Paint.NET

Paint.NET User Reviews



5 stars53% 8
4 stars26% 4
3 stars13% 2
2 stars0% 0
1 star6% 1
Based on 15 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 15 user reviews
Post your own review

Must-have replacement for paint 5 stars by rupert783 Mar 10, 2015 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Paint.NET is an excellent picture editing program. Always my first choice for a graphics program due to the simple, tidy interface and solid performance. show Review details
Good for casual users, not for pros 3 stars by realbull2009250 Feb 07, 2015 (Read all my 60 reviews)
Paint.Net is a great image editor, but it is really meant to be a MS Paint replacement. Out of the box, it has all of the normal editing features, but if you want more out of it for various reasons then you'll have to install some plugins. Most of the plugins available are for touching up and manipulating the appearance of the image. For pro users, you won't have the control that you want from it. After using a program like PhotoShop, I got frustrated that I couldn't do certain things with layers on Paint.Net. It's a great editor for touching up images, manipulating it or saving it to different formats, but not much more. Maybe in the future they will build it up to PhotoShop like program, but for now it's best for the casual user who want a little more than MS Paint. I'd recommend Chasys Draw IES or GIMP for pro users. show Review details
A limp noodle 1 stars by mholm1818746 Aug 16, 2012
This thing is a waste of time. Windows Paint is more useful. There's no control over the interface and virtually none for printing. My choices are standard photo sizes? COME ON!! It tries to mimic photoshop but skimps on the very things I NEED from a photo editor, which is control. Downloading it from their site was tedious, with the actual download link way off to the side and BIG graphics buttons to download other garbage I didn't want. Really? You're going to trick me into downloading junk and virtually hide the real download link? Tell me that's not scammy. A dozen other programs do the same things but with less annoyance. Get GIMP or something else and don't bother with this nonsense. show Review details
You've got to have this on your hard drive 5 stars by Rustyboy Dec 17, 2011 (Read all my 33 reviews)
Paint.net just keeps getting better and better. The first features that made me install paint.net were the availability of layers and a great clone tool. Having used it for a while, it is now the programme I reach for when I need to adjust or clean up an image - it is quick and easy and has excellent results. The interface ("floating tool windows") seems odd at first if you are not used to that but it is easy to adjust to. show Review details
Keeps getting better 5 stars by TideWalker Oct 26, 2008 (Read all my 23 reviews)
Great free program that keeps getting better. I would recommend this program to anyone who needs to have something that can do layers and isn't overly complicated or expensive. It is free and there lots to like about PaintNet. It has plugin support and there are lots of plugins available for download at the PaintNet website. Very nice free program! show Review details
Much better than MS Paint 3 stars by MouseChaser Jun 18, 2008 (Read all my 27 reviews)
This Is So Much Better Than MS Paint That Comes With Windows.Works Good With Gif and Jpeg Images. show Review details
Better then MS Paint, not good as photoshop 4 stars by R2-D2_ Dec 17, 2007 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I would recommend this app of you need something less then Photoshop but more then Paint. Like simple layer or crop/resizing photos. Or even needs just more than 10 undo's... It's much lighter then PS, uses less then 55 MB of ram, and has a good variety of features. show Review details
Simple, elegant 5 stars by Mike77 Oct 21, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Very nice simple editor! I needed something to do layers, add text, etc. The interface is elegant, I wish all programs were written like this! Text layers once created have to be deleted, then retyped to be modified. But a great feature is that text can be resized by dragging corners- very nice! show Review details
Great! 5 stars by The7thRaven Oct 08, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Has many useful features, easy to use. Nuff said. show Review details
Just what i needed 5 stars by nolies Dec 10, 2006
While I haven't extensively explored this program I downloaded for simple photo work and it performed perfectly. While briefly looking through it's features it seems to do all the basic stuff and more. Most importantly it has a simple and easy to use interface, working just how I'd like it to. I'd recommend it for anyone who needs a quick program to do light work with. show Review details
No print support for 2000 4 stars by maximillian_x Jul 07, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
The developer refuses to include Windows 2000 print support. Paint .Net only limits you to editing one image at a time, and while it is a very nice application, I would not put it in the same light as Photoshop. A step or two below Paint Shop Pro, but definitely better than Paint (and lots of other alternatives, including payware). show Review details
Pretty rad 5 stars by Ghost_grey Jan 03, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
At first i thought it was a photoshop clone.. nope it's just a replacement for ms paint.. it's got it's +'s and -'s but it is much easier to use than Photoshop, and i can do simple tasks which PS makes merely impossible, paint.net is worth a try. i like it for it's intuitiveness, also try the gimp and PhotoFiltre. show Review details
Great for a free tool 4 stars by nzolotar Dec 30, 2005
Will not move layer of the text once it is printed, also not able to edit the text - have to delete and retype. as per the rest of the features - very similar to photoshop. show Review details
Complex editing a breeze 5 stars by Zues1333 Sep 05, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Very easy quick yet it has editing features you see in photoshop. Used it to make skins for a console. show Review details
Double program 4 stars by Shadowheart Jul 14, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This program is amazing. Thumbs ...up. well... actually I would recommend this program along with the imageench. Its awesome! well it has plenty good features for image manipulation show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders