HFS - HTTP File Server

HFS - HTTP File Server User Reviews

5 stars100% 13
4 stars0% 0
3 stars0% 0
2 stars0% 0
1 star0% 0
Based on 13 reviews
Avg. user rating: 5 Based on 13 user reviews
Post your own review

Amazing tool 5 stars by salman_matalgah465 Jun 21, 2012
Simple and very useful tool that can fix easily the UNC links problems in HTML pages. show Review details
One file wonder ! 5 stars by aec007 Oct 11, 2010 (Read all my 2 reviews)
I've tried many FTP server programs before with little success having to go through my own router firewall. Setting services, ports, IP addresses, routing mac addresses... a "Nightmare" to make everything together. Often finished uninstalling everything since I could not make it work no matter what I did with little or no guidance. THIS is a "one file wonder" piece of software. Only one file to run when you want to share. A "virtual file system" to share documents so I do not need to setup locations is my drives, etc like all other FTP programs require.... AND well thought out help file wiki on the web that helped me punch through all the firewalls and routers. It just works...! Now I can send big files (100+ MBs) like videos of the kids to grandpa without having to upload to websites with file size limitations. show Review details
No complaints - no hassles 5 stars by spelingchampeon Apr 24, 2010 (Read all my 6 reviews)
I have experimented with a few free FTP programs, and while you cant argue with FREE, it usually comes with a price...time spent on trying to fix minor issues. One of the things I wanted to accomplish was running a FTP server with minimal use, and on a Linux machine. A co-worker told me about this neat little FREE program that I had up and running in less than an hour (all folders built and permissions set), and thats not like me. I had already reviewed another FTP program here, and while I did like it, there were issues with some people logging in (mostly remote OS issues), so I started looking for an alternative answer. The only downside to HFS is it's security, but thats not the program itself, its the nature of the HTTP beast (they do recommend a program to beef up security through SSH, but I'm using it in Linux via WINE). show Review details
5-star program! 5 stars by busybusy Nov 11, 2009 (Read all my 156 reviews)
Easy to configure and use. Nice piece of programming! Kudos! show Review details
Works great 5 stars by Alivallo Jun 22, 2009
I tried many different file server options, from SSH putty, ccfile, ftp file freeware. HFS has proved to be better then the others. Giving many options, ease of use is there for the average user, yet there are many features such as support or blocking of Download managers. Worked with Windows 7 firewall when others would not! shows the user information on Who is downloading. Excellent freeware. show Review details
Fast and easy to use 5 stars by KEAndersson Feb 12, 2008 (Read all my 10 reviews)
A very easy and safe method when moving files between our computers at home - faster even than our fastest memory stick, and safer than Windows own folder sharing. show Review details
Awesome way to share files with your friends 5 stars by SteveW Feb 07, 2008
This is cool. Anyone I want can grab files from me with just a web browser. Runs for weeks on end without problems. There is now an unofficial IRC channel for this software on the Undernet network channel name is HFS come have a chat and meet other HFS users show Review details
This thing is just too cool 5 stars by pcs800 Aug 27, 2007 (Read all my 222 reviews)
What else can I say, this application is great. The only things I wish it had: An Installer version along with the stand alone, a better explanation of virtual vs real folders, and a disallow file type list for uploads. Other than that, it is awesome and the developer seems to keep working on it, so it does not seem as though it will be unsupported any time soon. All in all a great app. show Review details
Nifty http file-sharing application 5 stars by yassertariq Aug 23, 2007 (Read all my 89 reviews)
A true champion that is extremely easy to use. Even a grandmother can use it to transfer files. show Review details
Great little http server 5 stars by dgcorp Jun 13, 2007
Great piece of software to allow you to quickly share files from one machine to another! show Review details
Quick and easy way to share files 5 stars by AwfkiWhistler Mar 01, 2007 (Read all my 4 reviews)
Excellent little app that makes it simple to move a few files to another computer without the hassle of FTP servers or Windows networking. show Review details
This is a nice one ... 5 stars by TideWalker Nov 07, 2006 (Read all my 23 reviews)
Very easy to use. Does what it is supposed to. No big learning curve to deal with. This progrm is all I need to share files with members of my family and friends. Works very well and has both easy and expert modes. Overall, A very very nice program. Another one for my list of keepers! show Review details
Exactly what the doctor ordered. 5 stars by BreezyCricket Jan 29, 2006 (Read all my 7 reviews)
This is one of the best programs I have found. It takes no Computer skills to set-up and is especially useful for sharing files with Friends half-way around the World, because they are able to log-on and retrieve Files while I am in never, never, land. show Review details
Back to product details   Add your review...

Check out these featured downloads...

A Sharper Scaling

A Sharper Scaling advanced image scaling software

Iperius Remote

Iperius Remote Remote Desktop and Support Software


CintaNotes take and manage notes


SnailDriver update and install Windows drivers

CopyTrans Manager

CopyTrans Manager manage your iPod without iTunes


CardRecovery recover images from memory cards

File Scavenger

File Scavenger file undelete and data recovery utility