FreeRAM XP User Reviews

5 stars50% 9
4 stars27% 5
3 stars5% 1
2 stars11% 2
1 star5% 1
Based on 18 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 18 user reviews
Post your own review

Too good to be true? 4 stars by Eurosceptic Sep 20, 2011
Call me a sceptic if you like, but I won't touch a Microsoft product under two years old. Hence the fact that both my computers are still on XP, nowadays a fairly reliable OS seeing as MS's user base has done a decade of beta testing for them. (Would you touch Vista? - not with a barge-pole!) My old Advent laptop was particularly creaky, with its 1Gb RAM and old Athalon processor, but I don't care about it much, so it's the test-bed for FreeRAM XP. Suffice to say it's been transformed. Even though I've always kept it tidy with C-Cleaner etc. it's just acquired a new lease of life. If it lasts a month without falling over, FreeRAM will be going on my work computer too. show Review details
Ram optimizer that actually works! 5 stars by hercules212 Apr 04, 2010 (Read all my 9 reviews)
When I first saw FreeRAM I was skeptical it would be useful. But I was pleasantly surprised. It does actually enhance the performance of web browsing, although other functions on the computer don't appear to be much changed. My suggestion? At least try it out and see if it works for you. The features and interface are very well designed. show Review details
Lackluster results 2 stars by Caranthir Feb 20, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Tried it on Vista Home, tried it on XP home. No improvements. show Review details
Vista x64 5 stars by jico45 Sep 12, 2008
Works perfect on Vista Ultimate x64 all they have to do is change the name show Review details
Sometimes yes and sometimes no 3 stars by CrescentScapes Nov 07, 2007 (Read all my 7 reviews)
FreeRAM is a nice little tool, however, whenever would attempt to free ram on my pc it would slow things down so much that I couldn't even do anything until after it finished freeing ram. It took up a lot of CPU space for whatever reason. Apart from those reasons it's a nice little program to have. It all depends on how it runs on your computer, I suppose. show Review details
Installed on all my computers 4 stars by OzBrad Sep 29, 2007 (Read all my 23 reviews)
Must have software. I have installed this as standard on all my PC's. When using it to free Memory, its best to make sure you don't push your PC to the limit. Works brilliantly if you are reasonable with you expectations, based on the installed real memory. show Review details
Interface is awful 4 stars by Koro_shite_yaru Sep 16, 2007 (Read all my 11 reviews)
Interface is awful in my eyes. I dont usually need memory recovery features but the free ram in system tray is great thing. I missed it after old free Cacheman but now i have it back, thanks for FreeRAM XP :-) show Review details
A "must".. for all system 5 stars by ericez26 Dec 13, 2006 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Very good programs to have for both low and fast pc. show Review details
Have used for years. still as useful as ever. 5 stars by HugoUmbongo Jun 23, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I have installed this and some previous versions on a number of PCs from those with extremely limited memory and processors to high spec PCs. I have never had any problems with this app and have found that in every case the performance is improved (especially for those with low memory). It's very easy to use and it does a great job of tidying up redundant memory being held by other apps. Fantastic app with some really nice features. show Review details
New life for my laptop 4 stars by Nativetexan Jun 21, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This program has added new zip to my old laptop. When set to auto it keeps the memory optimized and I can tell that programs are loading faster. A great product for the price. show Review details
System crash ... 2 stars by jesusimperat May 15, 2006 (Read all my 27 reviews)
Test results made on several configurations and always the same, system crashes ... On a P4 3,2 or a dual core avoid this soft and prefer to improve real physical memory. If you don't like blue screens, be careful... show Review details
This is a fantastic memory optimizer! 5 stars by ITMentor Apr 16, 2006
I use RAM and CPU intensive graphics applications and despite my adequate hardware, I occasionally get the ominous "Not Responding" or "Your system is low on virtual memory" messages. This is often due to lack of RAM. Since installing FreeRAM XP Pro, I have been able to keep a close watch on my memory usage and am able to prevent system crashes by optimizing my RAM in the background. FreeRAM XP Pro is easy to use, unobtrusive and a system saver during critical, RAM intensive, application processes. I recommend this program to anyone who experiences similar problems. It is fantastic! show Review details
Try many of these memory programs this is th 5 stars by toonzee Mar 31, 2006
E best. Can't say much more than the other positive posters have. This is truly the best and it works show Review details
Not good. 1 stars by guy9663 Mar 18, 2006 (Read all my 7 reviews)
If you run any Windows O/S on minimum memory DO NOT INSTALL THIS. FreeRAM spends so much time working it takes up space other programs need. This program works well if your PC has loads of RAM. But if you have loads of RAM why use this? show Review details
Wonderful to have around! 5 stars by Ghost_grey Feb 05, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
Back in my windows 98 days, my computer would crash randomly, and my computer was extremely slow, i didn't know why.. well it was because i had hardly any ram available i usually only had 23 free mb's out of 145 mb's of ram for applications. i tried out freeram, and it bumped my ram to 103-7 mb's free, thats an extreme increase, it made my system more stable.. but now i have windows xp and lot more ram to through around, this is well worth having, it does a good of monitoring/freeing the ram, offers plenty of options, and is easy to use, free, the best ram freeing utility yet! show Review details
Simply the best 5 stars by Justin Dec 25, 2005
I have used many memory managers and most don't do what they claim. Not the case with FreeRAM XP. It does what it says and is easy to use at the same time. show Review details
Free ram 4 stars by Michel1971 Dec 16, 2005
I'm obsessed by memory managers, also the ones that tune the windows filecache which freeram sadly does not. Freeram XP 1.5 does a good job. I use the following settings: -Global memory compression when freeing memory=on -When automatically freeing ram, try to free 1MB When you set these parameters, memory will not be flooded to force swapping (which is very slow). Mainly U use the global memory compression which is a "smarter way" to lower memory usage of programs, instead of flooding. Give these settings a try and.... enjoy.. show Review details
Truly, windows' best memory manager! 5 stars by DisGuyze Dec 02, 2005
I had used a shareware product for many years and thought there could be none better.. until I tried FreeRAM XP. So many options, all very well documented, including tooltips that describe the function of every option (doesn't leave you in the dark, assuming you know as much as the programmer) I especially like the 'memory compression' feature also the fact that it's so fast! With it's AutoFree setting, it will free as much as possible without slowing down the system.. unlike SOME programs I know This machine is Windows 2000, highly 'tweaked' for ultimate performance with 1GB DDR so it's not exactly a 'low memory system', but I still find it so very worthwhile. Very fast, very well-designed, stable and worth twice what I paid for it. "A definite must if you don't have a bucketful of memory installed!", says thinavila - "even if you do!", says I show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...


CintaNotes take and manage notes

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring