Image for Windows

Image for Windows User Reviews



5 stars77% 7
4 stars22% 2
3 stars0% 0
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 9 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 9 user reviews
Post your own review

Highly recommended 5 stars by madmik Jul 25, 2012 (Read all my 32 reviews)
Once the many options are waded through and you discover the default settings are the ones to use,IFW is pleasantly simple to use. It has proved 100 reliable and is fast in use. The recommended recovery disk is the GUI version of Image for DOS,which loads almost instantly and makes recovery probably the fastest. Whilst others are still loading,the job has almost finished. Pricing very reasonable and with excellent support. show Review details
Image validation that is reliable! 4 stars by VideoJockey Aug 22, 2009 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Comes with a Linux and a DOS version also. I like the Linux version on a bootable CD that it creates for you. It images everything (Windows, Linux, DOS, Data) so don't let the word Linux scare you away. You can image the drive while it's not being used for anything else. It doesn't "fake" validation of an image that might be corrupt. During imaging, it will check byte-for-byte to let you know if something is wrong so you can fix it and that's the feature that has sold me. The DOS version won't work with a USB keyboard if you use a USB hard disk or USB optical disc in the process. The Linux version does not have this limitation. When operating from the bootable CD, the interface is graphically crude and there's no mouse functionality but that diverts power to the process so that it is fast and reliable. All you need can be done from the keyboard alone. All imaging software packages require intimate computer knowledge. show Review details
Top notch 5 stars by Greytata Dec 08, 2008 (Read all my 6 reviews)
My 2007 review was for IFW version 1.70 C. I have upgraded to V2 and still is - at least for myself - the King of imaging software. Added functionalities - differential back'ups - and a lot more,- backups can now be scheduled besides a lot of new features - makes IFW even a better solution for those hazerdeous days when we have to revert our system due to any failure . I have tried DriveImage XML but never got a lock on the drive, even with Volume Shadow Copy enabled. And on top of this all, Terabyte support is as excellent as the software itself: just got answers in minutes, even on a week-end, and very helpfull as well. Topnotch softyware with topnotch support. Thank you very much. show Review details
Simply the best 5 stars by bellgamin Jul 15, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
IFW (Image for Windows) is user friendly, and stable as a rock. I use it on my computer. My granddaughter (she's 9) uses it on her computer. It just WORKS. Before buying any other disk image software, I suggest you visit first its support forum. Then visit the support forum for Image for Windows/DOS. Judge for yourself -- which forums show happy users and which forums are loaded with unhappy users? Then buy the software with the happy users and -- you'll be happy, too. show Review details
Great product and great company 5 stars by joelski Apr 28, 2007
This is a simple product that works as designed. It produces fast, reliable backups, and is easy to use. Comes with a free DOS version, which is also terrific. The tech support for all TerabyteUnlimited products is the best I have experienced in my 30 years working with computers. Friendly, helpful, efficient, no attitude; and free updates for years. Highly recommended. show Review details
It saved my system many times 5 stars by ArturN Jan 11, 2007 (Read all my 19 reviews)
Fast, simple, very reliable and with a good array of features and possible plugins, IFW is probably the best imaging software on the market. Either if you make a direct DVD image boot disk or a "file" on a external drive and a boot disk with IFW plug-in with BartPE builder, you cannot go wrong. Byte for byte verification is a plus, which gives us peace of mind. Used Norton Ghost 9.0 which is slower, eats a lot of memory and by no means is a reliable as IFW. Had many problems with an old disk drive and IFW saved me a lot of times until I decided to substitute that drive. A great piece of software. show Review details
Fast and simple partition imaging 4 stars by VikingMan Feb 16, 2006 (Read all my 15 reviews)
With this software it's easy to create an image of a disk partition either to a file or onto a CD/DVD. The uncluttered interface is a simple two-step wizard. It takes about 10 minutes to image 4GB and validate the image afterwards. To use this program effectively you also need to install PhyLock (available free from Terabyte's site) so that you can image your Windows partition. The problem comes when you want to restore your partition because you can't restore Windows while Windows is running. So you must restore from outside Windows using Terabyte's other DOS-based image restorer (which comes free with this program) or their boot manager. I personally prefer the latter - it's also available here on Snapfiles. But this Windows-based program has the advantage that it is easier for newbies and can be run automatically from a batch file or a scheduled task. show Review details
It works for me! 5 stars by yuttaw Jan 22, 2006
Basic reliable imaging software. Tested backup and restore on Windows 95 and 98 to/from 2nd hard drive using DOS boot disk with Image For DOS. Backed up Dell XPS laptop while running Windows XP using Image For Windows and restored from DVD+RW. Each restore was flawless. Can boot off flopping drive, CD, or DVD to restore. Great value with Image For DOS included but spent too much time downloading files and reading manual to learn program features and configuration to get it to do what I wanted -- not a big deal considering low price and capabilities. Simple to use once you understand how it works. I prefer Terabyte provide all related free programs in one install, rather than me deciding what features I need and downloading them. show Review details
The best imaging backup solution for windows 5 stars by mazeman Jun 13, 2005
I tried ..., ..., ... and Image for Windows (IFW) beats them all in functionality, speed and features. For example I needed to create a bootable CD that needed no intervention to recover a remote server in case of failure and with this application is very easy, it includes a command line version with many options. None of the others could do this and this app cost only $26, the other server solutions are > $1000 !!! Another good thing about this is the byte by byte verification, so that you can be 100% sure that the backup is OK. None of the others has this. The list of features goes on and on ... One other great feature is that it works on x64 !!! Im very happy with this product. Try it and see what you've been missing. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook