Dexpot User Reviews

5 stars68% 11
4 stars18% 3
3 stars12% 2
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 16 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 16 user reviews
Post your own review

Updated rating on this 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 28, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
OK, I rated this a 5 prior, but I've changed my mind and this was a while ago... Now I give it a 6! Ok, Snapfiles doesn't have a 6 star rating but still, this has come a long way since even I rated it and it has 3-D cube switching now, and a ton of features it didn't have since the last time I used it. I am now using it again and even more happy with it, plus I have my Razer deathadder which I simply use the side buttons for switching the desktop and no need to bind any more keys than I have already for other things. This is simply the best and keeps getting better! I bow to you author.... :-) show Review details
Revolution 5 stars by Anandajoti Jun 04, 2009 (Read all my 5 reviews)
This program has revolutionised the way I work on my computer. For instance I currently have correspondence open on one desktop, a book I am reading on another, and a book I am writing on yet another, and can easily switch between them as needed. Before I installed Dexpot you can imagine the clutter, and it required frequently shutting down and restarting applications to keep it in order, which is very inconvenient. Now I can keep everything open and work on it at ease. My very best thanks to the developers who have made my work so much easier. show Review details
One of the best 5 stars by CarbonDudeoxide Jan 23, 2009 (Read all my 26 reviews)
One of the best virtual desktop programs I have ever seen. Only disadvantage I can come up with so far is the fact that you cannot interact with another desktop, especially in Full Screen mode (where you preview all the other desktops, however many you have). Unlike the mac, you cannot drag windows to your current desktop, but you can indeed move them to another desktop by right clicking the window you want to move. Very useful for school when you want to hide your desktop for your teachers, and very useful if you keep your taskbar cluttered up with many windows or you are letting your parents use your computer and you don't want them to see what you have open. show Review details
Nifty 5 stars by TerryP Nov 30, 2008 (Read all my 87 reviews)
This is the best Virtual Desktop Manager for Windows that I've used yet. Like it says in the description, it has an amazing set of features, yet it's simple to use. show Review details
Excellent product but doesn't work with vista 4 stars by Tripod May 02, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Hey all you upgraders. This is an excellent product but it does not work with Vista. It installs on Vista, you can switch between virtual desktops but programs that are running in one desktop appear in the other desktops, too. The Dexpot guys have not updated this product in a couple of years so until they do I will have to search for something else. show Review details
In love with Dexpot 5 stars by zzigott Sep 28, 2007
Dexpot offered me EVERYTHING I was looking from a desktop manager. After 15min of it, I am absolutely happy I finally found a solution so close to perfection. Hopefully it is as stable as it seems. So far I've tried at least 8 other desktop managers and they all bombed. Dexpot wins by far in features, usability and stability... and did I mention it is free? I love the fact that it will let you customize it to suit YOUR workflow. You don't see this type of approach too often, so hats off to the developers! Switching between desktops, moving windows and setting transparency is as efficient on a mouse as it is on a keyboard... which is totally mesmerizing experience! I am so happy with this great app that I am going to recommend it to all my computer junkie friends. NOTE (to self): if it proves to be stable, it will be the first app ever I will push the "donate" button for. show Review details
Power users only 3 stars by Geminate May 21, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Dexpot 1.4 is a rather complicated utility that has, now here this - ZERO documentation and ZERO help files. If you want help at the Dexpot website, forget that too, unless you know German - English are not welcome and get no support (I suppose it's because they can't read or speak English). If that doesn't scare you away, then let me reiterate - the utility's configurations are complicated and not for the common user. For the common user Dexpot has way, way, way too many configuration possibilities - something that Power Users love, but common users will get freaked out over. Can't hurt to give it a try, unless you make major modifications, then you might have problems that no one can help you resolve - beware. If you don't need this utility, don't install it. If you must have it, then remember you are very much all on your own. show Review details
Tried the rest, now try the best ;) 5 stars by aviciousvamp Nov 29, 2006
I've been through quite a few virtual desktop apps, so far this one is simply the best. It has all the features I want, it's stable, free of spyware and best of all free of charge for personal use :) show Review details
Well done 5 stars by mattware Oct 28, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
This software uses little memory, is stable, and is really well designed. It has so many options that it could have been confusing - but it is not. The user interface is very intuitive if you just give it 5 to 10 min to play with at first. A big thanks to the developer. [If you're using Dexpot you might be someone that runs a lot of apps at the same time. If so, take a look at an app called "Synergy" (also on Snapfiles) which allows you to work across multiple computers.] show Review details
Finally! an excellent desktop manager 5 stars by Gawron Oct 06, 2006
After using this for only about 10 minutes, I had to sign up here to write a review (Even though there are other reviews here, most of which I agree with)! That's how good it is! 10 minutes might not seem much, but it was sufficient to make it do what I have always sought after in a desktop manager. Most notably, different sets of icons in each desktop! This one finally got it, and more, like it says in the program text above (different background etc). I also run another program, Rainlendar (freeware at snapfiles!), and I was able to set a rule for it so it appears on all desktops. I found that extremely handy. This way I don't have to run 4 different instances of Rainlendar. A somewhat strange thing is that the full-screen preview is movable with the mouse, but hey. Just don't move it. Also, the icon aligning to grid are somewhat slow. The (not fullscreen) desktop preview just show running application window's size. This is a must have! show Review details
Probably the best desktop manager 5 stars by NikolaDD Sep 07, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
A very well thought application. Works pretty fast and looks very good. If you need to have several desktop workplaces on your windows this is the solution. What I like most of this app is that is very configurable, you can have global keyboard shortcuts to switch between desktops and you can specify what appears where. The only things it lacks is a deskband to switch the desktops from the taskbar and minipreview of the desktops (I've seen these two in other programs so it's doable). show Review details
Nearly perfection...! 4 stars by homeflash May 10, 2006 (Read all my 15 reviews)
You have read all the good comments from all others. The only thing I would like to have is to have different desktop icons layout set differently. In other words, if you delete one desktop icon, all other virtual desktops will also be deleted. This is only set back for this program. Otherwise, it will be perfect show Review details
Great program 5 stars by tomdc7 Feb 12, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
This program is the best! It lets me change screens with a flick of the hotkeys. I can hide my desktop activities before my Wife rounds the corner. The program lets me switch from the number one screen showing my stock investments to the thirteenth screen desktop with the taxes I was supposed to do. Each person gets their own desktop that uses the same PC. You can even transfer open windows between them. Great program show Review details
Never seem something like this before. 5 stars by Ghost_grey Jan 16, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
I still dont even know what this is but it is really awesome. Never seem something like this before, but i'm really starting to like it. I can have multiple windows open in a single virtual desktop, and it doesnt even use that much memory. has really good options, a high level config! and seems like a new toy for windows. I kind of thought up of uses for it ;) so everything is virtual in this virtual world of ours? show Review details
This software rocks! 4 stars by pjward Nov 19, 2005
I don't know how I got along without Dexpot!! I found it very easy to learn and the uses are endless. Once you try Dexpot, you'll be "hooked." show Review details
I could use a product with these features 3 stars by Sacramento Oct 05, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
On my Dell, Inspiron 5150 laptop strange things occurred. The balloon tips went blank on me and the changes in screen size were unexpected. As with all software installations, backup files and registry first. I don show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software


CintaNotes take and manage notes


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

Iperius Backup Desktop

Iperius Backup Desktop backup your files and folders


CDRoller recover data from damaged CD/DVD/BD