Copernic Desktop Search Lite

Copernic Desktop Search Lite User Reviews



5 stars50% 6
4 stars33% 4
3 stars8% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star8% 1
Based on 12 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 12 user reviews
Post your own review

Not as good as free v2 4 stars by les2008 Sep 15, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I was using v2 and "upgraded" to new "Home" version (v3). The new version seems to be a downgrade (i.e. removed features) on V2 so I uninstalled it and reloaded V2. The new "home" version should provide at least the same functionality and more whilst remaining free. Main features missing: Customisable preview pane, search as you type, ability to save searches. CDS v2 is, in my opinion, the best free desktop search tool, the new Home version (v3) isn't !!! show Review details
Excellent program 5 stars by JURYCOM Jul 10, 2008 (Read all my 33 reviews)
Just what was needed with more bells and whistles than I would expect for a free program. This lets you monitor your hard drive to ensure that you have what you think you have and nothing more. When space gets tight on your old HD, all of the extra stuff you don't need is easy to find with this. show Review details
The ultimate windows search killer 5 stars by BENDECHO Apr 29, 2008 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This proggie is damn near perfect. Copernic only indexes (locates and lists files for future reference) when your system is idle. Its finding capacity of files (after indexing) is very, very good. Just make sure you dont expect it to find a file you've just created or saved from the net etc.. you will need to re-index to get that done. Besides on the fly indexing (resource heavy anyway) this program is what I have been waiting for in order to find files hidden away in a multitude of directories. The taskbar toolbar is perhaps not to everyone's liking (normally enough clutter there), but it actually works well. Comes up with results immediately and gives you the option to open it all up to have a better look. Perfect. Even if you dont intend on keeping it, you should really try it for a couple of weeks to get the feel of its file finding capacity. It does what its supposed to do and it does it fast. 9/10 from me ! show Review details
Better (and quicker) than vista search. 5 stars by Redfoxx Apr 20, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This just has to be the best Desktop Search available today. Copernic Desktop Search Version 2.3 (Build 30)works perfectly with Vista and since Vista SP1 it now has superb integration with Windows. No problems or hassle,Copernic works just perfectly. At the moment I am running Copernic alongside Vista search but I will shortly be making Copernic my default Desktop Search. If you are having any problems with Vista indexing and search (Or even if you are not) then use Copernic. You will be surprised at how efficient this FREE program is!! show Review details
Nice, but doesn't index .pst files 3 stars by Harlan Nov 12, 2007 (Read all my 56 reviews)
I tried using this for a few weeks, mostly to index e-mails and Excel spreadsheets. I used both manual indexing and scheduled indexing. In both cases, CDS periodically cleared the index and rebuilt it from scratch, but without the e-mails stored in my PST files. PST files are an important way to prevent server overload and to free yourself from reliance on server availability. I uninstalled CDS because it couldn't handle this. show Review details
Wonderful piece of software 5 stars by Tinchote Sep 13, 2007
Very useful and easy to use. You can use it to find a text within your files (and you are even shown a preview of the file!), you can use it to find files by size, date, etc., etc. Very powerful and flexible. I don't give it a 5 in "ease of use" just because of the fact that it is slightly annoying that to do an advance search you first need to go through a simple search. show Review details
Excellent unless you have a pst file 4 stars by DavidBangs Jul 17, 2007
I find Copernic search totally amazing. It is more powerful and flexible than any of its rivals. Unfortunately, I had to uninstall it because it leaves my Outlook PST file locked. With the file locked, I found I could not back it up or access it from my laptop. Occasionally, Outlook couldn't even start, because Copernic had its file open. It order to regain access to my file, I would have close Copernic, and then reboot. However, Copernic would warn that it would never find any message received while it wasn't running. Since I sometimes access my file from my laptop, this means there would be holes in its search. I rate this highly only because I know there are millions of users with Microsoft Exchange Server who don't face this problem. If your PST file is local, I would not recommend this software. show Review details
And it's for free? 5 stars by D_Spider Apr 08, 2007 (Read all my 19 reviews)
Copernic indexed 275,000+ "keywords" in my computer--I have a lot of texts, images, and audio files--and not only did that much more quickly than I expected but it also finishes searches as close to "instantly" as makes no difference to me. Now I'm batch-converting my Paint-Shop-Pro image files to compressed JPEGs so that Copernic Desktop Search can show me thumbnails of them (and I know from the "E" in those extensions that they're just copies, not JPGs I've made for Web pages). A side effect of this is that Windows Explorer can now "see" those images, too --but I didn't begin the project till I'd found how good Copernic is. Its search-within-texts, showing the words without having to open the files, is excellent, too. I'd tried Windows Live Search, and Copernic is faster and (I think) much better. Now I can go looking in my files instead of looking for a search tool! show Review details
Another valuable freeware tool 4 stars by JoeDalton Sep 22, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Excellent application. Install, wait for the index generation to be completed and have a look at the results. Much better than other solutions available. Compliments to the programmer(s). show Review details
Excellent - better than google 5 stars by xxenon Feb 24, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Copernic changed my life. My disc order is finally under control. Efficiently, and without ads, spam or any other annoyances. Remains up-to-date and quietly does its indexing job in the background. show Review details
Good, fast, reliable 4 stars by Miller Feb 10, 2006
At work I work on a machine running NT 4.0, so I can't search words in documents like on my home computer (XP). I find it very useful. No need to know the full name, just a part is enough. Especially the search in attachments in email. Great. show Review details
Big disappointment 1 stars by homeflash Jan 12, 2006 (Read all my 15 reviews)
I uninstalled right away. I used win2k to test it. It seems okay, but when I do something *, i will get few yahoo.com or htm files, and I can't do *.* - (return invalid query as error) to find out where the large files are . Basically, it doesn't find things with wildcard. In other words, to look for something, you have to know the whole name. * just does not work. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook