Unlocker User Reviews

5 stars80% 20
4 stars12% 3
3 stars8% 2
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 25 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 25 user reviews
Post your own review

Excllent software...but 4 stars by rjsl55362 Mar 08, 2013 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I've been using Unlocker for years now and it's been one of the best out there. I definitely would recommend this to anyone for a no headache software. The only thing is that it needs to be updated because recently it hasn't been responding properly on some files or programs. show Review details
Very good 4 stars by gimpguy Aug 17, 2012 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I'm getting lazy in my old age, typically I find my own means to unlock files or folders and do away with them the same but I have to admit, this is much faster, works well. Needs a delete to recycle bin option for mistakes, although, if you know what you are unlocking, you should know the risks as well. Either way, it works, it's free, nice one. show Review details
Lost without it 5 stars by CenteredHeart Oct 21, 2010
I would be lost without it. Removes stubborn files quickly and efficiently. Has remove on boot for those files locked in by running programs. show Review details
Good program, but be careful! 3 stars by acacius Sep 13, 2009
I've used Unlocker for quite a while but now realize it can be quite dangerous if used routinely without being very careful. Unlocker will move and delete locked files / folders most of the time when you select the problem items, choose 'move' or 'delete' and press 'unlock all.' However, it is all too easy to mistakenly delete files into unrecoverable oblivion. Unlike the 'move' option, which simply moves the locked file where you want it to go, the 'delete' option does not move the files you want to delete to the recycle bin. Instead, they're deleted permanently with no warning at all. Probably I mistakenly clicked on a folder rather than the empty locked sub-folder I wanted to delete, but I ended up sending all the files in the folder into the ether - something I did not intend. No notice that I was about to delete 40 files - they were just gone forever. BE FOREWARNED! show Review details
A valuable tool 5 stars by Henry8 Jan 30, 2009 (Read all my 37 reviews)
This program is like having a spare key hidden somewhere, for the inevitable day you forget your prime key on the wrong side of the door. My use for this helper has been, when I can't install a new version of some software, because there's an old file in the way - and it can't be deleted. Unlocker has always helped me out. Big deeds are sometimes done by small programs. show Review details
More power than it seems! 5 stars by pepoluan Nov 28, 2008 (Read all my 23 reviews)
I rarely have to delete a locked file, and I've known for a long time about this utility. But "Unlocker" really saved my ass when I happened upon some undeletable files... they're not locked, but their file names (i.e., ending with a period) prevent me from deleting them... from the Explorer, from CMD, even from a VBS script... I was ready to tear my hairs out when I tried Unlocker... as it detected a "Deletion Failure" it went to work, saying that it doesn't find any locking process, but offered to delete the file anyway... I approve... lo and behold! The file is deleted! Highly recommended to anyone trying to save their sanity when they happen upon undeletable files, whether locked and/or having strange undeletable names. show Review details
This is it! 5 stars by MightyToad Jun 01, 2008
This is one of those files that you have needed for a long time and didn't know it! For years I have had files lock and could not remove the lock so that I could do something simple like rename it, or delete it, or move it. It is annoying when you are managing files and can not manage them. Unlocker does exactly what it says -- when a file is locked it pops up with the info and asks if you want to unlock it. You say yes and presto! A must for anyone that manages large numbers of files. show Review details
A dandy! 5 stars by brothergabriel Apr 01, 2008 (Read all my 18 reviews)
This is a must-have! It hides most of the time, you can turn it on and off if you like, or just set it to work whenever you want to unlock something. The icon shows in the system tray. It does *just what it is supposed to do*. Wonderful! show Review details
Best i found - but... 5 stars by BengalTigger Mar 06, 2008 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This is the one with the slickest interface, and easiest to use controls. Unfortunately for me, it couldn't find the process that was locking the file, but none of the utilities I tried could find it. It was also unable to delete the file without a reboot (same with other utilities). It would be nice if one of these tools would go the extra mile to give *any* available information possible as to what could be locking a file, because it is a reoccurring problem for me. show Review details
Missing windows feature 5 stars by HZetzer Feb 22, 2008 (Read all my 23 reviews)
This tool is a must for any hard core Window user. It not only lets you free the lock but what process is locking the file which can be killed as well. show Review details
Only unlocks files 3 stars by KingSky Sep 24, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Does not unlock folders. If you have a 2 level set of folders /test/test/file.txt and file.txt is locked, and you try to delete the top level folder 'test', you can't, it says it is locked. Obviously (or so it should seem) you try to unlock the folder and it doesn't work. You still can't delete. Confusing. show Review details
If you do virus removal. u need this freeware 5 stars by Karmaxs3 Sep 24, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is a must!!! This gets rid of difficult software that protects itself by locking into your system. IT also helps remove stuborn .dll files that wont come off. I dont recommend leaving it installed if other people use the same comp. Especially kids. Although very useful it can harm your comp if you unlock and delete something your not supposed to delete. Do research before you delete. show Review details
Finaly a freeware usb unlocker! [also] 5 stars by SERGITO Sep 03, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Finally I found a freeware able to unlock USB devices like flash memory, USB hard drives, etc... The description of this freeware do not mention that it works very fine to unlock USB devices. Great job, no more dealing with the complicated "Process Explorer for Windows v10.21" to do that job. show Review details
This is great! 5 stars by TracyEckels Mar 31, 2007
It's one of those programs you didn't know you needed, until you found it. Then the next thing you know, (THIS IS GREAT!) Now you can delete those files and folders left behind when you uninstall something, because they were locked by an active process. Unlocker will unlock the files and delete them for you, letting you clean your disk like you've been trying to. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by Harlan Mar 24, 2007 (Read all my 56 reviews)
Stays out of the way, pops up when it thinks you need help, works perfectly whenever called on. Small and reliable. It couldn't be better. show Review details
Just the job 4 stars by Clancolin Feb 16, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is one of those programs you run across, use on an occasional basis to fix a problem, but can never remember where the program came from. I didn't realize these was a much newer version than the one I was using, because the program did exactly what I wanted it to do and there was no need to hunt for anything else. Recommended. show Review details
Works! 5 stars by Coldsteel Feb 13, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Used it, been using it and its been a ton of help! I love it! show Review details
A power user necessity 5 stars by mattware Sep 17, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Works like a charm. Gives you a choice of adding it to the "Send To" menu so your right click menu doesn't get cluttered. A newer version is available on their site that allows simultaneous multiple file unlocks. Also - a note to the user that says it tries to connect with a remote server/phone home: You can avoid that by deselecting "check for updates" on the install screen. show Review details
Unlocker is the perfect unlocker 5 stars by GIORGOS Jul 09, 2006 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I like Unlocker very much, because its easy to use (specially with tray manager running) and effective in almost any case. I like the choices that give you (for deleting or moving etc.). An finally in rare case that it fails to unlock the problematic file, you give you the option for auto-delete after restart without further action from you. With this, you can forget the annoying log off and back on, just for delete a useless file. I think you must give it a try. Best Regards! Giorgos. :-) show Review details
It's definitely the best. 5 stars by Nikita May 22, 2006 (Read all my 9 reviews)
Utterly indispensable for those who often delete files or folders. I'm one of those and I had tried several other apps before found this little tool. It's definitely the best. Now I don't need to reboot to delete a stubborn file or folder. And everything is under your control: before making a decision to delete a file you can see what's locking it. show Review details
Unlocker 1.79 - best yet! 5 stars by LionBill Feb 11, 2006 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Unlocking or releasing files so that they can be deleted or moved has in the past been a real pain. I have tried many that promise results, and had been using GiPo@MoveOnBoot which very often after a restart the offender was still locked. Then, along came "Unlocker" and for me...problem solved! show Review details
You got to have it! 5 stars by samloke Feb 09, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This program really works, I got some files lock within my server and PC for years and this program get rid of it as easy as 1.2.3 The program just perform very simple task as "delete,remove and rename". show Review details
Great program but... 5 stars by ralexpdx Feb 07, 2006
My firewall always reports unlocker trying to call home every time I unlock something. Personally I don't think this is appropriate, but since my firewall blocks it (which slows unlocker down) I don't worry too much about it. Absolutely essential to have this program however... show Review details
Works perfect on xp 5 stars by -=Waldo=- Feb 05, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have tried some unlocking programs. But this one is by far the best and easiest to use... show Review details
This is awesome 5 stars by pcs800 Jan 30, 2006 (Read all my 222 reviews)
I had a bunch of files on a server that were locked and would not delete, they had been that way for months. i never really looked into it very far and just left them. This app showed me what was locking the files, and i was able to delete them, What a cool tool! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


CintaNotes take and manage notes

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders