Thunderbird User Reviews

5 stars48% 15
4 stars12% 4
3 stars16% 5
2 stars16% 5
1 star6% 2
Based on 31 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 31 user reviews
Post your own review

Good alternative to windows mail 5 stars by Sam_the_Man Apr 20, 2014 (Read all my 54 reviews)
An easy to install program that's loaded with lots of extras. And, because it's open source it's continuously being upgraded. Highly recommended. show Review details
The email client for all your email needs 4 stars by PogMoHon Mar 08, 2014 (Read all my 22 reviews)
You can transfer all your data and settings to another computer. Splendid. Pop mail, imap mail, filters, folders, save mails as eml, save attachments and many other nice features. Aliases for a main email account are set as 'identities' under that account (don't create separate email accounts for aliases - that was a bit confusing at first but oh so clear afterwards). Everything is well explained in Mozilla Help and you receive regular updates. show Review details
This is awesome! 5 stars by timinhim15 Sep 05, 2012 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It works! I can get both my pop account and my hotmail account in one program, and they both work. I did have some difficulty getting my hotmail emails, but that is an issue with hotmail, not Thunderbird. Setting up message filters was easy too. If you want to filter by a group from your address book, don't create a group inside an address book. Create a new address book and add the contacts to that. show Review details
Still nothing better for POPIMAP 5 stars by Wastrel Feb 02, 2012 (Read all my 17 reviews)
Thunderbird has been a solid program for a long time, and with all the add-ons available you can extend the feature set. Lately, though, the layout and design have received major enhancements (part of being tied to Firefox dev no doubt). More than simply about all the themes and personas available, the default font settings, for instance, make everything easier to read (which is what's really important with messaging); spacing is better, too. Essentially, once installed you don't really have to do much else with the appearance than add a little color (of your choosing). Another somewhat recent improvement is the basic assistance available for setting up new email accounts, which used to be a little "quirky", but now has also become solid. Right now, I'd say that Thunderbird v9 is the best program available for accessing POP andor IMAP accounts. Simply sending and receiving messages has never been easier. show Review details
Glad I saw this 5 stars by gimpguy Oct 20, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I have been using Tbird for a long time but not for what others mainly use it for. I wanted to keep printed PDF files of my email, while I could print out individual email from near every client, there was something special with Thunderbird... When I selected all the emails, Thunderbird would allow me to print EVERY email in succession without mashing them into one and without me having to manually go in and choose each one to print. Admittedly, this was the main reason for me using this aside from the fact it's one of the best email clients out there. I will say that backing up is easier than ever with live mail, but when it comes to printing email, viewing and handling, Tbird is still my favorite. show Review details
Simplicity works 5 stars by busybusy Oct 16, 2011 (Read all my 156 reviews)
I have been using Thunderbird since it has been out and it has been pretty solid application. It has been getting more bulkier over time but it is a great straight forward e-mail program. The data files are easy to backup and restore unlike other e-mail apps. The improvements in the security aspects make it a winner! Two-Thumbs Up! show Review details
Good but... 4 stars by JamJar Apr 18, 2010 (Read all my 27 reviews)
Thunderbird is very similar to everything by Mozilla, does the job but is so boring. This email client for me does everything that is needed but it's very ordinary to look at, functional without been fancy. show Review details
A great alternative to MS Outlook 5 stars by jtania73 Apr 11, 2010 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This e-mail client works very well and has all the features needed by this kind of application. In my opinion, it can be considered the best (and free) alternative to Microsoft e-mail clients like Outlook and Outlook Express. show Review details
It's a great client 5 stars by jackalexander Mar 26, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Everyday I learn something new about this email client and I've been using it since the 2.0~ days. I always works without any problems.... show Review details
Just to many options... 3 stars by alanhayward Dec 13, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It's just email and I found it way to complicated, with too many options/settings and I'll stick with OE thanks. show Review details
A re-review 2 stars by hrwasp Dec 04, 2009 (Read all my 48 reviews)
Thunderbird did come a long way, but after trying to obtain support for all my emails missing, no answer from support. Searched forums and no answers. PASS! There are way TOO many email programs out there to deal with this one. show Review details
Excellent for home network 5 stars by Richmond May 25, 2009
On creating a home network I found my familiar Outlook Express cannot operate across a network satisfactorily. I tried 3 or 4 of the free E-mail Client downloads but all had some problem either with the interface or with importing my e-mails and address book correctly. Thunderbird handled these automatically and flawlessly, and with a little research in help and on the net was easy to configure exactly as I want, to back up configuration settings and e-mails, and even to run from a pen drive if needed. The one tip I would pass on to anyone else doing this is that on the PC where Thunderbird stores its "profiles" (containing settings and e-mails) I checked the file sharing box for the relevant folders but forgot to check the box allowing file changing from another PC. Thunderbird then failed to initialise over the network because it tries to write a lock file on the profile before opening. The error messages were misleading and this simple mistake took a while to find! show Review details
Probably the best, being that is free 5 stars by Greytata Apr 17, 2008 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I have used them all - or almost - and I confess the first time I tried Thunderbird I did not like it. However after close inspection of features and after using it, allways comparing with others, I have to admit this is a great email client for one - like myself - that do have several mail accounts on different servers. I only use it on an IMAP configuration and it works like a charm as I can not only keep the messages I want on the servers instead of having them on my machine, delete the ones I do not need and even receive a message on a server and forward it from a different one, transfer messages from one server to another, on the fly, etc. I use the portable edition and have it installed on a USB pen, is fast enough and very reliable. The management of messages is top notch, as is the management of the address book, either in groups or by individuals. As a free program, it must be considered the best of them all. show Review details
Great mail client 5 stars by HotShot Sep 17, 2007 (Read all my 9 reviews)
1 great feature - 1 annoying feature Unlike OE, You can't split your address book into folders, that would help me as my address book has 330 entries. The one great feature is, more flexible email filtering rules that OE. Lets not forget the key feature, it's safer to use the preview pane that OE. I still haven't found an excellent email client. Combine OE and Thunderbird best features and you would have it. show Review details
Unbeatable 5 stars by Eannes Aug 12, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Without sounding critical, Snapfiles needs to post more recent reviews of this powerful free email client, the last being January 2007. A lot has happened since then. It is fully customizable, fast and accurate. The features and customizations are almost endless and should be more than enough to suit everyone's needs, both private and professional. The learning curve is not steep and easy to configure your own spam filter levels. I would recommend this email to anyone. show Review details
Outlook users... get a clue! 5 stars by dirtnap Jan 27, 2007 (Read all my 19 reviews)
For the application-challenged... Get a clue! T'Bird is the current freebie champ in the e-mail category. If it's not working right on your computer it is most likely that YOU are the one who needs to clean up junk, config, and conflict problems on your system. A clean system will run this program Perfectly, and it will run rings around your beloved M.S. e-mail apps. Hundreds of experienced people in my user's group rank T'Bird as the premier mail app. If you're having a problem, go to the T'Bird forum and find out what it is that YOU are doing wrong which is causing such simple problems that even a novice should be able to figure out and correct. And T'Bird is FAR more secure than M.S. e-mail apps. show Review details
Don't like it 3 stars by Raverx Jan 16, 2007 (Read all my 12 reviews)
Thunderbird is slow and e-mails arrive at odd locations in the inbox. Most annoying is when composing, the cursor will occasionally grace me with its presence but usually not, or appear only for a while then vanish. Typed text will hang and then catch up. When replying to some e-mails, Paypal for example, the contents of the foregoing message will be immersed in ugly red dotted boxes making it difficult to cut and paste elements. I was told that to improve the speed I should routinely compact the folders - a great idea if it actually worked. Adding a hyperlink or an image to an e-mail is a cumbersome several click procedure. If you want a really annoying and frustrating e-mail client then Thunderbird is for you. Check it out. show Review details
Best free mail program 5 stars by Victor73 Nov 22, 2006
I am using thunderbird since the release of 1.0, and i am very happy with it. In the beginning there were some small problems, but at this moment everything works very well. I put some extension on there, like lightning (calender), and a address sidebar. For me there is at this moment no alternative. show Review details
Descent client for single account 3 stars by pcdebol Feb 22, 2006
Worked fine with one account but I have three. Constant time outs and other problems made me look elsewhere. Would recommend if you only have 1 e-mail account if you have more could be problematic. show Review details
Going without 5 stars by Sawyer Feb 21, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Going without any isp ended spam blocker-Thunderbird is an excellent e-mail program to help one get rid of junk mail by teaching the program. Thunderbird also will block images from websites so images just won't instantly be shown unless you want them to. Thunderbird is also free and made by the same company that makes Firefox, so you know its good and gonna continue to be good. show Review details
Second password needed 2 stars by Mike98 Feb 02, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Installs and uninstalls easy. Does receive e-mail. Does not send e-mail, because of second password needed for outcoming e-mail. show Review details
Thunderbird good, but... 3 stars by ApexWebSolutions Nov 19, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It stinks if you want to brand your emails with a background JPEG and signature. It's too hard. You should be able to: - Create multiple templates/signatures - Pick a default template for each email account, or each domain name - Click Write and auto-use the default template - Have option to use a special forwarding template for fwded emails You shouldn't have to add the template folder by hand, nor double-click on the template to create a new email, nor copy forwards to new emails. My perfect email program: - Does the above - Tames the inbox, like Thunderbird - Can specify the folder to store the mail - Can attach other mail files, like Outlook - Can run from USB memory card, like PortableThunderbird - When running via USB, downloads a copy from the mail server (does not delete) - Saves the email file(s) in encrypted format show Review details
Pretty good but... 4 stars by jdg850 Nov 05, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Very good email program. Easy to use. Nice interface. Free - gotta love that. But, it's not the smallest program out there. Also, kind of slow at connecting to pop accounts. Mozilla needs to trim the size of this program down a bit. Overall though, I would most definitely recommend this. show Review details
Everything you need 5 stars by MichaelMaltenfort Sep 15, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Thunderbird is a well designed program, and it feels great to use it. Smooth and easy---a great program and it's free to boot! show Review details
Underwhelmed 2 stars by MalcolmJohnson Sep 01, 2005
I've used Thunderbird on my office machine for a couple of months, and quite frankly I'm underwhelmed by it. As others have commented, it's bloated, has no 'killer' features, and is slow at retrieving mail from POP boxes. It just isn't in the same class as, for example, Pocomail, which I use on my home computer. I'm afraid Thunderbird just doesn't cut the mustard for me. show Review details
Need so much extensions just as firefox! 2 stars by Eason47 Aug 31, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
What kind of software is this? it uses 20mb of my harddisk space...and i still need extensions to add an email account for yahoo and hotmail... i straight away uninstall the program after install it not long... show Review details
Disappointing 2 stars by Nicholas Aug 17, 2005 (Read all my 61 reviews)
I found Thunderbird mail client rather unstable. It confronts me with bug reports. Several times it let me down after composing new messages. And another thing: 13 MB is a lot of expensive mem and waiting 12 secs to show up is a lot of time. Calypso on the other hand asks no more than 2 MB and shows up in less than 4 secs. Sorry: Thumb down. show Review details
Stick with outlook 1 stars by thebuzz Aug 14, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Waiting 10 to 12 seconds for the Thunderbird program to load is a long wait just to check your inbox. Same problem when you click on an email link to send an email. I don't know where all the hype is comming from. Mozilla programs are slow and bloated. show Review details
Basic mail/news - hardly worth the download. 1 stars by spreland Aug 12, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This is a very basic mail/newsreader lacking a lot of features you will find on more developed programs. If you are looking for a good newsgroup program this is not it. If you want a basic email client this will work, but I would wait until Thunderbird can be upgraded to the latest version/build without downloading the whole program. The download is too big for a program that offers so little. Even more so if you have to redownload for any upgrades. show Review details
Saving and backing 3 stars by Rienus Aug 01, 2005
The one thing every email program MUST -is say MUST- have is decent backing up of mails automatically at a place that cannot be destroyed if PC gets down. It MUST be user friendly and read and get at with common textsoftware. This is what definitely LACKS in thunderbird. To much gimickking us alas needed to get at mails that in fact are basically texts!![ NETSCAPE had at least an easy outlet by looking up mail, and it was easily installable in such a way that all mails were saved on a separate partition.} So make that the first priority in next editions!!! Rien Buter show Review details
Recommended, but... 4 stars by EM_745 Jul 03, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Correct me if I'm wrong, but A LOT of people who use this are also using Firefox as their main browser, right? If so, then why not use the Mozilla package instead? I don't understand why one would choose to use the Firefox/Thunderbird combo instead of the Mozilla Suite. Now don't get me wrong. Both Firefox and Thunderbird are good, but when used together they don't compare to Mozilla, which by default offers more features such the quick-launch option (which has gotten REAL fast with the 1.7.8. release), an IRC client, HTML editor (Composer), and a far better help system. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers


CintaNotes take and manage notes

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders