FreeCommander XE

FreeCommander XE User Reviews



5 stars81% 58
4 stars12% 9
3 stars1% 1
2 stars2% 2
1 star1% 1
Based on 71 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 71 user reviews
Post your own review

Best dual panel file explorer so far 5 stars by tulipanGris Feb 16, 2014 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I've tried many dual panel file explorer under Windows and Linux, and I have to admit that FreeCommander is the best one so far. It should come as part of the OS. Maybe the first application I install every time I had to install Windows... I set Ease of Use as Very Good, because I think that there are minor details to polish, however it's still superior to Microsoft Explorer. Excellent work...! show Review details
My preferred explorer 4 stars by PogMoHon Nov 23, 2013 (Read all my 22 reviews)
Dual Pane View, decent synchronization and many other options... Offers what the default Windows Explorer lacks. A lot! show Review details
Great 5 stars by ErickSmith23 Apr 25, 2013
Really an awesome software show Review details
Almost perfect! 4 stars by rapia19742 Oct 07, 2012
Fantastic piece of software! Great, great, great thanks to the Author for making it freeware. God bless you! ) It's not as complex and featured as Total Commander, but it's the best FREE file commander there actually is as for now. I strongly recommend the latest (XE, build 601 Beta) version, which is FAR superior and less buggy than 2009.02b version. As for now I don't think I miss any of the features which are available from the competition. Maybe little things like being able to MOVE the "Name" column to the far right, or more customized, a bit faster thumbnails view mode. Also I'd like to switch to a tab automatically after a short period of time while dragging some files to it. But these are minor things I'd like to be added/changed. I didn't find to this day any MAJOR bug that could effectively put me off of Free Commander XE. I use it all day at home, and even have a portable version I can use at work. Again big thanks to the Author! show Review details
So close 5 stars by gretui.jonker951 Jun 10, 2012
This commander-type file manager is SO close to be the perfect manager. Only a shame that it has to advertise with some Microsoft products such as Internet Explorer. This product, in fact, qualitatively supersedes the operating systems it runs on (and is still too dependent on). Give Freecommander programmers the chance to do some research and show your generosity. I think they can bring excellent us new products. show Review details
Look no further 5 stars by DJnr01 Apr 26, 2012
This is the one file utility that will do pretty much anything. Invest a few minutes in understanding the interface and location of the many functions, and you will never go back to explorer or something else .... show Review details
The best! 5 stars by dwebb5530 Apr 18, 2012
Views INSIDE zipped files, Duel Screens, many commands, small or large icons, DOS window, desktop snapshot, Zip/UnZip, Disk Wipe, Quick View, and many more functions. I have tried others, (Total Commander, Multi-Commander and others) Free Commander is the best. It shows files that won't show in other file managers! show Review details
I like it - one small issue 4 stars by william.washington242 Feb 01, 2012
Operating System Win XP professional SP3. - Since installing the latest version of Free Commander I have had an occasional problem (provoked by an as yet unknown action of mine) as follows: FC pops up a 'create a new folder' - pop up will not cancel. creating a folder works but the pop up does not cancel afterwards regardless of the number of folders created. Must use Task Manager to kill FC. Re-opening FC instantly pops up this window. This also affects MS Outlook - create a new email message and click in subject or body - a 'spell check complete' pop up appears which will not go away again must kill outlook from Task Manager. Only solution found is to uninstall FC, reboot, reinstall, then all works fine until next provoked! I am not sure if the problem is in FC or simply some strange interaction-I will post again if I discover the provocation - I suspect it may be a stray click while moving the mouse cursor across the FC window but not yet sure and can't afford the time to try. show Review details
Top notch file manager 5 stars by gwestbound Dec 10, 2011 (Read all my 19 reviews)
I have tried every file manager there is including pay applications. FreeCommander beats 'em all. show Review details
Neat file manager 5 stars by dirty_s Nov 21, 2011 (Read all my 4 reviews)
A very good file manager, far better than the Windows Vista7 file explorer: fast, powerful, customizable... show Review details
No more libraries!! 5 stars by brutallyblue Apr 30, 2011 (Read all my 8 reviews)
I love this software for many reasons. It is like going from using index cards in a box to a quick computer search. Like going from 1979 to 2011. Windows Explorer always lacked. At best it was obtuse, and it seemed more and more clicks were required to get to any folder you wanted. In Windows 7 (or maybe Vista?) Microsoft took a big step backward by removing the customization of toolbars in Windows Explorer. Most of all, I love FreeCommmander because I do not have to deal with those !X libraries. I tried to like them. I tried to use them. I tried to see why they were useful. In the end, I found them to be a nuisance, an extra step and confusing. It was one of the few fatal flaws of Windows 7. I hope they kick them to the curb in the next release. So no more libraries, and major organization that I have just tapped the surface of. I love so much useful information in front of me at once. Oh, and I the customizable toolbars are the icing on the cake! show Review details
Excellent, with one glitch. 5 stars by BreezyCricket Jan 11, 2011 (Read all my 7 reviews)
This is every bit as good as Norton Commander which I used for many years in the 'DOS' days, but I have found one glitch, which may only occur with Windows 7. I find that sometimes when I try to rename a File or Folder my PC freezes. show Review details
Great stuff 5 stars by wildsouth Nov 29, 2010
Some comments - I mainly use Linux, so this first class software of yours is too little in use. A chance that you will port it to Linux? I am not very fond of the 20 file manager I have tried out there. Two small disturbing matters: 1. Copy and other system-commands; you are seemingly using the Win-API or the built in-functions for this. After what I have seen, you are able to write much better functions yourself. If Windows can't copy or move a file, the process stops completly - a problem since Win 3.1 in 1986. In fact I have seen better copy-functions with DOS as with WIN. 2. If activating 'no confirmation' for copy and move, one still has to confirm. That is a little annoying when copying different folders. 99% good, keep up the good work! show Review details
Nice tool 5 stars by hansmustermann Nov 26, 2010
The portable Version is pretty nifty. Just plug your UMS into any computer and copy, move, edit files and folders. Just one feature missing (for me, at least): A "File Transfer Queue". When copying or moving different files from different folders I have to copy per folder. A queue could be a great improvement. This application is the free total commander killer. Almost same features for a good price. I'd rather pay the 38 USD that tc costs for freecommander, just because it is free but more useful to me than tc. Just to support it! show Review details
Only needs few improvements on FTP 5 stars by Anselmo_Canfora Nov 23, 2010
It would be nice if you can support the FXP protocol, this way one can transfer files between two remote servers even from a host with limited bandwidth. It would be very useful to add support also for (in order of helpfulness) scp, sftp, WebDAV, ftps. show Review details
Not very good : excellent ! 5 stars by pompomboy Jun 09, 2010
Thanks for this dual panel Explorer and for free show Review details
Excellent free file manager 5 stars by wyzwyk1 Mar 31, 2010 (Read all my 5 reviews)
While I personally use the paid for file manager program Directory Opus I have no reservations whatsoever in recommending Free Commander to those looking for free alternative. I feel it's the best free file manager/windows explorer replacement available today. The interface is nice, it's stable, easy to use, and has a reasonably full feature set. Anyone using the default Windows Explorer file manager and wanting better would be well advised to give Free Commander a look, as it's definitely a big step up in quality. show Review details
Amazingly good program for its price 5 stars by aiaiyaya Jan 02, 2010
I love FreeCommander, I definitely stopped using Windows Explorer completely as soon as I started using this program. The only beef I have with it is the file names of files which names are written in Asian scripts, namely Japanese, Korean and Chinese aren`t properly displayed at all. So a request to the developer, how about support for Asian characters? show Review details
It can do so much 5 stars by turtletech Dec 21, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
It can do so much and looks better than Total Commander or any other dual pane explorer. plus it can have multiple tabs. I've used Directory Opus, and it`s almost more configurable than that program, but this is free and Directory Opus isn`t. Also very stable. I don`t think i`ve ever had it crash. Also, it can be made portable for usb sticks. show Review details
Perfect portable file commander and synctool 5 stars by Florisz Dec 02, 2009
With version 2009.02a this is really the perfect portable file commander tool for windows with support for DST(daylight saving time) etc. show Review details
Only 1 issue 5 stars by BobDrake Sep 25, 2009
Someone recently recommended this program, and I understand why -- it's fabulous! The only flaw I've noticed so far is the inaccuracy of the Folder size that's listed. This is an important flaw since I'm using it to create and examine folders that will be transferred to CD from my computer. Otherwise, the program seems perfect. Kudos to the creator! I've been searching for a program like this for a very long time, and this is the first time I've found anything even remotely close to what I wanted. show Review details
Two yrs user comment 5 stars by fredbloggs Sep 17, 2009
'hilbert' incorrect. Move/Copy DOES has overwrite confirm. I use all the time, have default as confirm. Suspect was casual FC trier, not have clue to real potential. Must live with s/w for awhile. This is damn good F.R.E.E software when compared to win's explorer. After 2yrs use, still learning good ways to use 'many' features. Decided to just get along with it - enjoy dual pane feature (either pane can be hotKey maximised,swop between and more:). Anyone used to usual backing up to parent dir will love backspace key feature! Tabbed dirs and persistant tabs too! Give tab any name. Select no parent navigation, it forces new tab to appear if try go 'upwards'. This 'persistance' good for never loosing 'where you came from'. Favorites list, file/dir compare/replace features. Waaay to many features to mention. Do self favor, use FC - and not for just couple days b4 rubbishing it... show Review details
Lack of file protection 1 stars by hilbert Sep 13, 2009
A major problem with free commander is where one directory is pasted over another (i.e.: in a move or copy operation). If the paste occurs then files in the destination directory are overwritten with incoming files of the same name whether they are identical, older or newer. Protecting these files is a major problem with Explorer (a major missing feature). Few file managers do provide this protection (File Boss and Directory Opus for example), but they have other issues, especially Directory Opus which has all sorts of other incompatibilities. It would be nice to see a file manager/lister that would provide this essential data protection. In the meantime, Free Commander is too similar to many other file mangers and too little different to Explorer to worry about installing. Simply, Free Commander is full of unnecessary or non-essential frills but ignores the big stuff--that of protecting one's data files. As far as I'm concerned, it's a waste of time. show Review details
Very good Windows Explorer replacement 5 stars by honwahp Aug 08, 2009
My Windows Explorer is crashing all the time and I was thinking about reinstalling Windows(or repairing Windows). But I found this software! I installed it and..no more crashes. It appears to run independent of windows explorer. Also so far it is very stable. Thank you for a very nice product and it saves me a lot of trouble. show Review details
My swiss knife! 5 stars by informatix Mar 19, 2009
I do all with it. FreeCommander quickly and easily navigate through my Folders and Files, with a little shortcut keys. It type in the start of a file name and it go directly on the first file that match those characters. It includes simple browser for most type of files, graphics, musics, text. And now an FTP file transfer! FreeCommander it highly customizable to match your tastes. Very good product for me! show Review details
Excellent software 5 stars by Csoest Mar 06, 2009
The software work great, the only thing it misses is support for SFTP file transfer(s) show Review details
The best! 5 stars by MUSTANG651 Feb 21, 2009
This is the best file manager for Windows, but it's don't work with Unicode file/folder names. It's very important for me... (sorry for my bad English) show Review details
The best file manager for windows 4 stars by oltranzista Jan 07, 2009
This is a very straightforward program, very feature rich and easy to use. Things I would like to see in the future: 1) More content types for custom columns like Owner, Author, Artist, Album Title, Duration, Bit Rate etc. plus a way to add/remove the columns per folder like via right-click on an existing column header. 2) More features and easier use of the Multi rename function. This is not deal breaker because for now I show Review details
The best file-manager 5 stars by yassertariq Dec 17, 2008 (Read all my 88 reviews)
The latest version now supports FTP show Review details
If you like Total Commander... 3 stars by popthezid Oct 24, 2008 (Read all my 2 reviews)
If you like TotalCommander but have not money to buy it. Try it. show Review details
Great file manager! 5 stars by Calavera Sep 26, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Excellent file manager, I use it on a daily basis. Stable as a rock. Unzip, unrar or shred files, multiple views of files, filters, command line etc. etc. A must have! show Review details
Best program (like one old program for amiga) 5 stars by nicola1942 Aug 06, 2008
As (before many years) for Amiga computer , Directory Opus was same program as Free Commander. Very useful, easy and simple. show Review details
Great alternative to Windows Explorer 5 stars by Infiltrator Jul 28, 2008
Amazing totally amazing, a true DRAG and DROP application..........Excellent show Review details
Great replacement to Vista's mess up 5 stars by timmyjoe42 Jul 11, 2008 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Since my new computer came with Vista, I have been so frustrated with the new Windows Explorer. Even after making that as much like the old version as possible it was still not as good. So I started looking for alternatives and came across this one. Not only is it just like the old Windows Explorer (with a bit of customization) it can do things that I was using other programs to do such as file renamers and ftp programs. This has made life so much simpler. Awesome! show Review details
The best dual paned file manager 5 stars by Rustyboy Jun 25, 2008 (Read all my 33 reviews)
It has so-o-o many features including the new ftp transfers, multiple renames, etc. It's amazing as I continually find nifty features that I have overlooked or not read about (Quickview [ctrl-Q on a selected file to view it] comes to mind here). Nothing else comes close. show Review details
Great 4 stars by Tao2005 Apr 23, 2008 (Read all my 30 reviews)
The Nerve of some people. Give them something for nothing, and they expect everything. Tightwads.. Well Free Commander, is very much like Norton Commander. Minus a couple features. Aside all that it is very versatile. If your looking for better, then spend 30, or 40 bucks, and get total commander, or WinNC. I use both WinNC, and freeware. WinNC is more complex then this, but that's the difference between free and trial. Want free, then expect basic. Want more then expect to spend money. show Review details
Explorer free! 5 stars by brothergabriel Apr 01, 2008 (Read all my 18 reviews)
FreeCommander is, like it says, free! I give it five stars = it doesn't embed explorer.exe like other programs! That means you can use it even if explorer is crashed. It is easy to use, and you get features like compare folder and synchronize that you would only get in a shareware if you paid. Great job! show Review details
A remarkable file explorer 5 stars by OriginX Mar 14, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
A remarkable file explorer. It has everything a good file explorer should have. It is fast and stable. Its system requirements are minimal. Interface can be easily customized to personal preferences. And of course, it is free! show Review details
Best free total commander replacement 5 stars by tomoiaga Mar 11, 2008
I was looking for a long time for a free replacement of Total Commander. Obviously, Free Commander was what I needed. Too bad I did not find it earlier. show Review details
Definitely belongs to one`s utility set 4 stars by Toscana Dec 25, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I have been using this file management program regularly for quite awhile. It definitely is worth having in one's tools set as an addition for managing one's files. Nothing is perfect, though. But considering the zero price FreeCommander is outright excellent. Well, using the file comparison is somewhat complicated and one would like optionally to be able to enter folder names by typing besides the browsing. The number of features included is impressive, especially for freeware. It definitely adds what strangely is missing from e.g. XP's default file management and what we used to have in the old days in the 16-bit Windows 3.11. My compliments to the authors. show Review details
Great for mp3 players 5 stars by pcs800 Sep 06, 2007 (Read all my 222 reviews)
This is just what i was looking for to replace the bulky crap software that comes with hardware mp3 players. The manufacturer integrates the install with the driver install, so most non-techie users think they have to use the 'super dooper mp3 copier to player bulk-o-matic" to populate their player with music. When most mp3 players will simply open within windows explorer. Music collection in one pane, mp3 player in the other, copy/paste, can't get any easier. show Review details
Bravo 5 stars by cinde1aras Jul 24, 2007
Bravo, nice tools. Just like Norton Commander but FreeCommander can do more. easy to use, I wish next version of FreeCommander can handle file via FTP like WinSCP show Review details
It just keeps getting better 5 stars by Wastrel Jul 08, 2007 (Read all my 17 reviews)
FreeCommander has always been a solid and stable product. With the latest release the interface has been updated with support for ClearType (making it easier to read) and even more user-customizable functions to speed up access to the things you do most often. You can go to the FreeCommander site to get a portable version (for USB install) as well as a Zip version for manual install (and to see images of the new release--the images here at SnapFiles are for the older releases). Love it! show Review details
Congratulations! 5 stars by fionafioni Jul 03, 2007
I don't know how I lived without it till now...Excellent program! show Review details
Fast, stable and portable 5 stars by Clearline Jun 23, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Been using for years, and am using current version as my main file manager. I like that it stores setting in an ini file, so you can run it off a usb or just drop the program dir on another computer and start using it. show Review details
Very very good 5 stars by legion1978 May 26, 2007 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I believe this is the best freeware (donationware) explorer replacement, very powerful yet light and easy to use. show Review details
Fantastic 5 stars by TheClan Sep 29, 2006
This would have to be the best thing since sliced bread. It has so many options and dose what a file manager should do - manage files. The only thing I have found is ir takes some tome to change from the explorer way of doing things and that some of the standard explorer items such as viewing all drives in My Computer could be made available (it should be noted the functions of My Computer are available elsewhere). show Review details
Excellent but... 5 stars by ArturN Sep 21, 2006 (Read all my 19 reviews)
The only bad thing I have to say about this great explorer, is the not so good GUI, which by the way it will be improved in the next release.Otherwise, it's a great replacement for the windows explorer, not as complete as Accelman - but in some ways, more practical. I use it very often and I am satisfied with it. show Review details
So far, so... fair. 2 stars by Ardwych Aug 26, 2006
Hey Fellas! These glowing reports made me expect quite a lot with a new file manger under active development but in real life it's just a nice programming exercise, so far. We all know what the standard against which fC will be judged is - and fC is a toy. An odd mix of colours and a loafer in the video speed stakes. Then we have a unique set of clashing keystrokes - ok some are the same (where's Spacebar for folder size and Enter in shortcuts, and a multi-tabbed interface?) BTW Alt-F9 checks a zip's integrity. Is Help going to move from F1? And so many missing subtleties. The Standard is The Standard! Otherwise the market is cut in half. I expected to be halfway up the cliff face, but I'm having to start at the bottom. Ho hum.. show Review details
Excellent software 5 stars by XRay777 Jul 21, 2006
I have tried several file management systems, and this one is comparable if not better than ones I paid close to $50 for. As soon as I get some cash, I'm certainly going to make a donation!! show Review details
Power tool for everyone ! 5 stars by jesusimperat Jul 18, 2006 (Read all my 27 reviews)
Excellent tool ! The synchro feature is absolutely GREAT ! Ideal to compare directories, update backup files or directory, USB key content ! Amazingly easy to use, this is one of the great features of this wonderful soft. Compare directories, sub directories by date or CRC !! A must have ! show Review details
Balanced 5 stars by Walrez Jul 09, 2006
What made me choose FC: - A very clean UI - "My Network Places" is now supported as an additional drive - It lets you save "Layouts", which are "snapshots" of the program. Say you split the windows horizontally and select two folders. Then you save a layout, and go back to your regular view. You reselect the layout and everything is rearranged - It has a *powerful* synchronize tool - "Favorites Tools" is greatly implemented. You can easily send parameters like current folder or file to the utility (Winmerge in my case) - Very well mapped shortcuts (customizable) In time,I started finding little things here and there: - Select files with same extension (than the one that's selected) - Clicking the path bar, brings a history list. Clicking on a section of the path, it takes you to the selected parent folder (GREAT) - "View only selected files" A very usable, very useful program. Get it. show Review details
The best ! 5 stars by maximmx Jul 08, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I have tried all free file managers and some sharewares. Even if xplorer2 light has some interesting extra-features, FreeCommander interface is the best compromise between clarity and the number of features. Its embedded compression-decompresssion tool is fast and realy clever. Excellent search tool, no intrusion into the registry, entirely customizable shortcuts, "dual pane" favorites and so. Indeed the best I have tried. show Review details
A real gem, this one 5 stars by Sniffy Jul 04, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Been looking for a good file program since before computers were invented. This is it, with it's two file menu screens together it saves opening multiple programs and you can select drives and move files easily from on drive or folder to another. Great for cleaning up the mess I always seem to build. I have 3 disk drives on my machine which are divided into 10 drives. A fantastic program to manage these drives. If your computer files are always neat and tidy, or you don't have very many, then forget it, but if, like me, you can't keep your folders or drives clean then this is for you. Oh yeah, it's stable too. show Review details
What file management ought to be.. 5 stars by SpicyFlier Jul 03, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Forget the niggling gripes of previous versions. I used 2005.09a and it was awesome. This 2006.06 release is just over the top because the issues have been addressed. Mr. Jasinski is a very conscientious programmer. Customizable in view and functions and shortcuts (saves the ol' mouse hand). It's worth every one of the 5 stars - I'd give it 6 just because it's free! C'mon SnapFiles reviewers: update the rating. You know it's that good. show Review details
This freebie rocks 5 stars by gbjennings Jun 26, 2006 (Read all my 21 reviews)
It's an absolutely outstanding Windows Explorer replacement. The features and settings are simply too many to list, but among the things it offers in addition to standard Windows Explorer are dual pane capability, file/folder compare and synchronization, desktop snapshot capability, compression and decompression of files (in a choice of formats), etc, etc. freeCommander stores it's settings in an INI file instead of trashing up the registry like most do - a big plus as far as I am concerned. Believe me, the list goes on. And this baby is FREE on top of everything else. GET IT NOW ! show Review details
Outstanding and free 5 stars by catmaster May 23, 2006 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I consider myself a power user and have tried many, many file management apps over the years. There are only a very few that get my approval, and freeCommander is one of the best. It's solid, flexible, and does virtually everything you would want. Even though it is extremely powerful, it doesn't feel at all bloated or confusing. One thing it does nicely is display the directory sizes if you choose. This feature is fantastic when you're burning a data DVD and you want to know if your large directories will fit on the disk. freeCommander is also perfect to compare the finished DVD with the original files. I use it daily, you will too. Once you start using it you'll wonder how you got along without it. This freebie is a definite "keeper." show Review details
What doesnt this software do? 5 stars by bluenote72 Mar 14, 2006 (Read all my 17 reviews)
It does everything you could ever want. On the homepage it lists the features and they are excellent. Nothing has been left out. I use it for synchronizing folders and so much more. Get it and you will love it as much as I do. show Review details
Totally impressive but... 4 stars by Luke123 Feb 16, 2006
...just a little thing to suggest here : in Windows Explorer, I used to "go back one level" using the fifth button on the left side on my Logitech mouse. In FC this can be done with the "Backspace" button. Any way I could reassign this function to the fifth button on my mouse? show Review details
For those who update frequently 5 stars by elsaidi_software Feb 14, 2006
The right tool to save to favorites you pairs of folders that you frequently update and compare. A very good tool in every feature made with care and attention to practice. Thanks show Review details
I'm in heaven 5 stars by jeff_innis Jan 24, 2006
Found this little jewel a few days ago, and can't believe it is this good. Very flexible and so customizable it's ridiculous. What can't it do? Get it and see for yourself. The fact that it's free, is just icing on the cake. show Review details
Not for me 2 stars by ArizRon Jan 21, 2006
Does not remember folder view (Details/Icons/Thumbnails/etc) settings. FreeCommander's version of thumbnail view ("Images" View) ignore files that are not images (if the file is not an image then it is not represented in any way in the "Image" view, it is effectively hidden). show Review details
I love it! 5 stars by zektor Dec 16, 2005
I have been using [..] for years (aka Windows Commander) and FreeCommander is now at a point where it is time to move over to it. It has certain things integrated (such as image support) that other "pay" file managers would make you buy via plugin. Two things that I do miss however. One being the copy, move, edit and so on buttons on the bottom of the program that Total Commander has. Another being an option to make the program confirm a drag and drop (very useful if you have kids that play around when you are away) and finally, it's own copy/move operations. Let me explain that one: FreeCommander seems to be using Windows internal copy/move functions, while when you copy or move with Total Commander, Servant Salamander, or even Turbo Navigator, they use their own integrated method of copy and move, which seems quicker and gives you more detailed info on the copy process as well. show Review details
Best thing since sliced bread 5 stars by kavaXtreme Nov 09, 2005
I practically teethed on Norton Commander and a variety of its clones. For the past few years I'd been using Turbo Navigator, but it wasn't being developed. And while it was good, it needed development. This is the program I've been looking for. After using it for a week or two now, I can say it's won me over. I use it every day. And will be for years to come. For those of you who like managing your files with dual panes, this is the only way to go (especially for the price!). show Review details
A very good software 4 stars by DanMayer Oct 23, 2005
Its a very good software. Easy to use and offers many features. I agree with the review regarding the FTP manager. I also think that multiple tabs is also a good feature for users. I recommend using the software. Dan show Review details
Superb! 5 stars by Gunman Oct 18, 2005
FreeCommander is a very good and easy program. If there was a ftp-explorer implemented it would even outperform [..]. If you don show Review details
Try it !!!! 5 stars by kplcards Sep 29, 2005
I use it on win98 , I am not sure about some of the comments here - I can choose single pane and it works fine on drag and drop with me ? . I'am a long time trying to escape explorer , now that I found free commander I cant see myself ever using anything else - its quick , compact , solid , clean , intelligent and does all I need and a bit more. This guy has done what Microsoft can't do - hes produced a decent file manager show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by TerryP Sep 28, 2005 (Read all my 87 reviews)
Best freeware file manager out there. All that's missing is a help menu, although it's easy to use and understand without one. show Review details
I'm in love 5 stars by jackonice Aug 26, 2005
As of today, I am switching to Free Commander for all of my daily file management chores. It's the best yet. No registry clutter, no BS of any kind, just lots of functionality and configurability. Yeah! show Review details
Free as bird! 5 stars by chaidir Jul 16, 2005
The best value for this tool is "Folder Size"-it can show it all! show Review details
Especially good for search and syncronization 4 stars by VikingMan Jul 04, 2005 (Read all my 15 reviews)
This is a generally excellent file manager - a good range of facilities additional to Windows explorer. It's search facility is better: you can fully specify date ranges and file attributes to search. The folder synchronize feature has a feature that I have not seen in any other synchronizer. Most synchronizers operate in both directions together, i.e. they synchronize two folders left->right AND right->left at the same time. Freecommander lets you distinguish either left->right OR right->left OR both. This is useful to create a backup folder when you want to copy from the source to the backup, but not vice versa. The only problem with synchronize is that you cannot set it to ignore small differences in timestamp, a feature that most other synchronizers have. It conflicted with Norton Antivirus on my Win98 system. It has some bugs when deleting folders: the view is not always updated correctly. But overall this is a program I use every day. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring