TheSage

TheSage User Reviews



5 stars54% 6
4 stars9% 1
3 stars36% 4
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 11 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 11 user reviews
Post your own review

New version somewhat disappointing 3 stars by LowStrung Jun 05, 2016 (Read all my 13 reviews)
I've been using TheSage for a few years. It's an excellent reference work, but I do not like the new user interface. The program takes a lot longer to start up than previous versions, probably because it now uses the .NET framework. I've usually found .NET apps slow to start up, but with TheSage that's very pronounced. The program has become bloated; not surprising, because aside from the extra drive space taken up by the latest version of .NET, which I had to install to use TheSage, the program files themselves take up twice as much space as those of the old version. Also, the new tree-style side panel menu at the left uses up a lot of horizontal screen real estate, squeezing the definitions into a small pane at the right. Aside from the awkward interface, the rest of the app is still good. The tab-based interface in version 6.2 was better, however, and .NET was not required, so I have reverted to that version. show Review details
Needs streamlining 3 stars by MrJaw69 Jun 13, 2011 (Read all my 34 reviews)
First and foremost, I want to point out that TheSage is a capable dictionary/thesaurus. But I feel like the developers have made the software a too big for its purpose. There's a noticeable lag when invoking TheSage, and then more lag as it looks for the word I've typed. I've never encountered such delays with other offline dictionaries. The software is configurable to the point that almost everything has options. While some people might like this, I found page after page of customization options to be more bloat than blessing. Some aspects of TheSage that are just quirky. For instance, when looking up a word, information (such as synonyms) can be shown redundantly in the same window. I'm looking for dictionary software that will let me quickly find the definition I want, and then get out of the way. For me, TheSage ain't it. show Review details
Excellent dictionary 4 stars by kol2008 Jan 10, 2008 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I have used TheSage for a couple of years plus! It's a very useful tool, easy to use, functions cleanly. show Review details
Great product 5 stars by PhilDaniels Apr 04, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Haven't used latest version, but have used prior 2 versions - I do not start many programs at startup, not even a network connection, but Sage is one program that I do have in my startup folder. I find it invaluable in both creative and factual writing, I've even used it when writing code to find that elusive just right term for use in the user interface. It does make one assumption tho' that the user can spell - It is not a spell checker! And it's free !! show Review details
Extensive 3 stars by alnjk01 Nov 15, 2005 (Read all my 124 reviews)
More words, definitions and usages than any other free dictionary software out there. Very stable. Not as user friendly or well laid out as some others. This software is really a wordsmiths dictionary more so than for the day to day person looking up an occasional definition and/or correct spelling. If you're a poor speller to begin with, then this dictionary is not for you. Likewise if your someone who wants to dig deep into definitions and usages then this dictionary will suit you well. show Review details
A must owned educational tool 5 stars by pcfreak Oct 13, 2005 (Read all my 13 reviews)
I myself is a dictionary freak, exhausting my time in the past to search for free offline dictionaries. I downloaded [..], [..], and [..] and they were fairly good and had helped me in my reports. The Sage is pretty impressive other than its free, it has very nice interface, the search speed is comparatively fast, and has comprehensive list of words. I am using The Sage now as my primary pc dictionary, keeping the first three dictionaries as back-up. The Sage is among the best freewares I got from snapfiles. To The Sage and snapfiles...more power to you guys! show Review details
Very good dictionary 5 stars by Jellul100 Oct 04, 2005
Sage is a very good dictionary. I use several free offline dictionaries and currently it is one of two that I use the most. (The other dictionary I most often use is called 'Wordweb' and it will pop up with a word definition atop my text editor (Jarte) when the cursor is focused on a word and I press 'cntl-D' - something that Sage cannot do. However, Sage seems to have a more extensive list of words than some of my other free dictionaries; the other dictionaries seem to be using the exact same word list with the exact same definitions. Sage is certainly better than the others in this regard, although I still find words that none of my free dictionaries, including Sage can find/answer. My only real complaint at this juncture about Sage is that "copy to clipboard" (to copy the definition so one can paste it to a text editor)does not seem to work in Sage as it does for some of my other dictionaries like Wordweb and Pardon. show Review details
Try it you'll like it. 5 stars by ewirman Jul 29, 2005 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I've bought dictionary software less reliable and certainly with a poorer interface. TheSage is great, try it you'll like it. show Review details
`nec plus ultra` isnt english ... 5 stars by Leendert Jul 28, 2005 (Read all my 27 reviews)
"Nec plus ultra" isn't English. In French, though, it means "the ultimate". LeSage English Dictionary is in my opinion definitely the best computerized desktop dictionary available. It goes beyond traditional - or most used - functions one expects, delivering more than the immediate meaning, it explores deeper roots if so is one's wish. In fact, it translates the meanings, so to say. Brilliant, and brilliantly organized. A word to my French compatriotes, to those sometimes complaining of the "invasion" of English culture: where do you find equivalent in quality French dictionaries? Nowhere. Why do 95% of French (mainly teenagers and young adults) express themselves on forums - vocabulary & rhetoric - as 5 year old kids? It would be time some people start moving in this country (France) and do as much for their language as others do for their own! Hum... I do need that dictionary, don't I! show Review details
The best dictionary software there is! 5 stars by Luis19580 Jul 23, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I've tried literally all of the dictionary software out there, and this one, by far is the best! The interface is top-notch. The database contains tons of information. So much information, that it almost seems like an encyclopedia. I CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S FREE! Great job and thanks to the developers of "The Sage"! show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Jul 25, 2005: Thank you for the feedback. We honestly appreciate your enthusiasm.
Interesting 3 stars by Rodger Jul 22, 2005 (Read all my 99 reviews)
Works well,installs fine but if you misspell a word on purpose it wont find anything-afterall is that not the purpose of trying to spell a word? Should have some kind of feature like this-also should be able to browse pages like a real dictionary book.When I look up a word in google it will at least tell me if it is spelled right. show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Jul 26, 2005: If a word is not found in the dictionary, TheSage displays the index with the nearest match highlighted. We will update the documentation to make this clear.
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software