ReNamer Lite

ReNamer Lite User Reviews



5 stars85% 34
4 stars7% 3
3 stars0% 0
2 stars5% 2
1 star2% 1
Based on 40 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 40 user reviews
Post your own review

It works! 4 stars by reboots695 May 27, 2016 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I use to 'fix' the names of music files that seem to change at will. Whether its deleting the first two or three characters or stripping from the end. It simply works. The proofing feature makes this great. Try it and you will determine quickly whether its for you or not. show Review details
Lite restrictive Pro too 1 stars by morganfj978 Jul 07, 2015 (Read all my 2 reviews)
PROS: Re-Namer is a nice small program that has 14 renaming commands which allow fairly easy renaming for simple jobs. Most of the commands are easy to make and works well. You can also add more than one item to a Command line.. thus when you delete something like "BlueRay" from a file name you can also add dozens of more items "DVD", "R5", "Stupid Name" etc. Also many commands add items lile DELETE offers options for period, comma, brackets, underline, etc., CONS: Not all commands are easy and no really good instructions or examples are given.. forget this guy helping you even if you buy! The LITE version only gives you 5 Command Lines.. that means 9 of the Commands are virtually useless if you need them unless you upgrade. Upgrade is EXPENSIVE.. consider this is a fairly easy program in terms of programming with dozens of good free programs on the open source market.... To upgrade to the PRO version it will cost 17.99... Simply A FOOLS Price! GENERAL: If you need true versatility without restrictions at a good price or free... MOVE ON!!!! If you need a quick easy program to set up to rename a certain type of file you use daily... i.e. If you download from Torrents! then you can set this up with a PRESET show Review details
The lite version has become too restricted 2 stars by OnePiece Dec 28, 2013 (Read all my 10 reviews)
This program used to be my top choice of mass renaming files for complex and difficult jobs. Its flexible "sequence of rules" approach really made the difference for me. Not anymore though. Since version 1.72, the author decided to introduce a "Lite vs. Pro" licensing model for his products. The result is a set of heavy restrictions: in the case of ReNamer Lite both the number of presets and rules has a max. limit of 5. Although these may be enough for simple tasks, but forget complex jobs. So my advice is to either try to find an older, unrestricted freeware version of ReNamer on the net, or choose another mass renamer. show Review details
Awesome little utility! 5 stars by m.milev876 Jun 02, 2012
Well designed GUI interface, mature functionality! This is awesome! THANK YOU! show Review details
Great program! 4 stars by abungus470 Dec 29, 2011
I love this program and have recommended it to my co-workers. We all use it. It can take a bit to get used to it; but once you do, it is a godsend. show Review details
Very cool 5 stars by Woodster May 17, 2011 (Read all my 6 reviews)
It does what it says and does it very well. Takes a small learning curve to understand the filters but you can solve them with some trial and error. For example, if you have "IMG0345.jpg" and you want to rename it "Vacation 2010.jpg" you must do it step-wise. If you first use the filter to strip the numbers from the old name, the "2010" will not appear in the new name. BUT, it allows you to do a trial run via right click on any single entry. It also shows you the result of your filter applications before you hit "Go" - exactly how it will look with warnings if you are creating a mess. You can get it right without any guesswork. Very helpful and very easy. Also, the tutorial is first-class! Much better than trial by error software/freeware with no tutorial. show Review details
Excellent software 5 stars by agillbb Nov 04, 2010 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is a fantastic little program that has all the power and flexibility to satisfy the most hardcore users. Anyone with a touch of programming skill who is comfortable writing scripts will be in 7th heaven, although most tasks will not require scripting at all. Highly recommended for all users, and congrats to the author. Well done. show Review details
Flawless 5 stars by johnnymorales Jul 27, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It is sooooo easy. It works perfectly. It was/is quick. I went from problem faced to problem solved in 5 minutes flat using Snapfiles to find, download and install this bit of software - literally. It's incredible also that it's free. show Review details
Quick and accurate 5 stars by topaz18046 Jul 18, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Downloaded 3 similar apps. Had heaps of problems with them not the least of which was actually saving the changes! This app changed the name of 155 photo images in seconds, without so much as a hiccup! show Review details
Does the job with little effort! 5 stars by wildgoosespeeder May 20, 2010 (Read all my 52 reviews)
From time to time I have had a lot of files to rename or even change the extension for and this tool is a time saver! I used to use Extension Changer which a small window that isn't very user-friendly and you have to drag the selected files from the Windows Explorer window to the Extension Changer window. Until I found this I immediately switched. Why can't Microsoft give us this ability that this software can? show Review details
Does exactly what it says on the tin 5 stars by PhotographerRaffin May 17, 2010
This application is BRILLIANT. And it works well from Win98 upward. I'm no programmer but grasped use of this application within minutes. (NOTE: If you understand low level computer terms and also DOS batch file compilation, you'll fly using this program!) By profession, I'm a photographer. I need to rename every single photograph that I shoot into an intelligent yet simple archive friendly system - I use a unique, highly informative nomenclature system based on the old industry standard. ReNamer works far better than the s/w that came with my camera - and that takes some doing! On an average month, it'll save me on my electricity bill (good for the environment, too) and several hours computer time. An impressive, strong and powerful yet simple to use application - and the user guide is concise yet effective. If only more programmers were as capable, thorough and user-friendly. THANK YOU, Denis. show Review details
Unparalleled power 5 stars by coderjoe Apr 02, 2010
I constantly use this app to rename videos and pictures. The regular expression feature makes this utility enormously powerful. show Review details
Gets the job done 5 stars by joulem Mar 07, 2010
Straightforward instructions. Easy to use, and fast. Excellent app. show Review details
Excellent product! 5 stars by BillHollings Feb 23, 2010
This is a wonderful little program that is rich in features and has a well-thought out and intuitive user interface. I highly recommend it. show Review details
Good solution! 5 stars by GanzerliMino Dec 25, 2009
Easy and good solution for all the massive renaming on mp3 files or movies! This is the third sw of this kind that I try, and it's the best one! show Review details
Renames anything fast and easy 5 stars by DeadHead Nov 21, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
It renames anything fast and easy. The options you have to make rules for the renaming is easy to use and you can make it rename files to whatever you want. Only exception is that you sometimes with a large number of files have to rename files twice to get the desired result because of how the calculations is performed, but what does that matter since renaming of 200 files is done in 2 seconds? show Review details
Great for renaming media files 5 stars by rjisinspired Oct 30, 2009
This tool is a godsend when renaming video files before bringing them into avisynth for importing segmented videos into Virtualdub. When I capture clips they can be in loads of segments and renaming them one-by-one for use in a naming format that avisynth works in can be a tedious chore. Thanks for your time in making and providing us with this useful tool. show Review details
Go to renamer 5 stars by flyrite Mar 03, 2009
There's a number of renamer programs out there but this one is number one in my book. Easy to use, quick to load. Handles big batches of files. One of my favorite tools when I'm ripping or downloading music or audiobook files. show Review details
Easy and powerful 5 stars by Phoglenix Feb 24, 2009
I have used another file renamer before, but couldn't after a switch to Vista. This one is so much better and easier to use. It's very impressive. show Review details
Great product 5 stars by mrvalent Feb 08, 2009
This was the second product I tried and it is a great product. It took 5 minutes to do the task I needed after install and looking at the quick start guide. show Review details
The best file renaming utility 5 stars by shavingtheferret Jan 03, 2009
After so many years of trying file renaming utilities this one is the BEST and it is no understatement to say I've tried almost all of them. Ease of use, interface, rules, etc. There is not enough space to praise this Renamer. Get it and you WILL NOT be sorry. show Review details
Worth its weight in gold 5 stars by Henry8 Dec 29, 2008 (Read all my 37 reviews)
I had the need to rename over a thousand files. This free helper did it in some blinks of the eye, and I haven't noticed any errors. Ease of use of this program made me wish the maker would come out with an office pack - one can even understand the help file! Very good work. show Review details
Indispensable 5 stars by DrGerm Nov 20, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
If you are looking for an app to rename multiple files, than look no further. I find myself using this application more and more everyday. Simply one of the best free applications I have ever used. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by gimpguy Oct 19, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
It may be extremely easy to use for those who have used renamers prior, but if not, still VERY easy to learn. It's very specific and has many options for renaming, does it with ease. This has now become my favorite renaming utility! show Review details
Top-notch! 5 stars by kathy025 Oct 11, 2008 (Read all my 17 reviews)
This is the mass file renaming tool you should keep! Easy-to-add rules, flexible renaming options, and simple yet efficient interface. The best of its kind. show Review details
Saves time 5 stars by sazhazman Sep 05, 2008 (Read all my 26 reviews)
I had 200+ files on a website that needed an extension change. What would have taken an hour or two by hand was accomplished in under 2 minutes (including the time needed to set up the filter). Very intuitive and easy to use program. show Review details
Perfect 5 stars by skywalkm Jun 25, 2008
Just what I needed. show Review details
This is the one 5 stars by boomshankerx Jan 21, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is the one you want. period. show Review details
Excellent application 5 stars by foliva Oct 13, 2007
ReNamer is simple to use and has all the features I could ever need. I have seen many others and ReNamer easily is the best out there. show Review details
Thanks 5 stars by SeaTurtle Nov 20, 2006
Great program made renaming thousands of files much easier. Need more programmers to write software like this - you know programs that really work, and do exactly what they say they will do. Would recommend to all users sick of renaming files one at a time. This program does an excellent job of renaming files. show Review details
Only one i have ever kept after using 5 stars by pcs800 Sep 11, 2006 (Read all my 222 reviews)
Once in a while I needed to rename multiple files, so I would jump on the net and grab any renamer i came across. But this one I kept because it was so simple and works perfectly. I now purchase music files from a web site regularly and they come named some very funky way, so I use this with 3 rules stacked to take a bunch of mp3 files from a 40 character name full of underscores, dots and numbers, into just the song name.mp3 Does them alll at once and does them all correctly every time. I use Inno Setup as well for any app I write, it seems to me that the guy above has got some computer trouble and does not realize it. show Review details
Essential 5 stars by BigNige Sep 09, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Having used renamer for several years [v1.29] I was pleased to see the update and it now includes folders!!......fantastic!!.......the absolute dog's danglies!!.......well done (on the next version, change the icon to something more befitting) show Review details
Has some problems 2 stars by fmaxwell Aug 18, 2006
Uninstaller does not work properly. It left all of the Start menu links in place -- after claiming that everything went fine. So what other droppings may it have left in the registry or on my disk? Makes me nervous. Why I uninstalled it: ReNamer locked up when I selected a directory tree with about 8000 files. I terminated the process after 20 minutes (and I have a very fast PC). show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Aug 23, 2006: First of all, I m sorry for your unpleasant experience. Uninstaller in fact does work! If you have any troubles with it, please, contact me directly, because the problem is more likely in your computer/setup, rather then Uninstaller it-self. Installer/Uninstaller is a 3-rd party application called Inno Setup (http://www.jrsoftware.org/isinfo.php). ReNamer does not leave any "droppings" (as you said), because everything that it needs (Presets, Alphabets, Settings, Help files, etc) is stored in the same folder as ReNamer.exe. ReNamer doesn t use registry! If Uninstaller failed to delete Start menu links, maybe it is because you have renamed them, and it has nothing to do with ReNamer it-self. Adding large amount of files is time consuming. Just now, I ve added ~12000 files to ReNamer, it took a bit more then a minute, with my slow laptop.
Quick and easy 5 stars by SimonT Jul 19, 2006
ReNamer is a brilliant little app. that has made a time consuming and annoying part of my job into a quick and very easy process. My thanks to Denis. show Review details
Great tool 5 stars by VMSForever Dec 29, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Easy to install and use. Very useful. show Review details
Best renamer out there 5 stars by chuonthis Dec 10, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This program has all of the features I've been looking for (especially with the recently added regular expressions feature!). Fast, easy to use, and tons of parameters. I must've used at least 10 other shareware/freeware renamers before, which were all weak compared to this program. I thought I had no hope finding one which would help me do what I wanted. Then I found ReNamer and all is well. The author is even open to suggestions. Great work! show Review details
I needed to rename all files in a directory ... 4 stars by ronvint Nov 02, 2005
I needed to rename all files in a directory by replacing a constant number in the filename with another one, even though other numbers were in each filename. MsDOS screwed up on some filenames: ReNamer did them all perfectly. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by AnonymMan Oct 31, 2005 (Read all my 15 reviews)
Works Great! show Review details
Perfect renamer 5 stars by simpleminds Oct 10, 2005
There are no other ways to describe it. Does exactly what you want it to do. F`ing perfect. show Review details
10/10 5 stars by Reviewer Jun 27, 2005
ReNamer is the best free file renaming program there is. Simple as that. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility