5 stars50% 22
4 stars20% 9
3 stars13% 6
2 stars13% 6
1 star2% 1
Based on 44 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 44 user reviews Post your own review

Excellent antivirus 5 stars by Stepan238 Jun 23, 2013 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I gave up on AVG a long time ago due to its massive size, it's failure to find bugs, and it's updating system constantly breaking down. However, there are very few free Antivirus programs around these days (and let alone any that are good)so decided to have a go with AVG again, and was delighted to find AVG has had a total revamp, with an excellent new GUI and highly intuitively designed system controls. This is an excellent program, a very good bug-hunter, and AVG is constantly "patrolling" your System (and Browser if you choose)and easily gets five stars from me. If you use the awesome TinyWall (and everyone with Windows should!!!)you will not be able to update AVG unless you change the TinyWall "Mode" to "Allow Outgoing" (a piece of cake to do, just right-click on the TinyWall TaskbarTray Icon, and put your Mouse arrow on "Change Mode" to bring up the Menu; this is no hassle at all but am mystified why the exemption procedure does not work for AVG (have got a couple of other programs also that cannot be "whitelisted" and will only update when TinyWall is told to "Allow Outgoing"). Be sure to set TinyWall Mode back to "Normal Protection" as TinyWall operates at maximum effectiveness in this Mode. Cannot recommend AVG highly enough, and thank you to the creators for making this extremely impressive program available for free. showShow review details
Constant popups spoil this program! 1 stars by rbelyea127 Apr 05, 2013
Wish I had stayed with MacAffee. AVG runs ads multiple times daily. Quite ironic since I bought this program to protect me from such trash. Very annoying. Would not buy again ever. showShow review details
Avg removes good programs 2 stars by hospencer402 Jan 08, 2013
I removed AVG free from my system as soon as it went ahead and deleted a very useful program I have used for years, without my permission. The program deleted was System Scheduler 3.31 created by Splinterware Software Solutions. The program was installed and running on my system. With no warning whatsoever AVG removed the program reporting to me after the fact that it had done so. This undermined all my trust in the program, regardless of any other great features it may have. I simply cannot allow an anti-virus program to come into my system and delete programs installed and used by me without giving me an option first to keep those programs. This to me is irresponsible programming, and makes AVG worthless to me. showShow review details
Only one complaint on new version 4 stars by desertjon Oct 16, 2012 (Read all my 18 reviews)
I have to agree avg is a good antivirus..My complaint is the newer versions keep getting bigger and bigger. This goes for Avast as well. I did a custom install of the new AVG only installing the File and Behavior shields and it installed at 338MB. I think this is excessive for only two shields along with the basic protection. It does the job it claims to do but on a PC with a Pentium 4 processor, I do not recommend it unless you're ready for slow performance. I've noticed the newer versions are being designed for newer computers, but not everyone can afford to go out and buy a new PC. showShow review details
Only antivirus that can compete with Avast 4 stars by Bulasikci Jul 22, 2012 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I have used AVG and Avast free for years. I have AVG currently installed on my desktop. I have not had any problems. No viruses or malware. AVG is better than Avast when it comes to detection rates and malware removal. However it needs to improve its interface. Avast is better when it comes to interface and tech support. (yes Avast has tech support for free users) Other than that I love AVG. One of its best features is that it scans resource-wise. (Meaning that if you are using your computer it will decrease its ram usage) showShow review details
Very much improved 5 stars by freeclick Sep 14, 2011 (Read all my 32 reviews)
I had used AVG and then Avast for years and one day a couple weeks back I decided to try AVG again. I ran a scan after I just uninstalled the other and it found several threats and it seems to spot more dangerous threats, For real, new and improved! showShow review details
Only as a last resort 3 stars by SeSorrow Apr 30, 2011 (Read all my 29 reviews)
I used to use AVG years ago when it was a decent product. Now it is useless to me. AVG is bloated, has WAY too many false positives (flags my Windows update process as a virus), and has a poor scan engine. 95 of the time there are one of two AV products on any machine that I have to clean up: AVG or Norton's. I know some users have had a great experience, but for me those days are long gone. I think there needs to be a rating category for "Effectiveness". showShow review details
Now one to avoid... 2 stars by ianmacm Dec 28, 2010 (Read all my 171 reviews)
AVG has taken a step backwards with the 2011 edition. It is bloatware and takes up far too much of the system resources. Past editions have worked well on my older computer, but the 2011 edition is slowing it down like swimming through a vat of treacle. This program cannot be recommended for older computers, or if there are worries about reducing the performance. AVG should consider offering a "lite" mode which keeps the real time resources required to a minimum. showShow review details
Formerly good software gone bad... 2 stars by gottleib1885 Jun 30, 2010 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I've used AVG Free for probably a decade and I always used to recommend and install it for people. I've even sold a couple of paid versions to businesses based on my experiences with their free product. But at some point not too long ago, I started noticing that this software was drifting from its honest, minimal roots into that awful category we call bloatware - where software starts getting really large and resource-intensive, and begins to advertise itself as a "suite" although most of its new 'features' are just superfluous window dressing. Then the free version links start getting smaller and harder to find. There was the LinkScanner debacle, the false-positive keygen deception which continues even now, and my favorite - the "no active components" failure which seems to occur without warning or even notice after it has happened. All of this as the quality of protection has absolutely tanked. showShow review details
Requires updating 4 stars by dragons Oct 31, 2009 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Nice tool, but requires constant updating, and the newest version 9 is more for Vista, or faster CPU and more RAM, this causes lag in older systems. showShow review details
I've since given up on this 2 stars by boofby Aug 16, 2009 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Used the program for many years, even recommended it to clients. But no longer. I feel its become far too invasive; from the toolbar it tries to install, to checking what websites you visit (do I really need this functionality duplicated since my browser already does this for me?). A lot of good software tends to get lost once the marketing heads get involved, and I feel this has become more bloatware than anything else. showShow review details
Overrated 2 stars by pugiee Aug 01, 2009
Lacks anti-rootkit protection that alone makes it a very weak product. showShow review details
Does not bog down your system 5 stars by Davoid Dec 21, 2008 (Read all my 7 reviews)
Great FREE antivirus program. Does not bog down your system like others with too many bells and whistles. Been using AVG since 2001. showShow review details
Nope no AVG for me 2 stars by gimpguy Aug 27, 2008 (Read all my 1158 reviews)
Why I ask myself do I keep giving this a chance? Slow, false alarms, doesn't detect real threats until you run something that does, ugly interface... my list goes on. Sure, it's better than nothing, you get a FREE edition, but hey, viruses are free too, doesn't mean I want one. Rising needs work but is still better than AVG. It's not worth my time. If some like it, that's ok and their choice, regardless what I think, it's still a choice for people which is the only reason I don't give it a 1. If others like it and it works for them, that's ok too. Just not for me. showShow review details
Enough is enough 3 stars by bill_ymr Aug 25, 2008 (Read all my 9 reviews)
Great program for free, but too many false alarms. My wife`s games were always being quarantined. I guess if you don't pay for the software, they ignore you. showShow review details
Caution advised on new version 8 4 stars by mragjr May 27, 2008 (Read all my 5 reviews)
I have used AVG Free the past two years. It has worked fine (great?) and there have been no virus incidents. On trying to upgrade from 7.5 to new 8.0, I have one XP machine that can't make the upgrade-on install, keep getting message that there is "another" av or security package running. Numerous messages back and forth to their help forum (which is responsive although all volunteer) has not yielded resolution and no one can find this "other" av. Obviously AVG has been around a while and is a "free" program that gets good grades, but I'd highly recommend BEFORE upgrading or installing fresh, a trip to their Forum and a review of their "stickies." Note that version 7.5 is being phased out 5/31/08, updates though will be provided through Dec 2008-waiting may be a good option. Given that I now cannot install version 8 nor install my "old" version 7.5, I can't recommend the program despite the other ratings I provided. showShow review details
Great 5 stars by MouseChaser Apr 24, 2008 (Read all my 27 reviews)
This is A Really Great Free Anti-Virus Program. They Now Have A New Version Out Called AVG Free Version 8.This New Version Has The Avg Anti-Spyware Built Right In,Plus It Has A Whole Bunch of New Stuff Built In.For A Great Free Anti Virus Program This One is It.It has Real Time Protection To. showShow review details
Exceptional 5 stars by celticangel Sep 20, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This program is amazing! It is the best of all the anti-virus programs. Plus it is free,which is a bonus. showShow review details
Great software for the price 5 stars by dacohenz Aug 01, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
It's free and does not use close to the memory that McAfee and Norton use. I use this on my computers and my clients, and have yet to have any problems. showShow review details
Excellent! 5 stars by pantherman Jun 04, 2007 (Read all my 14 reviews)
Does what it says on the label. For a free program it is very good. showShow review details
Great 5 stars by jnuts74 May 14, 2007
Running this with windows vista ultimate. no problems, easy install, descent interface, free. i recommend it to others. note i have not ran this with xp or any other os other than vista ultimate. showShow review details
It's good, but 4 stars by Belatucadrus Apr 12, 2007 (Read all my 13 reviews)
I've been using various generations of AVG free off and on for some years now and while it's a very good anti virus I have issues with the update system. For cost reasons the updates for the free versions are hosted on cheaper servers than the paid for variant, which is fair enough. But some of the update files are pretty big and the less than ideal connection can be problematic. The scheduled scan is also a bit short on choices, nothing or every day and I don't know many people that run a full scan on a daily basis, so it's a bit of a non choice. My main machines use avast! which I rate highly, but my old W98 machine has been forced to an alternative by the need for license compliance and an easy second on my freebie AV list is AVG. showShow review details
Very good - to a point! 4 stars by Cheeky_Pete Feb 14, 2007 (Read all my 2 reviews)
Working in IT, I had the responsibility for evaluating and implementing several Anti Virus / Anti Spyware products. Having previously used one of the major, Enterprise level products both at work and home, I thought I would compare one of the freeware offerings - specifically AVG. And I was quite impressed by the functions and features as well as the capability of the product. My main concern is that the software appears to be very resource hungry - especially at system start up, and also the free version does not allow the daily scan to be disabled. All in all, great as a free product, and despite the restrictions it's become my AV product of choice at home. showShow review details
Doesnt get any better 5 stars by Doublechecked Jan 28, 2007
One of, if not the best free virus detection on the market. Highly recommended. Ease of use with all the default settings already pre-configured showShow review details
Works for me and my clients.. 5 stars by james__uk Jan 22, 2007
AVG were the first to bring out a free AV, and they have been much copied. No virus has ever got past AVG Free in my experience. Advantages: Small footprint, taking only 2 MB memory. Easy to learn, with uncluttered interface. Daily updates of the virus definitions. Effective, free virus security. Disadvantages: Sometimes won't install properly on "dirty" systems. Update notification is slightly too obtrusive. Manual update won't find server during peak demand. This is occasional. Wait or hour or just leave it to undate automatically. Trouble free operation has resulted in many of my clients being prescribed AVG Free, even PC averse elderly clients prefer it. Companies use it too, without problems. It has proved worthy of my constant use, (I dropped Norton AV like a hot potato when it started failing before the millenium). Use with Windows Defender (ant-spyware) for total peace of mind. Highly recommended. showShow review details
The best AV software out there!!! 5 stars by TaBaScO Jan 09, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I have worked in I.T. for over 15 years, and for most of those years I was a die hard fan of the industry's most popular commercial AV software. Over the last two or three years I've become progressively disappointed with each year's new release. It takes up too many system resources, is buggy, and has annoying "product activation." As a result I started looking at numerous alternative anti virus programs -- both free and commercial. I tried four of the best known free AV products, and three commercial ones. After I installed AVG I was surprised to learn it found a Trojan that the none of the other AV products found even with the latest defs. AVG also takes up the least amount of system resources of any AV product I've used. Most of my friends and relatives now use AVG as well, and have had similar experiences. Today I run AVG on every PC in my home. With AVG being available for free there is no reason to buy anti virus software anymore. showShow review details
Wow, really does work wonders !!! 5 stars by webexpressions Dec 18, 2006 (Read all my 35 reviews)
I have an older machine that has windows 98 on it and one day it started to get the (blue screen of "death") and tried to figure out how to fix the problem but not knowing exactly what the cause of the problem was makes it difficult to figure out what to do. So I had tried a few name brand virus programs, and none of them had taken and picked anything up out of the ordinary. Then I saw AVG's free edition on snapfiles.com, and was reading the reviews from other users and thought that i'd give it a shot. Nothing else worked so what could the harm do. And was totally impressed with the outcome installed it on all my machines now. Fantastic Program keep up the great work All I can say is the program works wonders so take and download this one today you won't be disappointed. Thanks to the developers for a "Fantastic Program" . Avg is the only virus program that worked for me in detecting viruses that the name brands didn't. showShow review details
Good and fast 4 stars by ChrisWalker Dec 07, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
I've used AVG for over a year on several computers at my house. It's solid, reliable and fast. Several of my computers are older computers and slow, so I was reluctant to add and AV program that might slow them down even more. After installing AVG I did not notice any slow down. Reference to the other AV programs in other reviews are -vastly- slower. Yeah, the interface could use some work, but if you want a fast, solid and free AV, then look no further than AVG. showShow review details
AVG is still king 5 stars by GsyMoo Nov 19, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
My nephew gave me his new Dell laptop (running XP) to look at as it kept getting the Blue Screen Of Death. A quick inspection showed although his McAfee suite was up to date a virus had got in and switched it off! I couldn showShow review details
A very good program, but.... 3 stars by Dragon10 Nov 14, 2006 (Read all my 40 reviews)
Having uninstalled my AV program and wanting to support Freeware distribution I chose AVG finding it a disappointing experience. It only scans infectable files which on my PC was only 13,336 files. My previous AV program a certai-N commercial product would regularly scan iro 39,000 files, quite a difference! I found AVG's scanning of 'In'/'Out' e-mails lacking as it proved intermittent and unreliable even though the settings were correct. The AV definition update 'splash' screen arriving 'wham' right in my face was alarming and rather irritating when trying to work. Surely, this could be done in the background, with a much smaller notification when the update is complete? Even for the free version I thought the features were somewhat limited. I know when writing a review direct reference should not be made to other programs, so all I can say is, the AV program I have installed on my PC, now, is a vast improvement on AVG! ;-) showShow review details
Seems promising 4 stars by prettyface Nov 13, 2006 (Read all my 9 reviews)
I have started using this application on a trial basis this week, and it picked up a high risk trojan which was missed by my antiVirus security suite and another Real-Time antiSpyware application - Spyware Terminator. To be fair, it is unwise to use 2 Real-Time antiSpyware applications at the same time as there is a risk they may undermine each other's effectiveness in exactly the same way as 2 antivirus programmes used together may do. Nevertheless, AVG's antiSpyware programme is probably as good a contender for getting results as several others. showShow review details
Surprising good for a free virus scanner 5 stars by SithTracy Nov 11, 2006 (Read all my 19 reviews)
I have tried a lot of commercial virus software products and I did find one I liked, though I won't name it (starts with a "K")... And while I like my commercial selection, I did not want to buy two licenses. I put AVG free on my wifes PC and did not pay much attention to it. I then started having nagging issues (browsing slowdowns and sites not loading) with my commercial selection and I started looking at AVG after the latest update. Needless to say I was quite impressed and quickly installed it on my system. It's not as polished as my commercial product, but I think it is a great choice for most people behind a NAT router and are generally cautious with things the download and launch, etc. I am very happy with it and may keep this installed even after my commercial product addresses the issues in their service release. showShow review details
Good but not the best. 3 stars by ShockTroop Sep 29, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
AVG is on par with most major anti-virus packages. It's fairly easy to setup and has a robust set of features for free software. However, it does hog system resources and its detection success isn't extremely good. showShow review details
Appears on screen disrupting work. crashes. 3 stars by GetReal Sep 21, 2006
AVG is very good at detecting viruses. We all appreciate that it is also free for consumer use. However, it is distracting to have constant and frequent update reminders right in the middle of the screen while working on a project. You have to click on it to get it to leave and then it may activate the "blue screen of death" crashing your computer losing all of your work. It caused the same problems on both of the computers it was tried on. I had to uninstall AVG. showShow review details
The best I`ve used 5 stars by Dave_in_Roanoke Aug 27, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I like many have had problems with NortonSymantec and I also tried Avast and the one Cox Cable provides. I've been on the AVG bandwagon for a couple of years. Absolutely No Problems whatsoever with it. showShow review details
Just plain excellent 5 stars by hrwasp Aug 13, 2006 (Read all my 48 reviews)
All I can say is, excellent. This software package has helped me greatly and has helped out my clients! I recommend this to everyone I know! Very nice! Norton who? showShow review details
James 4 stars by james5 Aug 10, 2006 (Read all my 7 reviews)
This is a very good program to use and is fairly easy to use. This is my second choice but buy all means not the last. It is free and does the job very well. It is easy to update and that is always a big plus. showShow review details
Great software 5 stars by gregor303 Jul 30, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I have used this software on several computers for friends/family who are low-end users with minimal knowledge. The auto updates and scans work beautifully and are near-maintenance-free. showShow review details
Best free anti-virus there is 5 stars by Eonasdan Jul 25, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
AVG is the best free anti-virus there is. When ever I work on computers for people I always install AVG free anti-virus. Most people go with out any kind of anti-virus. showShow review details
Deleting worms and trojans 3 stars by magnetic56 Jun 28, 2006 (Read all my 7 reviews)
AVG is a good program, with ONE failing. If you put it on a computer already infected with Virues, Worms, etc; it will only attempt to heal infected files, not delete Worms, and Trojans. As a Blocking program it is good, but for cleaning an infected system, NO. Regards Mick showShow review details
Outstanding 5 stars by TerryP Jun 21, 2006 (Read all my 80 reviews)
AVG is updated regularly and works flawlessly. I've used it for several years and highly recommend it. For most users, the basic freeware version works so well you wouldn't think it's limited in any way. This is top notch freeware and it doesn't get any better than this. showShow review details
Best free antivirus 5 stars by bobble Jun 20, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I am in the IT industry and have used all AV programs that are out there. AVG is as good (if not better) than any commercial antivirus out there. All of my collegues in the IT industry use AVG and claim it actually finds and removes viruses other AV programs can't. I would highly recommend this product. VD files are updated and available every day. And best of all, this program is FREE. showShow review details
The best free antivirus!!! 5 stars by BJ_Ge0rgE Apr 29, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I have used many high-rated A/V for months...They worked very good...Before a month i installed AVG and i did a full system scan.It found 4Trojans that the others haven't find...If you don't want to spent your money in buying A/V then AVG is perfect for you...It detects many viruses and it uses low resources without slowing your machine...You wil love it...I have tried other free A/V programms like AVAST but AVG is much better...Try it and you will see it by yourself :) showShow review details
One of the best free anti-virus programs! 5 stars by reviewer2006 Apr 26, 2006
While the free version has some limitations- only one automatic daily update, one scheduled scan, no technical support (although the forums are a good source of support), I was quite impressed by the wide variety of features. The only reason why I think that the "ease of use" doesn't get an "excellent" rating is because configuring the additional e-mail scanning plug-in's is a little complicated. Definitely worth downloading! showShow review details
Back to product details   Add your review...
Download AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition

Check out these featured downloads...

VisualCron

VisualCron advanced task scheduling engine

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility

Spytech SpyAgent

Spytech SpyAgent local and remote pc monitoring

Fractal Zoomer

Fractal Zoomer create fractal images

Axence NetTools Pro

Axence NetTools Pro a set of essential networking tools

PicPick

PicPick capture and edit screen captures