Simple Duplicate Finder

Simple Duplicate Finder User Reviews

5 stars46% 7
4 stars26% 4
3 stars26% 4
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 15 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 15 user reviews
Post your own review

Excellent tool for renaming files! 5 stars by snfl.pixl205 Nov 08, 2012
This is the smallest program of it's kind I ever tried, but it's hands down the best. Folder recursion is no problem, optional extension and size matching, and even matching to show partial matches. What else do we need? Most other programs suffocate you with a lot of options, while "Simple Duplicate Finder" is FAST and simple and FREE! show Review details
Simple but good 3 stars by daveclarkecb514 May 20, 2012
Easy to use and effective. I have about 20 000 photos on my computer. With about two hours work and the help of Simple Duplicate Finder I removed all the duplicates. show Review details
Better than good, it's great 5 stars by freeclick Jun 28, 2010 (Read all my 32 reviews)
Deleted almost 11,000 dups on an external drive and didn't even flinch like all the others that choke down when trying to perform this task, this is one my friend show Review details
Awesome 5 stars by careyk Jun 21, 2010
Very easy to use, easy to delete duplicate files, saved me hours. show Review details
Simple. fast. efficient. 5 stars by kathy025 May 12, 2010 (Read all my 17 reviews)
Because Duplicate File Finder uses byte-for-byte comparison, duplicate files are nailed with 100% accuracy regardless of different file names, creation date, etc. as compared to other tools for the job. The interface is not too fancy - simple and direct - just how it should be. You will learn to navigate through the program in less than a minute. The core features of the software does what it should without issues. Great tiny tool. show Review details
Wonderful little utility 4 stars by RickBryan Oct 31, 2009
Dude this is a great little application; thanks so much. Couple of things to consider maybe is that the user doesn't know which of the duplicate files will be deleted and which will be saved when the user hits 'delete all file.' Is there a way to indicate which file will be deleted? Thanks again. show Review details
Great duplicate finder 4 stars by Deb101 Dec 08, 2008
This is a really good useful tool for finding duplicate files. It works quickly and is easy to use. The only thing that I dont like is the Delete All Duplicates button, as this is dangerous as some duplicates are necessary and using this button could cause problems. It would be good if this button could be disabled. Other improvements which would make this perfect would be: 1. showing the owner / creator of a file 2. removing/disabling the Delete all duplicates button 3. providing a duplicate report that can be printed off. All in all it is a great tool and very useful. show Review details
It finds them 3 stars by gimpguy Sep 20, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
It does a great job finding duplicates for sure sometimes too well? I do think that some will have a hard time deciding what's a dupe, how some are considered dupes but have different extensions, Even at byte for byte, 100%, this could still get extremely confusing for some and remove files that shouldn't be. Example, you may have two identical files but if you extend them, they have two extensions that are different. Tedious work when you end up with numerous files. Me, I use it mainly for basic files, like downloads, pics, etc... the system files I leave alone and find it best to not delete what I think would be dupes. Even if there is a few MBs of extras, with most hard drive sizes these days, I say, let it ride, don't fix what isn't broke and as with many apps, create a restore point and backup before you go deleting dupes. As far as the software goes, yep, it'll find them, just be careful what you delete is all. show Review details
Great product 5 stars by Rick4321 Feb 02, 2008
Performed as advertises. Little tedious when you have lots of dupes!! I was afraid to use "delete all duplicates" button as I didn't know what it would do so I checked the boxes of files I wanted to delete. I liked it. show Review details
Not clear how it identifies the duplicate 3 stars by johnsl Aug 15, 2007
I looked at this program and I had one difficulty which after experimenting with it for a while left me looking for something else. The problem was that I could not understand how it was deciding which of two identical files was the duplicate and which was the original. It sounds trivial, but I think most people trying to resolve duplicates between two (or more) directory structures have a view that one directory is the 'original' and the other the duplicate. In my case I had sorted a large number of files into subdirectories and had a pile more to sort. But there were duplicates between the unsorted ones and the already sorted ones. Clearly when I found these duplicates I wanted to delete the ones in the unsorted pile and leave the ones in the sorted pile as the originals. But there seem to be no reliable way to do this. show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Dec 10, 2007: it uses byte for byte comparison, for 100% accuracy.
Great little program 4 stars by BarryFox Jul 11, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This little application does the job very nicely. The only setback is that it deleted files permanently. It would be wonderful if it had an option to delete files to the recycle bin. Having that option added would make this the very best duplicate file finder there is. show Review details
Love tiny apps but am not sure about this one 3 stars by Unknown1 Mar 21, 2006
I really love tiny apps and wish there was a 'tiny' option for all software but this is one area that a little more is needed, at least a link in the interface to a FAQ or something. It needs a better selection process for search path (compare two folders for instance) and at least it could remember the last settings for screen size and column width couldn't it? Could there be some more search criteria than just folder, how about file size? Maybe I need to give it some more use to be able to tell but another piece of software has told me I have over 6000 duplicate files left over from a hard drive recovery and I need to get rid of most of them in an organized, safe manner. This doesn't look like the tool for my job here. If you are sorting a few dozen files it should work fine. show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Jun 30, 2006: Check out the new version 3.0, I think you will like it!
Tiny but great 5 stars by pkatrol Mar 12, 2006
This is one of those tools I really like. No fancy and heavy GUI, no big promises, just a straight forward little but very useful program. It finds duplicates on your system and that's it. What more's there to say? Thanks to the programmer. show Review details
Need more features 4 stars by markone Dec 26, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
This program was very quick and accurate but it lacks features. I could not launch an external viewer. In order to preview an image it asked me for confirmation each time and I could not find a way of turning it off show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Jun 30, 2006: Check out the new version 3.0, total program overhaul :)
Simple, to the point 5 stars by Kano410 Dec 24, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Fast, simple, and to the point. Won't mistake files as duplicates, and no installing the program with registry entries, so it's a very clean to run (a stand-alone .exe). Very nice! show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers


CintaNotes take and manage notes


Unchecky prevent accidental installations of third party offers

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring