icon

SUPERAntiSpyware Free user reviews

5 stars56% 31
4 stars32% 18
3 stars7% 4
2 stars1% 1
1 star1% 1
Based on 55 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 55 user reviews Post your own review

Good for computer protection! 4 stars by a1w84rs975 Jun 06, 2014 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This software has been around for quite some time and is good for computer protection although the free version does not have the real-time protection, auto updates, etc. but since it is free people should not mind having to do that manually. Once updated and put in scanning mode it can go to work for you and help protect your computer from malware that has become so overly invasive and a real threat that it is often hard to remove. There are no hard learning curves with this product! It is very easy to use and well worth the download! showShow review details
Fantastic!!! 5 stars by mikep505239 Oct 21, 2013
I am the last person on earth to ever take the steps to write a product review on any internet program or site. However, SAS is such a terrific program and runs super fast and uses very little resources on my laptop. This program found numerous Trojans, Junk Files and my system always runs fast and clean. The people behind this program truly are deserving of my positive feedback and if any of you out in WWW world are looking for a real sweet program to clean your system and keep it running awesome....... you FOUND it!! Over many many years of running computers and installing programs to keep the system clean and free of the nastys, SAS by far blows away any other program I have EVER used. Download this program and see for yourself. You have absolutely nothing to lose.... except the Trojans your other programs missed!! Mike from Oshawa Canada showShow review details
The best yet. 4 stars by terrypeters1945907 Mar 27, 2013
I have been trying out a lot of security programs this one is good. I like the free one because its not real time. On my main protection is MSE & Immunet they work together on real time protection plus I got Malwarebytes & Spybot on standby. Between them all they keep my laptop clean and fast, it is a HPg6 quad core. showShow review details
Solid program, fast, catches lots of junk 4 stars by rkd108428 Oct 22, 2012 (Read all my 17 reviews)
SAS has caught junk that other programs have missed. It has gotten faster over the years, offers lots of run options. This and Malwarebytes are my staple anti-malware programs. showShow review details
An excellent program 5 stars by dprivet492 Jan 29, 2012
This is an excellent program and it is a good companion to any internet security suite. The individuals nagging and complaining need to pawn their computers or donate them to a kinder garden class who knows what to do with them. The software developer(s) on here need not respond to these people because it's a waste of time due to the fact they have no clue what they are doing. showShow review details
Always good. 5 stars by oteotd Aug 22, 2011 (Read all my 49 reviews)
The new version of this program has some improvements. The biggest differences noticeable is you can actually see what the program finds as it finds it and the updates are much faster. Once you get past the interface changes most of the settings are the same. As for the program finding more stuff than before who knows. The old version found things other than just cookies, I know this from helping friends that were infected. No matter what you still need more than one spywaremalware scanner as there is no one program that will catch everything. showShow review details
Major changes to SAS 5 stars by KNRover Aug 14, 2011
I've used SAS for at least 5 years, and have installed it on all the computers I support. Until ver. 5, it focused primarily on tracking cookies (this assessment is from observing that that's all it ever found on any of the computers I support), so I also installed ... on all the same computers to catch the really malicious stuff. It now appears that SAS has greatly expanded its search & destroy capabilities, because the first time I installed and ran it on a friend's computer, it found trojans in 5 files -- that, btw, were NOT found by others! Were they false positives? Don't know for sure, but removing them did not cause any subsequent problems with the computer. In addition to obviously being more thorough about what it finds, it is also blazingly fast and does not noticeably slow the computer at all when running (but I have a Core 2 Duo E8400 CPU, 3GB RAM, and XP, so everything runs fast). The new interface is terrific. I'm waiting to see more in-depth reviews. If they're as good as I think they're going to be, I may be able to dispense with Malwarebytes. showShow review details
Super again 5 stars by gimpguy Jun 27, 2011 (Read all my 1158 reviews)
I had to change my review from 2008 due to the fact I've dropped SpywareTerminator some time ago for this now. SAS has been simply awesome and someone did a great job creating the newer versions and most importantly, the SAS detections are right on and a great barrier to have against intrusions. I have been extremely happy with SAS for a time and will continue to use it as long as it remains on it's current path and does a great job and I say this looking at the bug icon in my tray :) showShow review details
Best thing since sliced bread... 5 stars by Stefan57 Mar 23, 2011
Three days of struggling to get rid of System Tools bug trying all sort of remedies found in various blogs. Acer Aspire One Notebook running XP. Pre-installed McAfee failed to pick it up. Tried various virus scans eg Windows Security Essentials, Avira, AVG, etc first from the net then from USB stick no dics player. Virus blocked all attempts even in Safe Mode. Also frequently blocked attempts to get into safe mode. Finally somebody mentioned SUPERAntiSpyware - looked through blogs for comments on this, unanimously positive. From USB stick in safe mode the computer finally accepted something - SAS, wow, relief... Total 1,656 bugs -; 97 Adware Tracking Cookie; 4 Browser Hijacker Internet Explorer Settings; 1,549 Security HiJack image file execution options; 3 Trojan AgentGen-RogueLoad; 2 Trojan AgentGen-FraudPack. Re-booted computer and everything running beautifully, installed Windows Security Essentials as back up. Can't thank SAS enough, almost gave up. Cheers! showShow review details
Eating my RAM 2 stars by Wilde32 Dec 02, 2010
I downloaded SUPERAntiSpyware to replace Spybot, and I wasn't particularly impressed. This software hogs my RAM and made my computer incredibly slow and for some reason stopped my sound card from working. The anti-spyware scan was quick and quite thorough, but my computer slowed down to a crawl during the scan. This software has a good scanning ability but it lets itself down because of its terribly high amount of memory usage. Overall, I would not recommend SUPERAntiSpyware to others. If you have a fast computer, and you need a free anti-spyware program, then give it a try, but don't expect to be impressed. I will be sticking with Spybot, because although it's scan is slower and slightly less powerful, it does not eat away at my RAM. showShow review details
The software developer responded to this review on Jan 06, 2011: Your computer must have less than 512MB of RAM and be on an extremely slow processor as SUPERAntiSpyware uses VERY LITTLE RAM and if you are running the free edition, no CPU except when scanning. CPU has to be used when scanning to do its job - asking a product to not use the CPU is like asking your car to run without burning gas. Be aware that SpyBot will NOT see rootkits and other items hidden from the Windows API.
A very good program. 4 stars by Mike132 Nov 16, 2009 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I have used this since it's beginnings. I've always found it to be a very useful program. It does exactly what it's designed to do. I use it as a secondary scanner.I would recommend it to everyone. showShow review details
I will no longer be using Norton 4 stars by PaulPerrona Aug 29, 2009
I have had Norton Internet Security installed on this computer since I bought it. It has worked well in past years but now it seems as if Symantec is adding new features just for the sake of having more than their competitors. Their 2009 version is far too cumbersome for older processors and slow web connections. In an effort to gain speed I replaced Norton with Avira AntiVir Personal antivirus and SuperAntispyware. So far I have experienced no viral infections and on the first scan SuperAntispyware found 878 issues that got past Norton. I will no longer be using Norton. showShow review details
This one is good 5 stars by jono7777 Jun 17, 2009 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I can report a similar story to some of the other reviewers of SAS, i.e. stubborn bugs and nasties that couldn't be removed with other anti-Spyware programs. My PC is now clean to the extent that - touch wood - I've almost forgotten what it's like to have problems with spyware etc. The program located and easily removed everything that had been causing trouble. Excellent piece of kit. If you're having trouble with one or more really persistent and elusive bugs that Spybot SandD and all the others can't deal with, download and run SAS and let it do its thing. showShow review details
Spot on 5 stars by AEn1gm4 Jan 08, 2009 (Read all my 10 reviews)
As it says: removes ALL potential harmful software, not only the easy ones. Saved my system from a serious problem. A big thanks to the creators. showShow review details
This really works 4 stars by lynmari Jan 06, 2009
Wow, I couldn't believe this program helped me. I had a nasty spyware vondo, and other viruses, I tried downloading from this website, the nasty bugger wouldn't let me download, but I managed to download it, and voila all the nasty buggers were gone. I was going crazy for a week trying to fix this laptop. I say get this program. showShow review details
Superantispyware saved my pc! 5 stars by sdmoore68 Nov 25, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It works great! I had a nasty spyware called Vuturalmonde and it was deep in my system. I tried several other scanners. Finally after using SuperAntiSpyware, my system was clean. Highly recommended. showShow review details
The best I know 4 stars by McGyver86 Nov 06, 2008
SuperAntiSpyware caught many trojans and rootkits on my computer, some of them made my computer reboot and showed error messages. The best free anti-spyware I have seen so far. showShow review details
The best 5 stars by greatwhitepoet Oct 26, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is the best anti spyware software for the price (free) out there. I have used other and found they do not remove all the harmful crap..but this one does so check it out. Well done to the producers showShow review details
Best in 2008 5 stars by DasFox Oct 24, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
As of 2008 SAS is the best free spyware application out there, if you don't know it, then you haven't compared it against all of the other free applications that compete against it. This program deserves five stars! Everyone concerned over spyware should be using this application! showShow review details
Recommended - vital tool 5 stars by vjacobi May 15, 2008 (Read all my 13 reviews)
User "catmaster" pretty much covered it. This is a great addition to your anti-spyware arsenal. I use this to fix my friends' computers and recommend the professional version for enterprise clients. This program does what it says it will do, especially for professional technicians. showShow review details
Recent improvements make this excellent 5 stars by catmaster Apr 06, 2008 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Very straight-forward, intuitive menus and many options made using Superantispyware a pleasure from day one. The available updates are often, usually daily. The free version doesn't guard in real time (only when you scan) and some of the options are reserved for the pay version, but even so, this is very effective and well worth having. It even searches for root kits, which other anti-virus software sometimes does not do. I've used this great program for about a year now, and my only concern had been this program's memory usage, but no longer! A recent update has proven they have definitely done their homework. The memory footprint is now MUCH less. Also, the scanning seems faster. I recommend this very highly, it's a great addition to your anti-malware arsenal. showShow review details
Excellent - powerful and updated often 5 stars by pcguy99 Apr 05, 2008
This is a terrific application, and I've tried just about every antispyware app out there. The main difference between the free and pro versions is as noted--free works "on demand" and the pro has has automatic real time protection. The free (on demand) version is definitely worth having, because it will catch things other programs don't. One thing I really like is that this is FREQUENTLY updated with new spyware definitions (even more so than other programs). I'm a long time snapfiles downloader (back to the webattack days) and this is the first time I've been motivated to register and review anything. I just wanted to give this a thumbs up. After a few weeks of checking this out, I ended up upgrading to the full version, mainly because I wanted to support these folks and keep this gem going. Incidentally, I have several security apps installed (separate apps for firewall and antivirus, not a suite) and they all play nice together with this, no conflicts. showShow review details
Best of freeware 5 stars by unclemarv Mar 30, 2008
I found that this did a better and faster job than Ad-ware and it is not as cumbersome as Spybot. showShow review details
Good secondary antivirus 5 stars by pantherman Mar 03, 2008 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Easy to use and update nice clear interface. Well worth using in addition to your main anti virus program as an extra security program. showShow review details
Definitely a `can`t-live-without-it` 4 stars by kol2008 Feb 16, 2008 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I have used SUPERAntiSpyware (Free Edition) on my several computers for quite some time. It seems to be one of the best -- runs smoothly with no problems, adequate features. Certainly a good addition to your security fortress. showShow review details
Excellent software! 5 stars by healthdefense Dec 04, 2007
I have looked at a wide variety of anti spyware software, but NONE of them approach the completeness of this package. First of all it works. The interface is clean. Lots of options. Some malware deactivates your ability to get to vital system sources. SuperAntiSpyware gives you back control by allowing you to re-enable it. No other program I know of helps you to fix your system like this. In addition you have the ability to have the software find out what is running on your computer. How many times have you run the Task Manger only to see dozens of programs running in the background? Which are good and which are bad? Most of us have no way to know! But this software gives you that ability and you can find rogue programs running on your computer. This program is worth buying! Dog gone it! This software provides answers and solutions to security problems many of us face everyday. Gotta love this software! showShow review details
Not quite what i was hoping for 3 stars by NickElliott Oct 16, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
This is a nice enough program but I found I couldn't get along with it. The free version is too limited and overall I found it clunky and intrusive. However I can't argue with its effectiveness which has been reported by several others but it my experience there are better solutions out there. Not for me. showShow review details
Awesome program 5 stars by MouseChaser Aug 19, 2007 (Read all my 27 reviews)
I Have been using this Spy Ware Program For Aprox 6 Months Now.Out All That Time This Program Caught Only 1 Ad-ware-Spy Ware.I Am Definitively Going to Recommend this To Family and Friends.Along With Using Ad-A-Ware Personal,These Two Programs sure keep my Computer Clean. I Have Tried Almost All Spy Ware and Ad-A-Ware Programs That They Have Out There.Also I Go to spywarewarrior.com To Checkout Which Spyware Programs Are Good And Which Ones Are Bad. showShow review details
A free scanner that keeps impressing. 5 stars by moparmac Jul 01, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
With every new version this free scanner gets better.This program is actively developed and it's one of the free scanners that I wouldn't part with! There are 3 different scans;Custom,Complete,and Quick scans. This program updates regularly and is very configurable. showShow review details
One of the best 5 stars by jayzer May 30, 2007
I've been using SuperAntiSpyware (Free Edition) for a couple years now, and I recommend it to all my friends and relatives. It's found more trojans and malware than a lot of other free spyware software that I have used. It's a great piece of software to use to get rid of those malicious files that other antispyware programs fail to recognize such as Adaware, Spyware Terminator, and Spybot. Hands up, five stars! showShow review details
Adequate 3 stars by padre44 Apr 09, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Nice program, but too limited in free version. I'll continue to use another one as it has real-time protection and you can schedule scans. showShow review details
Very good 4 stars by Marina Apr 09, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I use the free edition, I have noticed alot of the online tech forums ask for a scan with this now. It found several spys that none of the other well known names found for me. I have found the updates seem a bit haphazard, but the tech support even if you are on the free edition are very quick to answer and helpful. showShow review details
This program is nice 4 stars by sweden Apr 08, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Try it! The minus is maybe that the program take more memory then others program in this category. Sorry my English...But the program is nice! showShow review details
Excellent and free 4 stars by Stev50 Apr 04, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have just used SUPERAntispyware for the first time straight after scanning with Spybot and Ad-Aware and it found 11 items that the other 2 didnt what more can I say it works well and its free no complaints here. showShow review details
I trust this one.. 5 stars by alocrius Mar 14, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
There don't seem to be many powerful free anti-spyware tools that are trustworthy. I ran this program in safe mode on a friends computer who had gotten online without protection. His computer was hijacked by all kinds of stuff and would freeze up completely after startup. SAS found 40+ trojans, etc., and fixed them all. Computer cured. Essential Software Award from this user. showShow review details
A must have! 5 stars by GBudNY Jan 19, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I was infected by the Antiverminser virus/trojan and this is the only software that got rid of it! HIGHLY recommended to have on your system. showShow review details
Superb does the job! 5 stars by Justine Jan 05, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I bought an antivirus/spyware program, which would not install on my computer. My computer had so much malware and spyware that no other programs would install and/or work properly. It removed all of the spyware that I had on the computer. I know this for sure because I did a free scan with norton and compared with the printed list I had. SUUPERAntiSpyware does what it says it is going to do it is able to identify all spyware, malware, adware including trojans, worms and other parasites. The interesting thing is that alot of the adware/spyware came from a big company's updates! Which tells me that this same company is still vulnerable to the many spywares out there. This free program is easy to use and download. Does not take up much space, repairs files and it removes the unimportant files and quarantines the possibly important files. It is worth the download and the donation if you can afford it, to keep the free edition free. showShow review details
Superantispyware--superawesome 5 stars by Danney Dec 28, 2006
Just a quick note I am running windows XP and I managed to pick up a nasty AntiVermin virus. It was a pain to get rid of. G4Tech Tv's Leo and the gang mentioned this site. Awesome by the way, and I tried this product. Norton's didn't work, avast let me down, AntiVir Guard was a joke. Baby it's all about SuperAntiSpyware!! Well done and thanks for the review. showShow review details
Excellent tool !!! 5 stars by G_I_H_A_N Dec 25, 2006
I have used many spy removal tools. most of them did not offer what SuperAntiSpyware did. some popular tools i used consumed lot of system resources. this tool is so lightweight and so efficient. I love it and i recommend it to all those who owns a low end PC that connects to the internet and for those students who browse the internet to search articles and research topics. showShow review details
Annoying 3 stars by darkocean Dec 01, 2006 (Read all my 31 reviews)
It works fine I guess, and is easy to use, and not a memory hog. Every time you turn on your computer a little taskbar pop up will show up. That's annoying as hell and no way to turn that off! And very hard to get if fully out of your computer using the add remove wont get it all the way out, you have to use the search for files/folders to get it out all the way. Fix this please! showShow review details
Thumbs up! 5 stars by vwm8534 Dec 01, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is a very good spyware removal tool. It has found things that were not detected by Ad-aware or Spybot, both of which are very good programs. For all the negative reviewers, it's free. If you want all the extras, try forking over a little cash. Try writing a program like this and maintaining it and see how you feel about the time it takes. If you are looking for added protection, you can't go wrong with Super Anti-Spyware. showShow review details
Bottom line: the best 5 stars by Kailef Nov 25, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
As a professional IT consultant, I have tried a plethora of freeware and commercial antispyware products. The bottom line is, I haven't found any products that can remove spyware and malware as effectively as SuperAntiSpyware. Now then, that's not to say that it's completely foolproof, and certainly the free version's lack of active protection is a disadvantage, but - Who cares. It does a fantastic job. Personally, I advise purchasing the Pro version if you are dealing with regular re-infections. Apparently the company is working on a centrally-managed network version, which has me quite excited. I'm not sure if the majority of SnapFiles users would be interested in that sort of thing, but the idea of being able to deploy SuperAntiSpyware across an entire active directory network and manage it from a single location is just what I've been waiting for. showShow review details
An excellent anti-spyware program 5 stars by limana Nov 12, 2006
Among others, SUPERAntiSpyware found an infected file deep in my Windows system called IPV6Mons, a trojan downloader. None of my other programs had detected it. The interesting part about IPV6Mons.dll is that a file of the same name is also used by Windows itself, just with a different content and in a different location. That is why the other programs hadn showShow review details
Very thorough scans 4 stars by TerryP Nov 11, 2006 (Read all my 80 reviews)
Impressive user-friendly interface and easy scanning setup. Real-time protection is not enabled in the free version. showShow review details
A nice product 4 stars by Toscana Nov 03, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
A nice product, especially being free. However, any program should have its own uninstall module. It is not a good thing to rely on Windows' add/remove programs. Not all the users in a domain always have suitable privileges for removing even when installing can be done. Freeware and free trials are often used to test alternative programs. The uninstall option must be readily available in a program. [Editor: This program does provide the standard uninstall options from Add/Remove programs] showShow review details
Give this a try. 4 stars by jbseventyone Sep 23, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I'm already protected from spyware in most cases but I am going to keep SUPERAntiSpyware to help get rid of those stubborn spywares that are hard to remove. The other day, I knowingly downloaded spyware to see how well Spybot and Ad-aware could remove it. To my surprise, they both weren't able to completely remove it, and I had to run a complete scan using A-Squared to finally get rid of it entirely. That is why I am looking for alternatives. SuperAntiSpware is easy to use, and can remove more than just spyware, and I don't mind lengthy thorough scans if it will get the job done. Thanks to the author of this program. showShow review details
Very good program 5 stars by Anomyous Aug 09, 2006 (Read all my 6 reviews)
SUPERAntiSpyware is a very nice program that is easy to use. It offers a Homepage protector, which protects your IE homepage from browser hijackers (even though I use Firefox). When spyware tried changing my IE homepage, it let me know and allowed me to stop the change. It also is very good at detecting spyware that no other anti-spyware program detected. Now I feel safer using my computer thanks to this program. showShow review details
Updates take forever and crashes 4 stars by freebieking Jul 25, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
The updates take forever and then the program crashes thus making other programs crash. Description says it lacks real time protection so why does it install in the system tray and take forever to update when you boot up the pc? If this software would be a true stand alone program to compliment other spyware programs I might install it later. showShow review details
Slow scanning 3 stars by alnjk01 May 07, 2006 (Read all my 124 reviews)
The application has a medium footprint and doesn't take up many system resources. It has a pretty straightforward interface which is easy to navigate. However its scanning capabilities are the slowest that I have yet to encounter as compared to a dozen or so other anti-spyware and anti-trojan programs I have used! showShow review details
Not impressed 1 stars by Gnosis4Sophia May 04, 2006
I was disappointed when I used this program, as most of the features offered in it you couldn't use unless you bought the pro version. I don't understand why the option was there if it you couldn't use it. If it's a freeware program, it should only have the things on it I can use. I understand that they want to make money of course, but why not put something on the side of the front page all the things you could get with the pro version instead of wasting everybody's time with things they can't use? I have been using Snapfiles/Webattack for years, and this is the only freeware program I have encountered here that was so disappointing in function as to be useless. showShow review details
The software developer responded to this review on May 04, 2006: You have incorrectly stated the facts. MOST of the features, including the scanning, removal, quarantining, repairs, updating are FULLY FUNCTIONAL. The only restrictions are the real-time, scheduling and auto-updating. The download clearly states on the SnapFiles.com site "The free version lacks real-time blocking and protection as well as several other advanced options." Ad-Aware by Lavasoft free version also features options that when clicked show a screen to indicate the feature is not available. SUPERAntiSpyware is a high quality software package for free - certainly I would hope users would appreciate that - it takes thousands of man hours to create and maintain this type of software.
Quality cleaner 4 stars by FrankS Apr 23, 2006
This cleaner took out over 200 pieces of spyware on my laptop. Increased the laptops speed. Speeded up shut down to less than 10 seconds. TRY IT! showShow review details
The best program 2006 ! 5 stars by Skepper Apr 15, 2006
I very happy to use it. it`s free, and detect the most spyware showShow review details
Very good and easy to use ! 5 stars by Anabel-lee Apr 14, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I like this product. The only thing I miss in it is that I can't schedule it automatically for scanning ! I do hope the developers will add this possibility A.S.A.P. [Editor: This functionality is available in the Pro (pay) version.] showShow review details
Not bad, great if you're willing to pay. 4 stars by HugoUmbongo Apr 13, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I installed this and was rather disappointed. It's a great anti-spyware app but as pretty much all the scheduling options are disabled on the free version, it makes it no better than a lot of other similar freeware available. A real shame as it looks like a great bit of kit if you're prepared to pay. showShow review details
Good program 4 stars by skully68 Apr 05, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This software works really well downloads about 4mb installs 6.5mb. Downloaded on win 98 se. does not take alot of memory usage. If your looking for good antispyware i think this works well. No realtime blocking. which i dont like anyway since that usually slows your computer down. Did not put on my xp sp2 yet will try that at another date. this is worth a spin.. showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download SUPERAntiSpyware Free

Check out these featured downloads...

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

PhoXo

PhoXo image editing and effects

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

Sumatra PDF

Sumatra PDF portable PDF viewer

Emsisoft Emergency Kit

Emsisoft Emergency Kit portable malware removal kit