ERUNT

ERUNT User Reviews



5 stars88% 16
4 stars11% 2
3 stars0% 0
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 18 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 18 user reviews
Post your own review

Nothing better 5 stars by kenneth_keillor Oct 10, 2012 (Read all my 5 reviews)
Saved my hide numerous times. One of the best pieces of freeware on the planet. show Review details
Fast, efficient registry backup 4 stars by pegasus65204 Mar 12, 2012
Just unzipped, configured, and ran it in Win7-64 Pro. I decided not to use the install. The default folder for AUTOBACKing the Registry is: C:WindowsERDNTAutoBack#Date# If AUTOBACK is launched in the StartUp folder, this will not work in Win7. The explanation is in ERUNTTweaksWin7.txt. I used an AUTOBACK Desktop icon with a shortcut key. This way I can do a quick backup anytime I want. The ERUNT README.TXT file states the backup will take "some time." I found this humorous because on my i7, SATA system, it took 2 seconds. The Win7 Registry is quite bloaty at 168 MB's. If you have a second drive or partition, I highly recommend you do NOT create your backups on the C: partition. If you get a BSOD, you can get file corruption. Save your backups on a different partition... ERUNT v1.1j was written in 2005, 4 years BEFORE Win7 was released. I do not recommend you use the included NTREGOPT utility. Other reviewers have complained they've had problems with NTREGOPT. The restore utility is called ERDNT. Since I just started using ERUNT, I have not yet had cause to use ERDNT. Hopefully, I won't but it's good to know I have a backed up Registry. show Review details
Best registry backup 5 stars by Airbourne Dec 05, 2011 (Read all my 9 reviews)
I lost my audio on .avi so I just reinstalled a few days back until the audio came back. This is also a breeze in PLACE OF A REG Cleaner. After opening new programs that are NOT what you want which can/will put entries in the REG. Just DELETE the Erunt folder for that day and go back and Reinstall the day before or a few days back and you get a new folder for the day your on. This is excellent after a few years and still going strong. Many grateful thanks to the publisher show Review details
Life saver 5 stars by sanmao Nov 24, 2011
I came across it per chance, installed it and in 3 weeks saved my life twice. Much better than Microsoft restore. show Review details
Has saved me many, many times 4 stars by ZEDm8AWgif2F Aug 13, 2011 (Read all my 4 reviews)
ERUNT backs up your registry on boot. This allows the simplest way to reboot into a previous working registry. The default settings are adequate to get the job done. However, ERUNT is a bear to modify without knowledge of DOS commands. In fact, it's the hardest program I use bar none. I love and I need it and install it every time I re-install; it's in my first 5. But to me it's absurdly difficult to modify. Definitely not 21st century software and would probably give an Apple user a stroke. show Review details
I love my erunt time machine! 5 stars by Survivor Jun 08, 2011
Failure is unacceptable! I simply Search, ERDNT, and pick a time window. My daily anti-virus updates, seem to render System Restore useless! I delete, all but the last, space filling System Restore snapshot, when I Disc Clean, and manually decide, when to make an ERUNT registry copy. I can take my XP back, to any point I choose, during my complicated installs, re-installs, un-installs, updates, and upgrades. I won't touch another computer, until I install it, and copy the registry. And here I go again. That last, non-Microsoft driver update, removed my volume control. ERUNT to the rescue! Again! Thank you Lars Hederer! show Review details
Well, i do say this is the cat's meow! 5 stars by FireMarshalBill Jun 04, 2011
In my IT travels, I fix problems for family and fiends. As soon as I image the machine and install all apps, I create a registry backup using ERUNT. If they ever come back later - say, even an year down the road, I have the backup under their name. No worries about Windows overwriting it! I just restore it, they are on their merry way within 30 minutes, and I have spent no more time than I need to! show Review details
Install on every compatible windows system 5 stars by MrQuual Sep 29, 2010
Having a recent registry backup is not only extremely useful when repairing a system that fails to boot, it can also fix some issues you may not have thought of. Here are just a few of the problems I solved by using this program to restore a previous version of the registry. --Defeating a virus that defended itself against removal attempts by preventing it from running at start-up. --Repairing the damage done by a registry cleaner that 'fixed' some registry errors by deleting necessary registry keys. --Restoring the file associations for my media files after a piece of software decided I was better off if it played (or just as often, failed to play) every type of media on my system. show Review details
A great little program 5 stars by Frank7 Sep 06, 2009
This is a great little program to keep your registry backed up. Very easy to use however I recommend keeping an eye on the folder C:WINDOWSERUNT as this program will create a backup folder every time you start your computer and they are typically 30Mb+ so it can start eating up hard drive space if you forget that it's there. It's nice to know it's there if and when you need it though. Keep a few of your most recent backups and delete the rest. I think this works much better than WINXPs "System Restore" and has gotten me out of trouble more than once. Very nice. show Review details
Perfect 5 stars by Williy1 Sep 02, 2009 (Read all my 6 reviews)
Perfect and absolutely safe reg restore tool. Windows own system restore is a bit drastic and I have experienced problems after using it. That never happened restoring my registry with ERUNT. By default it overwrites previous backups within 24 hours but the default setting can either be changed or you can write your own comment in the starting backup window, thus creating a new backup for each time. That can be very useful to save precious settings, AV or Windows updates. show Review details
Excellent 5 stars by nuttertools May 22, 2009
A must have! It works like a dream. A simple cute interface (why not?)efficient, it helped me a lot of times. It's fast and reliable, if you have any doubts, get one, you'll like this one for sure. show Review details
The absolute best xp repair utility 5 stars by Rellik1000 Oct 18, 2008
Ive been using this tool for years, and have installed it on 20+ systems. It has saved me many a reinstall due to malware... problems which could not be cleaned by other means. It actually replaces a win98/ME utility scanreg which I have also used many times. I carry it with me on a flash drive to be installed at whim. Install it and forget it SOMEDAY you WILL need it and wonder how you ever did without it. Thanks to Lars Hederer for this contribution to the pc geek community. I cannot say enough about this little freeware lifesaver. show Review details
You can`t do better 5 stars by gimpguy Oct 14, 2008 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
For registry backup, you won't do any better than erunt, been using it for a long time and it will always stay on my pc. If the registry ever gets botched, do a simple reg restore and it's all taken care of. One of the greatest utilities out there ppl, no joke. I suggest every pc owner get one. It's so easy to use too, easy to understand, no prob! show Review details
More than reliable! 5 stars by DoubleWitt Sep 07, 2007 (Read all my 5 reviews)
ERUNT settles it for me. This is so simple to use and definitely a MUST HAVE for all computers. Another nice point, is during the install process, you can select to auto backup the registry every time you load Windows (in case you forget to do it manually). Now that's reliable! Restore is so simple as well, go to the backup folder and select which date to restore from. Click on the exe file in that folder and presto! it's done. Truly a life-saver. show Review details
Very useful and very practical 5 stars by DirectInfo Dec 14, 2006 (Read all my 8 reviews)
Make Sure You Have It Before You Need It. I Recommend This To All !!! show Review details
Fantastic 5 stars by isailthe7cs Nov 18, 2006 (Read all my 4 reviews)
I wish I could uninstall XP System Recovery and never be tempted again to run it. ERUNT is the answer! As long as you feel comfortable using windows explorer and rummaging through a few folders, this program is fool proof! Lars Hederer should receive an award for the creation of this life saver utility. show Review details
Awesome, cant be without it 5 stars by Ghost_grey Feb 06, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
Quickly (in seconds) makes complete backups of registry for easy restoration and comes with NTRegOpt that optimizes the registry, actually made my computer more reliable. I've heard thats its better than system restore, and similar tools. it's worth keeping backups with it but hopefully wont need to use it.. show Review details
The very best in its category 5 stars by Leendert Aug 19, 2005 (Read all my 27 reviews)
ERUNT (both NT Registry Optimizer and Erunt Registry Backup) is the best, because accurate, complete, easy to use. 1-Clean Registry (RegSupreme, another very complimentary software), 2-Optimize registry (NT Registry Optimizer), 3-Backup Registry (Erunt Registry Backup) is a fantastic trio. I had used up to now WinRescue, also very good, but slower and less complete. Also, I had had Registry compacting problems with either WinRescue or other softwares, when Kaspersky Antivirus was running (I had to quit Kaspersky Antivirus first) : not with ERUNT Registry Optimizer, though it is longer if the antivirus is running. I think every category has its leaders, and ERUNT is definitely the best here. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

MessageExport for Outlo

MessageExport for Outlo convert emails to PDF and other formats

tinyMediaManager

tinyMediaManager manage and organize your movies and TV shows

DirSync Pro

DirSync Pro file and folder synchronization

Convertilla

Convertilla convert video and music files between formats

NetSpot

NetSpot Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Discovery and Troubleshooting

LightZone

LightZone Open-source digital darkroom software

PstViewer Pro

PstViewer Pro open PST files without Outlook

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring