CubicExplorer

CubicExplorer User Reviews



5 stars46% 6
4 stars46% 6
3 stars7% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 13 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 13 user reviews
Post your own review

Best i have used, and still do 4 stars by bawldiggle Jun 23, 2016 (Read all my 6 reviews)
A shame this app is no longer developed. I still use it with its rare bugs that I am used to. PROS: very customizable, inc. all toolbars (except MenuBar). GUI can be customized to any layout, very versatile (default is 4 panes). I am using Navigation pane + tabbed files pane, on a small monitor-laptop w. Chrome skin. Portable: automatically remembers last session, particularly handy if I forget to connect USB-storage. Bookmarks: provide instant access to any folderfiledrives (incl. USB-storage) + custom-folders in bookmarks + bookmarks can be renamed + rearranged by dragging. Settings: table style, very well designed and easily accessible. Simplifies comparing multiple-folder contents and copying-moving between folders or drives. Customizable (local) hot keys (brilliant). Add new folder or file hotkeys. Very simple drive navigation. Suit users of all ages. CONS:- Deleted folders and related files-tab remain visible (a bug) CE does not refresh itself up the folder tree. Renamed or new folders show false-positive alert (bug). "Version Manager" is no longer relevant, developer web-site is gone (not a deal stopper). Renaming drives results in a false-positive alertwarning (bug). "Show all foldersfiles" feature does not show system-files. Still requires WinExp. Forum is gone. Don't give up on CE, once settings are mastered this is a v. smooth experience. show Review details
The best multi-tabbed file explorer 5 stars by xp565 Aug 13, 2014
I use it on all my desktops, old versions were a little buggy, but not now. Just one regret : I'd like to have more than one line for the tabs ! show Review details
Best file manager out there but... 4 stars by smoozdog Nov 03, 2010 (Read all my 14 reviews)
... it's a little buggy still. Intermittent (recoverable) freeze-ups for me on both XP-pro and Win7 machines. Hope they can get the bugs worked out because I simply love the layout of this manager! show Review details
Great alternative to Windows Explorer 5 stars by Tantalus Jun 22, 2010 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I've been using CubicExplorer for a few years and it show Review details
Well executed alternative 5 stars by DataRat Apr 27, 2010 (Read all my 15 reviews)
Besides being one of the best looking Window Explorer (WE) replacements/alternatives, CubicExplorer has all the bases covered for functionality. show Review details
Nice windows explorer alternative!! 5 stars by marie9999 Jun 27, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is exactly what I have been looking for. One issue is my Windows Explorer keeps reverting back to the default, I prefer the list detail, not the icon view, also I like to have certain non-default file properties showing which I constantly have to keep resetting get them back in the view pane. Not sure if it is an XP issue or if the remote updates they do at work keep 'fixing' it back to the default, but I don't have to deal with it anymore! This has a very nice look and the features I need - I can open multiple tabs which is a great help, I am constantly having to open multiple Windows Explorer instances, also now I can bookmark the directories that I frequently navigate to. All in all a job well done. show Review details
There are far better ones - and free, too. 3 stars by gbjennings Jul 30, 2007 (Read all my 21 reviews)
This Windows Explorer replacement may develop into a nice little app one day, but it's not there yet. It's missing a ton of options that may be found in other WE replacements, too numerous to mention here. My advice - keep looking, at least for now. show Review details
So long powerdesk 5 stars by jextuens Mar 02, 2006 (Read all my 38 reviews)
It took me only a week to uninstall powerdesk after 3 years of use and switch to CubicExplorer.. what more is there to say? show Review details
Quite simply an excellent file manager!! 4 stars by Steinsk Feb 13, 2006
(Based on 0.75) This software is just great! Ok, maybe (yet!) it's not the NUMBER of features that sets it apart from WE, but it's simplicity. The use of tabbed windows and bookmarks make it so, so much easier to use than WE. You will be able to do your every day work - copying, moving, managing and files - so much faster and easier, and the Bookmarks makes it quick and easy to get to your favourite folders and files. Add to this that it is extremely simple to learn and has a beautiful and very intuitive interface. I have tried other file managers out there, but unless you want some advanced functions, this is clearly the best. And what is not there might come soon; the forum is excellent, and you are able to see the progress - requests are handled very fast, and new features are soon to come, including a QuickView function. The only reason why I don't give an overall 5 stars is because its still so new. 3 stars are far too low! Absolutely one of my favourite programs! show Review details
2 thumbs up 4 stars by Pipeman120 Feb 11, 2006
Although still in its infancy CubicExplorer is already a full function manager. Its tabbed folders and bookmark features set it apart from the rest. One of the best features is the Clean and Elegant look it has without the bloat sometimes found in other apps. It has already replaced WE as my manager of choice. The author also has frequent updates so it just keeps getting better. Best of all its freeware WITHOUT ads or spyware. Give it a try, I dont think you will be disappointed. show Review details
Multipurpose 5 stars by pcs800 Feb 10, 2006 (Read all my 222 reviews)
I personally think this app should have had a rating of excellent from snapfiles, but whatever. It is not only a replacement for windows explorer, BUT, it has an integrated notepad type of thing, tabbed windows, and my favorite part of it is that I can set bookmarks. I build web sites, so I have a bookmark called "webs", which, when clicked, shows me all my web folders. Kinda like creating a shortcut to the webs folder on your desktop, but without the clutter. all in all, this is a cool app and deserving of the DL. show Review details
Simple but smart. 4 stars by DanceArt Feb 10, 2006
After testing almost all freeware and several shareware file managers, I ended up with CubicExplorer, and I like it. True, it doesn't have a lot of "extras", but it has some features which make life a lot easier. Especially the layout, buttons for copy, paste, delete, right on top of the file-tree, work very fast and well. The fact that it has "thumbnail view" actually puts it in a category shared with only a few other freeware file managers. show Review details
Good alternative to explorer 4 stars by CharlieOrlando Feb 09, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Cubic Explorer is a good alternative to Windows Explorer. Actually, it's superior to Explorer in a number of ways. First, you can actually navigate your disks via tabs. Second, you can create permanent bookmarks to your favorite folders on your drives, something that really speeds up file navigation big-time. On top of all of that, Cubic Explorer contain all of Explorer's most important functions and feature -- all in a very good-looking interface. The only problem that I had with Cubic Explorer involves navigating on a LAN. Cubic Explorer would occasionally come to a grinding halt and freeze when trying to navigate LAN directories. Still, if you don't need to navigate a LAN, Cubic Explorer is a faster, more efficient, and less resource-hungry way to navigate your local disks than is Explorer. It's well worth a try! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook