HijackThis

HijackThis User Reviews



5 stars55% 5
4 stars33% 3
3 stars11% 1
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 9 reviews
Avg. user rating: 4 Based on 9 user reviews
Post your own review

Very useful 5 stars by gimpguy Sep 26, 2011 (Read all my 1159 reviews)
I have used Hijack This (darn near) since merijn created it, now Trend Micro of course. As others stated, don't do anything with it except scan unless you know what you are doing. This can destroy parts of the OS as well as help and you have to know what you're doing. You can go online and find people to read the scan logs to help you. I used to do such a thing but that's when I could handle the tediousness of it all. I will still read them when I use it to clean up a system though. With the online help and some advising, this is extremely handy in ridding yourself of unwanted or unneeded BHOs or Hijacks among other things. Likely you won't find a better software for this job. show Review details
Be careful... 5 stars by CarbonDudeoxide Jan 23, 2009 (Read all my 26 reviews)
As the others have said, do not do anything with HijackThis besides running the scan. Unless you know what you're doing, you may end up rendering your computer unbootable. There are many free forums out there on the internet that offer help in analysing HijackThis logs and Malware Removal. Do not use this if you don't know what you're doing! show Review details
Very simple 5 stars by darkocean Jun 24, 2007 (Read all my 33 reviews)
Is very simple to use don't be put off by that "for advanced users" bit. let it scan your comp, and make a log file. Take the log file to http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ pust your logfile and ask for help. Then you can't mess anything up ta da. show Review details
To the point! 5 stars by LakeCityMan Sep 02, 2006
This is a great no nonsense approach to eliminating annoying, well-hidden crap! Great work Hijack! show Review details
Definitely worth it 5 stars by Ghost_grey Jan 22, 2006 (Read all my 56 reviews)
This is power! and only if you know what is good and what is not this is really simple to use.. all it does is gather values such of startup programs, programs running, homepage, and toolbars in IE, with opens to remove them if you got hijacked or a stupid useless third party toolbar got installed.. it also has a rollback system so you can rollback if you deleted something that "you" wanted, and comes with accessories such as delete file on restart, process explorer, this is good.. i used it on my friends computer also you can get your hijackthis log analyzed... show Review details
Good tool 3 stars by alnjk01 Nov 26, 2005 (Read all my 124 reviews)
Have used hijackthis on and off for about two years. In my experience I have noticed that it works great on a stable system however if you should have system related issues then the program starts getting quirky,i.e. resets,etc. That being said,it is a very good registry tool for detecting what should be on your system and what should not be. As said previously, you have to know what your doing and able to recognize entries. Otherwise you could create issues that you never had in the first place. Additionally it offers excellent supplemental tools such as host file and process managers,etc. show Review details
Nice tool for fixing bugs 4 stars by viknesh Oct 15, 2005
Nice tool that helps the user to send a brief report of their system to the others to help them fix the problem show Review details
Hijackthis excellent/useful... 4 stars by Anonynona Aug 23, 2005
HijackThis is an excellent utility, if used with some common sense, if not expertise - Quote: "HijackThis is also my favorite tool for removing annoying 'missing file' dialog boxes. If every time you boot you're getting, 'Windows cannot find XXXX.dll' then a quick run with HJT will give the entry for XXXX.dll and the option to delete it, so you never see that complaint again." IF this popup occurs at bootup it's usually for a good reason and important to act upon correctly; DON'T just blindly think that the registry entry should be deleted! Do a search for the "missing" file; if found, correct the file's path in its registry entry...the "annoying" msg goes away, the correct way. If it's nowhere to be found then delete its entry in the registry! HiJackThis is excellent and very useful when handled properly/sensibly, but it can be lethal to your system when it's not...and THAT's annoying! ;-) show Review details
Excellent anti-spyware tool but... 4 stars by Turcoloco Jun 16, 2005 (Read all my 4 reviews)
..make sure you know what you are doing! Do not go thru the list (cause it could contain entries related to bad stuff as well as good stuff)and check entries randomly for fixing/deleting! If you have any doubts, run a scan and choose to save a log file, which would be created in the program folder if it was saved and run from a proper location like: C:HijackThisHijackThis.exe or C:Program FilesHijackThisHijackThis.exe. Then visit one of the Online Spyware/Security Forums and ask for help after attaching the hijackThis.log file so knowledgeable geeks could review the log and help you out. Otherwise things could get worse using this program carelessly.... show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

Plex Media Server

Plex Media Server streaming media server

CDRoller

CDRoller recover data from damaged CD/DVD/BD

IPHost Network Monitor

IPHost Network Monitor network and server monitoring