icon

CCleaner user reviews

Software Showcase
Message Export for Outlook

Export Outlook Email to PDF and other Formats! Message Export has become the premier tool for extending Outlook's capabilities to format, copy, name, and convert e-mail messages to PDF and other formats.

More info  Download Now
5 stars77% 55
4 stars12% 9
3 stars5% 4
2 stars2% 2
1 star1% 1
Based on 71 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 71 user reviews Post your own review

Terrific computer cleaner 5 stars by gwestbound Dec 20, 2011 (Read all my 19 reviews)
Top notch junk file, registry and Internet trace cleaner. Also uninstalls applications and lets the user examine and modify start-up files. Completely safe to use. showShow review details
Thorough PC cleaner. 5 stars by Tweetson Mar 13, 2011 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Cleans internet tracks and deletes unwanted files to make room on your PC for more stuff. showShow review details
A professional software for free 5 stars by jtania73 Mar 28, 2010 (Read all my 8 reviews)
CCleaner is a stable and effective software for privacy protection and personal data cleaning. It installs in few seconds and you immediately can find the functions you need thanks to its intuitive interface. It has also some other useful features, like registry cleaning/repair and secure file deletion. Finally, it also installs on server operating systems. It deservedly became a well known program in the last years. showShow review details
Just right 5 stars by jono7777 Jan 24, 2010 (Read all my 6 reviews)
This really is a great little piece of kit. Apart from being a good all-round cleaner it has a useful uninstaller, too. showShow review details
I'm amazed! 5 stars by wildgoosespeeder Jan 04, 2010 (Read all my 52 reviews)
The Windows Disk Cleanup utility is slow and doesn`t clean much junk files off of the hard disk drive. CCleaner is faster and cleans more junk files off of the hard disk drive. CCleaner has given me GBs of hard disk drive space back! The registry cleaner fixed those invalid entries! I highly recommend this program! showShow review details
Easy to use; cleans deep 5 stars by roger2 Dec 27, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Cleanup function: Very easy understand interface. Gives good information about what it is doing on your PC. Cleans junk files deeply - got 1GB on my PC and 1.3 GB on my sister's. Fast....Registry problems function: Does not dig very deep compared to 2 others I tried here at SnapFiles, however, the issues it finds are most likely safe to "fix". But the Registry cleanup is not the main purpose of CCleaner....If you use more than one user account on your PC then you must run CCleaner for each account, it does not act globally....I Cleaned junk files and fixed Registry issues on 4 accounts (2 PCs) with no problems. CCleaner does its job then goes away when you tell it to. showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by Tech_1 Nov 17, 2009 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Really nice program. I use this on all of my computers and highly recommend it to others. The general cleaner for junk files, unneeded temp and dump files works well. The registry cleaner works well and will clean out most non-functional or obsolete entries. It is mostly dummy proof so functional entries will not get deleted. There are more powerful cleaners, but you will pay a price for those or you will eliminate data or important registry entries if you don't know what you are doing. I always use the slim or stand-alone version of CCleaner. I have never had a problem using this software and best of all it is FREE. showShow review details
Wonderful 4 stars by boofby Aug 16, 2009 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I just love this little program. It is quite good; it is lean, mean, and does a fine job of cleaning up all the junk on a PC. showShow review details
No power down buttons, no ctrl-alt-del 2 stars by Zabier6 Jun 15, 2009
I have been downloading and installing programs from here for a while now. I don't just install them and delete them if I don't like them I still play with them for a bit to see how good they really are. I LIKE almost everything about cCleaner EXCEPT after prolonged use with XP Pro and XP home the power options under the start menu WILL no longer work or be there, also Ctrl-Alt-Del will no longer work and the computer pops up with this message "Ctrl-Alt-Del has been disabled by you system administrator" there is a few other possible problems but I do not remember them at this moment. I work and build computers and I know from experience that I will never use it again NOR will I recommend it. I have tested the power options and Ctrl-Alt-Del problem on other computers and same outcome. I myself had to reload Windows over 6 times due to these problems. could just be me but use at your own risk. Now you have been properly warned showShow review details
Five stars 5 stars by Rustyboy Jan 13, 2009 (Read all my 33 reviews)
I have used other cleaners but CCleaner has the edge in that it covers a variety of things. Also, it doesn't automatically delete stuff but asks the user first, which is good for careful types. CCleaner is a regular part of my computer maintenance program. showShow review details
Excellent cleaner 5 stars by Tweetson2 Jan 08, 2009 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Use it all the time. Highly recommend this cleaner. showShow review details
Excellent 5 stars by Zundapp Dec 02, 2008 (Read all my 8 reviews)
One of the better Cleanup tools. showShow review details
How can you not like it? 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 12, 2008 (Read all my 1158 reviews)
Yep, been a long time Ccleaner user and it's been flawless, useful, thorough, fast, small, it is what many other apps wish they were! It has become an everyday part of my tech life and has never left my PC. I don't offer suggestions for Ccleaner since it's done a perfect job for so long, why mess with something that works? showShow review details
What more do you want for free? 4 stars by dallas88 Aug 27, 2008
This app rocks! The fact that you get a free registry cleaner rolled in, in addition to the privacy cleaning stuff is awesome. Just wish the application cleaning included Firefox and iTunes, pretty much standard these days. showShow review details
Excellent 5 stars by Ericks Jul 12, 2008 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I have been a user of this program for some time now. And it's getting better with every update. Better in terms of speed because it was already great in terms of cleaning up the junk from my hard drive. This is one of those programs that should be part of everybody's kit of maintenance tools. showShow review details
Ccleaner-easy and effective. 5 stars by moparmac Jul 06, 2008 (Read all my 11 reviews)
I installed CCleaner as a cleaner for browser caches and index.dat files. CCleaner is intelligent in locating SeaMonkey and Opera browser caches, that is not common to all cleaners.It also has an "analyze" mode so that you can see what you will be deleting. It has good speed and I have suffered no adverse effects from using it. I have never used the registry cleaner so I can't comment on that tool. I would recommend CCleaner! It outperforms some of the shareware programs and it's free! showShow review details
Not my choice 2 stars by Henry8 Jul 02, 2008 (Read all my 37 reviews)
Everybody seems to be crazy about this one - not me. It's easy to use, yes - it's quite reliable, yes? But why pick this program, when more efficient ones are available? Having used CCleaner, I checked with Iobit's Adv. Windows Care, and Toni's Easy Cleaner. With Easy Cleaner I got almost 100 registry correct ups, and even more temp files. Iobit's program was somewhere between these two. Thus, if you really want to clean up, use Easy Cleaner (and I'm not getting any money for this!). And, sadly, a nasty thing that hasn't happened to me when using "the other two": after CCleaner, my computer wouldn't boot normally. It gut stuck - a phenomenon always causing shivers of horror in one's spine. If Snapfiles had categories for Function and Efficiency, they would be rather low. The program works, sure, but since I get better results with others, I don't choose this one. showShow review details
Another must have program that works 5 stars by djeckert May 30, 2008 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Again run and do not walk to get this program. Very safe and has never given me any problems for years. Always updated every week or so with careful regard. does not disrupt other programs and plays very nice. works well with vista and xp. Keeps your computer from building up junk files that slow down your computer. also has a nice and safe registry cleaner. Be very careful using other registry cleaners but this product is quick, clean, safe, and easy to do. 1 button click and simply fix all the errors. very nice. showShow review details
Everyone needs this! 5 stars by minato_n Apr 19, 2008 (Read all my 6 reviews)
This freeware is amazing and MUST have in every computer. I mean everyone from a children to an adult who doesn't know so much about computer knew this software. It has interesting interface, very good feature but most of all easy to use and understand. If you think you need to BUY a privacy tools , you're totally wrong! If you used it on a computer that never using any cleanup tools before, you might surprised someone and they love it after that ( and keep continue using this freeware) after CCleaner cleanup 500Mb to 2Gb of 'garbage' in their computer! I always did that to my customer! This freeware almost perfect to clean-up any type of junk files in a computer and updated regularly. Thanks to piriform for this great software! showShow review details
It's the best - bar none ! 5 stars by Shodan816 Nov 27, 2007 (Read all my 39 reviews)
This little jewel is the best system cleaning utility out there, period. Main reason is that it is customizable, allowing the user (with a bit of computer savvy) to edit an INI file and delete and clean up what THEY want to, both files and registry content. Thanks for a wonderful tool! showShow review details
Nice program 5 stars by OldTechie47 Nov 05, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Nice program for cleaning up that unwanted junk. Like it says. Does what is says it should do. I am always leery of free registry cleaners. Some are a little too aggressive. But so far so good on this one. I've used it on Win_98 and Win_XP both. CCleaner came recommended to me by a PC service tech. So I thought, "must be good!". I love it! showShow review details
Nifty junk cleaner! 5 stars by yassertariq Sep 02, 2007 (Read all my 88 reviews)
It is a very fast junk (unused and temporary files etc.) cleaner. It also optimizes the PC with a built-in registry-cleaner, a basic start-up tool and an uninstalling-utility. It is a must-have for every user. showShow review details
Good little program 5 stars by Duglacias Jul 15, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I use this program regularly and am very happy with it. just make sure you use the backup feature before you make changes, which is automatic and easy. also easy to undo changes. showShow review details
Works well 5 stars by pantherman Jun 04, 2007 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Easy to use. Works well. Have found other programs that pick up some items missed by CCleaner. But it is still a good useful program. showShow review details
Wish list 4 stars by arshcore May 16, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
In startup section you can delete a file but it would be better if we could check or uncheck a program from the list instead of removing it totally from the startup. - In options/custom you can add a file or folder to be cleaned off, but it would be better if we could add a program and let CCleaner find the necessary files to clean up. showShow review details
The best 5 stars by BayouChristopher May 11, 2007
This one has untangled many programs. Even some hidden malwares added to a legitimate program. showShow review details
Fantastic - with only one exception 4 stars by JoeFabeetz Mar 18, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
One of the few things this fantastic utility won't do (at least yet) is totally erase file names of the files that it destroys. Once it is able to do this, I would put this one on top of any list. showShow review details
Excellent system cleaner 5 stars by Hectica Jan 29, 2007
This product works very well and receives frequent updates. Cleans disk, registry, startup and more. Try it out. showShow review details
Nice little utility to get rid of crap! 5 stars by SithTracy Dec 22, 2006 (Read all my 19 reviews)
I don't have many comments, but it just makes cleaning the crap off of your PC pretty easy. Great free tool! showShow review details
Cleaning made easy 3 stars by hrwasp Dec 12, 2006 (Read all my 48 reviews)
This does exactly what it says it will do. The interface is well designed and you can select which items you would like cleaned. ONLY 1 draw back, as with all the other cleaners. It only cleans the end user that is logged in. It only scans their documents and such (even if you login as the admin). Still searching for an all inclusive! showShow review details
Excellent tool 5 stars by DirectInfo Dec 12, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
This is very easy to use and safe. If you are not too sure what files are safe to delete, this is the one for you. Not only a great cleaner but you will also learn how your registry works. showShow review details
Almost great 4 stars by gbjennings Dec 11, 2006 (Read all my 21 reviews)
This gem was better before the last release. It now leaves files behind that it never did in the past, and this bug is not getting fixed very fast. It has been reported for weeks now. Still a GREAT little app, but unless you are running IE7, I would recommend that you stick with the previous version - 1.34.407 showShow review details
Simplicity and ease of use 5 stars by btk1w1 Nov 29, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I have found ccleaner to perform all the cleaning duties without fail. I have used the options menu then settings to set it to run when pc starts up. Adds a little time to the start up process but saves me a lot of time in the long run. There are a few other handy options in the settings menu also. showShow review details
Almost 3 stars by Thezenarcher Oct 05, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
CCleaner is very fast and easy to use, but it lacks an essential feature: the ability to exclude (protect) items from cleaning. CCleaner offers no customizable options within its target areas (eg, keeping certain browser cookies or history files). IE Privacy Keeper (IEPK) offers complete customization and is a better alternative. [Editor: Cookies can be excluded from the options dialog] showShow review details
Cookies bugs and logoff handling missing 1 stars by Usability Aug 25, 2006
Among other downsides: - CCleaner cannot be started automatically at shutdown - CCleaner does not clean Cookies completely showShow review details
Best of the best 5 stars by andries Aug 22, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Regular updates. Works well with both IE and Firefox. Select and protect login and other fav cookies before wiping, plus slew of other options. Pick your options and click to wipe. Best of the toiletpapers: there could be better I suppose but I've stopped shopping. showShow review details
Great program 5 stars by stevewh Aug 14, 2006
I love it. I does what I need it to do and it's free! Only one thing I don't like (and I may be missing something). I can't figure out how to set it up to scan at regular intervals. showShow review details
Effective and efficient 5 stars by dwwwllwwwb Aug 11, 2006 (Read all my 6 reviews)
This is a necessary tool for every PC users. It has a straightforward interface. This application harbors lots of unintended features though. I remember its first versions without many of them. Thus, the simplicity of its interface is inherited from the ancestral versions. It is getting more complicated and bigger in size each day! showShow review details
Worth paying for, thanks though. 4 stars by ewirman Aug 10, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
This app is a mainstay in my programs. I use it daily and nothing else (freeware) compares to it. showShow review details
Read no more ... download now! 5 stars by stupidboy Jul 31, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
No PC should be without this tool. Simple point and click operation with potential to save masses of disk space. This tool cleans your registry removing debris possible preventing problems or even correcting current ones. A must for an clean machine. showShow review details
Can't go wrong... 5 stars by Snellyville Jul 28, 2006
Great program with useful features. Very user-friendly and I highly recommend the StartUp Utility as long as you know what you are doing. showShow review details
Very nice 5 stars by bluehorizon Jul 25, 2006 (Read all my 18 reviews)
Very nice internet/registry cleaner. All critical areas of your PC will be cleaned. Previously used RegSeeker, uninstalled that, now I'm using this little beauty. The registry cleaner is particularly effective and the scanning is fast. No problems so far. This software is under constant development with frequent updates. Try it you won't regret it... showShow review details
Awesome software and free too! 5 stars by freebieking Jul 25, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Not only does this piece of software work well but it has frequent updates. This software combines two major components into one: registry and internet clutter cleaner. It also has a good uninstaller interface for you to delete entries as well as uninstall programs. Very fast and reliable. Absolutely no crashes or pc woes after use! This is a must for Internet users showShow review details
Excellent but... 5 stars by StupidGenius Jun 28, 2006
Whenever I'm logged in as Limited user it does not delete/detect my cookies etc. The only thing I can delete is part of my Temporary Internet folder. When I'm logged in as Administrator (run as) it only focus on the the admin account not on any other users on the pc. I have to log on to all my admin accounts run Ccleaner and start again. All limited accounts must be deleted manually. This is an excellent piece of software but per account only. It's possible that there is a setting somewhere that I missed, but I doubt it. showShow review details
Is easy to use. 5 stars by darkocean Jun 18, 2006 (Read all my 31 reviews)
Cleans out allot of things like Temporary internet files, cookies, history, recent documents, Run (in start menu), Empties your Recycle bin, Temporary files and lots more. Also scans for issues and fixes them. Advise fixing the issues one by one as sometimes it'll skip over one or two. Also don't advise saving the issues to registry to often (every month or so) as things may not work as well as before, errors and such. All this for free no more doing this by hand this a time saver. showShow review details
Overall, excellent! 5 stars by D_Spider Apr 29, 2006 (Read all my 19 reviews)
You can use it just to clear cookies and temp files after you're done surfing, and you can use it for regular clean-ups of the junk various applications leave on your hard drive, and you can use it to change "46D89-0" to "modem" in your list of installed programs (and to uninstall), and you can use it to get rid of useless stuff in your registry. Except for the last, CCleaner is foolproof and easy to use. As a registry cleaner, it's perhaps too easy to use, and not proof against one's own ignorance. So don't let it fix registry-things you don't understand, and CCleaner will become one of your must-have tools. showShow review details
Great! 5 stars by Jethrosanz Apr 17, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Did you know that on its first scan it cleared over 100 MB from my internet cache? Not just that... Being a freeware program, I decided to try it out. The program does exactly everything it advertises in a very efficient manner. I also compared Ccleaner with a commercial program that I have on my computer called Tune Up Utilities. I found out that the commercial program found less registry errors on my PC than Ccleaner! This program is small and efficient. Download it! showShow review details
Get cclearner 5 stars by wildcatman Mar 21, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have paid for cleaner software that dont work as well as this.Very easy to setup. Best of all its free... showShow review details
Ccleaner (no one) 5 stars by jpop6943 Mar 20, 2006
I could make a big cake with all the cleanup utilities I've used, and CCleaner would be the icing on the cake. I would hate to without it! showShow review details
One of the essentials 5 stars by AEn1gm4 Mar 19, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
This program is and has been one of my favourite programs for years now. Easy to use, fast and does the job well. And it's totally free. showShow review details
Excellent but be cautious 4 stars by Rodger Mar 19, 2006 (Read all my 99 reviews)
Love the program but the version here is bundled with the yahoo toolbar-not spy or adware but people should at least know this-yes you can choose not to install the toolbar but there are other versions on the site you can download that are free of this plus the size is only 500kb or so on that version-should make note of this. [Editor: You will be downloading the no-toolbar version from us] showShow review details
Good and free... 5 stars by dolf04 Mar 13, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Does the job as good as most commercial cleaners.., valuable plugins, very stable and regular updates... showShow review details
Easest internet cleanup 5 stars by StianRanvik Mar 07, 2006
With this program, u cant just cleanup the internet "junk" files.. U can cleanup the history by the "startup-list" too, and more showShow review details
Awesome cleaner! 5 stars by KevinBond Feb 24, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I have used other cleaners, that screwed up my settings, sometimes forcing me to re-install windows. :( CCleaner is not like that. CCleaner does an awesome job in removing everything that I want it to do. showShow review details
You need this 5 stars by tomdc7 Feb 07, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
Windows keeps all the internet addresses you visit in an "index.dat" file. Even if you delete cookies in the cookies folder or webb stuff in Temporary Internet Files folder, Windows still has all that stuff in the index.dat files. CCleaner kills these files! When Windows reboots, it sees theres no index.dat files and replaces them fresh "empty" index files. Windows wont let you delete index.dat files but CCleaner will. Great program. Reboot your PC and hold down the F8 key to boot into "Safe Mode with command prompt. Then type "cd C:" to change the directory to C drive and hit "DIR". Locate the link to CCleaner you put there and run this program from Safe Mode. Even better. showShow review details
Best in class. outstanding! 5 stars by Griffin Feb 04, 2006 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Does many things. Does them all well. Very professional interface and functionality. Look no further. showShow review details
Fast and effective 5 stars by LionBill Jan 05, 2006 (Read all my 6 reviews)
For me this well thoughtout and written program has replaced a couple so-called "cleaners" that I was never sure did what they claimed. I use it every day . . .Thanx showShow review details
Cleans throroughly 5 stars by Ghost_grey Jan 03, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
It thoroughly cleans junk files, and it is free, and it is updated regularly! cool showShow review details
Great program. 4 stars by Gizmo_151 Dec 27, 2005 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I've used it every day since I installed it.Makes for very fast cleanup!!Very easy too use and setup too your own preferences. showShow review details
Stable, efficient and effective cleaner 5 stars by platform7 Nov 30, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I've tried some other cleaners in his category: Free and Paid. CCLEANER stands at par with the best and it's FREE! showShow review details
Best of breed 5 stars by alnjk01 Nov 07, 2005 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Cleans extremely well,very thorough and extensive,very stable,light on system resources,fast,very easily updatable and has lots of options(including turning-off cleaning of "pre-fetch data",etc.). Also performs registry cleanups with backup which works very well when I compared it to standalone registry cleaners. showShow review details
Ccleaner cripples application load times 3 stars by Mastertech Nov 03, 2005
This would be a fantastic program if they removed the "Old Prefetch" cleaning option that does nothing but cripple application load times. Prefetch files are NOT a cache, nothing is preloaded on system startup. The prefetch folder is self-cleaning at 128 entries. CCleaner deletes prefetch files for installed applications crippling how long they take to load. This folder consumes less then 5MB of disk space and should never be "cleaned". Anyone who says it should or supports what CCleaner does has no concept of how prefetching works and cannot back it up with ANY reproduceable evidence. Test this for yourself in the above link. Prefetch files are NOT executable so deleting them for assumed virus infection is misinformation. Get CCleaner to remove this useless performance hurting option once and for all! showShow review details
A very good cleaner 5 stars by noxyus Sep 21, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I`ve tried some cleaners... and sincerely is the most simple, fast and the most important...really clean. It showShow review details
This will clean up your registry 5 stars by jcharth Sep 14, 2005 (Read all my 16 reviews)
I like using this program after running the spyware cleaning programs. It also helps to clean up disk space. I am not sure if I like the new interface better than the old one. I am sure the author does. showShow review details
A+ 5 stars by Cliffy Sep 06, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Very, very cool utility; probably the best of the cleaning brigade with an unbeatable price tag. showShow review details
A must for cleaning out garbage 5 stars by Maleluvs2cddle Sep 06, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This is one of my favorite programs but it does the job of cleaning out file you did not know existed. The program is free but if you send a donation to the author you get the newest version before it is released. showShow review details
Simple but effective 5 stars by guy9663 Aug 02, 2005 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Great stuff. I've been using this for months. Finds more than MS disk cleanup. I left all the settings as they installed and have never had a problem running it with XP. Easy to use, has updates and it's freeware! Excellent. showShow review details
James 5 stars by james5 Jul 30, 2005 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Have been using this for all systems for about three years and many many updates. It Keeps getting better. First run on some computers may lockup because of so much junk but just stop it and restart and it works great. showShow review details
Very good software 4 stars by acekko Jul 22, 2005 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Easy to use,works well! showShow review details
Highly recommended 5 stars by TerryP Jul 08, 2005 (Read all my 80 reviews)
Especially for newbies and those that want a simple, easy-to-use, and fast cleaner. showShow review details
Not bad, but... 3 stars by EM_745 Jun 28, 2005 (Read all my 8 reviews)
For a freeware cleaning utility, it compares well with others, but there are a few glaring faults. The main one is the high GDI (i.e. "resources") usage under Win98. An "issues" scan made my GDI points drop from 90% to 38%!! A 52% drop is more than enough to hang a system is you have many apps running in the background. To be fair, there are a lot of software (usually written Delphi and VB6) that aren't suited for Win98/ME, even though they're still "rated" for these OS's. I just wish software developers would bother to test for stability before declaring that their programs will work in Win98/ME. Another thing, there should be some kind of "bleaching" option so that deleted items are made unrecoverable. Finally, include some OFFline help, PLEASE! A neat little CHM file won't bloat the download size THAT much. showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download CCleaner

Check out these featured downloads...

Remote Desktop Manager

Remote Desktop Manager manage remote server connections

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

John`s Background Switc

John`s Background Switc automatic background switcher

TalkHelper for Skype

TalkHelper for Skype video recorder for Skype

CaptureWizPro

CaptureWizPro screen capture tool