Foxit PDF Reader

Foxit PDF Reader User Reviews

5 stars65% 29
4 stars18% 8
3 stars6% 3
2 stars2% 1
1 star6% 3
Based on 44 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 44 user reviews
Post your own review

Doesn't work as promises 1 stars by olivi78305 Aug 11, 2016 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It doesn't remove hidden data as promises; only it covers them. And it allows another person easy to find and read them. show Review details
Blessing for free 5 stars by bassaniobroke Jul 07, 2015 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I recommend this because it is also a PDF printer so I may print the online receipts etc as PDF and later get it printed at print shop, in this way I don't need to have printer at home which is a very costly affair. It also allows to annotate and comment on the PDF file in various ways,allows to insert text on file as well. The loveliest part is it allows to highlight any area you like to, hence you may also highlight images and not text stuff, the opening speed is also fine. No other problems encountered such as infiltrating the computer with viruses worms etc. Thanks to company for keeping it free, God bless you. show Review details
My new default pdf viewer 4 stars by realbull2009250 Mar 30, 2015 (Read all my 60 reviews)
Foxit is full of options for free. I can't list them all here, but all the features that the average user would want is here. One thing that it does not have is a true PDF creator like Nitro Reader. Foxit can convert documents into a PDF, but it cannot create a customized PDF document or edit a PDF. If you want to create or edit PDFs you'll have to buy their Foxit PhantomPDF or use some other software. It is the fastest PDF viewer with many options(Sumatra is the fastest viewer, but doesn't have as many options) and can open large PDFs with reasonable speed. The only thing I don't like is the Windows ribbon GUI. It is rather large and takes up a lot of space, but you have the option to use the old GUI which has a thinner toolbar. Now Foxit Reader is the best free PDF viewer in my opinion. show Review details
Has reader, virtual printer, creator and writer 4 stars by melen001 Jan 09, 2015 (Read all my 20 reviews)
This new version is an excellent substitute for Adobe Acrobat. It has a reader, virtual printer and creator/writer all in one. Has practically all the necessary features and options that you will ever need. The reader has a nice looking interface where you can even edit if desired. Try it is really very fast and won't slow your machine. I have set it as my default so just give it a try and all this is actually FREE. Enjoy... show Review details
Wow! 5 stars by BillyBob Apr 10, 2014 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This software lets you create bookmarks, links, and a number of ways to mark up PDF documents. What other free PDF software lets you do that? It's fast. It has a manual but, like all good programs, customization is intuitive, and the learning curve is short. It is a power tool. I love this program. show Review details
Too heavy! 1 stars by rjsl55362 Apr 09, 2013 (Read all my 6 reviews)
The new version of Foxit Reader loads too slow compared to the previous versions. Also, if you like Microsoft Office 2010, then this is for you because the menu looks exactly like it. I'm sticking to the previous version which was simple and lite, which is the is the reason that I switched to it from Adobe Reader. show Review details
Outstanding. 5 stars by madmik May 27, 2011 (Read all my 32 reviews)
The new version 5 adds some great new features -such as internet search access to selected text-save PDF to Text and many more. Improves an already excellent reader. Takes a bit of work to find which features could be useful. Still as fast as ever and spot on as regards selecting the correct page display size. Not crazy about the GUI colours,however. Highly recommended. show Review details
Goodbye Adobe 5 stars by Questdelsangraal Sep 08, 2009 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Great .pdf reader w/out the bloat. Works just fine in Firefox. show Review details
It doesn't work for secured v. 9 pdf files! 1 stars by raymond4500332 Nov 21, 2008
I just tried Foxit 3.0.1120 Reader and found out it misinterprets Acrobat 9 secured PDF files. I have permission protected PDF files and Foxit claims I need to input the User permission password when I tried to read the file with the Reader. Foxit might be good for older, obsolete versions, but for the latest software version, it can't even handle the latest Adobe format. I shall continue to use Acrobat Reader Lite 9.0 show Review details
Into the foxit hole 3 stars by gimpguy Sep 06, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I used this some time ago and thought to give it another run, sadly, it seems the same result... I don't like it. Maybe it's just me but through AdobePDF and others, I can click on links and they work from the PDF document, not with Foxit. I think the creators are in their own world and agree with another post, they don't listen to users. If they did, things would be different. I can think of numerous other viewers far better than this for free, one already mentioned. So that said, if Foxit would listen to others, shape up their PDF game, I think it has potential and yah, would still recommend it over nothing, but not much more. show Review details
Portable and awkward 3 stars by Stingray57 Apr 30, 2008
I was a long time user of Foxit; it was on my USB key and I recommended it to everyone, but there were always small issues I didn't like. 1. The small size I liked went away with each new version. 2. Adding features that were just cluttering the GUI. 3. Toolbars you couldn't remove or wouldn't stay gone. 4. You could type in information but you couldn't save it and images couldn't be extracted. Well, xchange PDF viewer has fixed those issues, excluding size, but it's not much bigger, but it's portable, fast and allow the entering and saving of information... I don't think FOXIT ever listens to the users, but they'll mind you every other function to upgrade to pro every chance they get. I moved on. show Review details
Light and easy to use 5 stars by nobull2 Apr 10, 2008 (Read all my 25 reviews)
I use this in combination with Bullzip Printer and just love the combination. I like this light application more than I do PDF Viewer. I had problems with links being active, but not with Foxit PDF Reader! It solved all my issues! Excellent! IMO show Review details
Awesome 5 stars by alimo315 Feb 28, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Fast, simple, and definitely not a mess like Adobe. show Review details
Hidden problems 3 stars by JMMannion Feb 02, 2008 (Read all my 25 reviews)
I used Foxit for about six months and made the error of clicking on "text" only to discover it will not let you go back. The program then nags continually asking for you to buy the upgrade. I reverted to Adobe Acrobat 6 and will remain there. Very disappointing. I would reluctantly recommend it, but point out the crippled portion of the program. show Review details
Nice pdf reader 5 stars by TideWalker Dec 05, 2007 (Read all my 23 reviews)
This is a really nice pdf reader that does all I need. It isn't a big and bulky resource eater like some of the others. Works well and integrates into browsers nicely. show Review details
Love this reader 5 stars by MouseChaser Aug 26, 2007 (Read all my 27 reviews)
I Just love this Reader.I Tried out their Newest Version Foxit Reader 2.1.Which has more Stuff on top,but you cannot use them unless you pay for the Pro Version, So I Removed it and went back to this one,As this is All I Need to Read PDF Files. show Review details
Works great 5 stars by Duglacias Jul 15, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
For some reason my Adobe Reader went haywire, it stopped working, so i unistalled it, cleaned my registry and tried to reinstall. Well no matter what I tried I couldnt get it to work again? I'm happy i came across this program, its easy to use, integrated well, and is really fast. two thumbs up. show Review details
Foxit rocks!! 5 stars by cartmanxxl Jul 01, 2007
Much faster than Adobe Reader; great program show Review details
Great, but no thumbnail view 4 stars by jextuens Jun 06, 2007 (Read all my 38 reviews)
One day I got sick of waiting for Acrobat and tired of deleting the speed launcher and other junk it loads on my system, so I tried Foxit. It is definitely much faster - PDF documents now open as fast as notepad documents. Copying text is possible although not perfect (the line breaks are also copied). The only "gotcha" I can see is that there is no thumbnail view. I use this a lot on multi-page documents, so I will still have to keep Acrobat Reader around for that purpose. show Review details
Pdf to txt - false 4 stars by altered7th Jan 22, 2007
Foxit's claim that the free version of their utility will convert PDF to TXT is not entirely true. The 'save as txt' file menu tells you this feature is not enabled on the free version. In order to do this you have to buy ($39US) the Foxit Reader Pro Pack. Text can be copied and pasted from the free version of Foxit into Notepad, but there are word-wrap problems when doing so. Ditto if you're pasting into MS Word. Other than that, Foxit appears to do everything else advertised, and do it well. It's inability to convert PDF to TXT is the only thing preventing me rating the application as 'excellent'. If anybody from Foxit reads this, you might like to re-word your brief for the free version (both here and at your site). As it stands, it's very misleading. show Review details
Impressive. 4 stars by mrpaul64 Jan 21, 2007
Foxit PDF Reader is impressive. Much faster than Adobe's product and better than that, it doesn't install a whole heap of other software along with the Reader. I'd highly recommend it to anyone that dislikes Adobe Reader. In my opinion, the only things missing are heavy duty editing features. show Review details
What can i say? 5 stars by Reviewed Jan 17, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
What can I say that hasn't already been said? Foxit is outstanding. It's super-fast, light on system resources, and does what it says it'll do. I uninstalled Adobe Acrobat Reader on my home PCs, and use Foxit exclusively. show Review details
One tiny problem . . . 2 stars by gbjennings Jan 13, 2007 (Read all my 21 reviews)
I have tested each and every version of Foxit for the past several years, and compared it to Acrobat Reader. Each time I have ended up deleting Foxit simply because of the quality of the text. It cannot compare with Adobe's crisp, clear text. Try the two of them side by side and you will see the difference. show Review details
Solid program 5 stars by LyonessKim Nov 13, 2006 (Read all my 9 reviews)
Doesn't have some of the buggy issues that acrobat does; works great; has most needed features and is nice and speedy. show Review details
Fast and easy, but... 4 stars by jbird68 Sep 20, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
This is a great program to quickly open PDF files. But sometimes files don't line up in the print preview window. And soemtimes when you try to print, the program crashes. Overall, it's a good program. I've made it my default over Adobe. show Review details
Much faster than Adobe... 5 stars by calamite Sep 15, 2006
Much faster than Adobe. I also like the interface. Easy recommend. Wish this had been packaged with my laptop. show Review details
Beautiful software ! Works fast, but... 4 stars by drshivam Sep 14, 2006
Beautiful software ! Works fast but it does not open .pdx files. show Review details
The tortoise and the hare 5 stars by OzBrad Aug 12, 2006 (Read all my 23 reviews)
Adobe is the tortoise, slow and steady. However Foxit provides a different ending to the classic tale. Foxit beats Adobe reader hands down in terms of speed and resource usage.In this race, the Hare definitely wins. Foxit is fast, easy to use, and reads all my PDF files with ease. I appreciate not having to wait for the PDF files to load. show Review details
Everybody should get rid of adobe behemot 5 stars by zeeLaz Aug 03, 2006 (Read all my 20 reviews)
Foxit is a pleasure to use, compared to Adobe's behemoth. This is what great software should be. Adobe should be banned from all computers. show Review details
Fabulous! 5 stars by Raineth Jun 25, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I always hated waiting for Adobe to start up (it always took forever), so I was excited to try out Foxit since I heard it was faster. I was not disappointed! Foxit is much, much faster than Adobe and works just as well. And it's free! You can't beat that. show Review details
Download it, try it, and you will keep it 5 stars by TerryP Jun 23, 2006 (Read all my 87 reviews)
If you care about stability, speed, and using minimal resources, then this is for you. Once I tested this little PDF reader, Adobe was history. show Review details
Fast and light software 5 stars by asdesign May 13, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Small download, little resource usage and fast to load. Excellent software show Review details
Bravo - excellent software highly recommended 5 stars by ebiz96 May 10, 2006
After many years of putting up with slow adobe pdf reader, this little software out performs it by million miles... Easy to download and installation is a breeze.. Congratulations to the author keep up the good work and thank you for sharing. show Review details
Zoooming fast! 5 stars by downloadFANATIC Apr 05, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Its way much faster than Adobe, its simple and does what it says. show Review details
Get rid of acrobat reader ! 5 stars by cessna Mar 09, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Sure it really looks like Acrobat Reader once started. But opening time is much shorter, it needs no install and its filesize is really light. 3 good reasons to keep it and to get rid of Acrobat Reader ! show Review details
Foxit pdf reader 5 stars by Bahkti Dec 04, 2005
Absolutely wonderful PDF reader. So easy to use, as it's a 'Stand Alone' bit of software that doesn't need installing. It's simple, easy and quick to use and no glitches. Well done Foxit. Just what we needed to cut through the 'bloat-ware' of acrobat reader. Get it today, it's a 'MUST HAVE'. show Review details
Excellent program, but a catch.. 4 stars by darroo Nov 05, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Performs most excellently, in all areas except for large pdf files. My wife routinely prints 65+ page pdf docs and this program will not ever print them properly. Too bad because in most every other way tested, it performs very well! show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by alnjk01 Oct 25, 2005 (Read all my 124 reviews)
What more can one want over adobe? Small footprint. Stand alone (no installation needed). Very easy on system resources. Loads fast. Attractive interface. Reads pdf files just like adobe. And no annoying updates. show Review details
The quick brown foxit... 5 stars by pcfreak Oct 14, 2005 (Read all my 13 reviews)
Foxit is really quick and a very competitive alternative for Adobe. It appears to be a 'stand alone' software and does need to be installed, remarkable! Now if you need speed in dealing with pdfs, try Foxit! show Review details
Great software 5 stars by TonyWinter Sep 19, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Fabulous! Does what is says! Free! Gets rid of some dependence on Adobe show Review details
The ultimate pdf reader... and a freeware! 5 stars by Ivanna Sep 15, 2005
I have to admit that I was rather skeptic about this program, but I am happy to say that I changed my mind. This is probably the best PDF reader available at the moment. All you need is there, plus it has user-friendly interface and some cool tools, like copying text and pictures from PDF files. Above all, it is totally free! I don't know about you, but I will never use Adobe Acrobat again. Five stars! show Review details
Foxit 5 stars by tuzlabosna Aug 21, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
One of the best freeware programs. Easy to use. Super integration...A+ show Review details
Foxit pdf reader 5 stars by shazzam Aug 08, 2005 (Read all my 24 reviews)
I'll take Foxit over the more well known bloatware PDF readers, ANY DAY !!! Foxit does the job simply and efficiently. This is a superb piece of software! show Review details
Please give it a try... you wont regret.... 5 stars by Pagliaro Jul 06, 2005 (Read all my 7 reviews)
By far the best of its category. Simple, light and fast. Will do everything 99% of people want to do with a PDF file. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


CintaNotes take and manage notes

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring