OverDisk User Reviews

5 stars83% 10
4 stars8% 1
3 stars8% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 12 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 12 user reviews
Post your own review

Not bad 4 stars by gimpguy Aug 04, 2012 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I tried this out for a bit, it's not a bad analyzer. The problem I found is it takes a bit longer to scan the space. The wheel type graph is alright but a bit more confusing than others. Once it's loaded, it works fast but I still don't like the whole UI. I've used many others and I can't say I give this above a 4, (3 and a half would be ideal) compared to other free space analyzers. Still decent and free and a great alternative to others. show Review details
Fantastic 5 stars by Barney Jan 27, 2009 (Read all my 4 reviews)
This is an AMAZING program. Thought I knew my disk(s) well, but after running this little gem, discovered I was wasting almost 8 gigs on my system disk. OverDisk populated the data window and a huge folder called Recycler stood out clearly. It was at the top level directory on the C: disk. Searching for it (including hidden files and folders) showed nothing. Some research though revealed it was left over from Norton (by Symantec). Even if you deinstall Norton, that folder stays and remains hidden. It's no longer needed of course. I used a DOS Command and deleted the directory. Got back almost 8 gigs of space. Did a scan and a defrag and the system zooms along much faster now. Thanks for a great little program. :-) show Review details
Excellent program!! 5 stars by BobJam Dec 08, 2008
In over 20+ years of computing, I think I've left maybe two review comments on software. Though I've found good stuff, I've rarely found anything worth the time to comment about. But OverDisk is DEFNITELY worth my time. I was looking for a replacement for JDiskReport, since that software uses Java and I've long since removed Java, and didn't want to put Java back on my machine just for JDiskReport (I don't need it for any web sites I vist regularly). I was also looking for something that show file charts, not just folder charts. OverDisk was EXACTLY . . . I mean EXACTLY . . . what I was looking for. My compliments to the author, and also to SnapFiles, since I looked all over (download.com, filehippo, etc.) and couldn't find what I wanted till I came here. And OverDisk is even better than JDiskReport, plus an added benefit is that OverDisk DOES NOT require Java. Well done, author! show Review details
Take back your harddrive today! 5 stars by TheFMM May 14, 2007
If firefox lets you take back the web, OverDisk will restore and enhance your powers over your harddrive. This program can give you access to places that explorer won't show you, even when you tell it to. Not only that but you can free up massive amounts of harddrive space with the knowledge that this program will give you, right out of the box; so it's highly useful to people who little about computers, and power users. It even give you the options to probe a chosen folder and get more detailed information. It's very easy to navigate too. Just point and click, and you're in the folder. Even open files directly from OverDisk. If you're tight on space, use the wasted space feature to see the biggest and/or smallest things taking up uneeded space. Then delete them if you so choose. show Review details
Great tool! 5 stars by silverdude Feb 01, 2007
This is a really intuitive tool for searching big files from a hard disk. The "pie chart" view gives you immediate idea of the situation and an easy way to navigate through folders. Really great piece of software! I have only one development idea: It would be nice to be able to delete or move files from the "pie chart" view by clicking the piece of pie with right mouse button. show Review details
Truly exceptional, gives easy enormous power 5 stars by CharlesK Jan 30, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
This is the best program of its kind, although I still like the similar program, JDiskReport. However, it is superior largely because the interface and display of information is brilliant. It provides a wealth of information yet someone with nearly zero computer knowledge can understand it immediately. I use this to consistently identify portions or subdirectories on my hard drives (and client hard drives) that are hogging space but can't be understood or analyzed any other way. This is an indispensable tool and saves hours on each use; plus it's very fast and doesn't require a background service or other resource hog. This should be rated 5 stars in my view. show Review details
Unique 3 stars by alnjk01 Jul 11, 2006 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Small footprint and very little system resource usage. Very unique pie chart style design. Your able to explore every directory and file within each drive/partition. However what baffles me is the way the information is presented! Instead of being laid out in a summary type way you have to mouse over each and every section. Additionally being beta there is virtually no help file. show Review details
Simply amazing 5 stars by Constantine Jan 13, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Finally! I didnt have thought that such a program exists. Its so easy to spot who eats precious space. No need to crawl the whole file tree deducting the desired hidden subfolder with tmp files. No need to suffer. You just wait while program scans your selected drive an then view the synchronized dual-pane (tree and pie chart). The pie chart is the essence of the program. It shows sizes of folder content... and [!] sub-folder content, if its sizes are comparable. I can see 2 30MB+ Outlook files even from the disk root. And that's 9 levels deep. show Review details
Great tool 5 stars by SyscomCEO Jan 06, 2006
I have used this tool for over a year now on my clients systems. I recommend it to anyone need to track down space usage or just to take a good look at your drives contents. Try it now! show Review details
Excellent program 5 stars by Shinra Dec 31, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I downloaded this, and I was very surprised at the speed and usefulness of the program. Get this if you want an accurate summery of your computer. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by jreader Dec 28, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Surprisingly intuitive, very easy to use, fast, elegant, practical, very useful in identifying the space eaters, integrated in the Windows Explorer context menu, free:) ... couldn't ask for anything more from it. Thank you very much, Mr. Fotinis! show Review details
Intuitive and useful 5 stars by queensknight Oct 14, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I found myself with 1GB space free with no idea what data was consuming the rest of the hard drive. Within a few minutes of installing OverDisk I cleared away 6GB of data and found a 384MB email database from an email client that I uninstalled 10 months prior. (Time for a reformat eh?) At any rate, the graph is boggling at first but surprisingly VERY intuitive and OverDisk scans are much faster than a competing product I tried. All in all fantastic product. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


CintaNotes take and manage notes


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring