SyncBack Free

SyncBack Free User Reviews



5 stars79% 31
4 stars7% 3
3 stars5% 2
2 stars7% 3
1 star0% 0
Based on 39 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 39 user reviews
Post your own review

Been using it for a long time 5 stars by newpond2000985 Jun 10, 2016
When my hard drive recently crashed, I lost this program but not my data. When I got back up and running, I couldn't remember the name of SyncBack. It just did it's thing. Finally, I found it again and it's now on my new hard drive doing what it's always done; quietly keeping my data safe. I've been using it for a very long time and even though I'm not familiar with the latest version, my review is based upon a long history of success with it. show Review details
Latest versions not worth it 2 stars by dugsbunny May 24, 2013 (Read all my 7 reviews)
I've been a Syncback user since version 3.2.26 (current version is 6.3.13). Since version 6 was released, I've experienced a troublesome tendancy for the software to lose track of its own data scan when verifying updated files vs the backup set. The pre-backup scan will lose track but continue scanning indefinitely without progressing beyond an endless scan. The program STOP button doesn't work, the runaway program cannot be forced-terminated from memory, so you're forced to do a forced reboot, shutdown, or hit the kill switch. On the reboot, a chkdsk scan is required. NOT WORTH ALL THE TROUBLE. show Review details
This is the freeware version? 5 stars by smoozdog Apr 22, 2013 (Read all my 14 reviews)
I echo the sediments of the other 5-star users. THE best backup software out there. I use the Pro version at my job for a few extra bells and whistles. I'd take the free version over Symantec corporate backup... as a matter of fact I did (but upgraded for business use). Syncback has proven reliable for me since 2003... and saved my butt a few times. Nice job 2BrightSparks! show Review details
Ok but bad logging info 2 stars by EricPost Jul 03, 2011 (Read all my 10 reviews)
The program is fine, but has a major flaw. After you are done backing up it produces a log. Non critical errors are listed in a section. But critical errors are not listed in a separate section but noted in the regular log. Since back up may be thousands of files you have to go through pages and pages of the log to see what did not transfer. It also lists puzzling errors like file name may be too long. Fair enough but if this is so, how come I can click and drag it to the same place OR copy and paste file with no issues? Also it should guide you through small issues. Like (slanted apostrophe)won't transfer but the ' will. show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Dec 10, 2012: We ve recently released V6 which resolves your issues: errors are listed in their own section, there are no filename length limits, and many other new features. Enjoy!
Excellent 5 stars by mwdarcy Mar 04, 2011 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Have used it for years and it works well. I have tried both MS programs which are "Briefcase" and "MS sync" but they are confused and both gave me problems so I tried SyncBack and it works much better. You want complete clarity when you choose to replace a file or delete a file and SyncBack gives you that clarity. show Review details
Looks good 4 stars by mjones Feb 28, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This was yet another program I tried that looks good and does everything I need EXCEPT compression is not available when doing FTP backup. show Review details
Excellent but Asian characters cause problems 5 stars by ufohunter Jan 28, 2010
This is a great program but files with any Asian characters in them fail to copy. Would be great if this was also supported so I don't need to rename files (e.g. in movie and mp3 titles). Thanks for the excellent work. show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Feb 24, 2010: There s a post on our forums that explains how to get this to work: http://2brightsparks.com/bb/viewtopic.php?t=585
Superb in most areas 5 stars by madmik Jul 15, 2009 (Read all my 32 reviews)
An outstanding backup app ,but the interface is certainly different. Amazingly fast,either at backing up or restoring, if set up for speed and the logs are the best of any software in my experience. Seems 100% accurate in its functions.Probably the best data backup app. I've tried. show Review details
Great software highly recommended 5 stars by offroadermrv Mar 12, 2009
Easy to use - Backs up over network and fast and easy to use show Review details
Amazing software 5 stars by sazhazman Feb 17, 2009 (Read all my 26 reviews)
I have been using SyncBack for about 2 months now, I can't find anything I dislike about this freeware. As a web developer, it's imperative that I have a fresh backup and/or synchronization at the end of every day on my external drive, along with a synchronization to my laptop. This solution has worked flawlessly. show Review details
Very good 5 stars by nonotnon Feb 10, 2009 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Thanks a lot to the author. The software is very useful and works perfectly. show Review details
Syncback 5 stars by JohnofTaunton Dec 15, 2008 (Read all my 13 reviews)
A simple and easy to use sync program. Ideal for people who wish to keep files in sync on more than one computer or an external UB HDD. show Review details
Incremental backups 3 stars by culion Sep 24, 2008 (Read all my 6 reviews)
The problem with SyncBack relative to other programs (e.g., FileHamster and Cobian) is the poor support for incremental backups. It requires that files be backed up as zip files and use of a crude script. If SyncBack provided built-in incremental support without zip format it would be an excellent program. For now, Good to Very Good but poor if want incremental backups. show Review details
In sync 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 17, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
Have used this for a long time. It's so easy to set a profile, schedule, and set up where and how you want your backups. I back from one drive to another to the network drive and then to another network storage drive with no issues at all. I almost forget SB is on my PC because it's worked flawlessly for so long now. I have it run once a day and everything in synced all through my home network. I personally swear by SB, it's been the most stable one I've ever used and as long as both it and I are around, it will remain on my PC as my main sync tool. show Review details
What everybody else says 5 stars by _PiPPi Dec 19, 2007 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Simply brilliant. This is very very solid backup and (and most important for myself) file synchronization piece software that really delivers. None of the usual proprietary backup file-format that creates a hassle on restore but simply well written software that works. This kind of SW has to be trusted so I've run SyncBack through all the paces to try to throw it off base regarding backup/synchronizing files and it can't be beat. The indexing is amazingly fast, SyncBack will synchronize the change of datestamp or single byte content of one single file in a backup set containing over 54,000 files making up more than 40 Gb of storage space in less than 3 seconds on a Win2003 server at 2 Ghz. It really gives me peace of mind. I've recommended SyncBack to newbies as well as techies all over and they are as impressed as I am. 10 stars outa 5. At least. show Review details
I highly recommend it 5 stars by IAFEURU Nov 02, 2007
I have been using this software for my work and personal synchronizing needs and it has fit all my expectations. And I work with almost 5 computers at a time! show Review details
Smart and reliable 5 stars by luc0815 Oct 31, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
A very smart and reliable backup solution. The details have been described in the previews reviews. I did switch to the paid version recently because it now offers control of versions of your files. show Review details
Excellent software 5 stars by radtechcomputers Oct 31, 2007
Excellent software! It can do anything you want to do. I've used in various backups, FTP transfers for websites, and even for full server restoration. It has many customizable options that fit any situation you need. Highly recommend. show Review details
Hassle free synchronisation 5 stars by mayunk Jun 14, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
In the era of portable hard disks and easier backup options (like USB, DVD, etc), SyncBack is a lifesaving utility. Even in its freeware version, SyncBack packs all the right features to compare 2 folders (and sub folders) and ensure data between them is always in sync. If some file is deleted in either source or destination, SyncBack lets you decide which way to copy, set override defaults or do nothing (skip). It has multiple profiles for managing multiple storage. The SE version costs $30 and is well worth the money. For basic hasslefree backup, SyncBack freeware is highly recommended show Review details
It's unfair competition for SychBack SE 5 stars by D_Spider Jun 08, 2007 (Read all my 19 reviews)
I'm sure the pay-for program has extra features, but for an individual with a home computer the freeware SyncBack is more than adequate. Two suggestions for users: (1) Don't be put off by the "Advanced" tabs--the options they provide are perfectly clear, easy to implement, and very useful. (2) The complications users have encountered using SyncBack and Windows Task Scheduler can be avoided simply by doing backups "live"--after all, you have to be there to disconnect the drive you've backed up to when the backup is done (or else the backed-up data isn't safe); and, after you configure the way SyncBack works (the profiles) and do your first backup, subsequent ones go very, very fast. This is an impressive, excellent backup program! show Review details
2nd time lucky 4 stars by LenTheWizard Oct 11, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Pulled this down a couple of months ago, set it up on one of the default profiles, did not do what I wanted, gave up. Last week set up a custom profile, bit of trial and error here I found. But it now works a treat. Can't fault it once set up. Worth a try. show Review details
One of the best 5 stars by JoeDalton Sep 28, 2006 (Read all my 3 reviews)
Absolutely one of the best synchronizing tools at this moment. show Review details
Great program 5 stars by 334online Aug 26, 2006
I tried a couple of other programs before finding SyncBack but deleted those other programs after SyncBack did everything I wanted. I operate a web hosting business and back up my servers while I sleep. This program was installed and running within minutes with absolutely no problem. I recommend this program over any commercial program on the market. show Review details
Does exactly what it says on the can.... 5 stars by DavePrice Jun 11, 2006
Installs without a problem, great GUI, easy to set up, multiple profiles, does exactly what it says and quickly too. Fantastic software. I had tried BounceBack Express that came bundled with a Seagate drive but all it did was lock up the computer. Way to go SyncBack! show Review details
Great but no support for universal filenames 5 stars by Iair1234 May 31, 2006
This program it's Perfect for me, it does everything i want to do to backup/synchronize my folders. But I'm Having problems with some strange characters in filenames not recognized by SyncBack (in my case hebrew)(shown as ???) that does not synchronize well... Thank You. show Review details
No doubts about this one 5 stars by pcs800 Mar 15, 2006 (Read all my 222 reviews)
If you need quality backup software, you can't beat this one for the price. I wouldn't use it on corporate networks or anything like that, but for a single pc or multiple directories across a small network it is great. I use it to back up about 3500+ and growing Mp3's, and also the contents of my FTP server's folders. It sends me an email every morning to let me know of any changes/success/failures. Another cool thing is that I back this all up to an external USB hard drive, which I can then take with me to plug into my laptop and have all the same music I have at home, always synchronized. Home users with single pc or small ftp/web/file servers will love this application. show Review details
Great product 5 stars by jireland Mar 09, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This program does everything I wanted. It has not failed at all and I have been using it for 4 months now. Great program which is totally free. I would recommend looking at the expert settings as the run in background feature is really good. show Review details
The best backup utility and free to boot 5 stars by TerryP Feb 28, 2006 (Read all my 87 reviews)
I have used many sync and backup utilities, including shareware and pay, but SyncBack beats them all in terms of reliability, ease of use, and speed. Definitely a must have! show Review details
Excellent program 5 stars by DanBaier Feb 15, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I rarely bother to go back and do reviews - but this program is excellent and deserves a lot of praise for how well it works. I saw the remarks about slow speed - I can't imagine what that's all about - my file synch profiles ran so fast I had to go back and double check that everything carried over. It did - perfectly. This also has a great log feature. This program belongs on everyone's "A" list. show Review details
To sloow 3 stars by michaelxy Jan 15, 2006 (Read all my 2 reviews)
This Tool is to slow. Its even slower like the free robocopy from Microsoft. show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Jan 19, 2006: You obviously had something else wrong as [..] completely independent review says otherwise [..]
A great program. 5 stars by Gizmo_151 Jan 01, 2006 (Read all my 10 reviews)
I think this is the very best program I've ever used or seen of it's type. I use it all the time now and couldn't live now without it. Thank You show Review details
Excellent software. 5 stars by GeneKK Dec 28, 2005
My only compliant about this backup program is that it calls a backup task a Profile. Limited to four profiles on the free version. Excellent easy to use software. Gene show Review details
The software developer responded to this review on Dec 31, 2005: Thanks for the feedback! To avoid any confusion I must state that there are no limits on the number of profiles that can be created or run in the freeware version.
Great program! 5 stars by bubba1083 Nov 16, 2005
This little program is great. It's a very easy to use and FAST! Basically does a great job of making an easy to use x-copy type function w/o all the DOS switches to remember! show Review details
Better than most paid packages 5 stars by spearx Nov 07, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I have tested and purchase several different packages for backup and sync of files and folders. This has all the features and then some. I like the fact that it starts in a quick mode for set up and you are done in a couple of minutes. There is also an expert button for configuration obsessive users such as myself. No software is perfect show Review details
Perfect 5 stars by Keith68 Oct 17, 2005
I'm amazed at the simplicity of this. No doubt there are tools with greater functionality, but sometimes all you want is to download something and have it doing what you want in seconds. That's what you get with Syncback. A wholehearted recommendation. show Review details
Great little program 4 stars by jcharth Sep 14, 2005 (Read all my 16 reviews)
I tried SyncBack a few days ago. I also used cobian backup for a while. My ultimate solution was robocopy and enabling traffic shaping on my router. show Review details
Very good utility, too many options! 2 stars by sonicm Aug 02, 2005 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I found myself getting bogged down in menu options when using this and did not like the lack of progress bars and information when syncing. I do belive the shareware version has this though? Good utility does what it says on the tin. show Review details
Great software 5 stars by GaryST Jul 07, 2005
Great piece of software. Wonderful for keeping a backup of the MyDocuments folder on a shared file server. I've tested it for a week and have already used the synchronized folder to go back to a prior version of a document. This keeps me from having to write customized scripts for near-line backups. Thanks!!!!! show Review details
Just what was needed. 5 stars by oteotd Jun 15, 2005 (Read all my 49 reviews)
I personally do not need backup software. I manually create backups from my computer monthly on CD and daily to my flash drive. One person I help at their company needs a little help backing up across the network. This program was just the ticket. After installing, setting up and tweaking the profiles to their needs they now are willing to do a backup each time they run the accounting software. For them it is now a simple 3 clicks to do an entire backup, better yet the program is set to email me to let me know they did a backup and what the backup did. I will now know without asking when they do a major backup and I can go to the office machine and burn a cd for them. I will also know if they made a mistake. This program has many features some are not visible until you go to the expert mode, more than I can list here. This has to be for me at least the best backup program I have used. Last but not least this program is allowed for free for commercial use. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software