Free Download Manager

Free Download Manager User Reviews

5 stars76% 23
4 stars16% 5
3 stars3% 1
2 stars3% 1
1 star0% 0
Based on 30 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 30 user reviews
Post your own review

Easy to use and efficient 5 stars by Nelson-Carvalho Jul 18, 2016 (Read all my 7 reviews)
It works perfectly, many useful features, fits most browsers. show Review details
The people's choice 5 stars by realbull2009250 Jul 18, 2015 (Read all my 60 reviews)
Well Snapfiles' description really describes it all about Free Download Manager(FDM). I've been using FDM since I used XP. When I had Vista I tried many other downloaders, but ended up sticking with FDM. On Windows 7 64x I tried Internet Download Accelerator(IDA) which is excellent(read my review), but I ended up switching to FDM again. Why do I keep coming back? I'm not sure, but it's like breaking up with an ex and getting back together again because you're infatuated with that person. Maybe I hate the nag screens to buy the premium versionscough...IDA, the pop-up ads(Download Accelerator Plus) or the shadiness(I'm looking at you FlashGet and Orbit Downloader!) of other downloaders. Maybe I like that it's open-source and genuinely free. Maybe I like that you can make your own toolbar skins(if you have the skills or patience). Maybe I like it because it supports Torrent files. Maybe I like it because it has been around longer than most other downloaders(EagleGet, DownloadNinja... you're still babies) and the code has been tweaked to refinement. Whatever the reason to why I keep coming back, I think FDM is here to stay from now on. show Review details
Yesssssss 5 stars by bassaniobroke Mar 21, 2015 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This is it, Once again snapfiles has provided a solution to me. Every thing is here which I wanted. You get following for free: 1. Its free still no spyware or worms. When you stop the program you feel as if you never downloaded this software. 2. It speeds up the download 3. It gives the status of download with speed and all data 4. easy interface, just drag and drop link from any where even youtube. 5. The interface gives several information options such as how many downloaded, download under process, scheduled, the history of download along with in what folder downloaded. 6. The preview section may play the audio or video within the software. I haven't used any download software from long because it used to corrupt the window system's original setting and infiltrated with worms and spywares. BUT this is not the case with "free download manager". I haven't tested any other download software but I don't need any; as this is giving me everything I want. I say GO FOR IT. Thanks to snapfiles and software developer for providing it and for free. show Review details
Wow...excellent! 5 stars by babam86 Oct 19, 2012 (Read all my 3 reviews)
FDM can resume broken downloads, this is what I want. show Review details
It's been better 5 stars by gimpguy Jul 07, 2012 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
It's been a while since I rated FDM, last time I was having many issues with it due to the Firefox updates (As Were Many Others) but that was nearly a year ago. I have since been using it without issue and it's back being my no.1 download manager. If others like fredthompson didn't have issues at the time, I find it hard to believe since the author himself knew of these issues and there were numerous posts throughout the internet about the issues with all the Firefox updates, so no, I had no corrupt system, I have a specific setup to test, etc... Cheer leading a software is great but admitting it's faults makes it a better software. That aside, for a long time now, it's been more than stable and I am quite happy with it. The torrent portion works wonderfully as does the rest. If all stays well, I don't see myself using another download manager for some time. show Review details
Firefox et all 2 stars by gasp0de882 May 27, 2012
Does not work on Fire fox 12.0 on my Win 7 machine .Will not automate. Dragging URL gets web page. Looks good, sounds good, reviews reliable. Just doesn't work for me. Second try in three months. Good luck. show Review details
A long-wait version 5 stars by iwillneverstop Dec 28, 2011 (Read all my 24 reviews)
I've been waiting for this final version a very long time. I used this software since 2005 and from March, 2011, I moved to IDM because FDM version 3.0 didn't support latest versions of popular browsers such as IE9 or Firefox v4 but IDM has a problem of integrating with IE9. I'm glad that FDM v3.8 supports IE9 and FF up to version 9. Now I'm using it and am very happy with it. show Review details
Works great with all versions of Firefox 5 stars by fredthompson Dec 28, 2011 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I've used Free Download Manager with all versions of Firefox since 3.0 without any problems. I have add-on version checking disabled in Firefox and FDM does need to be reinstalled after some FF builds. I've never had any problems and I use about 100 addons for Firefox. GimpGuy must have done something to corrupt his setup. show Review details
Best download manager ever 5 stars by SeSorrow Apr 10, 2011 (Read all my 29 reviews)
This is simply the best I have ever used. Historically I have not had a great internet connection and download managers were a necessity, but recently they laid cable in my neighborhood and I have as great connection. I still use a download manager because the built-in browser downloader is terrible. Free Download Manager has all the necessary features without bloat, and as a plus supports torrents. The main reason I select it over others is that FDM is open source. show Review details
Great choice for a download manager. 4 stars by Irritated Feb 18, 2011 (Read all my 12 reviews)
Works as advertised. After trying many similar tools for years, always switching due to various irritants or missing features, I have been satisfied with FDM for some time. Stable and relatively easy on resources it is configurable enough to work with even non-standard browsers like Chromium. The interface can be a little busy, and all the options can be intimidating for novice users, but most people will be more than satisfied with its performance on default as-installed settings. Also worthy to note is Orbit Downloader--although FDM is the software I use. show Review details
Good! 5 stars by TerryP Dec 29, 2010 (Read all my 87 reviews)
This download manager works very well. Good tool. show Review details
Fdm is outstanding 5 stars by BillPfeifer Jan 31, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This totally free program has features that easily make superior to most shareware offerings. show Review details
Gr8 ware 5 stars by KBKamani Jan 21, 2009
FDM is great, friendly and easy software. I never knew there are shareware like this also. Downloads all type of programs easy and faster. show Review details
Good but nothing special 3 stars by xvMATTLEEvx Jun 25, 2008 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I would not recommend this because there are better download managers out there. DAP, Leechget, and Orbit downloader do a better job of downloading while DAP and Orbit download offer better extras. On top of that the little arrow for free download manager is nothing but annoying and when using in Firefox more times then not Flashgot wont auto-detect like it will the others. FDM is bloatware full of features that are all average at best. Who uses this as a torrent client? I dont. If you want a download manager with extras go with go with Orbit downloader. you want a downloader with security bonus go with DAP and if you only download one file at a time, nothing can be Leechget. show Review details
Never need a dl manager ? think again ! 5 stars by BENDECHO Apr 29, 2008 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Since dial-up is a thing of a past you think you dont need one.. but man.. this is great ! I got downloads on large (known) files of close to 1Mbs due to multiple servers. [sure speeds up them game demo DLz] Only issue I have is its constant integration with browser, would prefer more options on that. I sometimes like the option not to use it. Otherwise, I am keeping this sucker, it is awesome. show Review details
Top quality freeware 5 stars by ianmacm Mar 08, 2008 (Read all my 174 reviews)
When Microsoft launched Internet Explorer 7, it had a golden opportunity to give it a download manager similar to the ones in Firefox and Opera. Instead, it stuck with a very basic version little different from the one in IE6. Help is at hand with Free Download Manager, which has a range of features as wide as any user could want, including BitTorrent support. It may take a little while to get used to all the features, but it is worth the trouble. Also worth mentioning is the program's ability to be exported to a flash memory device and run as a no-install version. Definitely the best freeware download manager available. show Review details
File resume ! 4 stars by JaJoa69 Dec 01, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I've been using FDM for about a year. It's very good,but what bothers me, is that they have updates continuously (That's good), but I'm on Dialup, and to my great surprise FDM doesn't Resume it's own updates! I sent them an Email regarding this, I got no reply! show Review details
Very good 4 stars by R2-D2_ Nov 08, 2007 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Works nice, you can have multiple downloads, multiple sections of the same mirror, multiple mirrors. Different default folders for each file type and/or project you create. But you might need some time to get used, it is not that simple if you're a total newbie. show Review details
Great download manager 5 stars by Hephaestus Oct 09, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have tried a number of other downloaders but this one comes out on top. Great features, easy to use, integrates nicely with firefox. show Review details
Soooo easy to use ! 5 stars by Ladytech Sep 28, 2007
This is the best site for freeware. This program is awesome lots of features, the ghostly arrow sits on the right sight of your pc and tells you all info about your downloads in 1single click. You don't have to search for folder to where it downloaded. You can click the link right on the download manager itself. Wallah! show Review details
Execllent download manager 5 stars by bluehorizon Jun 24, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
What I like about this particular Download Manager is how easily it integrates with IE7, Firefox, Opera and Avant Browser (my favorite Browser). Easy to configure and packed with features. I use it with my anti-virus program to scan any potentially malicious files (not all free download managers can do this). Highly recommended ! show Review details
Reliable old faithful 4 stars by prettyface Feb 04, 2007 (Read all my 9 reviews)
Having tried others, I finished up always reverting to this one. On a minor critical note, some DM's can handle a set number of downloads simultaneously, but FDM must finish one before starting another, not that this is a major drawback. It isn't really. show Review details
Nearly tip top 4 stars by ruthless Jan 17, 2007 (Read all my 39 reviews)
Certainly one of the best download managers I have tried..lots of options..very easy to of my favourite things about it is that,if you are downloading music there is an option to listen to the only whinge is that on "right clik save as" downloads it sometimes will only download an image rather than the file..I sent a question about it to their help ..they havent replied!! show Review details
Very good software 5 stars by cuchulainn Nov 02, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
If you are a person whit a dial up connection this is the perfect software, great features and easy to use, much faster than others. show Review details
Best download manager ... 5 stars by sathish Oct 18, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Best download manager show Review details
Recommended 5 stars by filoctetes Sep 25, 2006
Very good software. Nothing to complain about. show Review details
Excellent and wonderful tool 5 stars by jmfk15 Sep 23, 2006
It is a really great great download manager. Easy to use and it works in silent mode. show Review details
Excellent quality, very easy to use 5 stars by xargon17 Sep 11, 2006
This program is just what any person looking for an easy to use yet powerful download manager needs! It's lightweight, it has a very nice interface, it has cool features that can be configured with very few clicks. Very recommended! show Review details
5 stars is not enough!! 5 stars by TheUgly Aug 29, 2006
Just try it and you'll never uninstall it. show Review details
It is just a beauty ... 5 stars by abhijit Aug 20, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It is just a beauty show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


CintaNotes take and manage notes


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers


Unchecky prevent accidental installations of third party offers

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring