TrueCrypt User Reviews

5 stars86% 32
4 stars5% 2
3 stars2% 1
2 stars5% 2
1 star0% 0
Based on 37 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 37 user reviews
Post your own review

Best secure file or virtual disk available 5 stars by JohnTesla Jan 11, 2011 (Read all my 6 reviews)
As far as I can tell, True Crypt is so good it seems to have knocked other competing commercial software off the map. I use this every day to encrypt and protect sensitive data like my passwords and other sensitive information, including large files of sensitive tax data. It offers the user a lot of options for setting up their virtual secure "drive", including the ability to make the drive of nearly any imaginable size, and this program is essential for taking a lot of sensitive files when I travel. True Crypt allows me to keep identical copies of the same secure encrypted drive (as one single file) on my hard drive and also copy that to my USB drives or other storage devices. While there are other programs that are dedicated to login password management, for general secure, encrypted file and secure virtual drive software, I can't imagine anything better. I will say that it does require some user knowledge, so unfortunately like most really powerful software, you can't give this to grandma and expect her to be an expert. However, I have set this up for other people, and once set up, they use it quite easily securely for years. show Review details
An essential program for laptops 5 stars by Xristosnika Jan 07, 2011 (Read all my 2 reviews)
My hard drive is partitioned and the partition is entirely encrypted with TrueCrypt. When I log on, a menu comes up and I type in the password and all of my personal files are available on a separate drive. When I log off, they are automatically encrypted. Easy and secure. Recommended! show Review details
Great features, some you may never guess! 5 stars by firefish5000 Dec 27, 2010
Review from Win XP/Vista/7 user, I don't know if its different for Linux so I'll let you decide. Not only can it encrypt files on your computer, but you can also download it to a flash drive and other types of removable media. Though it may not work if you install it from Win 7 to the flash drive and then try to use it on an XP, I know it definitely works the other way around. (It should work both ways, I believe the only feature that is only going to work on your machine is the association of .tc files with true crypt, which is optional) show Review details
It rocks! 5 stars by rocknman Oct 23, 2010 (Read all my 3 reviews)
The best you'll ever use. If you're not very computer savvy, then I can understand why this product may seem difficult. However, the learning curve on this program is not that difficult. To me, it's awesome! show Review details
Had to uninstall truecrypt. system problems. 3 stars by Dead_Phish May 30, 2010
TrueCrypt appears to be an awesome program. I have used Cryptainer on other computers (WIN98 and W7) but decided to go with TrueCrypt with my Vista Laptop. Install and initial usage appeared fine, but very quickly noticed what appeared to be unrelated problems in other areas of Laptop s/w. Windows Media Player would not launch and the browsers (IE and FF) quickly "lost" the Checkout link at a website where I was trying to place an order. In addition, explorer and some other functions were not working properly. Performed a System Restore to bring S/W to the state present right before the TrueCrypt install. Thanks TrueCrypt for the easy creation of the Restore Point. Now WMP launches every time and the same website where I had problems before retains the Checkout link thru multiple selections. Nothing else was loaded into the laptop between the TrueCrypt install (with System Restore Point creation) and resulting System Restore that "cleaned-up" the S/W. show Review details
Works perfectly, no hassle 5 stars by allcazar Oct 11, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I use Truecrypt on two 1Tb usb-drives in order to keep a backup for all my files. One stays with me, one backup is left in another place, in the hands of a friend. I don't have to worry about someone reading the content, f.i. if it would be stolen. I can use my regular backup-software (Dsynchronize, also free) on the encrypted disks. On my network drive (NAS) I have created a safe container that mounts as a drive in order to keep my kids away from personal sensitive date (bank accounts and so on). To end with: all my professional data is kept separately on a encrypted 320Gb mini-usb-drive, perfectly save to take with me in the car, in the buro, on a day-to-day basis. If stolen, it would be a small disaster, but not a big issue. Until now, this software works great, I encountered no errors whatever. show Review details
Pearl among encryption software 5 stars by johnbull99 Sep 04, 2009
I have been using TrueCrypt for several years. I remember the first day when I created encrypted drive and placed there my sensitive documents and never had problems with TrueCrypt. I keep also my pictures on such encrypted drive and connect it when required. Thus my holiday collections are not exposed to jpg eaters. This software is also perfect for DVD archives (both 4.7 and 8.5 GB). With DVD UDF I can burn a DVD with only one big *.tc file where I copy documents for backup. show Review details
This program is awesome! 5 stars by TheLiver Aug 06, 2009
Ive encountered quite a few encrypting programs.. but TrueCrypt is the best so far... It is way easy to use. it is free. and it encrypts your files very well as long as you don't forget to dismount the Container. But if you're one of the people that logs off after every use... then this program is perfect. Its soooo cool. I recommend it very much!!! show Review details
I've tried `em all..this is the one you 5 stars by flynorth May 14, 2009
I set a restore point on my PC, downloaded and tried most of the freeware encryption programs on Snapfile. For me, this was the only one worth keeping. If you only want to encrypt a few files or folders - then there are other programs that are easier to use. But if you want to encrypt 100's of files/folders and secure your entire USB drive. This is the program you need. It's actually much easier to use than the impression you get from the program's webpage. Its very easy to use. Download it. Install it. Then follow the simple tutorial - follow its recommendations and leave everything set to the defaults. It will run in the system tray on startup and allow you to drag and drop files/folders in and out of your USB drive without even knowing its running. Then if you ever loose your USB drive and someone picks it up, all your files are secure. And a big plus for me, I can still use Microsoft Briefcase with this product to sync files between my USB drive and my desktop. show Review details
Best encryption/hide software out there! 5 stars by Tripod Jul 07, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Look, I've been around computers since the first PC's came out at $3,000+ (with all of 4MB of RAM). I've been looking high and low for a nice piece of software to hide some of my files from prying eyes. I've tried an untold number of programs and after they either did not work or ran rough, I finally came across TrueCrypt. First of all TrueCrypt works flawlessly with Vista - while a lot of the others simply don't. The concept is beautifully simple (you can access your hidden files via a new drive) and everything is password-protected for 100% piece of mind. I would pay $25+ for this artfully crafted software but it's FREE - what's not to like?! I'd be willing to pay $25+ for this software And kudos to SnapFiles for doing such a great job organizing and evaluating all this software for us so we don't have to waste time trying and testing and trying again! show Review details
Great encryption program 5 stars by RustyShackleford Mar 22, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
As with all completely secure programs, you must learn a little about them to make them work properly. If you are concerned about security this is for you. If not, or you don't want to read a little about encryption then just hide the file. show Review details
Great features, help files could be clearer 4 stars by ianmacm Mar 03, 2008 (Read all my 174 reviews)
The main advantages of TrueCrypt are a) it is completely freeware, and b) it allows the creation of encrypted volumes of unlimited size, whereas most freeware versions are limited in order to get you to pay for the registered version. The overall style of TrueCrypt tends to assume that you are reasonably fluent with computers, and the online help files may daunt some beginners. One small point is that although the encrypted volumes showed up in "Computer", they did not show up in the "Send To" menu. show Review details
Protect my personal information 5 stars by Jeronimo479 Sep 25, 2007
I got "the letter" from a company I used to work for. Some dummy in HR took her company laptop home with her and had it stolen in the K-Mart shopping center. They notified me that ALL my personal data was stored on that machine IN THE CLEAR and now I was highly exposed to ID theft. They mentioned that they would pay for one year of credit bureau monitoring. Yippie. I wrote back and asked them why, with TrueCrypt available to all, were they so stupid? I told them in a two paragraphs what They Should have been doing all along. TrueCrypt is easy. Create a file (called a volume). Give it as password. Mount it as a letter drive (in windows). Use it just like a network folder. How hard is that? People that said it was hard don't understand how important security is. show Review details
Fantastic product 5 stars by mjj2u2 Aug 22, 2007
This is a truly an extraordinary product. A shining example of what open source can be when everything goes right! This product is so secure it takes a bit of aptitude to know how to use it. This is good too because anyone who doesn show Review details
Requires to much instructional reading! 2 stars by melinda0nline Aug 07, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
This programs was easy to install, however, required too much reading! 'The Wizard' is not easy to understand and requires you to learn and read pages of instructions. I was able to figure out how to encrypt, but was not able to figure out how to disable it, or open the file I created. You have to read through their websites instructions. I don't know about you, but if I have to read through pages of instructions, I lose interest. Ease of Use: -5 Stars. Unless you have the time and energy to learn the software, read help files, I do not recommend. If your going to create a "Wizard" for your software, make it easier to use and understand. Not everyone knows what you mean, when you name key/button. I was excited about the software when I read all the positive comments. My experience was disappointing. :( show Review details
This is an excellent product. 5 stars by zounglas Jun 20, 2007
I am amazed of what this program can do! An A+++ for the developers. Thank you. show Review details
Excellent!! 5 stars by ice517 Jun 10, 2007
I come from China. I use TrueCrypt to encrypt my sensitive data. Due to its high encryption level and open-source, I lose interest in many other encryption programs. Now I have been using it for nearly a year, and it works very well. No data are damaged when using TC. TC has become a strong lock on my computer. show Review details
You can't beat it with a stick 5 stars by mikemac4344 Jun 07, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
You need to walk through the tutorial to be confident of how to use the program. Be sure not to create a file on a compressed drive. Awesome power and rock-solid security. Unless you are trying to protect nuclear secrets from the bad guys, most of the default settings are just fine. This is the best there is. show Review details
Just the best 5 stars by sandiegan92111 Feb 28, 2007 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I'll go ahead and be redundant in that this is the best encryption program bar none. Once the encryption volume(file or partition) is set up to the desired size using the TrueCrypt Wizard saving files or folders to it is accomplished in seconds as is decrypting them to the original location. Be careful to read the excellent Help files first as there is a modest learning curve. show Review details
Great bit of software! 5 stars by Shaggy Jan 02, 2007 (Read all my 15 reviews)
I love TrueCrypt. I was previously using Cryptainer LE, which is also really great software, but it has a 25MB limit on encrypted containers. Once I found TrueCrypt I switched permanently. There is no limit to container sizes, and it's a breeze to use. I use TrueCrypt to secure all my client data on my laptop in case, heaven forbid, it should ever get lost or stolen. It's also perfect to secure data on a USB drive. If you are looking for an excellent and free way to secure your data, look no further than TrueCrypt. show Review details
Outstanding! 5 stars by CharlesK Dec 13, 2006 (Read all my 11 reviews)
TrueCrypt is without a doubt the best file encryption software available, beating everything, even software well over $500. I can keep sensitive data and passwords on my computer and even take it with me and have no fear of theft or loss because of the essentially unbreakable encryption design. Plus it's very easy to use and well thought out. It offers features such as dual and triple scheme encryption. In other words, (as an example) your file can use a combination of AES-Twofish-Serpent for extreme protection. Over the years I have probably tried at least 30 different packages for personal and business security. I'll never need to test another one again. Be sure to look over the documentation to see the superior power and flexibility available here. This is something I use every day at both work and home. show Review details
Biggest plus for me, is command line mounting 5 stars by SithTracy Nov 11, 2006 (Read all my 19 reviews)
What can I say, this is excellent software. Keeps things safe and secure in encrypted containers/virtual discs. I do a lot of automation and move things around in shell scripts (batch files)... this thing is cool because you can mount drives in batch. Wonderful utility and a great forum. Worth a donation to the authors. Excellent choice for those that do not need whole disc encryption. 1001+ uses for securing your data on just about any platform (MAC is coming). show Review details
The best encryption software you can get free 5 stars by ShockTroop Sep 29, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
If you buy encryption software, you're wasting your money. TC is better than most commercial products on the market and also more secure. Stop looking for something better. There isn't anything better. show Review details
Useful 5 stars by Apa1957 Aug 22, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Very useful for those who have some files to keep out of other user and easy to use. show Review details
One and the best 5 stars by Nisha_ Aug 06, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Other programs free versions give you only 25 mb volume creation. This gives you UNLIMITED sized. You can define entire hard drive as crypted volume. Very easy to use and works 'purrfect'. Almost feel guilty to use it as FREEware. The one guy who have posted negative remarks about this must be banned from using any freewares. show Review details
Amazing how I missed it 5 stars by cenigma13 Jul 26, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I have been looking for such software to protect my files on USB disk for months, and although i am a regular visitor to snapfiles, i don't how how i missed truecrypt... Absolutely the way i want to secure my files... 3 cheers for truecrypt team :) show Review details
Works beautifully 5 stars by r3solution Jul 06, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Very smooth operation, and the it's actually very easy to use. The interface and options may take some time to figure out for a beginner, but anyone with a decent amount of computer experience will be able to work out what to do without any need for the extensive documentation. I had everything up and running perfectly in less than 5 minutes. Considering this is free, it's certainly the best software of its type I've seen. show Review details
Sweet! 5 stars by JFSturtz May 09, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Very slick piece of software. Works exactly the way I hoped it would. I'm surprised it's free ... show Review details
Need something simple? bad luck buddy 2 stars by NZkiwi Apr 20, 2006 (Read all my 9 reviews)
A good example why geeks should be watched at all times..if you have nothing to do for the next decade check out the 'help' file. show Review details
Truecrypt 5 stars by northwest Mar 11, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
As far as I can make out, to protect data, it must be scrambled, locks which dont, dont work. So there are approx three levels of encryption 1, manually compress files and use a file encrypt program 2, use TrueCrypt or similar 3, use full disk encryption. 1 is too awkward. 3 it takes around a day to fully encrypt hard disk and it would be wise to decrypt before, say, windows reinstall. So that leaves option 2 TrueCrypt (or similar) looking, for the time being, quite attractive. Frankly I wouldn't really bother with truecrypt alternatives, it is a little awkward to get used to but after that it rocks and will be major utility imho show Review details
Shareware features, freeware price 4 stars by EM_745 Feb 20, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Well now, it's nice to see this one finally make it onto the Snapfiles list :). More often than not, truly good on-the-fly encryption programs have been shareware, or feature-limited freeware... Not this one. Great features, small size, stability, security and documentation (!). The main dialog could be better laid-out, but it's not too bad once you get used to it. The one (minor?) drawback is that it won't work on Win9x platforms. show Review details
A big thumbs up! 5 stars by HA_Nut Jan 30, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Glad to see TrueCrypt added here at Snapfiles. TC is just an excellent program. If you need encryption for your personal data (and IMO, we ALL do!) and can use a container type encryption program, this is the one! Very highly recommended! show Review details
Works like a dream! 5 stars by Rens-KL Jan 27, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I am using Truecrypt for a long time now and it's working like a dream! It's fast, stable and very reliable. It's an advantage when you're familiar with the command line parameters. show Review details
It's a great gem of software 5 stars by atreyu Jan 27, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
There are very few programs that really deserve to be well rated. TrueCrypt is one of this sw. If you need to protect your files, try TrueCrypt! It has many functions and is really secure. Best of all it's an open source project hosted on Sourceforge... then it is not a "Light Edition" version, but it's full featured!!! Very good. A special thanks to the authors. show Review details
Keep files from prying eyes 5 stars by interjon Jan 27, 2006
This encryption software is easy to set up. You can set up drives for encryption but you have to reformat to do so. Overall a good product. show Review details
The ultimate crypt solution 5 stars by jean1971 Jan 27, 2006
Is Great and Fast and Free show Review details
Excellent security software 5 stars by NutWrench Jan 26, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Anyone who has used Scramdisk and it's later, commercial version DriveCrypt will love TrueCrypt. You can choose to use either container files or disk partitions to hide your encrypted data. Container files can be named whatever you want (i.e. so you could call the container file ''). In addition to using a password to access your encrypted volume, you can also require the use of a keyfile, which can be any other file on your hard drive. This ensures a huge keylength, making the volume very difficult to crack. This program and AxCrypt (for encoding large numbers of small files) should provide for most of your encryption needs. Check it out. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


CintaNotes take and manage notes

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring