icon

Sandboxie user reviews

5 stars66% 10
4 stars20% 3
3 stars13% 2
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 15 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 15 user reviews Post your own review

Essential 5 stars by zahnc1 Mar 02, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I almost never run new programs or installations without it. For most setup programs, right-click and select "Run Sandboxed" to install, then copy that folder from the Sandbox to anywhere on your HD to turn it into a stand-alone/portable program. Prevents me from having to constantly back-up and restore the registry. Many thanks to you, Tzuk. showShow review details
Incredibly useful 5 stars by CarbonDudeoxide Jan 23, 2009 (Read all my 26 reviews)
Very useful program when trying out suspicious programs or trial software. Whatever you run through Sandboxie is run in a sandboxed environment. To give you an example of how effective this is, if you install a trial software and the trial runs out, you can clear the Sandbox and reinstall the trial as if you had never done so in the past. Perfect tool for testing and 'hiding all traces'. Also, as far as I can tell, the only limitation I know of between the full version and the free trial is that, for the trial, you have to wait 5 seconds before starting the program. That's it! showShow review details
Massively useful 5 stars by SouthPark May 10, 2008
I would recommend this software to everybody that knows how to use computers/software/internet. Sandboxie is small, and the concept is simple, but it can be massively useful. This software is one very good example of 'Great things can come in small packages'. I would not leave home without Sandboxie. showShow review details
Good testing tool 4 stars by azsyguy Oct 31, 2007
This program seems to do what it advertises, and it seems to do it very well. I have run several different programs under the "Sandbox" environment, and there were no traces of the activity left behind (no links, files, etc.). This would be good for acceptance and suitability testing (to see a new pgm suits you without installing into your "production" system). Do the installation under Sandboxie, and if you don't like it, you've still preserved your "production" system environment. showShow review details
Pow! 5 stars by doggitydogs Sep 12, 2007
This program actually destroyed a malware attack for me! showShow review details
System security 5 stars by Setinut Mar 22, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
A safety net worth having especially if a download bleats "file corrupted" upon trying to open it. Who knows what was in it eh? Sandboxie, good stuff! showShow review details
Nice 4 stars by Apokalipsys Mar 18, 2007 (Read all my 14 reviews)
This is a very nice piece of software but there seems to be a memory leak somewhere and system resources decrease greatly with time. I recommend restarting the system after using it. showShow review details
An invaluable tool in pc security!!! 5 stars by GIORGOS Sep 20, 2006 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I'm impressed with this tool. A great help, if you gona drive to dangerous sites (with dialers, keyloggers etc.), or you don't want to save traces on your system (adult sites?). When you end web browsing, just save what you want and drop away anything else. With a single click!!! But I think its most valuable feature is to test new software, if it fits your needs. What do you want to test? A new game, a new security suite, maybe a shareware program? You are not satisfied from it? Just empty sandbox contents. No garbage files through various Windows folders, no registry entries. I really think, its a must have for all Win32 users. The first program to install, after Windows installation. Thanks! showShow review details
Excellent 5 stars by tomdc7 Sep 20, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Great program and it works well with the new Internet Explorer 7. With IE7's ability to tab the links you click, within the same browser window, you stay within the Sandboxie environment. Some links open a separate page with items that open outside the Sanbox which is covered by sandboxie if you pay for it but not for the free users. Still wonderful. Tabbed IE7 takes care of that. I haven't paid yet but I'm going to! Had a bit if trouble getting sandboxed and getting to use Netscapes WebExcelerator at the same time but figured it out. For Netscape users, sign in to Netscape the usual way and once your in, then open Sandboxie. It will open its own browser. You must re-sign in to Netscape in this "sandboxed" browser in order to get your Netscape add-ons to work in the same browser as Sanboxie. Well worth it! Great stuff. showShow review details
Sandboxie 4 stars by ferarg Mar 20, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Its a great solution for something that I was searching for, have a "virtual space" to run some dangerous or not safety software showShow review details
Best free sandbox type app. 3 stars by alnjk01 Mar 03, 2006 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Small footprint and very light on system resources. Excellent for running various programs in an enclosed environment. Sort of non-existent interface and some stability and security issues. showShow review details
Very nice 5 stars by Rodger Feb 04, 2006 (Read all my 99 reviews)
Easy to use and makes sense in this world of spyware and virus-tested it on a site I know left me a little present once and it passed,easy to configure and you can turn off the startup as well as the folder on your desktop. showShow review details
Be safe - get this now! 5 stars by mikesantana Dec 08, 2005 (Read all my 17 reviews)
Complete browsing safety for FREE, register for some extra features you can live without. After closing, all temp files, downloads, cookies, plugins, ActiveX controls, toolbar changes, spyware and even viruses are totally gone, all registry changes are also removed. This is as safe as you can get! You can manually choose downloads and favorites etc you really want to keep. Recent versions are completely stable on XP and 2003 for me. Does check on startup for new versions. Don't leave "home" without it! showShow review details
Increase safety quickly and without fuzz 5 stars by niknik Oct 30, 2005
Sandboxie is great when browsing unsecure areas of the web. Instead of changing 20 different IE settings (and later changing them back), I just run IE through sandboxie. Afterwards you just empty all sandbox contents. Voila! showShow review details
Not too pleased 3 stars by Geejay Aug 22, 2005 (Read all my 13 reviews)
The idea behind this application is a very good one but, honestly I found this program sort of klunky to use. And I really don't like applications trying to connect to remote machines every - - single - - time - - you - - run - - them. What's up with that anyway? After following the uninstall instructions, this application left dead linked shortcuts in my quick launch, and on my desktop. Maybe I'm missing something here? I used my old stand-by, GoBack, to revert my drive to a time right before this program was downloaded onto my compter. Sorry. showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download Sandboxie

Check out these featured downloads...

PhoXo

PhoXo image editing and effects

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Emsisoft Emergency Kit

Emsisoft Emergency Kit portable malware removal kit