icon

IcoFX user reviews

5 stars35% 5
4 stars50% 7
3 stars7% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star7% 1
Based on 14 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 14 user reviews Post your own review

What happened? It used to be free... 1 stars by wildgoosespeeder Dec 30, 2011 (Read all my 52 reviews)
This is my outdated review: I used to use something else but it wasn't very feature rich. I was looking for something way more advanced that can do 48x48 as well as 32x32 and 16x16 without paying for it. IcoFX does it for me. All features that were present in what I was using before are present in IcoFX. I wouldn't use any other icon maker. - 5 Stars This is my updated review: What happened to you IcoFX? What made you so awesome was that you could do all sorts of amazing things for free. Now you want me to pay 59?! You just lost a fan. - 1 Star showShow review details
A very good and useful freeware 5 stars by jtania73 Mar 28, 2010 (Read all my 8 reviews)
There are not so things to say about this program. It perfectly does its work, it has all the features you need to create or modify icons, it is lightweight, fast and stable. I'm happy to know that it is still possible to find such well-made freeware applications. showShow review details
Iconnot believe it's free 4 stars by gimpguy Sep 12, 2008 (Read all my 1158 reviews)
Hey, for a free app, this is awesome. I thought, oh boy, another generic editor but was surprised! I still make my icons in Gimp but use this for other touch ups, it really adds a lot for help in icon creating, or for some, it IS the icon creator of choice. Either way, you can't lose by keeping this. It's simple enough to use, takes some reading, some getting used to features, but all in all I felt it was straight forward. Great work on this one! showShow review details
Makes very nice icons 4 stars by hotdoge3 Feb 11, 2008 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Makes best looking icons for Vista. I tried it on XP and it works well, only thing is that not so good is that the size is fix to 16x16: Displayed on the task bar, lists and headers showShow review details
Easiest of the bunch. 4 stars by alnjk01 Aug 26, 2007 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Small to medium footprint,stable and virtually no system resource usage. Out of all the icon applications this one I found to be the easiest to use thanks to the very good help file. showShow review details
Awesome 4 stars by thanhdang Aug 14, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Great little program. Can do pretty much anything you need it to. showShow review details
Excellent freeware 5 stars by D_Spider Aug 07, 2007 (Read all my 19 reviews)
If there were a rating for features-per-megabyte, this little icon editor would have a very high one. It can do batch processing. You can make your own filters (the settings for the built-in filters are accessible as models, so all that's required is patience). By reading the Help File, you can figure out how to use selections to achieve what's normally accomplished by using layers. Its resizing algorithm is good. IcoFX works fine with 32-bit color depth. If you want maximum functionality, use your big image editor's sophisticated features, save as a 32-bit PNG, open that with IcoFX and make an ICO with several images inside it (even Photoshop needs its icon-plugin). Or just use IcoFX until you *know* what additional features you want in an icon editor. They're unlikely to be free, and in the meantime you've made your own icons and transformed others and had fun. That's a great deal. showShow review details
Hats off to this little program! 5 stars by Lawless Jun 20, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I still can't believe this program is free. It works just as good as my paintshop program. Great looking interface and a lot of features. Excellent! showShow review details
One of the best freeware icon editors 4 stars by SmileyGuy Feb 13, 2007 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Definitely is one of the top three freeware icon editors. On par with Snico editor, etc. Compiles icons that look very good on my XP system and no visible difference between those created in the GIMP. While I understand what comicfan is saying in their review. Really from that perspective there isn't a freeware or payware icon editor that does the same as a full blown graphics program. showShow review details
Ico fx is ok at best 3 stars by comicfan Feb 05, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This is a great program for older OS icons, and can't beat the price. However, it simply doesn't deliver what an icon maker should but considering the price yet again, this may be why. I use Gimp to make my icons and they look as good or better than Windows icons in some cases, depending how well I do. Gimp will turn into ICO and supports many formats, resizing, etc..get used to that and no need to use any icon maker. showShow review details
Fantastic! 5 stars by _plino_ Jan 29, 2007
This is the best freeware icon editor I have used. It has a top notch, intuitive interface similar to professional image editors (e.g. PaintShop Pro). It supports XP 32bit icons (24bit colour plus Alpha Channel) with perfect conversion from PNGs. Fantastic! Congratulations to the author(s) and thank you for licensing it as freeware. showShow review details
Simple, effective 5 stars by luegosieso Jun 02, 2006
Extremely useful to use from scratch. Highly recommendable (at least for beginners like me) showShow review details
Very good. 4 stars by Geejay Mar 27, 2006 (Read all my 13 reviews)
A very nice application. Although there doesn't seem to be a file overwrite dialog warning. Other than that, so far, this software is a keeper! Thank you. showShow review details
Nice program 4 stars by KennethLF Mar 26, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is a nice program and easy to use.The only thing I see that was confusing was the erase didn't function as expected.Also if the primary color is transparent, you can't select a new color without clicking the black box first.Text positioning is difficult,but can be managed. All in all its great and I would recommend it to anyone. showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download IcoFX

Check out these featured downloads...

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Everything

Everything desktop search engine

GlassWire

GlassWire network security monitor

Classic Shell

Classic Shell restore several classic Windows features