PhotoFiltre

PhotoFiltre User Reviews



5 stars84% 59
4 stars12% 9
3 stars1% 1
2 stars1% 1
1 star0% 0
Based on 70 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 70 user reviews
Post your own review

A superb image editor 4 stars by realbull2009250 Mar 15, 2013 (Read all my 60 reviews)
A quality and easy to use editor for beginners and advance users. It has an easy to use interface and has all of the common filters built in. This new free version now handles layers. It can accept the popular file formats including PSD files. If one knows how to use it, some professional quality work can be produced. The bad points is that it doesn't support 8bf filters(only for the paid version) and some PSD files are not rendered correctly. show Review details
Wonderful! 5 stars by darkocean Nov 22, 2012 (Read all my 35 reviews)
You love this program, easily convert to any format, nice smoothing options, lots and lots of fun filter options (ones you'll actually want to use!) I've been using this for years. Two thumbs up! show Review details
Excellent software 5 stars by rjsl55362 Mar 02, 2012 (Read all my 6 reviews)
It works great and it's user friendly. I like the new version a lot. The only problem in version 7 is in the contrast section. It automatically raises the contrast to the max, if you try to do it a second time. That's it. But other than that. It's an excellent software. show Review details
Very competent photo editor 5 stars by gwestbound Dec 11, 2011 (Read all my 19 reviews)
PhotoFiltre does everything most occasional users would ask of a photo editor quickly, easily and well. show Review details
Great photo editor! 5 stars by Big_Ty Jul 29, 2011 (Read all my 3 reviews)
This is on my all-time favorite software list. Has a nice, uncluttered interface that takes only moments to get the hang of. Many editing tools are within a few clicks. Use this tool for retouching photos from my digital camera, does the trick for simple tasks. Of course, its not Photoshop, but handles simple image editing tasks very well. High marks for this program! show Review details
User for years now! 5 stars by cu2ju_ricardo Jun 26, 2011 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Used the free version for years, then ended up buying the Studio! Its a light but yet very powerful "little" Photoshop! I recommend this to anyone, the best free and paid image editor around! show Review details
Good program 5 stars by CliffAnd Dec 21, 2010
This software works really well. It is simple to use and I use it all the time. show Review details
Does almost everything 5 stars by busybusy Nov 29, 2010 (Read all my 157 reviews)
This is a an amazing photo editing tool. It does everything, almost. Easy to use, great features and fast. Thanks to the PhotoFiltre team for making this available! show Review details
Great to see software that works 5 stars by bobby54 Oct 26, 2010
I've been using PhotoFiltre now for about 3 years. It is so useful. I highly recommend this software over $300 programs. show Review details
Is it just me? 3 stars by JamJar Mar 28, 2010 (Read all my 27 reviews)
I don't actually get all the hype about PhotoFiltre. It's an ok product and it's free but there are far better image editors, Photoscape been one of them which has far better filters. Photofiltre decent but nothing more. show Review details
Almost perfect 5 stars by sazhazman Feb 15, 2010 (Read all my 26 reviews)
Pair Photofiltre with Photoscape and you have free software that will accomplish 99% of the tasks for which you would use Photoshop. This is not as advanced as The Gimp, but it will leave you impressed when used for everyday image adjustments. show Review details
A compact photoshop 5 stars by lukn4deal Jan 02, 2010
For free software, PhotoFiltre is amazing! This software includes all the basic tools you need for photo editing, without all the many confusing plug-ins and system resource hogging issues that you don't need, e.g., Photoshop. Once you get familiar with all this has to offer, you wonder what you ever did without it. I have been a big fan of this software for years, as is my family and friends! show Review details
Has proved to be very useful 4 stars by dragons Oct 31, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Has proved to be very useful editor, has nice filters, there are optional plugins, easy to use. show Review details
An absolute keeper! 5 stars by Sam_the_Man Oct 05, 2009 (Read all my 54 reviews)
An incredible program that's easy to use. It ranks right up there with commercial products that demand a hefty price. Yet, the author(s) were gracious enough to share this gem freely. My sincere thanks to you. I can only ditto the rave remarks everyone else has made. Don't have it? Get it! show Review details
5 stars? try 10 stars! 5 stars by rpesq1 Aug 22, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
A perfect 10 is the only way to describe this app. Photofiltre should win awards. I have used Photofiltre for 4 years almost EVERY DAY, so I may have more experience with it than almost anyone. It is almost perfect. The programmer REALLY deserves your donation or your buying his deluxe version. Fast. Lightweight. Easy to Use. Useful plugins available (2 different auto white balance plugins are super useful). If Photoshop was free I would still use Photofiltre. Why? Photoshop is DRM monster, slow, buggy, and overkill for what people need to actually do 99.9% of the time. Why use overpriced DRM crap when this fast, lightweight, and quality app is available? If running 64 bit Vista or Win7 64 bit, be advised that there are some minor bugs that need to be fixed, but many users may not run into them. That said, the app has never crashed in 4 years of daily use. show Review details
Perfect for newbies to photo editing 5 stars by KittyCat Jul 08, 2009
I am 15 years old and I know almost nothing about photo editing, but I found Photofiltre extremely easy to use. it is perfect for basic editing, and I believe this is what students should use in school when learning to 'shop' pictures before moving onto Photoshop, rather than Irfran View, which I found to be too basic. I've recommend it to all my friends and family, and I am currently teaching my mum how to use it. A++ show Review details
Best of the best 5 stars by Airbourne Jun 08, 2009 (Read all my 9 reviews)
This program can do what I have found no other can do with TEXT You can type text then when you enter it in the graphic page. You can click on the edge of the text and STRETCH IT for a great effect You can put a background colour around the text (or a picture) and type text under a picture with no problem if you can figure out how to do it. In PhotoFilter you 'Copy' a picture then 'OPEN a new page (you can make this a colour page for a great effect)and paste the picture to the new page. You then have to Validate the Paste of the pic Then use the text editor to put a name under the picture. Thanks to everyone for the 'Best of the Best' graphics program show Review details
A must-have 5 stars by jnibori May 05, 2009
Been using it for years. I actually prefer it over PhotoFilter Studio (The paid version)due to some subtle differences. If you don't need to work with layers- can't beat it. The learning curve is minimal; the free add-ons are great and the help forum (accessed, via the program) is fantastic. A long over-do thanks to the programmers!!! show Review details
Still the best I have found 5 stars by twintail Nov 19, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Its amazing this is still the best I have found(its been around 4ever). I go to it ALL the time to quickly and easily fix-up photos. Just the right amount of editing tools, crop, color and brightness/contrast. I do use another program to re-size though. PhotoFiltre is awesome. Thanks a bunch. show Review details
Top of the picks 5 stars by miskairal Nov 07, 2008 (Read all my 29 reviews)
Just as Gusimio said, further down, I have both PhotoFiltre and Photoscape installed as there are a couple of things I can do in Photoscape that I can't do so easily or at all in Photofiltre. However Photofiltre is the one I use most. It is so fast to open and does everything so well. I first came across Photofiltre when looking for a replacement for microsoft's Photo Editor as I no longer have any version of Office installed. The key thing I was looking for was the "Paste as New Image" feature and Photofiltre is the only program I have found that has it. show Review details
Filtered... 5 stars by gimpguy Oct 08, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
Ok, first of all, for FREE, not many photo or graphic utilities aside from Gimp come close to the quality of PF. I have used PF for a long time, however, mainly for photo touch ups and such or outlining. Not to mention you can download all sorts of plugins for this that make quick work out of any photo, saving time and effort. It's an excellent app and you CAN'T go wrong having this, you simply can't. I can't stress enough how excellent this is for FREE especially! show Review details
Finally I found a powerful free photo editor 5 stars by Carlos_Villacis Aug 27, 2008
I just use for non-professional works, but I m very happy with it. I love the clone brush, This program works perfect with Vista. Thanks a lot for this program. show Review details
Basic photo editing 5 stars by Texan54 Jul 08, 2008
Kudos to the author of this software program! I needed a basic photo/scan image editing program and PhotoFiltre appears to be the ticket. For the function I need a editing program to do, Photoshop (and other commercial equiv) was overkill and too pricey. So TY to PhotoFiltre again. I look forward to using it for years on all my photo editing/file size projects! I also love the "price"!! show Review details
My fav ; ) 5 stars by ronniewhatshisname Jul 04, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It never ceases to amaze me how some people can complain at all about something they get for nothing. This is an awesome program, I've used it for quite some time, way back on Win98, WinXP, and now using it on Vista. It's my favourite photo editor and it's easy to use. AND IT'S FREE. show Review details
Great! 5 stars by jackofhack Jun 05, 2008 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This is the best freeware program I've ever used!!! It is full of features, a ton of options. All I can say to the author, is TY... :) show Review details
Light and easy to use 5 stars by R2-D2_ May 22, 2008 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Well, comparing to Photoshop the main thing i miss are layers... But i use this as a fast and FREE alternative to paint, so it does the job very well. Doesn't use more then 5 MB of ram here. show Review details
One of the two best freebies 5 stars by gusimio Apr 21, 2008 (Read all my 31 reviews)
Photofiltre and Photoscape are in a virtual tie for best free photo editors; however, each program does offer slightly different options in the area of "effects", so I have installed both and "use one or the other" as needed. You really can't beat this combination so get both! show Review details
Great 5 stars by hillbillydarlin Apr 19, 2008
This program is great I have PaintShop Pro 12 and Adobe Photoshop Elements but use this one more because it is easier to use. I just love it. show Review details
Just 2 points of complaint. 4 stars by LenTheWizard Jan 28, 2008 (Read all my 8 reviews)
You must compare this prog to the big boy progs you normally use, but good little alternative for most simple run of the mill jobs. 2 complaints, mouse wheel for magnification of image backwards to most other progs. Clone tool is combination of mouse and keyboard. R and L mouse click would be good. Give it a try, worth the effort. show Review details
Superior 4 stars by jackfrost May 13, 2007 (Read all my 35 reviews)
My digital cameras have their own software, so i don't see this program as lacking just because it doesn't interface with my cameras. I have Photoshop and rarely use it because of it's antiquated backward design, so i use Photodeluxe to perform my edits quickly with no learning curve when Irfanview won't do (which is rare since it supports Photoshop plugs). For some reason or the other though, both versions i have of Photodeluxe do not work anymore. Photofiltre to the rescue! it would be a total 5 star program if it supported layers, but since it doesn't, i have to give it a 4. still, it is a top-notch program that does what it says it does. show Review details
Darn near perfect 5 stars by indutch Apr 10, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
About all that is missing from this software is the ability to download pics from your digital camera. (Maybe I am missing something here, but I don't think so.) If this software could download your pics from the major camera manufacturers available today (Kodak, Canon, etc.) this FREE software would be nearly PERFECT! I haven't found anything, as an amateur digital photographer, that this software WON'T do. In time (ha-ha), maybe I will become more sophisticated than PhotoFiltre but I doubt it. Until PhotoFiltre becomes dumber than I am - I recommend it to anyone and everyone who wants to "play" with, improve or change their digital photos. For the price - I don't believe you can go wrong, my fellow picture-snappers! Get it - use it - enjoy it and share the results!! show Review details
Does what no other free editor comes close to 5 stars by Chazzz Feb 17, 2007 (Read all my 9 reviews)
If ya cant afford Photoshop or one of the other pricey editors. this is for you. or maybe u dont want to go through the learning curve with free GIMP (like me) this is easy and fast. does a heck of a lot of stuff. EASY to use. i mean EASY show Review details
Necessary program . . . 5 stars by JMMannion Jan 30, 2007 (Read all my 25 reviews)
This little program is a necessary part of any software library. It combines all the important and useful parts of image touch-up programs into one small, easy to use program. Truly a mini-PhotoShop. A must have. JMM show Review details
A work of art...this one. 4 stars by Bighugs Jan 26, 2007 (Read all my 6 reviews)
This has already made my life so much easier. I create graphics for my web site. I use to have to jump between several programs to accomplish what I can on this one program. I must say however that the quality is perhaps not quite the quality of some others. This is luckily an almost unnoticeable difference. The pure convenience of this program makes up for this. I find myself using this little piece of art maybe 80% of the time. Get it. You'll love it. You'll thank the authors and Snapfiles for it! show Review details
I return to this time and time again, despite ... 5 stars by hesadevil Jan 14, 2007
I return to this time and time again, despite having a copy of Paint Shop Pro on the same PC. show Review details
Photofiltre is the best 5 stars by DirectInfo Dec 13, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This Is The Best I Have Found Yet. It Has Everything A Commercial Program Has... Except A Price !!! show Review details
The best around 5 stars by sprintcar Nov 14, 2006
This is one of the best programs around. Hard to believe that it is Freeware. show Review details
Wonderful! 5 stars by dwwwllwwwb Aug 06, 2006 (Read all my 6 reviews)
With the help of this very professional application I do not need Adobe Photoshop to retouch my photos. Extremely efficient, compact, and sufficient for even very sophisticated amateur retouches. And by amateur I mean those whose photos are worth being called Art (for your information, the best photographers in the world are not professional photographers, but amateurs). It starts very quickly since it is very light weight, and it handle the work smoothly. I love this application. show Review details
Fair share-freeware 4 stars by heather Jul 08, 2006
It is awesome that there is a program that is sufficient and efficient that can be downloaded and used without any strings attached. I was pleased to put this program on my computer. I frequently like to make slideshows but editing pictures and making them better is just one step to a great productions. Thank you for the good program and no spyware or popup. Heather show Review details
Excellent piece of software 5 stars by dkny4773 Jul 01, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Does everything I need it to, takes up little space, a simple to use, effective program. Very nice. show Review details
Saved 5 stars by modsrule May 26, 2006
My name is max and i have just left school. I want to be a photographer but i know how much this costs. It would be a bout show Review details
Fantastic! 5 stars by Batasha May 13, 2006
I have never written a review for software which I have tried; but PhotoFiltre deserves applause! This is an excellent program for novices and experienced users alike. It has lots of features which are simple to use and understand and many filters and effects. Out of all the freeware I have tried; this is the best so far! Download it now and enjoy the experience of using your imagination in this great program. show Review details
Excellent product ? 5 stars by joecool1948 Apr 12, 2006
If Photo Filtre were commercial software it would be a very good product and way ahead of many of its rivals. However as its freeware I'd say that makes it an excellent product. The Photo Filtre Interface, Features and Ease of Use are all excellent. In fact I found that getting the hang of using it far easier than any of its rivals that I've tried. show Review details
It's amazing.... 5 stars by TerryP Apr 02, 2006 (Read all my 87 reviews)
... that Freeware can be this good. Who needs Paint Shop Pro? This app is small, fast, reliable and with more features than I will ever use. PhotoFiltre provides a complete graphics editing package for the home user. show Review details
Great program 5 stars by Gizmo_151 Mar 29, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I use it all the time for all my photo needs. I would recommend it too all. show Review details
Get it now ! 5 stars by gbjennings Mar 07, 2006 (Read all my 21 reviews)
Absolutely outstanding in every respect - and FREE TOO ! show Review details
Photo editing at its best 5 stars by thegooner Feb 19, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Brilliant tool. All you need and more......... show Review details
Excellent! 5 stars by anaconda Feb 01, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
All I need for photo/images is here. show Review details
Don't bother paying for the big names 5 stars by GeneBX Jan 28, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I used Paint Shop Pro for years, and I tried to use Adobe Photo Shop as well. This little program beats 'em both hands down! It's not memory hungry, but still has the same features of Paint Shop, AND they're easier to locate and use! I absolutely love this program. Download it, and offer them money too! show Review details
Photofiltre surprisingly good 5 stars by fastbrake Jan 28, 2006
The editing and paint facilities are extremely good if not better the bought ones I have had installed easy to use A+ show Review details
Great program 5 stars by Kellysgirl Jan 06, 2006
This is a great program. It does some of the same things some of the high priced programs do. I like it. It is also easy to use. show Review details
What!!...it's free? 5 stars by SteMan_J Jan 03, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
If you like to take photo's and add you're own effects, then Photofiltre is the package you need. It has all the basic features, plus lots more of a photo manipulation package you would otherwise buy. And this is what makes PF such a great program...It's absolutely FREE!!! Just give it a try, I guarantee you will keep it on your computer. show Review details
Mixed feelings... 4 stars by Shinra Dec 30, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Well, this program is useful for its filters, but you want [..] instead for actual art. show Review details
Photoshop beware! 5 stars by mayunk Dec 13, 2005 (Read all my 5 reviews)
WIth Photofiltre, you really wonder why people pay to use Photoshop. It has almost everything that a basic Photoshop user needs--- at NO cost! Brilliant software show Review details
Very capable photo editor 5 stars by kentdog Dec 13, 2005
Comparable to some commercial photo editors. I am very pleased. show Review details
Love it. 5 stars by Ghost_grey Dec 10, 2005 (Read all my 56 reviews)
This my friend is a sweet little tool, perfect for printing pictures, resizing them, cropping, checking out the image via mouse scroll, adding affects, making icons,converting images files to another format, also does a good job with the quality and compression and has multi view so this is sweet, especially it's free!! show Review details
Terrybee says photofiltre is a great program 5 stars by terrybee Nov 26, 2005
This is a great program I used to use MGI photosuite but this is so easy to use and the plugins are great. The tutorials are so easy to follow and so comprehensive 150% Plus show Review details
Useful application 4 stars by Fortra Nov 20, 2005 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Its very useful and I use it a lot for all of my picture editing. And best of all its FREE!!!! show Review details
Excellent quality, easy to use! 5 stars by patitotoy Oct 19, 2005
This software is excellent, even for a newbie like me. I recommend this for everyone who likes to tinker with things! It's lots of fun, and the quality is super! Thanks! show Review details
This is basically the best graphics editor 5 stars by Loren11 Oct 08, 2005
PhotoFiltre is the best product I've ever tried. I create gorgeous graphics in minutes, I am just in love with it. It's easy to figure out, and there are endless things to do. show Review details
I can't believe i hadn't heard... 5 stars by shatterstar Sep 27, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
About PhotoFiltre until recently, but I'm SO glad I downloaded this program and gave it a shot. PhotoFiltre is simply awesome. I've been looking for a program this feature-rich and easy to use for a long time. PhotoFiltre is super powerful with a great layout. I would recommend PhotoFiltre over the [...] any day. Plus, it doesn't drain your system like [...] does. :) show Review details
Easy as cake 5 stars by bluenote72 Sep 27, 2005 (Read all my 17 reviews)
Now you can have your cake and eat it too because this program does what so many others have tried to do. I use this everyday to create beautiful graphics. If you dont know how to use a feature, full on board help is available. I enjoyed pulling down menu's and discovering much of the software on my own; it's easy as cake! Try this one out! show Review details
Good after learning the get-arounds. 5 stars by flatrock Sep 01, 2005
Very good for repainting flight simming textures, but the DX1/DX3 conversion has it offsetting the texture if one wants to redo an edit. After re-converting back to a 24 bit BMP, one needs to load the bmp into paint and resave for it to accept the re-converted bmp. One thing for sure though, once you learn it's odd little get-arounds, it's surprising what you can do with it. It shines the best as a resizer and gif converter with transparencies for web page use. It doesn't save a common jpg as small as paint does, resaving the "its" results from paint reduces pic size for webpages to the better. Thanks to the author for a functional picture editor that can be used for a little more than it was meant to do. show Review details
You don't see this very often. 5 stars by Protocom Aug 20, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
You don't see this very often. Quality, ease of use, available for free, feature rich, results. If you are editing and or manipulating common graphical images and photos with day to day functions, check out this program. I find myself going back to this program day after day to handle tasks the $$$ programs can't do. I have been looking for these specific functions for weeks and found them all in one package. For free. Outstanding! show Review details
Wonderful! 4 stars by Coociecrumbs Jul 26, 2005
I love this program. It is absolutely awesome for editing my photos that I take with my digital camera. Most of them pets, so it is great for reducing red eye etc! However, I want to do a photo where the background is mostly white...and then a circle with only my kittens face being sharp and clear. But cannot find the button to do that. Someone help? show Review details
Great! 5 stars by TimoHaapanen Jul 18, 2005
A tool for all my imaging needs. show Review details
Finding the help files 5 stars by LITLEMOUSE Jul 16, 2005
I think this is a great program but as i am new to it i would like the help files which I cannot find, can anyone help please. little mouse. show Review details
Easy to use 5 stars by hattymunn Jul 14, 2005
This is the first photo editing tool I have used that is this easy! I have gotten rid of every other editing software on my machine because this does it all. It is a simple program to learn and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for good photo editing software. show Review details
Not as good as it seems. 2 stars by MichaelD Jul 13, 2005 (Read all my 6 reviews)
It lacks two of the most useful things that makes other programs so much better; Layers and masks. It also LACKS color management, clipping layers, histograms, curves, channels, LAB, CMYK, brush engine, adj. layers, layer styles, etc. Btw, did I forget to mention that it also lacks vectors show Review details
I love photofiltre !!!! 5 stars by ezralite Jun 14, 2005
Where has this program been???!!!! I LOVE IT !!!! I use this more than the other three photo programs I have on my computer, and that includes PhotoShop Elements 3.0. With this program the learning curve is not very steep and the results are EXCELLENT! This is without question THE BEST free (even among non-free) photo editing programs out there in regard to value and features. The download is easy, and it doesn't mess with your computer at all. I do recommend going to the parent website and downloading the tutorial/manual for general reference purposes, as well as all around tips and information about the program. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring