WinDirStat

WinDirStat User Reviews



5 stars100% 12
4 stars0% 0
3 stars0% 0
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 12 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 12 user reviews
Post your own review

Another great find 5 stars by gimpguy Aug 04, 2012 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I just found some good disk space analyzers, however, this has now topped the chart for me. Not only do you get a great list view and space acquired color view, it's extremely easy to track down large files and folders taking up space. You can also work with files and folders right from the application itself which is nice. Of course, that's why there are different applications to suit everyone's needs, this one happens to fit my style perfectly and will be my primary from here on. show Review details
Essential for the age of large disks 5 stars by Brunel99 Apr 24, 2012 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I started using WinDirStat a year ago and it has proven to be valuable time and again. The only downside is that it takes a long time to analyse the disk, but that can't be helped. Once it's done though, you can see at a glance where all your disk space is going. The list shows the folders and in size order so you can concentrate on the big fish first. The real beauty though is the graphical display below where you can immediately find those GigaByte files. The colours let you see at a glance the file types so you can see how much disk space is used for photo's. It also highlights (indirectly) how much disk space Windows sucks up ... show Review details
Truely useful... 5 stars by KnuttNHoney Apr 14, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Very useful especially for large drives (network drives). Easy to spot large files or large groups of small files. show Review details
Very good tool. 5 stars by CarbonDudeoxide Jan 23, 2009 (Read all my 26 reviews)
If you're short on space and are looking for anything hogging your hard disk space, this is a great tool for the job. The picture representation is a great way to show you the files on your computer. If you see a large block, it would be a large file. If you clicked on the large block, its file information will come up, showing you when it was created, how big it is, its location, etc... Very useful, but takes a long time for it to analyze the computer. show Review details
A great program that 5 stars by _Dave_ Aug 24, 2008 (Read all my 7 reviews)
As one reviewer said, this isn show Review details
Great tool 5 stars by BurningRopeCom Oct 29, 2007 (Read all my 13 reviews)
Not a program you are going to use often, but it's handy to have when you are running low on free space as it shows clearly the big files that you have forgotten about - a big avi stands out a mile in a folder of jpgs! - I found 4Gb being wasted on one drive thanks to the colour-coded display on this great little program. Highly recommended. show Review details
Another vote of confidence 5 stars by jackfrost May 28, 2007 (Read all my 35 reviews)
Decided to chime in on this nice free program and express my gratitude to the developer for making a really useful cross platform app that builds off of tree mapping better than others do. some of the others are mere curiosities, but this one has functional value and i thank them for providing it at snap-files. show Review details
Like Sequoiaview, only much better 5 stars by EM_745 Oct 06, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Another great title from the SourceForge community. This app gives a unique "modern-art"-like view of all the files on your hard drive, making it very easy to spot those space "hogs." Granted, this is not something you're likely to use every day, but it's still very useful and a nice tool to have when your HDD's free space is shrinking fast and you want to know exactly where it all went. Easy to use, stable and highly configurable. A real hoot. show Review details
Best free tool i've seen so far for this 5 stars by RangerFish Jul 06, 2006
Combines the best of Overdisk, Sequoia and Treesize, while outperforming them all. show Review details
Very useful 5 stars by ruleworld Jun 12, 2006 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I freed up 2GB on my 80GB hard disk within minutes of first time running this program. the spaces was taken by useless Found.000 folder which was hiddden in windows explorer. very useful. show Review details
Nice improvement 5 stars by vjacobi Jun 10, 2006 (Read all my 13 reviews)
Very easy to install, stable program, sexy interface (I really dig the animated pac-man icons moving to show progress). Author gives credit where credit is due for treemaps used with SequoiaView software and improves the interface and functionality with WinDirStat. Recommended! show Review details
Very good 5 stars by Frederico Feb 09, 2006
This is a small, user friendly way to check your folder size. Specially if you are looking to reduce he space occupied by your files, this is the program. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

CardRecovery

CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders