Firewall (v2.3.6.81) and was pretty much impressed from the start. It has excellent configuration options (may be overwhelming for some) and a smaller footprint than ZA Pro. Also, the company has an online forum that is top notch. My initial reaction is impressive. I have removed ZA and Sunbelts (never updated) KPF. Comodo is a keeper! show Review details
The best 5 stars by anderow Nov 14, 2006
I believe this to be the best firewall available and it is free. After several years of trying to use bloated offerings from Norton and others it is great to finally have a firewall that 'does what it says on the tin' without making it a chore to use my pc. The firewall is also more secure than offerings from the likes of Norton and I have had no problems at all since switching - unlike when I used Norton or McAffee in the past. Comodo Personal Firewall is highly recommended. The new Comodo Antivirus is in beta testing but also looks promising - and it is also free. Worth keeping an eye on the Comodo website ( for those who don't want to risk trying the antivirus beta test version. I believe the final version will take the antivirus world and shake it up a bit. show Review details
Finally something that works. 5 stars by cuchulainn Nov 02, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This is a nice software, I can easily see what is going on while I am connected, and most important it gives you the ability to shut down specific software in case that you need all the connections like when downloading a big file. show Review details
Great 5 stars by Lionstribe Oct 26, 2006
Simply put, this firewall is great. It's free, it offers fantastic protection and is easy to use. Most people won't even have to change the default settings. Right "out of the box" you can go to Shields Up leak test site and it will pass every test. I highly recommend this product. show Review details
Strongly reccommended! 5 stars by MarcoN Sep 28, 2006 (Read all my 9 reviews)
It's the only firewall that worked on my home PC with ADSL connection without problems. Easy to use, easy to configure, and very very powerful: I still haven't found a leak test that is able to overcome it. Strongly recommended! show Review details
Would not work for me 3 stars by pcs800 Sep 25, 2006 (Read all my 222 reviews)
When I saw this app I though "cool, something similar to the late, great Sygate"! It is fairly similar but it would not let anything access internet or network. After clicking allow on everything I needed, I went in to the advanced options and allowed certain apps full access......nothing. I even chose the "allow all" option which is supposed to turn off the firewall, but I still had no internet or network connectivity. After fighting it for about 15 minutes, I had to uninstall and go back to my trusty sygate. show Review details
Best ever! 5 stars by stealthpiper Sep 20, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Folks I've tried them all and spent a lot of money doing it. The next best to Comodo was Sygate (can't get it anymore) and I would give it up for Comodo. It passed every test I could find including leak tests. I have yet to be bombarded with the "buy this other product of ours" emails. It works, it works good, it doesn't bother you with popup messages that you have to answer! Try it - you will like it! show Review details
A great software for free 5 stars by bluesoul Sep 16, 2006
Yesterday I have removed ZA because was slowing down my system a little bit.First I was afraid that there will be some problems with installing Comodo firewall but there wasn't everything was great and easy to set up and to my surprise it is working great much better than ZA.Thanks to developers of this software. show Review details
Simply the best i have used 5 stars by rick24 Sep 14, 2006
I have used several other free firewalls. They were harder to setup than this awesome firewall. If you are fairly new to firewall setups this is the one for you. It is fully functional right out of the box and is free. There is a one time registration process but I have never received any spam from that transaction. Give it a try, you will not use anything else. show Review details
The best firewall 5 stars by Ramsey Sep 13, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This is the best free firewall i have ever used. Kicks the rest of the firewalls even the paid for ones. It has even been given an editors recommended choice by a certain pc mag. This firewall is fantastic with low memory usage, its not bloated like most others so will not slow your internet to a crawl. its also updates automatically for free, and has passed all firewall tests. show Review details
Why use something else? 5 stars by justin1278 Sep 06, 2006
Comodo Personal Firewall is the best firewall I have ever come across! It is free, it has an attractive interface, and it passes all known leaktests out of the box! Once installed you have a 30 day trial, after the trial is expired you are just asked to register on every boot, registering is fast, simple, and free! Fill out your name and e-mail address, and they send you your registration key immediately! Once registered CPF will never bother you again for registration! Even if you choose not to register for free (for whatever reason) the product is still fully functional. I highly recommend this firewall to everyone, this firewall beats Kerio, Norton, Sygate, Blackice, Ashampoo, and any other firewall I haven't listed! show Review details
Nice but, quirky 4 stars by ReverandFabulous Sep 05, 2006
I used comodo for 3 months on a dell laptop with XP home. Overall, an excellent alternative to sygate (my old stand-by), and the "bloated" Zone Alarm. One annoying problem was trouble permanately granting internet access to some programs. I got tired of having to decline adobe update with each new startup. Tried several different ways to do it, without luck. Same with granting permission to google accelerator. Never had a crash, and maybe two freezes (once on update) but both recovered without problems. show Review details
Comodo personal firewall-simply the best 5 stars by KingKull Sep 05, 2006
Comodo Personal Firewall is simply the best! Easy to setup and use,and a great user forum where you actually get useful, speedy help. I ditched ZA for this, and never looked back. show Review details
Dropped Zonealarm Pro for Comodo 5 stars by xrimdotcom Sep 04, 2006
CPF should still be listed as beta but it is an excellent firewall with minor bugs constantly being worked out. The forum is one of the best I have ever visited in regard to others helping others with issues. That being said, newbies should visit the CPF forum before making the switch or making CPF their first firewall. It does have some minor issues and configuration quarks, but will eventually blow away all of the competition. Can't beat the price! Have Fun! show Review details
The best firewall avalable and it's free!! 5 stars by marc57 Sep 04, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I've tried many firewalls over the years and this one is the best hands down.This isn't a watered down free version that keeps asking you to "upgrade" to a pro version, This is a full featured firewall that has all of the features of paid firewalls and then some! I consider this a must have if your concerned about security while online. show Review details
Absolutely great firewall 5 stars by sonicfrog Sep 03, 2006
This firewall is absolutely excellent! Free , easy to use, looks great, and runs even better! Good bye ZA! There's a new firewall on my pc! I can actually connect with my DSL now, doesn't take an hour to start up on my pc! Thank you Comodo! Some one pinch me, i'm dreaming! Thank you! show Review details
Saying it's excellent is an understatement 5 stars by JackBauer Sep 03, 2006
Your computer is not protected without this firewall...Simple as that. show Review details
Highly Recommend 5 stars by rstyix Sep 03, 2006
After running a few security test on Comodo Firewall program vs. some of the other freeware programs, such as Zone Alarms freeware version, this program offers better protection and has automatic updates. Interface is nice looking. Documentation and help files our excellent too. This firewall appears to be a Winner! ZoneAlarm was my firewall of choice for many years, until now. Give it a try, you may be pleasantly surprised! One leak test I could never get rid of on all the Zonealarm freeware versions, Comodo took care of immediately! "Highly Recommend" show Review details
No point in looking somewhere else... 5 stars by AssOwL Sep 03, 2006
This is "the one", you have been waiting for... Free and the best there is... You don't get a better one, even if you pay for it! Great for both newbies and advanced users. Passes all leaktests out there, unlike the other firewalls out there... even paid ones don't do that! You get fast support at their forums. I highly recommend CPF! :) show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


CintaNotes take and manage notes

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders